Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Ultimate Turnout

SmartPak
- Item #20621
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Battle the elements this winter with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout Blanket, our toughest waterproof blanket yet! With heavy-duty nylon, this blanket is great for a horse that is tough on blankets. We're so sure it will last for years to come that we've backed with a 10-Year Indestructible Guarantee. We've got you and your horse covered - no matter what! Imported.

10 Year Indestructible Guarantee- the fine print:
We are so confident in the toughness and durability of the SmartPak Ultimate Nylon Turnout Blanket, that if anything happens to this blanket within 10 years of your purchase, we’ll replace or refund it—no matter what! It’s that easy. However, the guarantee does not cover blankets that have embroidery stitched on the barrel as it compromises the integrity of the blanket.  

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof Heavy-duty nylon:  This special weave of nylon is ultra durable and resists rubs and tears.
  • 1000 denier nylon is ultra durable and the toughest blanket material available
  • Available in Light (no fill), Medium (220g), Heavy  (360g)
  • Nylon outer is waterproof and breathable, so your horse stays dry and protected from the elements without feeling stifled underneath
  • Nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable and allow you to take your horse's blanket on and off effortlessly
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry

Matching SmartPak Ultimate Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in sizes 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproof

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in ...
    Description:
    The ultimate all season blanket. 2 rugs in 1 - Simply detach the removable liner to choose the level of warmth for your horse making this blanket extremely versatile, you'll be using it all season! Made from 1000D ballistic nylon, ...
    The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D Combo Neck Turnout made Exclusively ...
    Description:
    The Weatherbeeta Genero 1200D Combo Neck Turnout made Exclusively for SmartPak offers Weatherbeeta quality at a great price, in a fun, new color only available at SmartPak. This blanket features a high-neck cut providing extra coverage and warmth. Favorite Features Medium weight has ...
    The Smartpak Deluxe Pony Turnout Blanket is designed ...
    Description:
    The Smartpak Deluxe Pony Turnout Blanket is designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable. Tough 1200 denier, grid patterned ripstop outer shell. Two stainless steel quick clip and dees front closure. Can be ...
    Big D quality and features in this top ...
    Description:
    Big D quality and features in this top of the line turnout! Favorite Features Waterproof 2100 Denier rip-stop outer with double sewn heat-sealed seams, reinforced stress points and tailored rear darts (not just folded) make this blanket wear like armor ...
    Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, ...
    Description:
    Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, the Rockin' SP Deluxe Waterproof Blanket offers superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. Favorite Features Waterproof and breathable Unique cut with broader shoulders, ...
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic ...
    Description:
    Stable Blanket: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, nylon lined shoulders, fleece at withers, two surcingels. 640 Denier. 440 fiberfill. Navy blue with hunter green trim and white piping. Turnout: Front gussets, stainless steel hardware, elastic leg straps, ...
    Save with a blanket bundle! Specifically designed to ...
    Description:
    Save with a blanket bundle! Specifically designed to accomodate the broader chest, shoulders, and hindquarters of stockier breeds like Quarter Horses, Rockin' SP blankets offer superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. This coordinating set includes key pieces of your ...
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Ultimate Turnout is rated 4.633 out of 5 by 436.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hardy, warm, love the guarantee! I bought two of these blankets at the end of November when I purchased my gelding. I figured, with the 10 year guarantee, they were worth it! So far, with the warm winter, I haven't had to use the heavyweight outside of the blizzard two weeks ago, but the midweight is doing it's job. Aside from the pretty blue piping not being as bright - and the inevitable dust a five year old kicks up - this think looks new. The buckles and clasps are all in great shape and the fabric is completely undamaged. I don't think I'll be needing another anytime soon, but these things rock! My only complaint would be that the neck is a bit large and sits a little less smoothly than I'd like, but again, my guy is a baby and doesn't really fill it out yet.
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit I always worry about shoulder rubs on turnouts. Love the design and the color.
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Tough Blankie!! We bought this blanket for all 3 of our horses. Extremely tough! Our mare shreds every blanket she has owned, ripped off every strap. Our 4 year old gelding plays WAY too rough with the other two. My gelding is the angel of the bunch. All three horses are wearing their blankets in the midwest. They dont shift, nothing has ripped. All 3 stay dry during freezing rain, straps still attached. Even the hooks and closures have a small strip of material that covers the snap. This is important when removing the blanket thats covered in frozen mud. We are beyondpleased!!! Well done Smart Pak!!!! We are happy!
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely disappointed My horse had only worn this blanket for about 2 weeks when it tore. He never tore a blanket previously. When I called SmartPak I was told that the blanket had to be cleaned before it could be returned (about a $20 expense) and if not returned within 60 days of receiving I would be responsible for the return shipping. I expected a better quality blanket and a better response to the issue from a company that gives this product a 10-year indestructible guarantee.
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this two months ago as a waterproof top layer, and I am so glad I did! It has held up beautifully to this year's crazy/rainy/slushy Vermont weather.
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Turnout Wonderful turnout! Slightly big. Seems durable and moves with the horse.
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good turnout sheet overall Only complaint with this sheet was that the piping has pulled out and torn in a few different spots, but it hasn't effected the sheet itself. Well constructed and has held up well alone and layered with a medium during a storm. If it weren't for the minor cosmetic issue with the piping, I wouldn't have any complaints!
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from One major problem Problem on this and other Smart Pak blankets that I have purchased is the design of the front closures: the snaps ( which ALWAYS break) are stitched right into the straps. That makes it almost impossible to replace the snaps. Major design problem.
    Date published: 2016-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality! I was really impressed by this blanket's quality. It seemed a lot sturdier than the Saxony blanket I have as well as a little thicker. Unfortunately, it appeared to rub on my horses shoulders so I had to return it.
    Date published: 2016-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It fits well, and seems comfortable for my horse. The blanket seems well made and so far is holding up very well. A very nice blanket for the price.
    Date published: 2016-01-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works well as long as it doesn't rain too much This blanket looks great and fits my horse very nicely. I was very happy with it until it started raining hard. The water got in through the neck area and rolled down to the shoulders, chest and belly areas, which got soaked. Also, somehow everything was wet under the tail flap.
    Date published: 2016-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my pasture boarded gelding I splurged on this sheet for my OTTB gelding who is pasture boarded because of the 10-year guarantee. (He doesn't defend himself from others who intend to disrobe him). I arrived one day to find his tail flap had been removed and over the course of blanketing season, some of the trim had pulled off. Stitching holding the surcingle straps had also started to come loose. I contacted Smartpak and explained it to them - I quickly had a return label and just had to wash it and pack it up. A replacement showed up at my door not long after. Love Smartpak and this blanket!
    Date published: 2016-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for my big shouldered Morgan! Love the shoulder gussets that are roomy for my big shouldered Morgan. Very durable and the color combo is classy!
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket 2nd winter, great blanket. Only a few rubs on some edges but nothing major. Waterproof and fits great. Not a fan of the neck hood but the blanket is excellent.
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best blanket I bought this blanket in August for my gelding that is very hard on blankets and I could not be happier. The look and fit is great and you cannot beat the 10 year warranty. My horse and his pasture mates have had fun destroying the matching hood but Smart Pak was great in the replacement process and sent a replacement right away. If your horse is hard on blankets I would highly recommend this product!!
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than anything else! I had been drooling over this blanket for about a year until I received one for Christmas! My mare was between sizes so I originally had the person who got it for me to size up and order an 81, but upon arrival it was huge and definitely did not fit. Sending it back was easy, and the new blanket took about two to three weeks to be delivered. The 78 fits my horse perfect, so I definitely suggest sizing down if your horse is in between sizes. With all of that aside, I absolutely love it! My previous amigo blanket lasted about two years, but I was endlessly having to stitch up tear after tear. This SmartPak Ultimate Turnout has lasted a few days now and I haven't had a single tear yet, which is a lot to say for my 5 year old! I'm incredibly excited about the 10 year guarantee because I know that eventually she will have her way with it and somehow tear it, especially because the geldings over the fence have an obsession with her. The medium weight is perfect for the weather we have, and has proven to keep her warm without overheating her. I'm not incredibly thrilled about the black color because her previous blanket was bright blue and I could always spot her in the pasture, which is especially handy in a big pasture, but I think I can live with it. Overall, I'm pretty excited to see how it holds up. Also, when the weather finally warms up and I have a chance to take it off this week, I'll be looking to see whether or not she's had any rubs, but this blanket is so well designed that I doubt it would rub her. The pictures attached are from her leaving her shed, braving the snow and wind to come and see me, and happily grazing. I think she loves it and I do too!
    Date published: 2016-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely waterproof and durable! Just recently purchased this turnout blanket for my horse Casino. He can be a little hard on blankets at times but this product lives up to its name. Very durable and the waterproofing is, let's say, the Ultimate. On my next purchase I'm going to order a medium, high neck Ultimate. Out of all the horse blankets I've had that were short lived, so with a 10 year warranty, it's a "no brainier".Will be calling you soon Smartpak!!
    Date published: 2016-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredibly well made- very robust material My horse is a 17.1 1500 pound thoroughbred and very hard on blankets. Fit can be an issue because he is big boned especially the shoulders but this turnout fits him well and I love the light weight even though it is a medium as it is eaasy for me to get on him(I sm 513).He rolls a lot and he and his friends play blanket tag and the material is invincible. I was a little skeptical about it lasting 10 years but not any more!
    Date published: 2016-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another awesome SmartPak product! Excellent quality and fit. We purchased 4 of these blankets, 2 medium weight and 2 heavy weight, for our two yearlings from CA. They're doing the trick and we're so pleased we decided on the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout!
    Date published: 2016-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! My horse is one of those guys that seems to find total entertainment in finding ways to destroy things and cost me as much money as possible. I don't usually blanket all winter long, as he isn't clipped, but there are really cold days/nights here when I do want to blanket.I've previously purchased Amigo for him and he's now tried to kill two of those. I received a gift certificate to SmartPak and thought it would be worthwhile to give a different blanket brand a try.Things I love about this blanket...1. It fits!2. It seems well made. The seams are all excellent and the buckles, snaps, straps and hardware work beautifully and easily.3. The closure at the chest is SO much better than the other blankets I've owned. It stays in place, doesn't fold over or come loose at the top buckle. Much better!4. The hind leg straps have some elastic so I've made them a little more snug and they stay nicely in place, the blanket stays in place and there's no more Houdini maneuvering by my horse to get the blanket off and stomp it to death.5. It's pretty!6. I bought the blanket on sale. I thought the price was fair and the shipping (speed) reasonable.Honestly I would like to buy this blanket for all 4 of my horses. As they wear out their current blankies... that is the plan!
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome STurdy Blanket I love that this blanket has a 10 year guarantee/warranty! It is a good canvas medium weight blanket with sturdy stitching and strong heavy duty clasps etc. It also breathes enough to put on a wet horse and she still dried out very well.
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality! I Love this blanket. Quality all the way around! I'm exspecially impressed with the hardware.
    Date published: 2016-01-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Buy This Sheet! After one washing this sheet was no longer waterproof. Return process was irritating and time consuming. The lesser expensive Deluxe sheet is a much nicer sheet in comparison.
    Date published: 2016-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blanket ever! I love the SmartPak Ultimate line! I bought the lightweight one at the beginning of the season to test it out. My horse is in 24/7 turnout with 11 other horses; they can to picking on each other and playing which is really hard on blankets. This has been the ONLY turnout that has held up longer than a week without ANY rips or snags! I love it so much, I bought a medium weight high neck too!
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turnout blanket We love this Blanket because it fits very good and has great clamps. We also like the ten year warranty it comes with.
    Date published: 2016-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You can't afford not to... I have 2 lightweight turnouts for my geldings. They have worn their blankets for several years now, when ever Smartpak came up with this brilliant idea! Wind, rain, snow, mud, these blankets have stood up to it all. Replacing the blankets are hassle-free, and it does happen from time to time. Mostly, broken snaps on the chest for me. I layer a Smartpak fleece cooler under their turnouts for a medium weight coverage and plan to upgrade their heavy turnouts to Ultimates when the time comes.
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the blanket, wish there were more options I love this blanket, especially the warranty that comes with it, especially for my horse who is rough on blankets. It fits true to size and is easy to operate, even in cold weather. Only giving four stars because there was only one color option. I would have liked more of a variety.
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the guarantee! These are nice blankets and I have one on each of my 5 horses. While they aren't completely indestructible, I have had my first ones a couple of years now and they are still functional although I will have to take advantage of the guarantee once winter is over this year on a few of them as they have some rips and holes. Definitely worth the investment with the 10 year guarantee!
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Blanket The fit of this blanket is great. So far I have fit a draft cross, a quarter horse, an appendix quarter horse and a medium pony and they all fit perfectly. I love the guarantee factor for the horses that are tough on their blankets. I wish for a matching stable blanket.
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits & well made I bought this a month ago and so far I am very pleased with the blanket. I have had a hard time finding a blanket that fits my Morgan and this one does. It does not slip to one side or slide back on her. It is well made and waterproof.
    Date published: 2016-01-06
    • 2016-04-29T16:12CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_418
    • loc_en_US, sid_10621, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders