Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net

SmartPak
- Item #19916

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net! With smaller openings than an average hay net, this hay net restricts access to the hay inside so your horse will slow down and enjoy his hay longer, and you'll have a whole lot less waste. Ideal for travel, as you'll have to fill up less frequently, and your horse won't leave as much behind. Also great for horses who need limited access for dietary reasons.

Favorite Features

  • NEW design, 2x wider opening to make loading hay a breeze!
  • 42" Diameter
  • 3 1/2 cm holes for restricted access to hay

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Hay Net Hanger is a practical holder ...
    Description:
    The Hay Net Hanger is a practical holder with a versatile range of uses from hanging hay bags to salt blocks in the stall or paddock. No more painful knots! Now you can simply hang your hay bags. Rounded off edges minimize the ...
    The Easy Load Hay Net and Hanger is not ...
    Description:
    The Easy Load Hay Net and Hanger is not only uncomplicated, which marks this product's specialty, but it is also made with premium workmanship. Double braided ropes guarantee longevity and hard wearing properties. The extra strong rope for hanging and the sturdy ...
    The Hay Hauler isn't just for hay. It ...
    Description:
    The Hay Hauler isn't just for hay. It hauls feed, tack, muck buckets and more. The bed is 48" long and 18" wide and can carry up to 150lbs. It is constructed of steel for strength, durability and longevity. The ...
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net is rated 4.3934 out of 5 by 427.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves this hay net. I purchased this as i was moving my horse to a new stable which uses hay nets for their hay. I wanted one that was a slow feeder with holes that prevented him from getting his foot into it. This hay net met my criteria and my choice has proven to be the right choice.
    Date published: 2015-09-24
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from WORST NET EVER! Used this hay net to make a slow feeder and my horse had chewed large holes in it in just a FEW HOURS! Save your money! Awful product!
    Date published: 2015-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great So happy with this haybag very durable and good price
    Date published: 2015-09-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good I'm on my fourth week with this hay bag and its starting to fray in a few places. Not sure it's from the horse or hanging.The bag itself is great. Could fit 4 square bale flakes of coastal easily, if needed.I use twice a day. Am hoping it holds up for a few months.
    Date published: 2015-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from slow feeding small hole hay net I bought 2 of these hay nets and I am really happy with them. A+ for quality!!
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits plenty of hay I've been using this hay net for my "fatties" overnight so that their hay lasts longer and they can eat longer. So far so good. It fits about three flakes of hay, and when I come in the morning, it's all gone. When I go out to check at about 10:00 p.m., they're happily working on it. It is holding up well. I'm not sure I'll put my 2-year-old on it, as I think he might get himself caught in it, but that's not the hay net's fault. Really like this hay net.
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to fill, large amounts of hay has kept my insulin resist pony happy by eating small amounts all day. put my mare on a small hole bag to slow her down eating also
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! This hay net is great for the price. It helps decrease wasted hay and it slows down the rate that my horse eats it. I'm planning to purchase a second one. Best one I have found for this price!
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second time I have gotten these hay nets. Very durable compared to others. Long lasting, good size. Great service!!
    Date published: 2015-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great! She had to work pretty hard to get hay out, which was exactly what I hoped for!
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easily bored, mouthy, easy keeper horse loves it! My horse is what the title says. He loves eating more than anything and he loves to chew on things around the stall. I could never before hang a halter out of his stall or he'd have his head through and chewing it. Hence my purchase history of two leather halters in less than a year lol. It seems pretty durable but I have not used it as much as the Classic Equine which is holding up to my destructive horse. Also, if I take this hay bag or any other hay bag away, he will not eat the hay on the ground and just reach for look for it. This is great for the busy horse. I also bought the Classic Equine top loading hay bag because I didn't know if this would restrict his quick eating too much. It is just right! I use it with orchard grass hay right now and it holds four flakes very well with minimal fallout. It is not as easy to fill as the top loading hay net like the classic equine which I also have and love and is not as pretty ;)
    Date published: 2015-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small Hole Hey Net This net is really made well and it sure slowed down my 3 horses from inhaling their hay! I have use other nets and they cannot compare to the quality and the volume of hay you can feed at one time. The holes are nice and small and are allowing just a very small amount of hay out at a time.. My horses really like to eat their hay from these nets. To make loading the hay easy I put it in a large metal trash can. I put the net over the sides of the can and then load a pad of hay into it and pull the rope to close. This makes loading it so incredibly easy this way.
    Date published: 2015-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to fill, small holes! I now have two of these nets, sinc I bought my first one and loved it! My little Arabian mare is a vacuum when it comes to hay, and this slows her down wonderfully. Great value!
    Date published: 2015-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I needed a slow feeder that would hold up and hold a days worth of hay for my Horses.This net fit the bill.Have had these a number of months, and so far, they are working out great. Still look new and the days worth of feed lasts all day and well into the night.Helps a lot to keep them from being bored.Is a little hard to load up, but I use a Muck bucket and that does the trick.
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not hard to load from eastern sqaure bales! I have a bunch of these. I hang outside and in the stalls. to fill: Turn your bale so it is standing up and take the empty net and put it over the bale. Cut the bale strings with the not already covering about 2/3 rds of the bale. flip the filled bag off the bale now and cinch the tie closed. It's easy and fast! I find I can fill three of these bags with 2 eastern bales of hay. Each bag lasts about 24 hours /horse. These are much sturdier than the first ones Smart pack offered and also a bit bigger. Very happy with them
    Date published: 2015-06-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't hold up I bought two of these with the intentions of helping slow down my Haflinger. He is on a strict diet. I wanted to help his hay last longer by purchasing a slow feed net. In less than a few hours, he completely destroyed the net. I'm not sure how he managed to do so. It wasn't a slow feed net anymore. Silly pony. If you don't have an incredibly food motivated Haflinger that gets angry with slow feeding, you'll probably be okay. It lasted with the older pony who really enjoyed it. It just didn't last when I offered it to the Haflinger.
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic @ feeding time! I LOVE this hay net! It definitely helps reduce the waste when we feed hay! It also slows the horses eating speeds for better digestion. If you have horses- you need this hay net!
    Date published: 2015-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My horse hates it! I bought this hay net two years ago and it has held up extremely well. No issues with breakage at all. I bought two el cheapo hay nets at a local tack shop and they both ripped within 1-2 weeks of using them. This one is not going to tear. My horse hates it. Says the holes are too small and she can't eat nearly as much as she wants as quickly as she wants. Poor thing! :)
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from love hay nets Good for most horses 6 year old warmblood destroyed his in 2 days others are going strong wish they were easier to fill
    Date published: 2015-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Sturdy Hay Net with Small Holes! I love the small holes. My boy can have his hay but he doesn't have it in large chunks. It keeps him occupied during a long trip in the trailer. All of this is a big plus.
    Date published: 2015-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality This hay net saved my life this month because the floods of Texas have kept my horse in a stall for almost a month. It holds a huge amount of hay and takes a long while to eat it all.
    Date published: 2015-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Hay Net I'm very happy with this hay net and our horse appears to like it as well. I would recommend buying one of the hay net loader/holders to help with filling the net. This is something we will purchase again.
    Date published: 2015-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for soaking hay I needed a net to use for soaking hay and this net works perfectly. It is nylon so doesn't absorb water and dries quickly. The only thing it could be improved on is an opening that would be easier to fill with hay. The opening is plenty big enough, but it scrunches closed. I just bought my second one so one can be filled and ready to soak while the other is in the stall being used.
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best haynet I have EVER used !!! Super easy to load , very well made , holds at least half a bale . Holes are the perfect size to slow them down but not too small that they get frustrated and can't get all the hay. I will never order any other hay net . Not to mention the fantastic price . Way to go Smartpak , yet again !!!!
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Large capacity hay net. These hay nets are not the smallest hole available. I tried 1" small hole hay nets but the horses wound up destroying them. They wore them out chewing on them to get to the hay. I have to admit that they lasted about 8 months even with the chewing but I had repaired them quite a bit with baling twine. The holes are 1/3" larger and also much larger capacity than the 1" hole ones I got from another source. I could fit 24 hours worth of hay in these nets for my 2 mustangs. I love that feeding time is very calm with net feeding. No waste and no frantic pacing when dinner time comes around. It is the closest to pasture feeding you can get in a dry lot situation. None of my precious hay becomes bedding, either. I have them clipped to a panel inside their metal shelters and sitting in a 40 gal tub that is chained to the shelter. The tub catches the "crumbs" and very little hay winds up on the ground. I wrap the extra cord around the top of the bag a couple of times before clipping it on to avoid excess cord that could be a hazard. These are large, I am 5'4" and when I fill the bag with it resting just on the ground and hold the cords up they are at eye level on me. The top of the bag probably hits just below my waist. I just grab the top of the bag with a handful of cord to carry them to my horses. They are easy to open and I hook them to a doorway to keep the top open for filling.
    Date published: 2015-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from overall good hay net, tie cord too thick These hay nets are easy to load and pretty durable. The holes are a nice small size. Only drawback is that the cord is a little too thick for my taste. This makes it harder to tie than other haynets.
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from product is working well I purchased four of these for a trip. They hold half of a 60 pound bale of hay each. They are all holding up well after two trips in the trailer and full time use on site. The economic value of the lack of wasted hay has about paid for them already. Horses are happy and satisfied and I am happy too.
    Date published: 2015-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product. I'mm happy with this purchase. The net appears very durable and should last quite some time. I really like how it slows my horse's feeding time down and keeps the hay off of the ground.
    Date published: 2015-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from well made, stands up to hungry friesians. Bought to use for brood mares. They need to be busy and not eat too much. Well made, good size holes...makes them work.
    Date published: 2015-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Inexpensive hay net! I bought two of these hay nets two months ago to use at trailer nets. Based on other reviews I was worried that they might not hold up but I ended up using them for 24/7 use and these have withstood everything! My horses were also acclimated to eating from a small hole hay net from Cinch Chix nets prior to eating out of these so maybe they aren't as rough on them as horses who are just learning. I love the size of the bag (I can split a 50lb bale between the two nets) and the size of the holes (although they may be too big for horses who need the 1" size holes). If you are looking for a cheap alternative to the Cinch Chix nets, these are great nets, although they may not hold up to horses learning how to eat out of slow feed nets.
    Date published: 2015-04-24
    • 2016-02-13T15:04CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_25, tr_402
    • loc_en_US, sid_9916, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.