Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

ThinLine No Slip Reins

ThinLine
- Item #17035
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Think Rubber Reins, but even better! "What Rubber Reins have always TRIED to do!" ThinLine Reins are web lined and wrapped with the black ThinLine material with top quality European leather ends.
 
These reins are very soft, and increase the feel between horse and rider. Developed with the help of American World Championship team member Betsy Steiner. "The ThinLine reins are fantastic. These reins are very comfortable to hold, and more importantly, they don’t slip. They actually help the rider develop a soft, effective
contact with the horse." -Betsy Steiner

Also tested cross country by upper level event rider Christan Trainor, these reins do not lose their grip when soaked going through water!

Favorite Features

  • Stainless steel hardware, 5/8" leather
  • Almost 3/4" at the ThinLine part
  • Hook and stud closure. 

Imported

Sizing It Up

54" inches

Customers Also Shopped For
The M. Toulouse Annice is a well crafted ...
Description:
The M. Toulouse Annice is a well crafted and extremely comfortable saddle. Perfect for use in the Hunters or Equitation. The medium deep seat with narrow twist offers security, yet keeps close contact with the horse. Double leather flaps and ...
Fancy stitch raised reins to match all Edgewood ...
Description:
Fancy stitch raised reins to match all Edgewood fancy stitch bridles. Edgewood strap goods are renowned for their fine attention to detail, including, hand finished edges, and lovely stitching. All in the famous deep chestnut color Edgewood is immediately recognizable ...
Edgewood Leather uses the finest vegetable tanned cowhide ...
Description:
Edgewood Leather uses the finest vegetable tanned cowhide for strap goods made in the U.S.A. Extra crack resistant with a rich chestnut finish, these pieces oil beautifully. Stainless hardware is used on all pieces of fine fancy raised leather works. ...
The number #1 choice on the A Circuit! ...
Description:
The number #1 choice on the A Circuit! Edgewood Original leather goods are made with the finest vegetable-tanned leather in the U.S. The fancy stitch, high-profile square raise, deep rich chestnut color and clean, careful workmanship combine for a striking ...
Arc De Triomphe bridles and reins are made ...
Description:
Arc De Triomphe bridles and reins are made from the finest French natural leather, allowed to mature gradually during the vegetable tanning process in pits, which creates a durable product with a smoothSoft finish. Favorite Features Each piece of leather ...
This handy piece of schooling equipment may be ...
Description:
This handy piece of schooling equipment may be small, but it carries its weight in gold. The Instant Gag, was designed with Olympic Medalist, Anne Kursinski and is used to turn any bit into a gag bit without the hassles ...
Why We Love ThisThe Dr. Cook's Bitless Bridle ...
Description:
Why We Love ThisThe Dr. Cook's Bitless Bridle Beta Reins offer the same great material used on the Bitless Beta bridles! This leather-like synthetic is composed of a nylon core with a vinyl coating making it impervious to dirt and ...
out of 5
88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

ThinLine No Slip Reins is rated 4.485294117647059 out of 5 by 68.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my hands! My webbed reins were like holding butter knives and were causing so much pain. Love these soft reins that help me feel my ponies mouth. I especially like that there are no rein stops.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from And they didn't slip in the pouring rain! Once you feel these reins you will be hooked....super soft and thin. This weekend I rode at a dressage show in the pouring rain with them. They didn't slip or feel tacky the entire time. I'm definitely going to buy another pair for my jumping bridle!
Date published: 2015-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great replacement. I had some rubber reins - more like the ones with the dots on them - they were great but in over the years in the Texas heat they started to melt. These are a great replacement and I think they should hold up better to the heat, but we will see.
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very comfortable on the hands but thicker than I had hoped. Nicely made
Date published: 2015-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thin Line Rubber Reins are WONDERFUL These are great rubber reins. I have a bad habit of letting my reins slip, but not with these! I have been using them to jump. I have not yet ridden with them in the rain, but my friends swear by them.
Date published: 2015-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good grip and easy on the older hands. With these reins my contact remains more consistent. There is less resistance from the horse which makes both of us happy. Very good investment!!
Date published: 2015-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! These reins are wonderful. Soft feel in the hands and allows for a great connection between you and the horses mouth. Well worth the price.
Date published: 2015-01-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cracking When I first felt these reins I fell in love with them. They were so soft and supple, had great grip, and were pleasantly thick. However, when used in the rain, these reins had no grip, and slid right through my fingers. Sadly, the issues don't end there. Much to my disappointment, after only one year of use, the Thinline material on these reins have started to crack. I am very disappointed in this product and would never buy buy it again. I strongly advise future shoppers to not buy the Thinline reins, however nice they may feel when first seen.
Date published: 2015-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product These reins mold to your hands so they stay in place much better than other reins.
Date published: 2014-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Reins for Smaller Hands! I purchased the Thinline reins recently (after borrowing my trainer's for several months). With the extra "grip," I have found it easier to maintain a consistent rein length while riding. There is no inadvertant slipping or loosening. Rein length changes happen only when intended. But, the best thing about these reins is the thinner profile. I have somewhat smaller hands (size 7 in gloves), and these reins fit me perfectly. Thick rubber reins and even regular braided reins can seem cumbersome in comparison. I recommend them to anyone who is looking for for control with less bulk.
Date published: 2014-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite reins Rode in these a few times and I can only say WOW. Great feel and communication between horse and ride and the leather is great. My hands never slip with these and they have helped me to become a softer rider!!
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed My daughter had a pair of these reins and she used them for several years. They broke when a horse stepped on them - understandable. She really liked them so I got her a new pair. While riding with the new ones for maybe the tenth time, the metal piece that holds them around the bit tore out of the leather. Fortunately she was just trotting and on a good horse or this could have ended very badly! I'm afraid to get a new pair now.
Date published: 2014-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One word: WOW I literally just got my reins a few minutes ago, and they are so comfy! They are supple and very squishy! Beautiful! I can already tell that I'm going to love them! I bought these to use with my strong jumper who always seems to yank the reins out of my hands on course no matter how tightly I grip them! It seems like these reins will hold up to his antics and help improve my ride and contact. I'm looking forward to putting these reins into use! My advice to you: If you are thinking about buying these reins, do it! You won't be sorry! They are well worth the money because their quality is amazing!
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT feel! Oh so comfortable. LOVE these reins. They are so soft and pliable; easy and comfortable to use right out of the box. Feel great in the hand, helping to aid the rider with a light, elastic contact. Absolutely recommend them!
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful for 'grip' issues They look a little 'funny' i.e..thicker than I thought but they don't feel thick in my hands which are small. The 'sponginess' of the material helps me to remember to keep the feel 'alive' and soft.
Date published: 2014-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like them, don't love them I do like these, and the weird smushy material is very nice in the hand. I like my leather reins just as well though, and I wish these had markers on them to stop my ornery gelding from slyly pulling them away from me. These do seem very easy to clean and they are very comfortable.
Date published: 2014-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for no-slip! I'm not a gadget person - I tend to think if there's an issue, I need to fix it with practice for me or training for my horse. But I had consistently been having difficulty not letting my reins slip longer. I had web reins with hand stops, and if I didn't have a death grip on the reins, they would slide longer until I hit the next stop. I randomly came across a COTH thread talking about how these reins really helped people who were having the same issue I was and decided to at least check them out. I was concerned with how much thicker they are than my old reins, but I decided to give them a try. I'm only one ride in, but I had absolutely no trouble with slipping even without a death grip. An added bonus was that I felt my communication through the bridle was still as clear, but softer. Didn't even notice the thicker material when I was riding, perhaps because it's soft and kinda squishes like memory foam. Seems like they will work out very well.
Date published: 2014-03-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Entirely neutral These are good quality reins and have held up for some time. That said, they just don't do it for me. I don't love how they feel in my hand and with gloves, I don't think they are super grippy. There is nothing wrong with them, but it isn't something I would seek out.
Date published: 2014-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wasn't a believer, but now I am I had seen lots of people posting on various websites (reviews, COTH forum, eBay) about how great these reins were, among ThinLine's other products.  I was NOT a believer, and not about to fall for the price tag.  Regular old rubber reins have served me just fine for a long time!  However; I had a day where my horse was sweaty, my hands were sweaty, it was incredibly humid, and my jumping was awful.  I don't really blame it on the reins, but I couldn't keep my reins.  I broke down in a moment of despair and bought a pair of these babies and I am so glad that I did.  I hate to admit it, but I have fallen down the rabbit hole and am a BIG fan.  They simply don't slip.  Heat, humidity, rain, sweat -- they have a great grip and they look fine, too.  I still don't know how I feel about their other products, but I have to say these reins are great and I'm much more inclined to try out some of their other products, too.  Well worth the investment.
Date published: 2014-01-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Never again I really like thin line products in general and have good luck with them. I absolutely love these reins except that after 3 months they literally started falling apart in my hands. I was really sad because I love everything about these reins but for the price they should last longer than 3 months. I've been riding for 23 years and have never had that happen to me before.
Date published: 2013-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect no-slip reins! I love the feel of these reins, not too thick and not too thin but the perfect balanced feel. I was using Parelli Finesse Reins before, because I like the thickness of them and the "soft" feel, but my hands kept slipping ruining the contact. Same with the leather reins with leather stops. And I've yet to find rubber reins or web reins that "feel" comfortable in my hand, most are either too thick feeling or too thin. With these ThinLine reins my hands can now stay put in a soft resting position creating even better elastic contact. Shorting the reins and lengthening them are no problem either! Super easy to clean as well. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2013-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable and Grippy These reins feel so nice in your hands:) They are a little on the thicker side than some other reins so they may not be ideal for someone with tiny hands. I have used them for all three phases of eventing and like them in all. They offer an elastic feel with the mouth with a very grippy texture. I only question their longevity as they do not feel as hardy as more stout rubber reins.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicest reins These are the nicest reins I have ever used. I have smaller hands, and they are a nice width and thickness. They feel very soft in the hand, and do not slip. I think the comfort has translated to a more consistent contact with the horse as well.
Date published: 2013-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love I broke a finger last summer and when I did so I had to ride in gloves with a finger cut out. That led to really bad blisters and now my fingers are sensative where the blisters used to be. But... with these reins it does not hurt and I can even ride without gloves if necessary. They are fantastic and I bought them for both of my bridles. Will never ride in anything else if I can help it.
Date published: 2013-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! These are comfortable to hold and they don't slip. Hands can relax and have a steady contact.
Date published: 2013-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST PURCHASE EVER!!!!!! I can't even start with how much I love these reins! They are soft, flexible, non-slip, and beautiful!! They don't even get slippery AT ALL when my hands get sweaty! I can't really judge the durability as I have only had them for a few weeks, but I LOVE THESE REINS!!! They are a little pricey, but the rubber reins I was planning on getting instead were even more expensive, and they would've gotten slippery when my hands were sweaty. I think these reins are worth EVERY PENNY!!!!
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best reins ever These are hands down the best reins I've ever purchased. They are super grippy, and help make a "live" and elastic communication between my hands and my horses mouth. They are very useful for for riders who have issues with slipping reins, or hands that ache after riding.I have read several reviewers who have had issues with durability and the Thinline material degrading. I have always used baby wipes or water to clean the reins with, never any glycerin based product, and my reins are still going strong nearly three years after purchasing.
Date published: 2013-03-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A matter of preference At first I liked these but have been riding with a thinner pair w leather stops and switched back to find these feeling bulky and thick. These are really a matter of personal preference if you like the slightly spongy, grippy feel.
Date published: 2013-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love! got these for my dressage horse and so far so good! ive had these reins about a month now and i LOVE them. I am 5'5 and have small hands and I dont feel like these are too big, they are very comfy and grippy...especially when riding in leather gloves. still look brand new and i ride my horse daily....they wipe clean so easily...would definitely buy again, well worth the money =]
Date published: 2012-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy them!! Best reins I've ever ridden in. Period.I've been using them for about 6 months now and I still love them. A few weeks ago I couldn't find my gloves and rode bare handed - made me love these reins even more.They give you a great feel for your horse's mouth, they never dig into your hands, they're easy to clean. Brilliant.(They have an occasional tendency to 'curl up' but they don't do it when you're riding/working.)
Date published: 2012-10-31
  • 2016-10-01T12:12CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_7035, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders