Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
D-Carb Balance
Med-Vet Pharmaceuticals (MVP) — Item #12475
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Helps your easy keeper get what he needs

  • Provides vitamins & minerals, plus magnesium and chromium to support proper insulin function
  • Specially formulated for horses predisposed to insulin resistance
D-Carb Balance is a multi-vitamin/mineral supplement formulated for horses predisposed to insulin resistance and/or an inability to metabolize high carbohydrate levels. D-Carb Balance is in a palatable pellet form with a rice bran base. Chromium and magnesium may help regulate blood sugar; contains 4 mg of chromium and 5,330 mg of magnesium per 4 oz serving. Does not contain potassium.



View our Multi-Vitamin Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 2 oz.:
(Maintenance Dose = 2 scoops (4 oz) daily)
  • Active Ingredients per 2 oz:
  • Magnesium
    2,665 mg
  • Calcium
    2,550 mg
  • Phosphorus
    1,250 mg
  • Salt
    567 mg
  • Niacin
    500 mg
  • Vitamin C
    250 mg
  • Zinc Proteinate
    225 mg
  • Manganese Proteinate
    160 mg
  • Copper Proteinate
    56 mg
  • Riboflavin
    32.5 mg
  • Thiamine
    12.5 mg
  • Pyridoxine
    10 mg
  • Chromium (yeast)
    2 mg
  • Iodine
    1.4 mg
  • Selenium
    1.1 mg
  • Vitamin B12
    100 mcg
  • Vitamin A
    12,500 IU
  • Vitamin D3
    1,250 IU
  • Vitamin E
    250 IU
  • Direct Fed Microbials
    50 million CFUs
Inactive Ingredients: : Citric acid, lignin sulfonate, mixed tocopherols of natural origin, natural and artificial flavors, rice bran, rosemary extract, silicon dioxide, soybean hulls, soybean oil, vegetable oil, wheat middlings and yeast culture (saccharomyces cerevisiae).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
(2 oz measure enclosed) Adult Horses (900-1,100 lbs): Provide 2 ounces twice daily.

SmartPak has received permission from the manufacturer to provide this product as 4 ounces once daily in SmartPaks.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Four supplements in one product. Joint, hoof, coat, ...
    Description:
    "Four supplements in one product. Joint, hoof, coat, and digestion. 4 in 1 contains 3,500 mg glucosamine, 1,000 mg chondroitin, 1,200 mg MSM, 16 mg biotin, 1,500 mg yucca, and omega 3 and 6 fatty acids. Apple-flavored powder. View our ...
    "Accel is a carefully balanced multi-vitamin supplement designed ...
    Description:
    "Accel is a carefully balanced multi-vitamin supplement designed to provide a strong and comprehensive foundation for all horses. It is an excellent source of fat and water soluble vitamins, chelated and conventional minerals, and trace minerals, and is fortified with ...
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that ...
    Description:
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that contains 22 mg biotin, 1,895 mg methionine, 1,563 mg sulfur, amino acids, trace minerals, and live stabilized microbials for optimum feed utilization. Biotin II 22X provides sound nutrition and carefully balanced rations ...
    "Superior joint support at an incredible price. The ...
    Description:
    "Superior joint support at an incredible price. The proven support you expect from Finish Line, combining the ""building blocks"" for healthy joints with the extra support of hyaluronic acid (HA). HA promotes healthy joint function by aiding in the lubrication ...
    "Grand Vite is a comprehensive vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Grand Vite is a comprehensive vitamin and mineral supplement that provides balanced ratios of key vitamins, chelated minerals, amino acids, and botanicals. Grand Vite contains active yeast cultures that support the digestibility of nutrients. View our Multi-Vitamin Comparison Chart Learn ...
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Mega-Cell™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral supplement formulated to coincide with current NRC (National Research Council) recommended daily requirements, to accommodate feeding programs consisting of grass-type hays (timothy, coastal, Bermuda, native grass)/grain-based diets. The ...
    "Mega-Mag™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral ...
    Description:
    "Mega-Mag™ (Pellet) is a well-balanced multi-vitamin and mineral supplement formulated to coincide with current NRC (National Research Council) recommended daily requirements, to accommodate feeding programs consisting of alfalfa hay/grain based diets. The addition of live, stabilized direct-fed microbials, ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    D-Carb Balance is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 63.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for insulin resistence horses I have been using this product for several years and the price at SmartPak was below what I could have purchased locally.
    Date published: 2014-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ships fast
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great multi-vitamin for my easy keeper I started my 13 yr old easy keeper mare on D-Carb Balance after trying Quiessence and SmartControl IR. None of the products have helped manage her weight, but after being on D-Carb Balance for a week, she showed a marked improvement in her coat condition (even after being on Farrier's Formula Double Strength for many years) and attitude. I would highly recommend this product for any horse not receiving a full portion of vitamins/minerals through grain and forage. She'll be on this product for the rest of her life!
    Date published: 2013-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tasty Supplement My horse is not a picky eater but he cleans up every last bit of this supplement. My horse has HYPP so I like that this supplement doesn't have potassium in it. It's nice to not have to worry about adding potassium to his diet but still allowing him to get his vitamins & minerals since he only gets oats and grass hay.
    Date published: 2012-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps Metibolic and weight problems WOW, useing this on horses at the barn with these medical porblems. Equine polysaccharide storage myopathy (EPSM) ,Hyperkalemic periodic paralysis (HYPP), and non sweater. All three horses got this vitiman with whole oats. All three lost weight put on a shine and have had are working well undersaddle. I love that this is Potassium free that helps horses with these kinda problems cause they have too much potassium in thier bodys. My non sweater has sweat now! Love this!
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good stuff I really think this product helps my horses with weight management.
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from No Real Change Noticed I haven't really noticed a change in my horse since starting him on the D Carb. I am going to try a few feeding changes and see if that helps. Just can't see spending this kind of money on something with no positive results.Yeah, my horse eats it.... but we're talking about a horse that eats anything!!! That's his problem to begin with!!!!
    Date published: 2012-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My moms horse has the beginnings of cushings and has recently foundered. Our vet recommended this product and it has helped tons. She has her old energy back, a beautiful coat and we are no longer having overweight problems with her.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horse Stopped Eating It My horse ate it for a few weeks and then stopped and refused his grain. He is a bit of a picky eater, and I've had trouble getting him to eat IR supplements. I would also like to see the chromium at a bit higher level.
    Date published: 2012-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Done amazing things for our mustang that seems to smell food & get fat. She will always be a plump girl but her weight seems to have redistributed and her cresty neck has gone down. She eats this right up. We tried changing her to SmartPaks version & she wouldn't touch it. but of course Smartpak took care of that with their excellent customer service :)
    Date published: 2012-04-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from D-Carb Balance I have not had my horse on it long enough to give an opinion about it one way or another. Maybe in another month or two.
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from your changes I was informed that your products makeup had changed. It smells different looks different and my horse refused to eat it. Hopefully it will work as well as your other product. It took some creative planning to cover it up in his feed. So far it has worked. He does eat it. What changed?
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the trick! My IR/PSSM horse had trouble maintaining his weight on ration balancers (he also gets magnesium, chaste tree berry and vitamin E, along with grass hay and pasture), but with D-Carb Balance (and his other supplements) he dropped the fatty pockets around his tail, withers, and the cresty neck within the first month of being on this supplement. He has a lot more energy too!
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my fat horse!! Brought her back from laminitis, and got the weight off with a restricted diet.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It has worked so far! I have a cresty, hungry, chubby Paso Fino mare who, by appearance alone, is metabolically challenged. I have fed her D-Carb for about 3 years. I supplement it in the summer with chromium powder from my vet and I muzzle her in the spring and when she is out on my good pasture all day. She has not foundered, been in good health, unshod, with shiny coat and a good attitude.
    Date published: 2011-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely works My mare has problems with her sugar levels and the magnesium supplement I'd been using for several years suddenly stopped working. She got a cresty neck and started throwing shoes. So, after doing more research thought this product sounded very complete. After nearly a month, I can see a huge change. She is much much more relaxed and her hooves are nice and solid. I am very pleased.
    Date published: 2011-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from D-Carb balance My vet recommended we try this product, he hasn't been on it for long, but he seems to be doing well. He was on Uckele products for his IR and cushings, but this product is just one product with the same ingredients as their two and with vitamins added which he didn't get in those.
    Date published: 2011-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpfull at keeping the weight off The d carb balance seems to have really helped keep the weight down on my rockymountain/welsh cross that was getting real cresty. She also had deposits of fat above her tail. Since using the dcarb balance she has come down in weight slowly but it appears to be keeping her from gaining it back.
    Date published: 2011-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from D-Carb Balance Ever since I started using this product, Pork Chop has not foundered and has been "healthy as a horse". He is 30 years old and loving every minute of it.
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Multi for Easy Keeper My easy keeping Paso Fino has been on this for 4 years with next to no grain, and he looks great!
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps Paso mare well I don't know if this works, I only know my EASY keeper little Paso Fino mare has not had any trouble with her hooves or anything related to metabolic syndrome. She is round, cresty and hungry and I try to keep her off green grass. She gets no grain, only soaked beet pulp with one alfalfa cube twice a day with her scoop of D-Carb and she a healthy horse.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my horse likes it I ordered this after researching other products and decided on this one as it had added electrolytes and was less expensive then my vets recomendation. He agreed that it was a good value. My horse ate it from the first serving.
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for Easy Keepers! My easy keeping Paso Fino used to have fat pockets on his body. With D-carb balance, he is trim and fit, and still gets his vitamins!
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from D-Carb Balance I have a 9 year old mare that is truly a best friend. She can look at food and gain weight. I have tried every product made to help her and D-Carb Balance has made the most difference for her without putting her in "race" mode. She looks better and feels better with this product.Thank you!Judy
    Date published: 2010-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It seems to actually work! My easy keeper nearly foundered on spring grass this year. We started her on D-Carb this past month and she is now back to her old self!
    Date published: 2010-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Melting Away! After years of keeping my lamnitic mare on dry lot with no results, I began D-Carb by recomendation from my veterinarian. Within a month, most of her fatty deposits in her lower abdomen and neck began to disappear. Now, she is almost a completely different horse, more energy and love for her work. My mare is also loving her new grazing privilege with a muzzle. I never thought one supplement would solve her problem!
    Date published: 2010-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great help for foundered ponies! D-Carb has helped a particularly hard chronic-founder case recover quicker. This is great for horses with metabolic problems. The cresty necks, lumpy withers and rumps, despite strict diets; those horses do great on this! It really helps minimize dietary distress. I'm a barefoot trimmer in the midwest and have recommended this to several people with chronic horses.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Glutton pony wouldn't eat it I started our new pony on this product after checking all the reviews for metabolic supplements and reading about the condition. He ate it for about a month somewhat reluctantly, then stopped eating it at all. This pony is a serious glutton and got no grain. This is all he had in his feed tub each day but he would not eat it.While he would eat it we saw good improvement in reducing the fatty deposits all along his neck and tailhead, so it was disappointing that he stopped eating it. I switched him to SmartControl IR pellets, and he likes those!
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I was very surprised the quality and effectiveness of this supplement for the price. My horse has had laminitis for three years now and on this supplement she is not as sore, able to eat small amounts of grass, and the weight I thought she was destined to keep is slowly falling off! I am so happy to have found this supplement as it is not available in my area.
    Date published: 2010-04-06
    • y_2017, m_5, d_24, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_2475, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders