Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

ThinLine No Slip Reins

ThinLine
- Item #17035
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Think Rubber Reins, but even better! "What Rubber Reins have always TRIED to do!" ThinLine Reins are web lined and wrapped with the black ThinLine material with top quality European leather ends.
 
These reins are very soft, and increase the feel between horse and rider. Developed with the help of American World Championship team member Betsy Steiner. "The ThinLine reins are fantastic. These reins are very comfortable to hold, and more importantly, they don’t slip. They actually help the rider develop a soft, effective
contact with the horse." -Betsy Steiner

Also tested cross country by upper level event rider Christan Trainor, these reins do not lose their grip when soaked going through water!

Favorite Features

  • Stainless steel hardware, 5/8" leather
  • Almost 3/4" at the ThinLine part
  • Hook and stud closure. 

Imported

Sizing It Up

54" inches

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    ThinLine No Slip Reins is rated 4.5263 out of 5 by 57.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice reins! I was a little skeptical when I bought these, but they have turned out to be excellent! They are grippy, just the right size, and very soft. I bought these to help with my rheumatoid arthritis, and after going on a 3 hr trail ride, my hands felt way better than normal.
    Date published: 2011-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase Wow I'm so glad I decided to purchase these reins. After using numerous reins (leather, rubber, and web) over the past year and a half only to have them break, crack, or give me blisters, I wanted to spend my money on reins of better quality. I'm so glad I chose these! They have the grip similar to rubber but they aren't nearly as bulky and the Thinline won't rub off on your hands with use, they are sleek in design so people don't even notice I'm not using leather and the Thinline is SOOO comfortable I never get cramps or blisters. The leather is a little stiff initially, but very well made and soften nicely with some conditioning. They really are high quality reins and are worth their price.
    Date published: 2011-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best reins ever! I love these reins. I had bought them in black to replace the crunchy rubber reins that came with my dressage bridle and they were so spectacular that I found myself moving them back and forth to my jumping bridle. I now have them in brown as well! They are squishy and soft but still incredibly grippy.
    Date published: 2011-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luv these reins I had bought a Thinline pad which I love. I had a significant birthday and treated myself to the reins. Now I wonder how I lived wo them! They are easy to grip, soft in the hand. In fact, my hands feel more secure than when I used rubber reins. And my hands are not fatigued after a long ride. I am extremely happy with these reins.
    Date published: 2011-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't use with Show Sheen For the person who had issues with durability, don't use anything Thinline with Show Sheen. It says this on their website. I have two Thinline girths and the Show Sheen just dried out the material on one. It is still usable, but it has lost flexibility.
    Date published: 2011-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins! I finally found reins that really improve my riding. I had other "non slip" reins but they got really slick and they were too long and slipping through my fingers. These reins are definately worth the money. I am going to buy another pair for my daughter. She uses the NunFiner reins and they have ripped just after one season of showing!
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thinline Reins Crack After one year of use and regular care, my Thinline Reins have cracked and bits of rubber are tearing off. Love the reins, but disappointed in the durability.
    Date published: 2011-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins Great reins. They allow my hands to be softer because you can actually massage them and it keeps a nice connection with your horse's mouth.
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice rubber reins! I needed new reins for my jumping bridle and have had trouble with slippage resulting in my reins being too long, losing contact, etc- I've tried rubber reins with stops, plain rubber, etc. These worked great without any break-in time and felt secure without being too sticky. They didn't slip with sweat or with schooling in the water. And they weren't too thin. Too soon to tell on the durability issue, but my saddle pad still looks great after 3 yrs of regular use, so hopefully the reins will be as tough!
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST reins! ok...I admit that I am a ThinLine junkie! These reins are one of my favorite ThinLine products! I have three pairs. They are soft, flexible, and super grippy either wet or dry! They are a tad thick, but the "Cush Factor" is worth it!
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite reins Not too thick, don't slip (even when wet), and so comfy to hold. I love that they are super easy to clean too.
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best reins ever I LOVE these reins! They are not too thick for my small hands (size 7ish), and they never lose their grip. Best of all, they are easy to clean - just wipe them down with a damp cloth. i've had them for over a year and they still look brand new. I wish I could justify buying a pair for dressage. I love the feel of these. Better than rubber reins, hands down.
    Date published: 2010-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins These reins are great. They give you the feeling of rubber, but are slightly spongy and so comfortable in the hand. They give a wonderful soft, elastic feel to the mouth. They are the best.
    Date published: 2010-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from soft flexible reins These are the most expensive reins I have ever bought, but I like them. I have problems finding reins I do like. I do not like web reins - not even the rubber lined ones because they are too flimsy for me. Usually I use a leather laced rein. Thin Line reins have enough substance to them, so that you have something you can hold on to, and yet be soft and giving with your contact. They are comfortable for bare hands. I am concerned that the seam may start to curl - but I don't know that yet. The buckle end is leather and you can unbuckle them easily - something that is important if you have ever had a horse get a leg caught in a rein and not been able to unbuckle it! The end that attaches to the bit, is made properly (hook/stud style) - so it is easy to attach. I bought black and they go well with my black dressage bridle and do not make my hands black.
    Date published: 2010-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Contact Problem Solved! These reins are fantastic. In two short weeks, I went from a horse who was always trying to talk me out of contact to one who is now constantly seeking it. The reins, (appropriately named) do not slip. I've been able to ditch my gloves and have a true feel of my horse's mouth and have the much more subtle communication I've been looking for.
    Date published: 2010-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb ...There is no other way to describe these reins; beautifully designed and crafted, as excellent for the horse as for the rider.
    Date published: 2010-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best reins ever I have tried all sort of reins, and so far, the Nunn Finer with the pebble grip have been my favorite. They have been undone by the Thinline reins by a long shot. I have small hands, so I don't like the traditional rubber reins (too bulky, too stiff), and I'm an eventer so I need something that won't slip. I schooled xc for two hours in these and not once did they slip out of my hands (which I'm notorious for doing) and stayed comfortable for the whole ride. The price is right and they just wipe down with a damp cloth afterwards. HIGHLY recommend and will replace my black dressage rubber ones as soon as I get a chance.
    Date published: 2010-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins These are the nicest reins I've ever used. They are very grippy and feel wonderful in your hands. The thinline material provides a very pleasing combination of thickness and flexibility without feeling bulky. I could not be happier with my purchase.
    Date published: 2009-11-25
    • 2015-05-26T09:51CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_56
    • loc_en_US, sid_7035, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.