Product Image

Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste

Perfect Products, LLC
- Item #18369

Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary blend of natural ingredients that provides noticeable, targeted, relaxing effects for horses under stressful conditions. Feed 90 minutes before performance or trailering; effects last 6-8 hours. Contains L-Tryptophan, Magnesium, Thiamine (Vitamin B1) and Inositol. 80 ml syringe.

View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is rated 4.3125 out of 5 by 32.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great new formula Love the new formula....so much easier to administer. If you are a first time user, you will need to determine how long it takes for your horse to respond to the affects. My mare takes 2 hours so I plan accordingly.
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the trick, but hard to get down This stuff was literally a life saver with showing my OTTB. I give him the full 80cc about 2 hours before I need it to work, and it definitely does what it should. He's pretty much unshowable without it. However, its pretty thick and has the most awful smell I've ever encountered. Apparently it tastes pretty bad too since my horse (who sits perfect for dewormer and anything) tries to turn tail and run if he sees it. I have learned, especially in the winter, if you have a hand dryer/blow dryer/ hot water on hand, its easier to use if you warm it up first, otherwise its kind of hard to get out of the tube, particularly when your horse is doing his best to not let it touch him!
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from We have a new show horse who is learning how to be an equitation horse after recent years as a show jumper. This product is great at the shows to help take the edge off. Just make sure to keep it warm during the winter months or it's really hard to administer.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't Show Without It I have a very nervous OTTB that at shows, is unrideable without this stuff. We tried so many things before we came to this and nothing worked. I give him the full 80cc about an hour and a half before I need to mount and while he's still his typical handful self (it won't change who your horse is), he can focus and do his job and goes around the jumper ring like pro. However, it does smell awful and he absolutely hates it and it takes a lot of work to get all of it down. It is a little pricey but it works and is USEF legal.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This paste works well to take the edge off. It does not change the personality, but keep the horse on an even keel.
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pre-travel blessing My TB is typical: goes to a new place, and he thinks we are back at the racetrack. He is spooky, nervous, and constantly neighing for his friends, making him unable to preform to his best ability. Decided to try this, gave him half a tube the morning of transportation, and BAM, he schooled like an old schoolmaster. Didn't even need to use anymore of it throughout shows because he stays calm days after the first dose. He was brave at the jumps and focused on me and not the scary pizza box on the side of the arena. Only neg. is that its very sticky, and if you don't get it all in their mouth, it will run and its a real pain trying to scrape it off their lips.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great! I have a draft cross driving horse that was a rescue. We do not know his background but he can get a bit forward and nervous at horse shows which is dangerous in a cart. We purchased Perfect Prep EQ at a tack shop that was located in a large hunter/jumper barn and this was recommended by the clerk as she said that the top riders use this. Draft horses can be over sedated very easily, but I used about 3/4 of a tube about 90 min. before he went into the ring. Exactly at the 90 min. mark his head went down and he physically relaxed. It didn't make him drowsy but took away the anxiety and his performance was outstanding! I am definately using this again. As before mentioned the only drawbacks are the large tube, unpleasent smell, and thickness of the paste. I used the device that they sell to give wormers/paste that looks like a bit and goes into the mouth and deposits the paste far back on the tongue. He didn't seem to mind the taste and never spit it out.
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped Mare in Extreme Weather I tried this on my daughter's mare who has excess energy and some separation anxiety at shows. This weekend was the best weekend to test how well this product works. It was 40 degrees with 20 mph winds. My mare was very calm while other normally calm horses acted up. I used the entire tube and waited 3 hours to ride. I would like to try to reduce the dosage in the future. It did smell bad and my mare seemed to not like the taste. She did however not spit it out.
    Date published: 2012-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Show Supplement The first time we used this, we used it on our mare who was having a temper tantrum at a show. We only had to use half a tube and it worked within an hour to calm her down. We now use this on the first day of the show and can taper off until we don't need it. We discovered that this works to take the edge off of her heat cycles without using hormones. I have also used the powder on my spooky horse daily which is far more palatable than the paste. And, yes it does need some warming up before use as it is thick. I always keep at least one tube in my tack trunk. I also recommend the Gold for those of you who have horses with trailering issues or nerves that need to be calmed ahead of time in case they metabolize substances differently.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I compete at a high level of equation, hunters and jumpers. Even my quietest horses get a half a tube before each show. It takes the edge off and it doesn't test. It is a little thick so I put it in the microwave for 8 seconds before I leave for the horse show. Even if i give it 3 hours after I heat it, it will still be much easier. Awesome product.
    Date published: 2011-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does Wonders! Ok, so by far, my horse is not hot or anything, but this product just takes off the edge. He likes to be cheeky, and it keeps him in check.Paste is hard to move through the tube, and by the look on my horses face, it does not taste good! Overall great product.
    Date published: 2011-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too soon to tell. Seems to help my horse relax and focus but is a bit too soon to tell. Need a couple of more shows to really know.
    Date published: 2011-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-04-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I tried this because I knew several people who have used it and had good results. I used it on a horse that did not handle trailering well. It was a little hard to get out of the tube but I managed, even though my horse didn't like the taste at all so it was unfortunate that I had to take so long to give it to him. I waited 2 hours and then attempted to do anything with him. He was far worse about loading then he has ever been! He went as far as rearing and striking, which he has never ever done. He didn't trailer well, pawing and kicking the entire time which was also new. When we arrived, he was more nervous than I expected. Everything else was the same as when I normally trailer him. I'm not sure if it had anything to do with this product (such as having an adverse effect) but Perfect Prep certainly didn't help. I won't try it again. That being said, I gave it two stars for overall rating because I have personally seen it used on several show horses and ponies that had excellent results with it.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressive The tube is huge, and the paste/gel is very thick and hard to administer. It was fine though, since my horse thinks everything is a treat, he took this with no problem.I have a very spooky trail horse. Jumps at his own shadows. I gave the paste to him as directed and I would say it took a good 2 hours til it took effect.Which was fine since we took our time trailering out, and then tacking up.We were walking along the trail he was tense, I was tense, and all of a sudden I felt his entire body soften. It was like someone turned off the switch for him. He dropped his head, started licking and chewing...he felt great! Very relaxed! It was the best trail ride we ever had! He was still alert, and for once he seemed happy about bieng on a trail!
    Date published: 2011-11-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Product Thickness and Tube NEED to change If you have to hold your horse with one hand while administering, the tube is so big it is nearly impossible to press the plunger with the force needed to get the extremely thick paste out of the tube (and I even have very big hands). Its not the most palatable stuff, so by the time any paste is forced out, it is easily lost. Can't judge how it works because I really couldn't get a good dose in. I've heard soaking in warm water helps, but it was 80 degrees today- can't imagine in cooler weather! Will try another product.
    Date published: 2010-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff rocks! I love this stuff! My horse can be a bit of a spaz, especially if we miss a few days of work, but 1/2 a tube of perfect prep extreme and he is much more focused on me and less on attempting to reach the speed of light at the trot. Example: the other day I hadn't ridden in 3 days, there were gale force winds, AND I decided to go out on the trails by myself. This would seem to be a terrible plan given my pony's naughty demeanor; however, I had the incredible foresight to give him 1/2 a tube before our ride and we had a fantastic ride! He was focused and alert, even when we lost the trail and had to trail blaze by some wild creatures. I will recommend that people wait the full 90 minutes in order to see the effect. I can actually feel it kick in during our ride when I get on too soon!
    Date published: 2010-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from takes the edge off My horse gets very tense at shows so this helps to take the edge off. It is a thick paste so it usually takes me a couple of trys to get it all to him. Man hands would probably have an easier time with it.
    Date published: 2010-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He finally walked! We compete with our Morgan gelding on the Class A circuit. He is a wonderful horse that has won at the Nationals. However, he anticipates the end of the class in the second direction and my daughter has had her hands full keeping him at the walk. We have tried various strategies unsuccessfully for many years and recently came across the Perfect Prep products.We tried the Prefect Prep Gold at the first show of the season. We did not have a very favorable result. After discussing the matter with SmartPak and directly with the manufacturer we decided to try the Perfect Prep Extreme at the next show. It worked very well on this horse.We administered the product as directed. My daughter was thrilled! Her horse finally walked in all three classes and seemed more focused and attentive. We also warmed the product in water for a few minutes as another reviewer suggested which did make it easier to administer. Thanks for the tip!
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Quite Perfect I bought this to use on my horse that gets extremely tense and nervous at shows. I gave him Perfect Prep Gold the night before and the Perfect Prep EQ Extreme 90 minutes before the class. He still was exptrememly nervous (piaffing and passaging in warm-up, and also trying to during his dressage test). However, I gave him another dose of each the next day and he was fantastic in the warm-up. He still got very tense in the latter half of the test, but progress is being made! On the third day (another dose of each) he was even better. It seemed to have a cumulative effect. I put the syringe in warm water for about 20 minutes to make it a bit easier to squirt in his mouth.
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works to take the edge off... I've used this the past 2 months, at each horse show I've gone to. It takes the edge off of my mare- she's really good, but it helps her to not feed off of my nerves. The tube is long, and its not so easy for my smaller hands to use. Plus make sure its not cold - because then its very hard to push thru the tube. Still worth the effort!
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well Perfect Prep worked well as a calming agent, it works in the time stated on the label , and gives you the ability to customize the dosage to meet you horses needs.
    Date published: 2010-03-01
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.