Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net - NEW!

SmartPak
- Item #19916
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net! With smaller openings than an average hay net, this hay net restricts access to the hay inside so your horse will slow down and enjoy his hay longer, and you'll have a whole lot less waste. Ideal for travel, as you'll have to fill up less frequently, and your horse won't leave as much behind. Also great for horses who need limited access for dietary reasons.

Favorite Features

  • NEW design, 2x wider opening to make loading hay a breeze!
  • 42" Diameter
  • 3 1/2 cm holes for restricted access to hay

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net - NEW! is rated 4.4282 out of 5 by 383.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small Hole Hey Net This net is really made well and it sure slowed down my 3 horses from inhaling their hay! I have use other nets and they cannot compare to the quality and the volume of hay you can feed at one time. The holes are nice and small and are allowing just a very small amount of hay out at a time.. My horses really like to eat their hay from these nets. To make loading the hay easy I put it in a large metal trash can. I put the net over the sides of the can and then load a pad of hay into it and pull the rope to close. This makes loading it so incredibly easy this way.
    Date published: 2015-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to fill, small holes! I now have two of these nets, sinc I bought my first one and loved it! My little Arabian mare is a vacuum when it comes to hay, and this slows her down wonderfully. Great value!
    Date published: 2015-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I needed a slow feeder that would hold up and hold a days worth of hay for my Horses.This net fit the bill.Have had these a number of months, and so far, they are working out great. Still look new and the days worth of feed lasts all day and well into the night.Helps a lot to keep them from being bored.Is a little hard to load up, but I use a Muck bucket and that does the trick.
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not hard to load from eastern sqaure bales! I have a bunch of these. I hang outside and in the stalls. to fill: Turn your bale so it is standing up and take the empty net and put it over the bale. Cut the bale strings with the not already covering about 2/3 rds of the bale. flip the filled bag off the bale now and cinch the tie closed. It's easy and fast! I find I can fill three of these bags with 2 eastern bales of hay. Each bag lasts about 24 hours /horse. These are much sturdier than the first ones Smart pack offered and also a bit bigger. Very happy with them
    Date published: 2015-06-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't hold up I bought two of these with the intentions of helping slow down my Haflinger. He is on a strict diet. I wanted to help his hay last longer by purchasing a slow feed net. In less than a few hours, he completely destroyed the net. I'm not sure how he managed to do so. It wasn't a slow feed net anymore. Silly pony. If you don't have an incredibly food motivated Haflinger that gets angry with slow feeding, you'll probably be okay. It lasted with the older pony who really enjoyed it. It just didn't last when I offered it to the Haflinger.
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic @ feeding time! I LOVE this hay net! It definitely helps reduce the waste when we feed hay! It also slows the horses eating speeds for better digestion. If you have horses- you need this hay net!
    Date published: 2015-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My horse hates it! I bought this hay net two years ago and it has held up extremely well. No issues with breakage at all. I bought two el cheapo hay nets at a local tack shop and they both ripped within 1-2 weeks of using them. This one is not going to tear. My horse hates it. Says the holes are too small and she can't eat nearly as much as she wants as quickly as she wants. Poor thing! :)
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from love hay nets Good for most horses 6 year old warmblood destroyed his in 2 days others are going strong wish they were easier to fill
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Sturdy Hay Net with Small Holes! I love the small holes. My boy can have his hay but he doesn't have it in large chunks. It keeps him occupied during a long trip in the trailer. All of this is a big plus.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality This hay net saved my life this month because the floods of Texas have kept my horse in a stall for almost a month. It holds a huge amount of hay and takes a long while to eat it all.
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Hay Net I'm very happy with this hay net and our horse appears to like it as well. I would recommend buying one of the hay net loader/holders to help with filling the net. This is something we will purchase again.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for soaking hay I needed a net to use for soaking hay and this net works perfectly. It is nylon so doesn't absorb water and dries quickly. The only thing it could be improved on is an opening that would be easier to fill with hay. The opening is plenty big enough, but it scrunches closed. I just bought my second one so one can be filled and ready to soak while the other is in the stall being used.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best haynet I have EVER used !!! Super easy to load , very well made , holds at least half a bale . Holes are the perfect size to slow them down but not too small that they get frustrated and can't get all the hay. I will never order any other hay net . Not to mention the fantastic price . Way to go Smartpak , yet again !!!!
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large capacity hay net. These hay nets are not the smallest hole available. I tried 1" small hole hay nets but the horses wound up destroying them. They wore them out chewing on them to get to the hay. I have to admit that they lasted about 8 months even with the chewing but I had repaired them quite a bit with baling twine. The holes are 1/3" larger and also much larger capacity than the 1" hole ones I got from another source. I could fit 24 hours worth of hay in these nets for my 2 mustangs. I love that feeding time is very calm with net feeding. No waste and no frantic pacing when dinner time comes around. It is the closest to pasture feeding you can get in a dry lot situation. None of my precious hay becomes bedding, either. I have them clipped to a panel inside their metal shelters and sitting in a 40 gal tub that is chained to the shelter. The tub catches the "crumbs" and very little hay winds up on the ground. I wrap the extra cord around the top of the bag a couple of times before clipping it on to avoid excess cord that could be a hazard. These are large, I am 5'4" and when I fill the bag with it resting just on the ground and hold the cords up they are at eye level on me. The top of the bag probably hits just below my waist. I just grab the top of the bag with a handful of cord to carry them to my horses. They are easy to open and I hook them to a doorway to keep the top open for filling.
    Date published: 2015-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall good hay net, tie cord too thick These hay nets are easy to load and pretty durable. The holes are a nice small size. Only drawback is that the cord is a little too thick for my taste. This makes it harder to tie than other haynets.
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from product is working well I purchased four of these for a trip. They hold half of a 60 pound bale of hay each. They are all holding up well after two trips in the trailer and full time use on site. The economic value of the lack of wasted hay has about paid for them already. Horses are happy and satisfied and I am happy too.
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product. I'mm happy with this purchase. The net appears very durable and should last quite some time. I really like how it slows my horse's feeding time down and keeps the hay off of the ground.
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from well made, stands up to hungry friesians. Bought to use for brood mares. They need to be busy and not eat too much. Well made, good size holes...makes them work.
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Inexpensive hay net! I bought two of these hay nets two months ago to use at trailer nets. Based on other reviews I was worried that they might not hold up but I ended up using them for 24/7 use and these have withstood everything! My horses were also acclimated to eating from a small hole hay net from Cinch Chix nets prior to eating out of these so maybe they aren't as rough on them as horses who are just learning. I love the size of the bag (I can split a 50lb bale between the two nets) and the size of the holes (although they may be too big for horses who need the 1" size holes). If you are looking for a cheap alternative to the Cinch Chix nets, these are great nets, although they may not hold up to horses learning how to eat out of slow feed nets.
    Date published: 2015-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I bought two of these hay nets for replacements to my three Shire's Greedy Feeder hay nets. I was absolutely blown away with happiness when these arrived. They appear to be great quality but the huge size of them is what is most beneficial to me. I feed using large bales (1600 lbs) so trying to fit small chunks of flakes from those bales into the Shire nets to get to 10 pounds was nearly impossible. However, with these hay nets I can fit a whole 30 pound flake in each. It takes me literally half of the time, or less, to feed using these nets. Awesome product!
    Date published: 2015-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this ... no more wasted hay! I have one of those TBs who love to waste hay and crush it into his bedding. He now eats slowly and there isn't as much going in the mulch pile.
    Date published: 2015-04-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good hay net I bought 2 of these for a horse on stall rest. They work well to slow down his consumption. The horse has managed to eat holes into the net so even though the nylon cord appears sturdy, it is somewhat fragile.
    Date published: 2015-04-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fragile Coming apart in a few weeks of use. Did not hold up under normal barn use with one horse.
    Date published: 2015-04-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from This hay net worked fantastic for the first 2 weeks. I have used it less than a month though and already there are holes in it. Great haynet but durability was a big issue for me.
    Date published: 2015-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good!!! Got this because I have a 'dunker', but he was taking big mouthfuls and putting in the water buckets and/or dropping on the floor of the stall and trashing and wasting hay...now he is taking a mouthful and dunking and far less waste. Net holds a 1/2 bale so perfect for overnight and it is in use for 2 weeks so far and no rips. So far, so good :)
    Date published: 2015-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful I have purchased small home Hay nets in the past but this one is the best I've purchased. It's big enough for almost a whole bale of hay. Also the string to hang the net is very long making it easier to hang in my barn. Just wish they came in other colors
    Date published: 2015-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! This hay net is durable and easy to load. The tie rope is long enough and just the right width. My horses seem to like their new nets just fine. Keeps the wolfing and wasting at bay.
    Date published: 2015-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to load, seems durable, love the smaller hole I purchased several of these for a large barn. Just started a new horse on a feeder net. She was tossing her hay out of her feeder, standing in it, etc. She is learning quickly how to handle a net feeder, it takes her several hours to empty a feeding and keeps her constantly snacking. Her weight has come up a bit (she was just a bit under when she arrived) and she is staying busy with the net. It is holding up to her pawing and pulling at it. Each day she gets less aggressive about the net and she is finding that her tummy isn't empty for hours anymore. Much happier horse. I use net feeders for several horses, slow feeders with grids for several. For a single horse, these are some of the best net feeders.
    Date published: 2015-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am more or less in love with this hay net! My gelding is a big draft cross and has a habit of demolishing his hay, while getting it everywhere, in a very short amount of time. I bought this hay net for a clinic we were going to, since he would have to be stalled for two nights and he hates that. This hay net kept him more than occupied and we really cut down on the hay waste. He uses at home if he has to be stalled and it works great! He had a little trouble figuring out the small holes but now he's an expert. It takes him a while to get through his flakes, and keeps him occupied way longer. I will definitely be buying another one if something should happen to this one!
    Date published: 2015-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features My 34 yr old gelding was "quiding" his hay. (yes his teeth were done). There would be so much hay wasted with all the unchewed balls he spit out. Now he can only pull out what he actually chews and gets benefit from. There's hardly any mess on the floor! Yay!
    Date published: 2015-03-05
    • 2015-08-29T12:51CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_22, tr_361
    • loc_en_US, sid_9916, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.