Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net - NEW!

SmartPak
- Item #19916
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net! With smaller openings than an average hay net, this hay net restricts access to the hay inside so your horse will slow down and enjoy his hay longer, and you'll have a whole lot less waste. Ideal for travel, as you'll have to fill up less frequently, and your horse won't leave as much behind. Also great for horses who need limited access for dietary reasons.

Favorite Features

  • NEW design, 2x wider opening to make loading hay a breeze!
  • 42" Diameter
  • 3 1/2 cm holes for restricted access to hay

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net - NEW! is rated 4.4192 out of 5 by 365.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps my OTTB entertained all night! I bought this haynet to keep my OTTB from chewing the barn down and pacing his stall when he is in at night. Did the trick and also the barn manager claims there is zero wasted hay in the stall now as well. Everyone is happy!
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good and bad I've now had this for a year. It's a great product, I just wish that the holes were smaller since we use a finer hay. The horses get it out too easy now. I would still buy it again. I love the size. It easily fits over half of a square bale of hay. All around I give 8/10
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps ponies entertained for hours This works great for a rainy or snowy day when I can't do turnout. Put a flake or two in here and my welsh ponies have entertainment for a couple hours
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for a bored horse I bought this a month ago for my energetic horse that's on stall rest. Even though she's pretty aggressive when she eats, it has held up so well and the holes are small enough to keep her entertained.
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does just what it says it will My Hoover mare (as in the vacuum) scarfed up her hay in a regular net or from a hay bin in about 45 minutes. Now she takes hours and is kept busy. She has a huge corral, but at this time of year is not out on pasture much because it's too wet and slick. I'm thankful someone got smart and made the holes smaller.This net is well made and I like the slippery nylon because the it's easy to open for loading.
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent inexpensive net I started out with Nibble Nets, but, have switched to these nets because they are so much easier to load, they hold more, and I believe they will last longer with at least one of my horses. I have one horse who is a "bucket banger" and he threw the Nibble Nets around so much that he had ripped his in less than 30 days. I had a friend using the SmartPak nets with great success. I've had my SmartPak nets about 30 days and my bucket banger hasn't damaged his at all!
    Date published: 2014-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality... LARGE opening. Holds tons of hay! Keeps my horse busy for hours!!
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome I bought this because we have a horse that will over eat. This is a great way to slow down the hay and it still keeps her entertained while we haul her.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice to feed the horses slowly during the night. The only problem I have is there so hard to load by yourself.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect value This is a great little hay bag to keep in the trailer. The smaller holes keeps the boys busy and it is not so messy.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very helpful My mare is on stall rest for 45 days after having lived in a pasture with a run-in and wasn't too thrilled with the idea for a while. She was wasting a lot of hay and was bored so I tried this. She likes eating hay from it. It's been about 3 weeks and she has ripped a hole in it. It's not the easiest hay net to fill, but it does the job!
    Date published: 2014-11-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Bad for First Adventure in Slow Feeding These hay nets are my first attempt at slow feeding my horses. These are large and hold a considerable amount of hay--plenty of room to fill for two large feedings a day. They are also relatively easy to fill. My voracious filly bit a hole in her net the first day, but a quick knot fixed the issue.
    Date published: 2014-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I really like this small hole hay net. The mare that uses it is always throwing her hay around and wasting a lot. It takes her a lot longer to eat.
    Date published: 2014-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made So happy I bought these, they are working out great, not wasting hay now!
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small Hole Hay Net I love this hay net. After checking out many other websites, the holes in this hay net are the smallest around and it is huge! I of course saved on the shipping as is SmartPak's policy when you add it to your supplements. If I decide to buy more, I will definitely buy this one!
    Date published: 2014-10-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as helpful as I would have hoped. I had hoped this hay net would slow down how quickly some of my horses finish their hay but have not had any success. None of my horses seem to have slowed their intake and now they are making a great deal of noise with the banging and swinging of the hay net.
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Vastly disappointing Assumed that anything Smartpak made would be awesome - but not this time. The extremely flimsy material started unraveling after the first use and my horse is very gentle on things. We've had his other two hay nets, purchased elsewhere, for over 2 years and I simply wanted a third and was ordering from Smartpak already. Customer Service was great about the refund and told me to keep it since it was falling apart already, and it finished falling apart within a week. I wish they would redesign it with better materials, update the description to 2" holes, and take off the NEW! in the description as this incident happened over a year ago and they were advertising it as new then.
    Date published: 2014-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have a mare that takes her meals very seriously. She inhales her food, and no wisp of hay, however small, is left behind. I wish I could find a vacuum cleaner that was as quick and as thorough as she. This net does slow her down; she is still finished long before the other horses, but it takes her twice as long to finish her hay. She does attack the net rather viciously, so I do have to replace them every so often because she does eventually rip holes in them, but it's worth it.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed! Difficult to fill and the holes are a little to big for slow feeding!
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak small hole hay net I am very happy with the quality of this hay net. When stalled, my mare eats hay extremely fast, but when I use this haynet she goes through hay much slower resulting with her having something to munch on for longer periods. The openings are much smaller than a traditional hay net. .
    Date published: 2014-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great way to feed I love these hay bags. I bought one to see how it would work and had to buy two more. One thing I really like is I can easily put both my arms into the bag, grab the flake of hay and then flip the bag down off my arms and around the flake. It makes filling them easy and fast. I've purchase much more expensive slow feeders and so far this is my pick. I plan on purchasing more so I can fill up bags at light with the morning feedings to make my morning routine even easier. I've used the first bag now for about 4 months and it looks almost new even with my yearling using it as a chew toy. The other two I've used for about three weeks and they still look brand new.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use With it's pillowcase shape this hay bag is very easy to fill. We now own 10.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Small hole Haynet - NOT so small holes :( I have been using a very similar Haynet with the same size holes. When I read the size of the holes in this net I thought aha! Great! They'll be "smaller". Not so. They are the same as the less expensive version of this Haynet. Only difference being1. This Haynet is longer.2. The material is thinner.3. The other Haynet is approx 9/10 dollars cheaperThat being said, I love Haynets and these are great! I just had different expectations. I would recommend to a friend. But the description should say "holes are 2" x 2" in a diamond shape so stretch".Oh well back to the search for a small holed hay net. .....
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bought this for our draft horses to use while at shows, they work good, but they have figured out that they can break the twine to make the wholes bigger......great product but not draft horse sturdy.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this to help keep our gelding occupied after we recently had to put his barn buddy down. (39 yr old coliced). It works great we put in a snack size 1/3 of a flake in the evening. He spends a good amount of time getting the hay out and it's like a puzzle for him. Makes both of us feel better. Holds up well to his batting it around.
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slows them down We bought this hay net for a mare that was gobbling up her hay at the speed of light. It has really slowed her down. She arrives in her stall slightly put out that she can no longer inhale her hay, but what she used to finish in 2 hours she now takes 7 to consume. I was concerned that the net would fall apart due to prior reviews, but it is holding up well.
    Date published: 2014-06-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not impressed I bought this for our Shetland with the idea in mind of "double-bagging" with it inside our canvas-backed nylon-webbed small-hole net. (The pony is a tenacious pig!) The small holes aren't very "small" and it hasn't held up well at all :(
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Minis rips holes in it I got several of these to use for my horse and mini to slow them down and reduce waste from a common feeder. Unfortunately, they are frustrated at not getting the hay out fast enough (especially the mini!!) and have ripped a big hole in each of the bags that I put up! It usually takes about a month, but I have given up and am looking into other options. Some friends had better luck after zip-tying it to the inside of a hay rack so that the hay is slow-feeding through a metal hay rack. They are great, just not tough enough to stand up to some real yanking. Better for a more mellow/less aggressive eater.
    Date published: 2014-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for minis! I bought this for my little butterball mini. He gets to nibble all day instead of finishing his ration in a couple of gulps. He's dry-lotted so it's important to be able to prolong his grazing time.
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable and easy to use I bought this for my gelding who eats so fast he would stuff hay in his cheeks like a chipmunk just to fit more in. At first glance I joked that it could be used as a net to catch stray barn critters it looked so large. Once I began using it I love it. It is just the right size to hold about a flake and a half. The holes are tiny enough my boy has to slow down and graze. It is also super durable as he gets frustrated and bites at the net. We have been using it everyday for a few weeks and it still looks brand new.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    • 2015-05-24T08:17CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_345
    • loc_en_US, sid_9916, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.