Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Padded Flash Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #19023
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A perfect schooling bridle crafted to stand up to the rigors of daily use! Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. With traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range, Plymouth bridles are sure to be a favorite. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Favorite Features

  • Incredibly soft and supple the minute you put it together
  • Beautifully designed with a raised and soft padded flash
  • Hook stud closures on 5/8” cheeks
  • Removable flash noseband
  • Brass buckles
  • Complete with 5/8" rubberized web reins for extra grip, even in wet weather

Sizing It Up

7/8" noseband and browband
5/8” cheeks
5/8" rubberized web reins

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Padded Flash Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.375 out of 5 by 72.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bridal for price I bought this bridal a few months ago and it is amazing for the price! It's a little stiff at first but after you condition it it's soft and supple my trainer is using my horse for Jeff Cook Hunter Jumper clinic and she's using this bridal because she loves it. everyone at my barn has been asking me where I got this bridal and I tell them on SmartPak and when I tell them the price their jaws drop open
    Date published: 2015-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has held up to rigorous use I have been using this bridle for 3 years now and have no complaints. The leather started soft and stayed that way. I am pretty good about cleaning and oiling my tack, and have seen no cracking, discoloring, or any issues. Have used this bridle constantly for schooling and shows, and love it. I can't speak to the reins because my horse stepped on them and broke them early on.
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great schooling/all around bridle Im a beginner eventer and this bridle does the trick. Nice quality right out of the box, and Ive used it maybe 15 times now without any cracking or problema with the leather or fittings. Overall a great value!
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very attractive and great reins! The only thing I would prefer to be different is for the noseband to be a bit wider. But I love the overall bridle!
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for... ...and that's an affordable bridle that lacks in quality. I've had this bridle for over 2 years, have cleaned and maintained it daily, and the leather quality is just terrible and so stiff. I've stopped using it because I'm afraid it will break. If you want an affordable bridle that has good, quality leather and is pretty to look at, buy an HDR (Henre de Rivel) bridle.
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely, plain bridle I've been using this bridle for nearly two years. I show dressage and hunter and wanted a training/show bridle. I like the lack of stitching and plan buckles, no crank noseband. I really like the reins too! I wipe this bridle down every few days and dunk the bit, this bride shows nearly no wear and always looks handsome. I bought a cob size for my small Morgan mare. The straps have a good length, but the browband is a bit snug, especially if I use a bonnet.
    Date published: 2014-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bridle!! I bought this bridle almost a month ago and I am very pleased with the durability and excellent quality of the leather. It is soft and supple right out of the package! I purchased this for my small quarter horse mare in a cob because she always opens her mouth and sticks out her tongue when she gets excited. I decided to give a flash bridle a try and it works! I couldn't be happier with my purchase and I certainly will continue to buy from SmartPak from now on!
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jackson's New Bridle I absolutely love this bridle. I'll admit that when it arrived I was perplexed. I was surprised that it came in pieces and needed assembly. I called SmartPak and they directed me to a SmartPak video online. After successfully assembling it, I felt accomplished! The bridle fits my fun-sized OTTB perfectly and is absolutely beautiful on him, accentuating his dark bay coloring perfectly. He's handsome and he knows it and is very proud to wear his new bridle. My only regret is that I didn't personalize it with his name - Jackson. Completely happy with this bridle.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My second review: years later and still great! I gave this bridle a rave review about 2 years ago after about a year of use. I've now used it on two very different horses with two totally different shaped heads (see pictures) and it's still gorgeous and holding up well with the sole exception of the reins. I had to buy new reins after a year or so (the coating basically shredded) but the bridle itself is a really a great schooling bridle. Definitely recommend this bridle. Buy with confidence :) (only 4/5 stars for the reins that didn't hold up).
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle! I've had this bridle over a year and it has held up beautifully! It came out of the box soft and ready to use. I've had no problems with the leather cracking and it has further softened with cleaning/conditioning. It does run slightly large I think. I ordered the horse size for my 16.2 TB (he does have a more refined head) and it fits with the bridle tightened to the next to last hole. The only problem I have had is with the reins (which I love!). They are rubberized web and the rubber is starting to fray and peel off so I'm not sure how long they will last.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Already Love It Super soft and supple write out of the box. With a little oiling, it will be even nicer. Very excited to try this on my horse. 
    Date published: 2013-12-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from i bought this bridle one month ago. good value for money.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Functional but quality questionable After purchasing the Plymouth Dressage Bridle (not the Elite) and being thrilled with it, I purchased this bridle. I've owned this bridle for a little over a year and the leather has deteriorated even with only very light use and wiping it down routinely and cleaning/conditioning on a regular basis. I had hoped the leather would become more supple but it has only worsened. The leather has stiffened over time and it's almost like there's a coating on the leather that has started to bubble. I have applied many light coats of Hydrophane followed by Effax Leather Balsam which are my "go to" products that usually work wonders but have unfortunately not achieved the result I was looking for.
    Date published: 2013-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from love it Overall a nice bridle. Love the reins. Haven`t used it alot but I`m happy I went for it.
    Date published: 2013-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! After buying my first horse, I did not have a ton of money to spend on tack. After riding ponies for years and only having pony/cob items I needed to get my new OTTB a bridle. For the cost this bridle is excellent. The color is nice and matches my saddle. She has an odd shaped head and the bridle adjusted perfectly, not too big not too small. However, one of the straps to attach the nose band did not come with holes? Which I know is common for bigger priced show/composition bridles. It wasn't a problem as we just punched our own holes to fit. Just thought it was odd. Overall I would definitely recommend this bridle! I would also like to add that the free ship and free return ship definitely will have me to continue shopping with smartpak. Especially since the local tack stores in my area don't care for their customers the same.... Thanks Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Schooling Bridle Only It's as the item description says, it's only good for schooling. The leather was cheap. Same quality as my original schooling bridle, which was almost 1/3 of the price new on sale. If I didn't pay as much as I did, I might have considering keeping it, but not for $65.
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horrible fit! I bought the O/S bridle for my 17 hand warmblood (that has a large head)... the bridle was huge on her! I read the reviews that said it runs small. The cheekpieces had to get holes punched in, the browband sticks out 2 inches from her forehead, and the reins are really long. The only thing that did fit was the noseband and flash. The leather quality is poor and was "cracking" the second I put it together. The only good thing was the rubber in the reins. I will be returning it.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Leather not so nice... After purchasing the Plymouth Dressage bridle I was eager to try another Plymouth bridle. I was very satisfied with the quality and fit of the dressage bridle. The leather on this bridle (Plymouth Padded Flash Bridle) is nothing like the leather for the cheaper Plymouth Dressage bridle. It was covered with wax, so dry and stiff. My daughter cleaned the wax off and has oiled it many times. It's still really dry and stiff. I am afraid to have her use it until it's softened up some for fear of cracking the leather…it's still that stiff! As far as the fit, the bridle runs small. The Cob sized fit her hard to fit Section B Welsh. The throat latch was too big, but my husband added a hole and it fits just fine now.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Suitable, but a couple of surprises After buying the Plymouth dressage bridle, I had to have the same bridle & reins in brown to go with my jumping tack! The leather doesn't seem quite as soft immediately, but still fine. What surprised me most was that it's not self-padded, but uses a lighter brown for padding and stitching (I still can't identify this when I go back and look at the item image). Rubber in the reins is also black, which stands out against the brown. Note that the description in one place says stainless steel hardware, and in another says brass buckles (like in the image) - mine is stainless and I like that! I went up to full size after cob being a bit tight on my 14.2 Morgan gelding; full fits both him and my 16.1 TB gelding w/average head.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely Schooling Bridle I purchased this bridle while I was leasing a horse and I needed a bridle to use on the flat. While this bridle is not amazing leather my any means it is fine for schooling.
    Date published: 2013-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle! The second I got this bridle, I was so excited! It is wonderfully padded, and just wonderful quality leather! Of course, it is a bit stiff, but I have only ridden in it twice, and that is inevitable with a new bridle. The color is very true to the picture, and the sizing is spot on! My horse is in between a cob and horse size for halters and bridles- but I just went with the cob, as she is a fine boned little TB cross. She is on the last hole for the noseband and throat latch, but it doesn't bother me at all. There is so many details you find on much more expensive bridles, such as padding under the buckle for the noseband. I love it, and my horse does too- she goes great in this bridle! My only complaint would be when I was putting together the bridle, the browband got three cracks in it. But, I bent it too far. It's unfortunate, but they sell matching browbands with clincher details so I'm just fine with that. :) Overall, a wonderful, beautiful bridle, that would look great just schooling or out on the event field during shows.
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase for the price Wonderful quality leather. Originally purchased a cob size because it was for a petite TB, but the cob was way too small. The full size fits just right with enough adjustability. If you have a large TB 16.2+ or warmblood, the oversize would probably be the best size choice. I've only had it a couple months, but it seems to be a durable leather with proper care.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from After owning this for a few months It has gone downhill, I am religious about cleaning and caring for my tack and this bridle has gotten stiffer and stiffer with age and use. I don't get it, I have cleaned it and conditioned it weekly and wiped it down after every use. I cannot for the life of me figure out why in the world this bridle is like freaking cardboard, won't be buying another one. The dressage version is still supple and stunning!
    Date published: 2012-11-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value I read all the reviews, but was still a little skeptical about such high reviews on such an affordable bridle. I was really pleased with the feel of the leather right out of the bag. Sure, it's not buttery soft, but I think it's honestly softer than a Kieffer bridle I bought previously for more than twice the money!I'm very glad I went for this, and I'm excited to try the other models next time I need a bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for the price Got this bridle in July and have so far liked it. It was a little stiff when I put the bit on, but loosened up pretty fast. It was a little big on my mare, but my mare has a very smalll arab head that is hard to fit. Overall a nice bridle.
    Date published: 2012-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle For the price this is a pretty nice bridle. I love the reins. It fits rather large on the cheek pieces, where others areas fit a little smaller, but it still fits well. It looks very nice and I would have no problems showing in it.
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'd Buy 3 More!! My horse and I LOVE this bridle. The leather is supple upon arrival and fits beautifully. The only down side is the elastic in the reins is breaking more and more everyday but I dont even care. The value of this inexpensive bridle is so so so worth it! I would just buy separate reins. BUY THIS BRIDLE! :) :) :) :)
    Date published: 2012-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smart Pak Flash Bridle Nice looking bridle, looks durable. Haven't ridden in it yet but for the price it will be a great schooling bridle.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with the purchase Nice leather, good quality in the finishings, the reins excellent antislip! The color matches my pessoa jumping saddle. I am very happy with the purchase
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for the money This bridle has that good leather "smell" ! and is a good value. Unfortunately, my horse is one of those "in between" sizes and nether the full or cob sizes fit :>((.But if it has fit, I would have been thrilled.
    Date published: 2012-07-07
    • 2015-08-26T12:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.5
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_69
    • loc_en_US, sid_9023, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.