Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

SSG Kool Flo

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10884
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

SSG Kool Flo are simply the most comfortable gloves for schooling. Everyone will ask you where you got them – they are that cool.

Favorite Features

  • Lycra mesh back
  • Cowhide leather palm with rein ridges
  • Finger reinforcement
  • Hook and loop fastener wrist tab

Sizing It Up

To determine your glove size, measure around your hand at the widest part, excluding thumb. The number of inches should equal your glove size. Child's Universal(4/5); Ladies Universal(6/7); Men's Small(8); Men's Medium(9); Men's Large(10)

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Kool Flo is rated 4.2708 out of 5 by 48.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gloves ever! I have had a pair of these for well over a year and a half and they have held up through a lot (I still use them for my lessons)! I've used them for schooling and for small shows and they really are great. They've never turned my hands black and they provide really nice protection. The venting on them is fantastic. I plan on buying another pair when theses finally give out.
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great cool gloves I have only ridden in these gloves once but it was a warmer day and my hands were much cooler and didn't turn black like other gloves.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light, Breathable, Grippy! I wear through gloves like there is no tomorrow and I hate it when gloves have no grip whatsoever. These gloves are ultra grippy - my reins didn't slip at all, which was a first with all the gloves I have used before over the years. The only problem I found is that they run a little small. I ordered a Ladies Universal (size 6/7) as I have small hands and fairly small wrists and these gloves are tight. Other than that, I am in love with these gloves!
    Date published: 2013-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value, keeps my hands cool For someone on a budget, these gloves are great! They are light weight, but the leather palm gives a ton of grip. The mesh backing provides lots of airflow to keep my hands cool. The color didn't run and my hands didn't get gross and sweaty. I have small hands and they are a bit snug (I ordered the Ladies Universal) but they are comfortable and flexible.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these gloves I used to go through a pair of crocheted gloves every season. These are the same price and I think will be much more durable. I like the color (black), the grippy palm, and the good fit.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Everyday Gloves These gloves are really comfortably and they don't make your hands sweat as much as many others. Love the fit!
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Haven't had these gloves very long so can't accurately speak to their durability, but quality of fabric feels good and they are very comfortable to ride in....nice and cool for the warmer weather too.
    Date published: 2012-09-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves Good qulity gloves - seem to run slightly small and not sure that they will stretch out much based on the feel of the material. Overall happy with purchase however.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good summer gloves The gloves are nice for summer riding - and look good for shows.
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great ventilation I bought these gloves because my normal light material school gloves are just no longer cutting it. I feel like my hands were in a sauna each time I rode. These gloves are ok. The do meet the purpose that they were designed for. The reinforced finger are wonderful and the ventilation on the tops of the hands is great. My hands no longer sweat to death while I ride. The only drawback to these gloves is they fun small. I have average sized hands and I ordered the largest ladies size SmartPak carries. They are small and fit pretty tight. I think one size bigger would be more comfortable. They also stain my hands black around the wrist and palm. I am hoping with time these gloves will stretch out and stop staining my hands.
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality product The gloves are very comfortable, durable, d a great value.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good gloves The universal ladies size is perfect when first put on but after holding reins for awhile I notice they leave marks on my hands from being a bit tight. I go through glove fingers and these seem to be holding up quite well to riding 5 days a week.
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Literally cool gloves I don't like gloves, so was prepared to not like these, but I do. They are cool in Georgia, which is an accomplishment, and seem to be well made altho I havent had them long enough to tell. As a caveat, you might want to discuss size with someone at SmartPak before buying. I measured my hand as a 7 and she suggested I get a man's small which fit perfectly. They look good, too.
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves I found that these gloves tend to run small. I read the reviews and ordered a size up- I'm glad I did! The gloves I ordered (a size larger) are a pretty snug fit.
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Little Bit of a Letdown :( I purchased the SSG Kool Flo gloves because I do not like wearing winter gloves, (my hands sweat to much).I decided I wanted to try them because I had read some reviews and thought they might be a good deal, so I ordered them online. I was upset when I received them in the mail, because they were to small. My hands normally can fit into a size 8 glove, but they were just a bit to tight for my comfort. I went to SmartPak to return them and in exchange I purchased a pair of Ariat Air Grip Gloves. I love these ones, they are a little bit more expensive, but the comfort level is worth every penny. I would suggest going to the store to try on the Kool Flo gloves for size, because the sizing seemed to be off a bit.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves! So far these are great gloves! I purchased them as a replacement for a very worn out pair of SSG gloves I had been riding in. I've worn them a couple of times since I got them (it is still winter so I can only use them on warmer days). They seem to be well made and I have no doubt that they will be great for summer! I wore them for a schooling show and they worked great as well. For the price, they are a great purchase. They run a little small however. I wear a ladies 6/7 and they fit me perfectly, but if you have long fingers or a bigger hand these might not fit.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are my second pair Kool flo's are perfect for spring and summer riders.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just right very comfy. I must have freakishly small hand for an adult, since I ordered the child's size (even a ladies small/size 6 is too big for me) and they're snug but will stretch out.
    Date published: 2012-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A real bargain! These gloves are very comfortable and flexible. I'm especially pleased with how cool they are on hot days.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These Gloves! It's been super-hot here in Colorado, and these gloves are PERFECT! I almost forget I was wearing them. They were a little tight at first, but once I had them on, they felt fine. Great grip, nice looking. Yep, buy a pair, you'll love 'em!
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good summer gloves Gloves are tight at first, but fit great after the first wear. Leather palm and fingers very durable, and breathable mesh on back keeps hands cool.
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from gloves Gloves were tighter than usual. During first ride they did stretch out. Sweating caused the black in th palms to bleed on to hands. Good grip, though.
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer Gloves I have a pony that just loves to pull so unfortunately I have to wear gloves all year round. These are perfect for the warmer weather. The leather palm protects my hands from blisters while the mesh on top allows for air flow. My hands still do get a little warm but not as warm as they would with a normal glove. The one size fits all worked for me but I do have small hands some I'm not sure how well it would fit someone with longer fingers.
    Date published: 2010-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves These are really nice gloves and I love how there is mesh on the upper side of the hand and leather on the palm and fingers. The only thing I DON'T like is the Velcro on the wrists. I have very small wrists and am almost at the middle/end of the strap. If you have meaty wrists, this might be a problem for you.When I am putting the second glove on, I have gotten the material of the first glove caught in the Velcro of the glove I am putting on, which catches the fabric. So I try to remember to close the Velcro wrist straps very carefully now.
    Date published: 2010-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Gloves I like these gloves so far. I've worn other SSG styles, and they seem comparable in quality. I've only had them for a week, so I can't speak to their durability. I do think they seem a bit small for a universal size, though.
    Date published: 2010-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves I needed gloves for everyday use. These gloves fit the bill. They are easy on and off. they should wear well and are washable. Very comfortable gloves.
    Date published: 2009-12-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from SSG not what they used to be I am disappointed with these gloves. First off, they don't fit well - says one size fits all. I am 5'5", and my fingers are longer than average probably, but the gloves are too short for my fingers. The leather on the underside is too thick and makes it hard to bend your fingers - not something you expect in a summer glove. The leather has no "grip" to it. Caused problems with my mare as she was mis-behaving and I had to have a death grip on the reins to keep them from sliding through my fingers. Switched back to my other gloves and threw these ones in my lunging equipment bag, just in case I am ever without a pair while lunging. I won't be riding in them anymore...
    Date published: 2009-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Kool Flo I bought the Men's Small even though I am a female but they still fit well. Cool and durable. I use them as schooling gloves but they can still go in the show ring at smaller shows. When they get sweaty I just hose them off quickly and wring them out.
    Date published: 2009-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The coolest for summer riding In summer heat, I usually have worn the traditional crochet gloves with the natural leather palms to lesson in and to hack. But my hands still sweated. I bought these SSG Kool-Flo gloves, and I was amazed at how my hands were so comfortable. The top's mesh back allows air to flow, and the palm breathes. Also, I wore them at A shows, and because the mesh back is subtle and doesn't look like mesh until you're close up, they passed muster.
    Date published: 2009-07-23
    • 2015-03-01T06:54CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_37
    • loc_en_US, sid_884, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.