Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

ThinLine No Slip Reins

ThinLine
- Item #17035
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Think Rubber Reins, but even better! "What Rubber Reins have always TRIED to do!" ThinLine Reins are web lined and wrapped with the black ThinLine material with top quality European leather ends.
 
These reins are very soft, and increase the feel between horse and rider. Developed with the help of American World Championship team member Betsy Steiner. "The ThinLine reins are fantastic. These reins are very comfortable to hold, and more importantly, they don’t slip. They actually help the rider develop a soft, effective
contact with the horse." -Betsy Steiner

Also tested cross country by upper level event rider Christan Trainor, these reins do not lose their grip when soaked going through water!

Imported

 

Favorite Features

  • Stainless steel hardware, 5/8" leather
  • Almost 3/4" at the ThinLine part
  • Hook and stud closure. 

 

Sizing

54" inches
What Customers Say:

Instructions

Instructions for Use:

How to Use:

ThinLine recommends basic ThinLine or Ultra ThinLine pads be used between your saddle and regular saddle pad. Most customers use cotton or wool pads underneath. While you can use ThinLine pads directly on the horses back the lifespan of the pad may be shortened and it voids the warranty. All pads with felt or cotton backing are made to be used alone. Some ThinLine or Ultra ThinLine pads may come with a crease where the pad has been folded to be bagged and shipped. These creases will disappear when warmed to body temperature (1-2 rides). All ThinLine products can be cleaned/washed using the ThinLine Cleaner or the ThinLine Wipes.

ThinLine and Ultra ThinLine:

Can be wiped clean (we like baby wipes), hosed off, soaked, bleached, or even machine washed (some machines may catch tm, so front loader is best) in cold water. Mild soaps and detergents can be used, but please do not put them in the dryer! Hang to dry (which really isn’t necessary either as ThinLine doesn’t absorb water.) What to watch out for: keep your ThinLine away from chemicals such as Show Sheen.

Boots: Just sponge or hose off the inside and they are ready to go! Schooling, Sport, and SMB boots and plain bell boots be also be machine washed, cool temperatures please. For leather boots wipe clean and maintain leather as need. Bell boots and Cobra boots will need to hang ot dry if completely washed or soaked. Bell boots with Sheepskin trim should be gently hand washed or follow the direction on reverse for sheepskin care. ThinLine material should be wiped with soap and water only.

Tack:
The tack is similar to the boots, just wipe or sponge of the lining and use a good leather cleaner/condition to maintain the leather. Wipe Thin Line material only with soap and water.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Ariat Tek Team 1/4 Zip is a ...
    Description:
    "The Ariat Tek Team 1/4 Zip is a great way to sport your Ariat Team pride! The warm and soft brushed fleece features AriatTEK ColdSeries technology that utilizes dual layer construction that wicks moisture away from the skin to keep ...
    "Designed for the rider who wants the traditional ...
    Description:
    "Designed for the rider who wants the traditional look with a high tech fabric! Finally, a show coat that recognizes the demands of the sport while maintaining the classic, traditional look. 80% Nylon, 20% Elastan. Imported"
    "The RJ Classics Xtreme Men's Soft Shell Coat ...
    Description:
    "The RJ Classics Xtreme Men's Soft Shell Coat offers a traditional style but with updated features that will make you look and feel on top of your game! This garment is traditionally styled with two front pockets, chest pocket, and ...
    "The Asmar Tofina Soft Shell Vest meets your ...
    Description:
    "The Asmar Tofina Soft Shell Vest meets your needs in different seasons. Made from a lightweight softshell material, this vest has a distinguished high standing collar for a bit of flair. There are zippered side pockets that securely hold your ...
    "Get warmth without the bulk in all types ...
    Description:
    "Get warmth without the bulk in all types of weather. Crafted with the latest in technical fabrics, the gorgeous Personalized Ultima Soft Shell Jacket goes from corporate to casual with ease. Hi-tech protection with a sophisticated, flattering fitted style. Imported" ...
    "A perfect crossover option between dressage, eventing, and ...
    Description:
    "A perfect crossover option between dressage, eventing, and hunter/jumper rings. Part of the RJ Classics XTREME collection, this garment is made of a solid stretch softshell material that is not only comfortable, but machine washable. Imported"
    "Turn up the heat this winter with the ...
    Description:
    "Turn up the heat this winter with the Under Armour Authentic ColdGear® Legging. These leggings are made from an ultra-soft, brushback knit fabric with a fast drying exterior and a brushed, heat-trapping interior. A super-stretchy construction allows for a greater ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    ThinLine No Slip Reins is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 69.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love! got these for my dressage horse and so far so good! ive had these reins about a month now and i LOVE them. I am 5'5 and have small hands and I dont feel like these are too big, they are very comfy and grippy...especially when riding in leather gloves. still look brand new and i ride my horse daily....they wipe clean so easily...would definitely buy again, well worth the money =]
    Date published: 2012-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy them!! Best reins I've ever ridden in. Period.I've been using them for about 6 months now and I still love them. A few weeks ago I couldn't find my gloves and rode bare handed - made me love these reins even more.They give you a great feel for your horse's mouth, they never dig into your hands, they're easy to clean. Brilliant.(They have an occasional tendency to 'curl up' but they don't do it when you're riding/working.)
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I use to have problems gripping rubber reins when my horse started to sweat. With these reins I have great grip even in the pouring down rain
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from provides perfect grip for my speedy TB! Love these reins! They really are great! Normally I hate rubber reins because of the extra bulk and are sometimes not comfortable, but not these! They are about the normal thickness of normal leather reins and are super soft and comfortable (without gloves) even when my TB is being a spaz and dragging me around a course. I haven't been able to experiment with the "not slippery when wet" claim but im sure they will be wonderful when my horse is sweating up a storm. My trainer also mentioned she thought my hands looked softer, which I was surprised because when I read that part in other reviews I thought that was a little strange and far fetched. I would highly recommend these to people. The brown is a nice color and perfectly matched my bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too thick! I was disappointed when the reins arrived as they were quite thick. I had planned to use them on a double bridle and felt that they would be uncomfortable to hold due their thickness so I sent them back untried. Too bad, as it was a great idea and I normally like the thinline products.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Soft! These reins are great! I hate wearing gloves in the summer and these reins don't hurt my hands or fingers like lace reins or rubber reins. They help keep a good connection and don't slip. They are a little on the expensive side but I'm very happy with them and it was worth it.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Sore Hands I already love all my thinline products but these are my new favorites! They are so soft I feel like I'm hanging onto pillows. They don't slip out of your hands with a strong horse and you don't get those sore shoulders/hands. They really don't feel that much thicker than normal reins and certainly not thicker than normal rubber reins. Even tested in heavy Florida rain and didn't slip!
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best reins ever Bought these reins for my daughter and they are so soft, squishy, comfortable and easy for small hands to hold. I ordered another pair for myself!
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great compromise I don't like wearing gloves in summer but rubber reins give me blisters, I hate braided leather reins and web reins. These are super comfy, they are soft yet the grip is great. I really, really like these reins - thinking about a second pair for my other bridle!
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins I read the reviews on these reins and figured I would give them a try. I agree with the reviews. These are wonderful reins. Non slip and easy on your hands. Would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, LOVE!! "Just purchased these reins and absolutely love them!! I bought them originally for my young horse's jump bridle because the material seemed very soft and durable, yet easy to hang on to. Not only were they soft with a great grip, but they also give me a great feel of my horse's mouth. I'm going to order another pair for my other horse's dressage bridle! If you want rubber reins, get these instead, they are way better!"
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from slippery non-slip reins I held the reins in one hand and pulled on it with the other and they easily slipped through my hands. I can imagine with wear they would become slippier. This would not be good should a horse decide to bolt. They are very well made with quality leather, but the Thin Line material is not ideal for reins.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thinline No Slip reins These reins are awesome. I have used them with my snaffle and double bridle. I feel like I have a much better connection with my horses mouth!
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Reins Ever! These reins are amazing! I have a hard time keeping hold of my reins, and the Thinline material on the reins totally helps. My trainer has been able to see a positive difference in my ride because my reins are no longer slipping through my fingers. The reins are nice and grippy and flexible, and they do not look different from other rubber reins so they are totaly fine to show in. The leather could be a little higher quality, but its not bad by any means and isn't a sticking point for me.
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Reins Ever If you want squishy, soft, grippy, comfortable reins, get these, you won't be sorry! Well worth the money. My only suggestion is, if you have a bigger horse, you might want the 60" length.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice reins! I was a little skeptical when I bought these, but they have turned out to be excellent! They are grippy, just the right size, and very soft. I bought these to help with my rheumatoid arthritis, and after going on a 3 hr trail ride, my hands felt way better than normal.
    Date published: 2011-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase Wow I'm so glad I decided to purchase these reins. After using numerous reins (leather, rubber, and web) over the past year and a half only to have them break, crack, or give me blisters, I wanted to spend my money on reins of better quality. I'm so glad I chose these! They have the grip similar to rubber but they aren't nearly as bulky and the Thinline won't rub off on your hands with use, they are sleek in design so people don't even notice I'm not using leather and the Thinline is SOOO comfortable I never get cramps or blisters. The leather is a little stiff initially, but very well made and soften nicely with some conditioning. They really are high quality reins and are worth their price.
    Date published: 2011-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best reins ever! I love these reins. I had bought them in black to replace the crunchy rubber reins that came with my dressage bridle and they were so spectacular that I found myself moving them back and forth to my jumping bridle. I now have them in brown as well! They are squishy and soft but still incredibly grippy.
    Date published: 2011-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them!
    Date published: 2011-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luv these reins I had bought a Thinline pad which I love. I had a significant birthday and treated myself to the reins. Now I wonder how I lived wo them! They are easy to grip, soft in the hand. In fact, my hands feel more secure than when I used rubber reins. And my hands are not fatigued after a long ride. I am extremely happy with these reins.
    Date published: 2011-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't use with Show Sheen For the person who had issues with durability, don't use anything Thinline with Show Sheen. It says this on their website. I have two Thinline girths and the Show Sheen just dried out the material on one. It is still usable, but it has lost flexibility.
    Date published: 2011-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins! I finally found reins that really improve my riding. I had other "non slip" reins but they got really slick and they were too long and slipping through my fingers. These reins are definately worth the money. I am going to buy another pair for my daughter. She uses the NunFiner reins and they have ripped just after one season of showing!
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thinline Reins Crack After one year of use and regular care, my Thinline Reins have cracked and bits of rubber are tearing off. Love the reins, but disappointed in the durability.
    Date published: 2011-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins Great reins. They allow my hands to be softer because you can actually massage them and it keeps a nice connection with your horse's mouth.
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice rubber reins! I needed new reins for my jumping bridle and have had trouble with slippage resulting in my reins being too long, losing contact, etc- I've tried rubber reins with stops, plain rubber, etc. These worked great without any break-in time and felt secure without being too sticky. They didn't slip with sweat or with schooling in the water. And they weren't too thin. Too soon to tell on the durability issue, but my saddle pad still looks great after 3 yrs of regular use, so hopefully the reins will be as tough!
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST reins! ok...I admit that I am a ThinLine junkie! These reins are one of my favorite ThinLine products! I have three pairs. They are soft, flexible, and super grippy either wet or dry! They are a tad thick, but the "Cush Factor" is worth it!
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite reins Not too thick, don't slip (even when wet), and so comfy to hold. I love that they are super easy to clean too.
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best reins ever I LOVE these reins! They are not too thick for my small hands (size 7ish), and they never lose their grip. Best of all, they are easy to clean - just wipe them down with a damp cloth. i've had them for over a year and they still look brand new. I wish I could justify buying a pair for dressage. I love the feel of these. Better than rubber reins, hands down.
    Date published: 2010-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins These reins are great. They give you the feeling of rubber, but are slightly spongy and so comfortable in the hand. They give a wonderful soft, elastic feel to the mouth. They are the best.
    Date published: 2010-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from soft flexible reins These are the most expensive reins I have ever bought, but I like them. I have problems finding reins I do like. I do not like web reins - not even the rubber lined ones because they are too flimsy for me. Usually I use a leather laced rein. Thin Line reins have enough substance to them, so that you have something you can hold on to, and yet be soft and giving with your contact. They are comfortable for bare hands. I am concerned that the seam may start to curl - but I don't know that yet. The buckle end is leather and you can unbuckle them easily - something that is important if you have ever had a horse get a leg caught in a rein and not been able to unbuckle it! The end that attaches to the bit, is made properly (hook/stud style) - so it is easy to attach. I bought black and they go well with my black dressage bridle and do not make my hands black.
    Date published: 2010-08-12
    • y_2017, m_1, d_18, h_17
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_67
    • loc_en_US, sid_7035, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders