Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Plymouth Padded Flash Bridle by SmartPak

Plymouth by SmartPak
- Item #19023
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE GROUND SHIPPING.
(Find out how)

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A perfect schooling bridle crafted to stand up to the rigors of daily use! Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. With traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range, Plymouth bridles are sure to be a favorite. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Favorite Features

  • Incredibly soft and supple the minute you put it together
  • Beautifully designed with a raised and soft padded flash
  • Hook stud closures on 5/8” cheeks
  • Removable flash noseband
  • Stainless Steel buckles
  • Complete with 5/8" rubberized web reins for extra grip, even in wet weather

Sizing It Up

7/8" noseband and browband
5/8” cheeks
5/8" rubberized web reins

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Eventer Bridle is ...
    Description:
    Why We Love ThisThe Harwich Eventer Bridle is crafted withdurable, imported vegetable-tanned leather making it ideal for every day schooling or top rated shows!Features an innovative padded crown design which allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown, alleviating ...
    Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccablycrafted,innovative bridle.UltraSoft and luxurious calfskin paddingon ...
    Wellfleet Monocrown Wide Noseband Hunter Bridle is our ...
    Description:
    Wellfleet Monocrown Wide Noseband Hunter Bridle is our favorite choice for hunter and derby horses! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on the sensitive ...
    Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and ...
    Description:
    Wellfleet Monocrown Hunter Bridle is a traditional and classic choice! Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship. Designed to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area, the redesigned genuine ...
    The Rodrigo Figure 8 Bridle is created from ...
    Description:
    The Rodrigo Figure 8 Bridle is created from Rodrigo Pessoa's competition-proven designs and then meticulously crafted from hand-finished American leather. Rodrigo bridlework is created with attention to detail that distinguishes top horseshow equipment. Plain raised with genuine sheepskin disk. 3/4" ...
    A quality,leather,non-padded hunter style bridle made from genuine ...
    Description:
    A quality,leather,non-padded hunter style bridle made from genuine full grain European cow hide. TheArc de Triomphe Tribute Bridle is a bridle with exquisite styling and detailing that will look gorgeous on your horse. Favorite Features Fancy stitch detailing Wide noseband ...
    Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among ...
    Description:
    Antarès Sellier has successfully risen to be among the best saddle makers in France. Antares Sellier France specializes in custom made saddles and fine equipment for horses, backed by decades of experience and improvements. Impeccably crafted, stylishdouble bridle suitable for ...
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Padded Flash Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.3896103896103895 out of 5 by 77.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Has potential This could have been a great deal for the money, but there were drawbacks. The leather quality is what you might expext, ok but not great. The biggest problem is the sizing. My large pony is 14.1h and has a fairly fine head. Both the browband and the padded part of the noseband of the cob bridle were way too small. I had to replace the browband and punch a hole at the very end of the noseband just to make it reach. The rest of the bridle was true to size, so a larger size would have been too large.
    Date published: 2015-08-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed Not only did it take weeks to arrive (?) with no email response from Smartpak to my inquiries (I finally called) and I only live in Virginia, mine wasn't, "Butter soft right out of the package." There seems to be those who get that and those who don't. It's got a weird green, scaly, film all over the leather I cannot remove and cleaning/conditioning/oiling has done nothing to improve either the scaling or the stiffness. Just not an all around positive experience. I'll live!
    Date published: 2015-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality, supply leather I originally bought this bridle at Equine Affair last fall. When I went to use it this spring I realized that it was the wrong size and most likely in the wrong bin when I bought it. SmartPak was great about exchanging the bridles even though it was months later. This bridle was extremely supple right out of the box. The reins are a little lighter weight than I am used to but I love the material of them. This bridle is of great quality for the price and I am very happy with my purchase.
    Date published: 2015-05-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just Okay This bridle is definitely not worth the list price - the leather quality just isn't there. At the sale price it's reasonable. My previous bridle was an HDR, similar price point to the sale price on this and I think that one is slightly better quality (the HDR certainly has nicer padding). Some of the stitching is uneven and the dye has a few drips. I got this because I needed a flash noseband and rubber reins and this wasn't much more than just buying those components alone so I might as well have a full spare bridle.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing!! I bought this bridle a few months ago and I'm OVER THE MOON! This bridle is amazing quality I've taken it to ride in a jeff cook clinic (jeff was George Morris' working student) and he was very surprised when I told him this bridle was under $100 I'm pretty sure he went out and bought one himself. The reins on this bridle were getting some bad reviews? I have no Idea why the reins are amazing!! Overall I most likely will be ordering at least 5 more of these bridles in the future if this one ever gives out but I doubt it will (I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT!!!!) my boy looks so handsome in it and it doesn't cause any discomfort or rubs
    Date published: 2015-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing bridal for price I bought this bridal a few months ago and it is amazing for the price! It's a little stiff at first but after you condition it it's soft and supple my trainer is using my horse for Jeff Cook Hunter Jumper clinic and she's using this bridal because she loves it. everyone at my barn has been asking me where I got this bridal and I tell them on SmartPak and when I tell them the price their jaws drop open
    Date published: 2015-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Has held up to rigorous use I have been using this bridle for 3 years now and have no complaints. The leather started soft and stayed that way. I am pretty good about cleaning and oiling my tack, and have seen no cracking, discoloring, or any issues. Have used this bridle constantly for schooling and shows, and love it. I can't speak to the reins because my horse stepped on them and broke them early on.
    Date published: 2015-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great schooling/all around bridle Im a beginner eventer and this bridle does the trick. Nice quality right out of the box, and Ive used it maybe 15 times now without any cracking or problema with the leather or fittings. Overall a great value!
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very attractive and great reins! The only thing I would prefer to be different is for the noseband to be a bit wider. But I love the overall bridle!
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from You get what you pay for... ...and that's an affordable bridle that lacks in quality. I've had this bridle for over 2 years, have cleaned and maintained it daily, and the leather quality is just terrible and so stiff. I've stopped using it because I'm afraid it will break. If you want an affordable bridle that has good, quality leather and is pretty to look at, buy an HDR (Henre de Rivel) bridle.
    Date published: 2014-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely, plain bridle I've been using this bridle for nearly two years. I show dressage and hunter and wanted a training/show bridle. I like the lack of stitching and plan buckles, no crank noseband. I really like the reins too! I wipe this bridle down every few days and dunk the bit, this bride shows nearly no wear and always looks handsome. I bought a cob size for my small Morgan mare. The straps have a good length, but the browband is a bit snug, especially if I use a bonnet.
    Date published: 2014-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bridle!! I bought this bridle almost a month ago and I am very pleased with the durability and excellent quality of the leather. It is soft and supple right out of the package! I purchased this for my small quarter horse mare in a cob because she always opens her mouth and sticks out her tongue when she gets excited. I decided to give a flash bridle a try and it works! I couldn't be happier with my purchase and I certainly will continue to buy from SmartPak from now on!
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jackson's New Bridle I absolutely love this bridle. I'll admit that when it arrived I was perplexed. I was surprised that it came in pieces and needed assembly. I called SmartPak and they directed me to a SmartPak video online. After successfully assembling it, I felt accomplished! The bridle fits my fun-sized OTTB perfectly and is absolutely beautiful on him, accentuating his dark bay coloring perfectly. He's handsome and he knows it and is very proud to wear his new bridle. My only regret is that I didn't personalize it with his name - Jackson. Completely happy with this bridle.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My second review: years later and still great! I gave this bridle a rave review about 2 years ago after about a year of use. I've now used it on two very different horses with two totally different shaped heads (see pictures) and it's still gorgeous and holding up well with the sole exception of the reins. I had to buy new reins after a year or so (the coating basically shredded) but the bridle itself is a really a great schooling bridle. Definitely recommend this bridle. Buy with confidence :) (only 4/5 stars for the reins that didn't hold up).
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle! I've had this bridle over a year and it has held up beautifully! It came out of the box soft and ready to use. I've had no problems with the leather cracking and it has further softened with cleaning/conditioning. It does run slightly large I think. I ordered the horse size for my 16.2 TB (he does have a more refined head) and it fits with the bridle tightened to the next to last hole. The only problem I have had is with the reins (which I love!). They are rubberized web and the rubber is starting to fray and peel off so I'm not sure how long they will last.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Already Love It Super soft and supple write out of the box. With a little oiling, it will be even nicer. Very excited to try this on my horse. 
    Date published: 2013-12-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from i bought this bridle one month ago. good value for money.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Functional but quality questionable After purchasing the Plymouth Dressage Bridle (not the Elite) and being thrilled with it, I purchased this bridle. I've owned this bridle for a little over a year and the leather has deteriorated even with only very light use and wiping it down routinely and cleaning/conditioning on a regular basis. I had hoped the leather would become more supple but it has only worsened. The leather has stiffened over time and it's almost like there's a coating on the leather that has started to bubble. I have applied many light coats of Hydrophane followed by Effax Leather Balsam which are my "go to" products that usually work wonders but have unfortunately not achieved the result I was looking for.
    Date published: 2013-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from love it Overall a nice bridle. Love the reins. Haven`t used it alot but I`m happy I went for it.
    Date published: 2013-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! After buying my first horse, I did not have a ton of money to spend on tack. After riding ponies for years and only having pony/cob items I needed to get my new OTTB a bridle. For the cost this bridle is excellent. The color is nice and matches my saddle. She has an odd shaped head and the bridle adjusted perfectly, not too big not too small. However, one of the straps to attach the nose band did not come with holes? Which I know is common for bigger priced show/composition bridles. It wasn't a problem as we just punched our own holes to fit. Just thought it was odd. Overall I would definitely recommend this bridle! I would also like to add that the free ship and free return ship definitely will have me to continue shopping with smartpak. Especially since the local tack stores in my area don't care for their customers the same.... Thanks Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Schooling Bridle Only It's as the item description says, it's only good for schooling. The leather was cheap. Same quality as my original schooling bridle, which was almost 1/3 of the price new on sale. If I didn't pay as much as I did, I might have considering keeping it, but not for $65.
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horrible fit! I bought the O/S bridle for my 17 hand warmblood (that has a large head)... the bridle was huge on her! I read the reviews that said it runs small. The cheekpieces had to get holes punched in, the browband sticks out 2 inches from her forehead, and the reins are really long. The only thing that did fit was the noseband and flash. The leather quality is poor and was "cracking" the second I put it together. The only good thing was the rubber in the reins. I will be returning it.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Leather not so nice... After purchasing the Plymouth Dressage bridle I was eager to try another Plymouth bridle. I was very satisfied with the quality and fit of the dressage bridle. The leather on this bridle (Plymouth Padded Flash Bridle) is nothing like the leather for the cheaper Plymouth Dressage bridle. It was covered with wax, so dry and stiff. My daughter cleaned the wax off and has oiled it many times. It's still really dry and stiff. I am afraid to have her use it until it's softened up some for fear of cracking the leather…it's still that stiff! As far as the fit, the bridle runs small. The Cob sized fit her hard to fit Section B Welsh. The throat latch was too big, but my husband added a hole and it fits just fine now.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Suitable, but a couple of surprises After buying the Plymouth dressage bridle, I had to have the same bridle & reins in brown to go with my jumping tack! The leather doesn't seem quite as soft immediately, but still fine. What surprised me most was that it's not self-padded, but uses a lighter brown for padding and stitching (I still can't identify this when I go back and look at the item image). Rubber in the reins is also black, which stands out against the brown. Note that the description in one place says stainless steel hardware, and in another says brass buckles (like in the image) - mine is stainless and I like that! I went up to full size after cob being a bit tight on my 14.2 Morgan gelding; full fits both him and my 16.1 TB gelding w/average head.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely Schooling Bridle I purchased this bridle while I was leasing a horse and I needed a bridle to use on the flat. While this bridle is not amazing leather my any means it is fine for schooling.
    Date published: 2013-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle! The second I got this bridle, I was so excited! It is wonderfully padded, and just wonderful quality leather! Of course, it is a bit stiff, but I have only ridden in it twice, and that is inevitable with a new bridle. The color is very true to the picture, and the sizing is spot on! My horse is in between a cob and horse size for halters and bridles- but I just went with the cob, as she is a fine boned little TB cross. She is on the last hole for the noseband and throat latch, but it doesn't bother me at all. There is so many details you find on much more expensive bridles, such as padding under the buckle for the noseband. I love it, and my horse does too- she goes great in this bridle! My only complaint would be when I was putting together the bridle, the browband got three cracks in it. But, I bent it too far. It's unfortunate, but they sell matching browbands with clincher details so I'm just fine with that. :) Overall, a wonderful, beautiful bridle, that would look great just schooling or out on the event field during shows.
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase for the price Wonderful quality leather. Originally purchased a cob size because it was for a petite TB, but the cob was way too small. The full size fits just right with enough adjustability. If you have a large TB 16.2+ or warmblood, the oversize would probably be the best size choice. I've only had it a couple months, but it seems to be a durable leather with proper care.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from After owning this for a few months It has gone downhill, I am religious about cleaning and caring for my tack and this bridle has gotten stiffer and stiffer with age and use. I don't get it, I have cleaned it and conditioned it weekly and wiped it down after every use. I cannot for the life of me figure out why in the world this bridle is like freaking cardboard, won't be buying another one. The dressage version is still supple and stunning!
    Date published: 2012-11-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value I read all the reviews, but was still a little skeptical about such high reviews on such an affordable bridle. I was really pleased with the feel of the leather right out of the bag. Sure, it's not buttery soft, but I think it's honestly softer than a Kieffer bridle I bought previously for more than twice the money!I'm very glad I went for this, and I'm excited to try the other models next time I need a bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for the price Got this bridle in July and have so far liked it. It was a little stiff when I put the bit on, but loosened up pretty fast. It was a little big on my mare, but my mare has a very smalll arab head that is hard to fit. Overall a nice bridle.
    Date published: 2012-09-15
    • 2016-07-23T10:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_74
    • loc_en_US, sid_9023, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders