Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter

SmartPak
- Item #11625
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is suitable for the show ring but priced for everyday use. This halter is handmade in Amish country using leather that is soft and supple from day one.

Favorite Features

  • Brass plated hardware
  • Beautiful havana color
  • Quality stitching so this halter is built to last
  • Single crown buckle
  • Throat with snap and adjustable chip strap for the perfect fit 
  • Don't forget the matching Leather Lead!
  • Made in the USA

By choosing to add customization to this halter, a nameplate will be attached with your desired text. If adding a nameplate, please select Halter Nameplate - Pony Size for Pony, and Halter Nameplate for Cob, Horse, and Oversize.

Sizing It Up


1" width except Pony (3/4")


Please note, this leather halter is not a breakaway halter.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halterfeatures a distinctive ...
    Description:
    The Wellfleet Double Raised Padded Halterfeatures a distinctive double raised detailon the noseband and browband enhancing the elegance of this beautifully crafted halter. Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert ...
    The Walsh Fancy Stitched Padded Halter is one ...
    Description:
    The Walsh Fancy Stitched Padded Halter is one of the nicest leather halters we have ever seen. The leather is of exceptional quality, and the stitching and workmanship is flawless.A halter for the horse who has everything!1" wide triple stitched, ...
    The Rockin' SP Triple Stitched Halter isa show-quality ...
    Description:
    The Rockin' SP Triple Stitched Halter isa show-quality halter at an everyday halter price that's built to fitstockier horses!Rockin' SP really is smarter gear for smarter riders. Each halter is handmade in the USA by skilled Amish craftsmanfrom the highest ...
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest ...
    Description:
    Wellfleet Bridlework represents the combination of the finest vegetable tanned North American bridle leather available and expert craftsmanship.The Wellfleet Fancy Stitch Padded Halter by SmartPak is elegant and exquisitely detailed,featuring extra fine stitching and supple rich leather. Carefully crafted to ...
    The Walsh British Triple Stitch Halter will elevate ...
    Description:
    The Walsh British Triple Stitch Halter will elevate any horse's lookwhether it's just around the stable or at a show! The British Halter is made of English hand rubbed bridle leather in 1"two-ply leather for lasting durability.Havana leatherand white thread ...
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman ...
    Description:
    Each halter is handmade by skilled Amish craftsman of the highest quality leather. Favorite Features Double stitched 1" nose and cheek pieces with contrastingSoft padding Adjustable chin strap Rolled throat piece, convenient snap at throat for easy on 1" double ...
    The Walsh Signature Pony Halter, made especially for ...
    Description:
    The Walsh Signature Pony Halter, made especially for your little guy is seriously adorable! This 3/4" padded halter is made of the finest Havana leather and padded with your choice of high end garment leather.The white fancy stich on the ...
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Double Stitched Stable Halter is rated 4.6602 out of 5 by 412.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lovely Lovely halter but sadly the chin strap was destroyed in three days by pasture mates. I booby-rigged it with some baling twine and it's been intact since. I wish the chin piece was a bit more durable but probably perfectly fine for "lighter" use.
    Date published: 2016-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautifully made, practical design These are the only halter so my horses will ever have,Except for a fancier show halter. These attractive halterHave a chin snap for easy on/ off, plus they areBeautifully made. These sturdy halters look like theyWill last forever! Love this product.
    Date published: 2016-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! I wanted a nice halter for my number 1 and found the perfect one with this halter. The quality is great, very classy!
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice halter - not sure how long it will last. Halter was very soft right out of the package, and hardware seems nice. Only complaint is the leather keepers on the underside of the noseband - the first day my horse wore the halter both became overly streached and looks a bit strange. Have used it for a few days, will see how long it holds up.
    Date published: 2016-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly nice and fits my little donkey! I bought one of these in the small/med pony in the hopes it would fit my donkeys, as they need leather halters for shipping. Even though it was relatively inexpensive, it is really lovely quality, rich leather with real brass fittings. Looks great on my old furry guy and I have already ordered more for the other horses and the other donkey.
    Date published: 2016-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instant Good Feel! Bought it 2 weeks ago for my lipizzan who has a smallish head (cob size) and wanted something soft and pleasant to hold every day, and I got it!! it fits well, it is nice soft leather, the color brown is nice, in short, I love it!
    Date published: 2016-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible quality! I have a small horse and I hadn't yet found a halter that wasn't too big or too small- until this one! I really love it!
    Date published: 2016-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Halter I have multiple horses and own a boarding facility. All of my horses wear these halters and I ask all my clients to purchase them. They are affordable and very nice quality. They hold up well being on horses for hours outside and in all types of weather, but still break if a horse gets caught on something. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2016-03-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was good at first but then... Not for grey or light colored horses. I had it for my chestnut and I liked the halter but when I bought one for my grey horse I noticed a reddish pink color started forming on his nose that was not there before. Then when I went to a show and it begain to rain, everything the halter touched it turned pink. Including my horses nose and cheeks!
    Date published: 2016-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely halter I bought this halter so that my mare could have a nicer one for hauling and wearing at shows. I didn't want to spend a ridiculous amount of money, and it was on sale so I went for it. The leather was soft and supple upon arrival. My mare's head is quite large and usually hard to fit, but the horse size ended up fitting very nicely. Love the havana color. The nameplate turned out wonderful, I got her registered name on one line and her barn name on the other in the Victoria script, and it looks so lovely! The hardware was clean and the latch very easy to clip. Super happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2016-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality, soft halter! This leather halter was soft right out of the box. I got it with a nameplate, and it was perfect. I debated getting the more expensive padded halter, but this one was much cheaper and still very nice quality. I don't regret buying this one! I bought the cob size and it fit pretty true to size.
    Date published: 2016-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! I bought this for my mare and it looks so nice on her.
    Date published: 2016-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful stable halter for the price. My horse is a 17.1+ hh TB. He is usually toward the top hole on oversized bridles and halters, so after reading the descriptions about how this halter ran very large I bought the horse sized halter. As soon as it arrived I knew it was too small. It fit him, just barely, on the last hole of both the head stall and noseband. Thankfully it was a Smartpak buy so I put it back into its box and returned it the next day. The oversized halter that they sent in return fits him just as an oversized should. Yes, he's on the top hole and when it stretches I'll eventually have to punch more holes, but that's a normal fit for him. The leather is great, a tiny bit stiff to start but clearly quality enough that it will break in easily. As always - very nice to buy from Smartpak and have an easy return/exchange service so I don't ever have to worry.
    Date published: 2016-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter! I received this halter as a gift about a month ago and I love it! The color, fit, leather quality, functionality, and durability...an all around great halter. The personalized name plate adds just the right finishing touch! My sister has this halter for her mare as well and loves it. I will definitely be ordering one for the rest of the horses in my barn!
    Date published: 2016-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter I have a couple of these. Nice basic halter - have nameplates on mine. Good quality leather - a little stiff but breaks in easily
    Date published: 2016-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Every Day Turnout Halter I already have the padded Wellfleet halter for shows, and wanted a leather halter for turnout. I intially thought this would look a little cheap given the price point, but I was really impressed when it arrived! As always, SmartPak's engraving on the nameplate came out perfectly, and I get so many compliments on this halter. The fit is fantastic (I have the Cob size), and I can already tell that this halter will last a long time. And for a great price, what's not to love?
    Date published: 2016-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft Leather I got this as a gift for my mom and I was surprised and the quality of the leather when it arrived.
    Date published: 2016-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful & well made! We bought this as a Christmas gift for our daughter. She had been wanting a leather halter for her horse for along time. Being on a budget, I chose one of the lesser expensive one hoping it would be of great quality....and it is! It's beautiful leather, adjustable to horses' head size, well stitched and sturdy. So happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2016-01-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good quality leather. poor engraving I bought this product and the halter is excellent. The engraving part was terribly done. It's to small
    Date published: 2016-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super product for price. Great halter. True to size. Soft, supple leather. The nameplate really classes it up.Looks good enough to be used for a show/shipping halter without spending a fortune.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter This is a very nice turnout halter for the price and looks great with the added nameplate. I did find that is runs small. Originally ordered cob but had to return for horse. Couldn't even buckle the smaller sized to try on. And he is a cob size in most other things.
    Date published: 2015-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter! This is a great halter. The leather is very supple and the brass name plate I had attached is beautiful (and so nice to have SmartPak attach it before sending!). Reno is Ranch Horse trained and this halter gives her a nice look without any bling. Just perfect!
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great
    Date published: 2015-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Halter This is a great halter for the price. I oiled it twice the first week, and that's all it needed. The leather was pretty supple right out of the box, but now is even better. My TB has a more petite head, so I ordered the cob size. It fits him really well!
    Date published: 2015-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this halter I bought 2 halters a few months ago... It's beautiful and fits both of my horses great.
    Date published: 2015-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pretty Nice quality for the price. Just a little stiff upon arrival but softens with a conditioning. I read the other reviews about sizing and ordered a cob for my 1/2 Arab and it fit perfectly. The custom nameplate turned out beautiful.
    Date published: 2015-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picture doesn't do justice! Clean the leather before you put it on your white horse, as it does bleed. Other than that- the quality of the leather and the brass fittings are unmatched for the price. Great quality leather and buckles!
    Date published: 2015-12-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sturdy but colors don't match The halter is well made and very sturdy. I was a bit disappointed because the cheek pieces don't match the rest of the halter - they are quite a bit lighter in color. Since the price was right and I bought it just for use around the barn, I am trying to oil it so that the colors match. Otherwise it fits great and I think it will last for a long time.
    Date published: 2015-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good quality! We have used this saddle pad for a month, and washed it numerous times. It is durable, keeps its color and will last a long time!
    Date published: 2015-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful halter! Great, sturdy leather. I would choose this halter over most $80+ ones any day! It arrived within a week and I even got it personalized. Would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-11-25
    • 2016-05-29T16:07CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_33, tr_379
    • loc_en_US, sid_1625, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders