Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

SSG Gripper

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10893
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Everyone has at least one pair of these SSG Grippers- and for good reason. They are comfortable and when they wear out you can replace them without any guilt. So go to your tack box, toss out those old ones and treat yourself to some fresh Grippers. Economical cool knit cotton glove with hook and loop fastening wrist tab. Pimple grip palm. Reinforced in key areas. Imported.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    TheSSG Hybrid is the best of both worlds, ...
    Description:
    TheSSG Hybrid is the best of both worlds, offering both classic appearance and superior grip. Genuine cabretta leather back and synthetic leather with aquasuede palm for grip. The SSG Hybrid has excellent breathability along with exceptional durability and comfort. Imported. ...
    TheSSG Silk LinedSoft Touchglove is the most comfortable ...
    Description:
    TheSSG Silk LinedSoft Touchglove is the most comfortable lined glove you will try.No bulk, extra comfort.Silk - natures best natural insulator! Hook and loop wrist closure for a secure fit. Machine washable. Imported.
    TheSSG All Weather Winter Lined Glove is excellent ...
    Description:
    TheSSG All Weather Winter Lined Glove is excellent for schooling once the temperature starts to drop. Unlined aquasuede palm, excellent grip in dry, rainy or snowy conditions. Thinsulate lining on back of hand and thumb only. Hook and loop wrist ...
    These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and ...
    Description:
    These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and exceedingly durable. Favorite Features Soft pigskin palm for grip Soft pigskin finger rein reinforcements Cool knit crochet back for comfort and style Imported. Sizing It Up To determine your glove size, measure ...
    Why We Love ThisThe SSG Winter Training Glove ...
    Description:
    Why We Love ThisThe SSG Winter Training Glove is an all purpose lined winter glove for training, handling, and riding.The backof glove has Thinsulate lining forheat retentionwithout the bulk while thepalm is lightly linedproviding abetter feel on the reins without ...
    TheSSG 10 Below Winter Gloves isa winter glove ...
    Description:
    TheSSG 10 Below Winter Gloves isa winter glove with supremeProtection in cold weather with 4 layers for warmth!Favorite Features Proven waterproofProtection (Not just water resistant) Thinsulate and exclusive SSG polar fleece lining SSG digital palm for superior grip Knitted cuff ...
    SSG Grand Prix is the "perfect feel" English ...
    Description:
    SSG Grand Prix is the "perfect feel" English show glove, made with Aquasuede Plus: askin thin, long wearing, machine washable material providing excellent grip and exceptional touch. Reinforced in key areas.Imported.
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Gripper is rated 4.1827 out of 5 by 104.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Thankfully they are cheap! I like these gloves for schooling, but Georgia summers are not kind to them! They become slippery if you sweat or pat the sweaty pony's neck or get any other moisture on them. Mine got holes in them with only 4 months use.
    Date published: 2015-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daughter loves them! for the price they're awesome! I purchased the lilac colored ones for my daughter and she wears them for daily rides.
    Date published: 2015-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value!! I bought these gloves a few weeks ago, when I saw that smartpak carried them.I used to buy them elsewhere. I love these gloves! They fit well, and last awhile too, which is great because they don't cost much!! I love all of the pretty colors they come in! I will definitely be buying several more! !
    Date published: 2014-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight Bought a a schooling glove, love the fit and so far the durability
    Date published: 2014-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Economical riding/grip glove I was worried when I saw the price. I am happy to say they fit me well.
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from you get what you pay for... The first time my daughter wore them the thumb ripped out. I knew they wouldn't be serious quality for the price but I wasn't expecting them to be disposable either. Needless to say they are going back.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value I have used this brand of gloves for many years. They don't last forever, but I sew up the small tears in the fingers and make them last. For an inexpensive schooling glove they do the job as a low price.
    Date published: 2014-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy! I bought a pair of these gloves a couple of months ago and recently came back to order a pair for a gift. The fit is great and they seem to be holding up well.
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Starter Gloves Very pleased with these gloves. The price was right and as stated above, "when they wear out you can replace them without guilt" I might need a thicker pair when the weather cools and I am unsure how they will hold up with repeated use and washing, but they have been fine so far. I ordered medium pair and ended up exchanging them for smalls. I love SmartPak's convenient, quick, and free exchanges!
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good inexpensive schooling gloves These gloves are a good inexpensive option for schooling.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from some of my favorite gloves! These simple little gloves are some of my favorite gloves I have used. I always find myself coming back to these. I have small hands (size 5 or 6 depending on brand/cut) and its hard to find gloves in my size however these are one of the few i can always count on to fit me. They may not last as long as a pair of leather gloves but at this price point you can stock up on a few pairs. I also love that i can toss these in the washer. i use these for schooling, lessons and even show. love them great little gloves! get yourself a pair or 3 you will not be sorry! :)
    Date published: 2013-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the Price, Great Gloves Every year I buy the unlined gloves for summer and the lined gloves for winter, several pairs of each. I wear them every day at the barn. They eventually wear out, get holes, and rip at the wrist, yet they are still my favorite gloves. They are lightweight, very comfortable, warm in the winter and wash well. They get tossed at the end of the season. I save my more expensive gloves for shows and clinics.
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from SSG Grippers Do Not Last I like these gloves alot as they are lightweight and breathable, but unfortunately I wear the tips out after only a few weeks. I only use them for riding and grooming. I need to find a more durable pair of gloves.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK buy These gloves were cheap so I bought them for the winter. They were awesome while they lasted but a hole ripped in the thumb after about 4 weeks. I still wear them on chilly days though because the grip is really good.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value These gloves are relatively inexpensive and last a few years so are a good value. Also they fit well and are comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good gloves! The only gloves I ever wear is a good heavy leather pair for rough work, as I really hate wearing gloves! However, I recently needed a cheap pair of riding gloves for driving someone's horses (they insisted I wear gloves...) and these proved to be a great choice. They don't really restrict my feel too much, they are very grippy, and they're thin and supple. Glad I chose these!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from eh I personally like these gloves, however I have encountered some issues that may bother people. First off, I had only had these gloves for about four weeks when a HUGE hole ripped in the thumb (at the time I was only riding once a week). It was most likely due to a weak seam, and I was able to resew it myself without an issue. I don't mind because they were not expensive, and they do have good grip. I recommend these, but with caution.
    Date published: 2012-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves! I used these as a kid and now as a returning adult rider I have a pair. The fabric is the right thickness so you can feel the reins but not get blisters. It is also nice how you can Velcro both of the gloves together to prevent losing one. I had them in black as a kid but for hacking and schooling nowadays I have them in green and I love them! I will probably buy more. Good price too.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! These are great for schooling and hold up extremely well. They are lightweight and very comfortable for summer riding. They tend to run a bit small so get the next size up. Overall a great product and I really recommend them.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used to be my favorite glove I used these for nearly 20 years before finding Roeckl Chesters. They are lightweight, washable, & grippy. For hot weather if you're sweating lots, they do get very soggy because they're cotton. Can't beat the price but holes wear in them relatively quickly.
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer glove I really like this glove - reasonably priced and good quality. I have tried crocheted gloves but they always rip so I tried these and for the price they last an entire summer of consistent riding.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality for Price these gloves provide a snug fit, which is so critical to maintaining a firm and secure grip on the reins. Plastic ribbing provided increased durability....useful for barn work as well.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all purpose glove The description is accurate. Everyone loves these gloves for a reason. They're a great value, great gloves. I ride hard & fast (endurance) & never without gloves & these are perfect for me, fit great, dry quickly, light duty, but that's ok because they're more comfortable than heavy duty & they're less expensive, so it's a trade I prefer. I've bought expensive gloves & they tend to get hard & uncomfortable before they wear out & I don't want to replace them even though I no longer like them because I spent so much money on them. With these I just toss them & get an awesome new pair. By the time they wear out, I'm ready for a new color anyways.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought 2 pair Did not know how long these gloves would last so I bought 2 pair. So far so good. Good grip, good quality. Have only had a month and seem to be holding up well. Great for our hot spring/summer! Got a medium and would go up to large for people with thick wrists.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for summer These gloves are very light weight. Nice for summer.
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy So comfortable, cool, and washable too! I may not wear any other summer glove.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted. I like wearing a pair of gloves around the barn while I'm cleaning. These are great summer gloves. Lightweight & inexpensive. I don't know how long they will last just because of that - but they are not cheap pieces of junk so that makes me happy.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very happy! These gloves are light weight, comfortable and just enough to protect my hands. For the price, they can't be beat.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for the price Needed new gloves after the 2-year-old I was training wore all of the grip off of my old ones (also SSG, but they were nicer than these). Just needed something cheap (poor college student!) so I went with these. The fingertips wore out and ripped after a couple of weeks of use, but when they were functional, they had a great fit and great grip. For what I paid, they were worth it, but if you are looking for a quality pair of gloves to last you a while, I'd suggest spending a little more money on something higher quality, but I still recommend SSG due to past experience with them.
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome gloves for schooling I purchased a pare of the light blue ones at my local tack shop about two years ago, I loved them and always wore them to my weekly lesson. They have held up well but do get dirty fast, and they just recently began to get holes in them, so and will purchase a pair of SSG crotchted gloves
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    • 2016-05-28T15:35CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_87
    • loc_en_US, sid_893, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders