Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

ThinLine No Slip Reins

ThinLine
- Item #17035
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Think Rubber Reins, but even better! "What Rubber Reins have always TRIED to do!" ThinLine Reins are web lined and wrapped with the black ThinLine material with top quality European leather ends.
 
These reins are very soft, and increase the feel between horse and rider. Developed with the help of American World Championship team member Betsy Steiner. "The ThinLine reins are fantastic. These reins are very comfortable to hold, and more importantly, they don’t slip. They actually help the rider develop a soft, effective
contact with the horse." -Betsy Steiner

Also tested cross country by upper level event rider Christan Trainor, these reins do not lose their grip when soaked going through water!

Imported

 

Favorite Features

  • Stainless steel hardware, 5/8" leather
  • Almost 3/4" at the ThinLine part
  • Hook and stud closure. 

 

Sizing

54" inches
What Customers Say:

Instructions

Instructions for Use:

How to Use:

ThinLine recommends basic ThinLine or Ultra ThinLine pads be used between your saddle and regular saddle pad. Most customers use cotton or wool pads underneath. While you can use ThinLine pads directly on the horses back the lifespan of the pad may be shortened and it voids the warranty. All pads with felt or cotton backing are made to be used alone. Some ThinLine or Ultra ThinLine pads may come with a crease where the pad has been folded to be bagged and shipped. These creases will disappear when warmed to body temperature (1-2 rides). All ThinLine products can be cleaned/washed using the ThinLine Cleaner or the ThinLine Wipes.

ThinLine and Ultra ThinLine:

Can be wiped clean (we like baby wipes), hosed off, soaked, bleached, or even machine washed (some machines may catch tm, so front loader is best) in cold water. Mild soaps and detergents can be used, but please do not put them in the dryer! Hang to dry (which really isn’t necessary either as ThinLine doesn’t absorb water.) What to watch out for: keep your ThinLine away from chemicals such as Show Sheen.

Boots: Just sponge or hose off the inside and they are ready to go! Schooling, Sport, and SMB boots and plain bell boots be also be machine washed, cool temperatures please. For leather boots wipe clean and maintain leather as need. Bell boots and Cobra boots will need to hang ot dry if completely washed or soaked. Bell boots with Sheepskin trim should be gently hand washed or follow the direction on reverse for sheepskin care. ThinLine material should be wiped with soap and water only.

Tack:
The tack is similar to the boots, just wipe or sponge of the lining and use a good leather cleaner/condition to maintain the leather. Wipe Thin Line material only with soap and water.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Fancy stitch raised reins to match all Edgewood ...
    Description:
    "Fancy stitch raised reins to match all Edgewood fancy stitch bridles. Edgewood strap goods are renowned for their fine attention to detail, including, hand finished edges, and lovely stitching. All in the famous deep chestnut color Edgewood is immediately recognizable ...
    "Edgewood Leather uses the finest vegetable tanned cowhide ...
    Description:
    "Edgewood Leather uses the finest vegetable tanned cowhide for strap goods made in the U.S.A. Extra crack resistant with a rich chestnut finish, these pieces oil beautifully. Stainless hardware is used on all pieces of fine fancy raised leather works. ...
    "The Harwich Curb Reins are crafted from durable ...
    Description:
    "The Harwich Curb Reins are crafted from durable vegetable-tanned leather. They feature hook stud closures, and 1/2""wide x 54"" long. Truly great value! Available exclusively at SmartPak. Color: Black or Walnut Brown Imported Coordinates with: Harwich Dressage Bridle Harwich Bling ...
    "Harwich Laced Reins by SmartPak are crafted from ...
    Description:
    "Harwich Laced Reins by SmartPak are crafted from durable vegetable-tanned leather. They feature hook stud closures, and 5/8"" wide x 54""/60"" long. Stainless steel hardware. A great value! Available exclusively at SmartPak. Color: Black/Walnut Imported Coordinates with: Harwich Dressage Bridle ...
    "The Harwich Raised Laced Reins by SmartPak are ...
    Description:
    "The Harwich Raised Laced Reins by SmartPak are crafted from durable vegetable-tanned leather and are raised with fancy white stitching. They feature hook stud closures, and are 5/8""wide x 48"", 54"" or 60"" long. Stainless steel hardware. A outstanding value! ...
    "The Harwich Rubber Reins by SmartPak are crafted ...
    Description:
    "The Harwich Rubber Reins by SmartPak are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned. Excellent craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details, hook stud closures, and stainless steel hardware. 5/8"" x 54"". An amazing value! Available exclusively at SmartPak. ...
    "All KL Rubber reins feature the supplest English ...
    Description:
    "All KL Rubber reins feature the supplest English leather handcrafted to the highest standards exclusively for KL Select in the UK. Full leather reins with rubber overlay. Added value features include reinforced leather-shielded ends; stainless steel buckles or hook-studs, finished ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    ThinLine No Slip Reins is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 77.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful grip and gentle on your fingers! My daughter kept getting blisters and telling me her horse was heavy on the right rein. We added these reins into the program along with more lessons focused on lightening him. Not a single blister since she got these reins.
    Date published: 2017-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great weight and flexibility I was worried these might be stiff and heavy the way rubber reins are, but they are far from it! I wanted something heavier and more grippy than lace reins, but easier to let out than webbed reins. I have been riding in these for 6 weeks now and I absolutely love them. I use them on a green horse and they offer a great feel in my hand, they don't slip, but they are also easy to let out when appropriate while still keeping contact with the horse's mouth. I like these so much because they are slightly heavier than lace reins, and almost squishy in my hands. That difference in weight compared to lace reins is just enough to remind me to keep my hands still and moving with the horse's movement. I use them for dressage and jumping. They are pricey, but I think they are worth it. I would highly recommend them for riders looking to improve their hand contact and those working to keep their fingers closed. They have helped me!
    Date published: 2017-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good as a snaffle rein in a double bridle I've ridden with this rein for about a month. This is the second rein of this type I am using. It's great as a snaffle rein by itself, and good as a snaffle rein in a double bridle. I used it in a show and got my highest score at I-1--a 66 %. It's easy to identify in a double, which is a big plus. Very soft on the hands, and encourages soft contact.
    Date published: 2017-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great soft reins I bought these reins when my mare was running through my hands. She would take rein and rip my hands. These reins are soft on your hands and have excellent grip. I bought a pair for my trainer for Christmas.
    Date published: 2016-12-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from odd material and kinda thick these reins were a bit too thick for my liking and I ended up returning them. I like the thinline material that's on my horse's girth but it was a bit bulky for reins. The oddest part was the rough edge of the material where it ended.
    Date published: 2016-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice grip poor leather First impression was that these are thick so if you are used to thin leather reins you may not like these. They also have some weight to them but i can still feel my horse well with these. After using them a couple times i realized that yes they did mold to my hands with my body heat and that made them very comfortable for my mildly arthritic hands. The only disappointment i had was in the quality of leather used. I found it very dry and low quality for the price so I gave them a thorough oiling. This helped a lot. In the end i am happy with them.
    Date published: 2016-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect in all this humidity. They felt a little thick at first but that was not an issue once I started riding. If you want a rein you can hold on to with out strength and tension, you should be happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2016-08-18
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a long lasting product I have bought two sets of these rains. My first pair of the Thin Line reins lasted me about 2 years. While I didn't think a 2 year life span for $109 reins was great, the comfort and grip of the reins lead me to purchase another pair. However, my second pair lasted me just a little over a year! Now my second pair of reins are so cracked and broken they are giving me blisters. I refuse to spend yet another $100 on reins that will only last me for a year or so. When you first get the reins they are so wonderful. Very soft, allow you to grip even in the rain and through the sweat. But the luxurious texture and grip of these reins will not last long. Not worth the money for this product
    Date published: 2016-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These Reins I've always had trouble closing my fingers on the reins. I'm much too soft in the elbow and hands, and I'll start the course with reins that are a short, succinct contact and end the course with spaghetti noodles. Not with these reins. Through water, sweat, dirt, and my own light handedness, these reins do NOT slip! Plus, they are super comfortable to hold and don't rip apart whatever gloves I'm wearing.
    Date published: 2016-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my hands! My webbed reins were like holding butter knives and were causing so much pain. Love these soft reins that help me feel my ponies mouth. I especially like that there are no rein stops.
    Date published: 2016-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from And they didn't slip in the pouring rain! Once you feel these reins you will be hooked....super soft and thin. This weekend I rode at a dressage show in the pouring rain with them. They didn't slip or feel tacky the entire time. I'm definitely going to buy another pair for my jumping bridle!
    Date published: 2015-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement. I had some rubber reins - more like the ones with the dots on them - they were great but in over the years in the Texas heat they started to melt. These are a great replacement and I think they should hold up better to the heat, but we will see.
    Date published: 2015-10-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very comfortable on the hands but thicker than I had hoped. Nicely made
    Date published: 2015-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thin Line Rubber Reins are WONDERFUL These are great rubber reins. I have a bad habit of letting my reins slip, but not with these! I have been using them to jump. I have not yet ridden with them in the rain, but my friends swear by them.
    Date published: 2015-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good grip and easy on the older hands. With these reins my contact remains more consistent. There is less resistance from the horse which makes both of us happy. Very good investment!!
    Date published: 2015-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! These reins are wonderful. Soft feel in the hands and allows for a great connection between you and the horses mouth. Well worth the price.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cracking When I first felt these reins I fell in love with them. They were so soft and supple, had great grip, and were pleasantly thick. However, when used in the rain, these reins had no grip, and slid right through my fingers. Sadly, the issues don't end there. Much to my disappointment, after only one year of use, the Thinline material on these reins have started to crack. I am very disappointed in this product and would never buy buy it again. I strongly advise future shoppers to not buy the Thinline reins, however nice they may feel when first seen.
    Date published: 2015-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product These reins mold to your hands so they stay in place much better than other reins.
    Date published: 2014-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reins for Smaller Hands! I purchased the Thinline reins recently (after borrowing my trainer's for several months). With the extra "grip," I have found it easier to maintain a consistent rein length while riding. There is no inadvertant slipping or loosening. Rein length changes happen only when intended. But, the best thing about these reins is the thinner profile. I have somewhat smaller hands (size 7 in gloves), and these reins fit me perfectly. Thick rubber reins and even regular braided reins can seem cumbersome in comparison. I recommend them to anyone who is looking for for control with less bulk.
    Date published: 2014-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite reins Rode in these a few times and I can only say WOW. Great feel and communication between horse and ride and the leather is great. My hands never slip with these and they have helped me to become a softer rider!!
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed My daughter had a pair of these reins and she used them for several years. They broke when a horse stepped on them - understandable. She really liked them so I got her a new pair. While riding with the new ones for maybe the tenth time, the metal piece that holds them around the bit tore out of the leather. Fortunately she was just trotting and on a good horse or this could have ended very badly! I'm afraid to get a new pair now.
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One word: WOW I literally just got my reins a few minutes ago, and they are so comfy! They are supple and very squishy! Beautiful! I can already tell that I'm going to love them! I bought these to use with my strong jumper who always seems to yank the reins out of my hands on course no matter how tightly I grip them! It seems like these reins will hold up to his antics and help improve my ride and contact. I'm looking forward to putting these reins into use! My advice to you: If you are thinking about buying these reins, do it! You won't be sorry! They are well worth the money because their quality is amazing!
    Date published: 2014-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT feel! Oh so comfortable. LOVE these reins. They are so soft and pliable; easy and comfortable to use right out of the box. Feel great in the hand, helping to aid the rider with a light, elastic contact. Absolutely recommend them!
    Date published: 2014-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful for 'grip' issues They look a little 'funny' i.e..thicker than I thought but they don't feel thick in my hands which are small. The 'sponginess' of the material helps me to remember to keep the feel 'alive' and soft.
    Date published: 2014-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like them, don't love them I do like these, and the weird smushy material is very nice in the hand. I like my leather reins just as well though, and I wish these had markers on them to stop my ornery gelding from slyly pulling them away from me. These do seem very easy to clean and they are very comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for no-slip! I'm not a gadget person - I tend to think if there's an issue, I need to fix it with practice for me or training for my horse. But I had consistently been having difficulty not letting my reins slip longer. I had web reins with hand stops, and if I didn't have a death grip on the reins, they would slide longer until I hit the next stop. I randomly came across a COTH thread talking about how these reins really helped people who were having the same issue I was and decided to at least check them out. I was concerned with how much thicker they are than my old reins, but I decided to give them a try. I'm only one ride in, but I had absolutely no trouble with slipping even without a death grip. An added bonus was that I felt my communication through the bridle was still as clear, but softer. Didn't even notice the thicker material when I was riding, perhaps because it's soft and kinda squishes like memory foam. Seems like they will work out very well.
    Date published: 2014-03-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Entirely neutral These are good quality reins and have held up for some time. That said, they just don't do it for me. I don't love how they feel in my hand and with gloves, I don't think they are super grippy. There is nothing wrong with them, but it isn't something I would seek out.
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wasn't a believer, but now I am I had seen lots of people posting on various websites (reviews, COTH forum, eBay) about how great these reins were, among ThinLine's other products.  I was NOT a believer, and not about to fall for the price tag.  Regular old rubber reins have served me just fine for a long time!  However; I had a day where my horse was sweaty, my hands were sweaty, it was incredibly humid, and my jumping was awful.  I don't really blame it on the reins, but I couldn't keep my reins.  I broke down in a moment of despair and bought a pair of these babies and I am so glad that I did.  I hate to admit it, but I have fallen down the rabbit hole and am a BIG fan.  They simply don't slip.  Heat, humidity, rain, sweat -- they have a great grip and they look fine, too.  I still don't know how I feel about their other products, but I have to say these reins are great and I'm much more inclined to try out some of their other products, too.  Well worth the investment.
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Never again I really like thin line products in general and have good luck with them. I absolutely love these reins except that after 3 months they literally started falling apart in my hands. I was really sad because I love everything about these reins but for the price they should last longer than 3 months. I've been riding for 23 years and have never had that happen to me before.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect no-slip reins! I love the feel of these reins, not too thick and not too thin but the perfect balanced feel. I was using Parelli Finesse Reins before, because I like the thickness of them and the "soft" feel, but my hands kept slipping ruining the contact. Same with the leather reins with leather stops. And I've yet to find rubber reins or web reins that "feel" comfortable in my hand, most are either too thick feeling or too thin. With these ThinLine reins my hands can now stay put in a soft resting position creating even better elastic contact. Shorting the reins and lengthening them are no problem either! Super easy to clean as well. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_75
    • loc_en_US, sid_7035, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders