Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Roeckl Summer Chester

Roeckl
- Item #20322
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A natural feel, superb grip and amazing comfort!

Roekl gloves are worn (and loved!) by riders everywhere. With their amazing stretch and extreme comfort, the Roekl Summer Chester glove is the perfect option for summer and warm weather riding.
 
Favorite Features

  • Mesh back for warm weather comfort
  • Vesta Synthetic leather palm
  • Second set of reinforcements between the fingers to help dressage riders with double reins
  • Machine washable

Imported.

Sizing It Up

To determine your glove size, open your hand and place a tape measure around your base knuckles (excluding thumb).

You Might Like
    out of 5
    100% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Roeckl Summer Chester is rated 4.5714 out of 5 by 35.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great, cool glove I have been riding in the SSG Digital glove for schooling and show for the last couple of years. This year, I decided to try something a little cooler for summer shows so I tried these. They are great! I love the full mesh back and think they are nice enough to show in. I am going to get another pair for schooling as well. I haven't had a problem with the mesh snagging, like other reviewers have said; I just close the velcro tabs all the way when I am not using them. The soft side of the velcro is the side that would overlap the mesh anyway, so I don't really know why others have had that kind of problem. Anyway, I have small hands with very long fingers and most gloves that fit my hand are too short in the fingers. These fit great. I measured around my hand as the sizing chart indicates and ordered a size 7 since other reviewers said it ran a little big (or the stretch allows for a smaller size if you're in between). I wear a 7 1/2 in the SSG which tends to stretch a little and end up big after several months of use, so I ordered down for these. At first, the tag inside was a little scratchy when I fastened the velcro, so I took a coarse nail file to the rough edges of the tag and they are perfect now. I hope they hold up well because they keep my hands nice and cool and fit like a second skin.
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, durable & washable Just bought a second pair for my daughter. She loves them! I love that they are machine washable!
    Date published: 2014-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice summer gloves This is my 3rd pair of Chester gloves (I also have the regular and winter versions) and I love the Chesters because they fit my long fingers well and are very comfortable and not bulky. My only issue with the summer version is that it is so easy to snag the fabric of the backs of the gloves with the velcro closures. I've only worn these a few times and have tried to be very careful with them but I already have a few bumpy snag marks. I love that the fabric is really breathable, but I wish it wasn't quite so delicate, especially considering how much these gloves cost.
    Date published: 2014-06-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not so great These gloves are very comfortable and I do think cooler with the mesh back. However, they are VERY slippery when wet, which is a problem given the heat and humidity where I live causes the horse to sweat a lot, including on the neck, which then makes the gloves wet and then the reins start to slip. The velcro tab is quite large and is constantly snagging the mesh so the gloves looked pretty worn very quickly. They have held up to 8 months of daily use and wash in the washing machine great.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Addicted to these gloves! They feel great, don't get too hot, look cute. I only wear the summer ones when it's hot, but have the regular ones for the rest of the year. Makes these last longer. My only tiny complaint is that the Velcro will stick to the back of the glove, making them look fuzzy. Doesn't affect the functionality, it's just cosmetic.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves~ I love these gloves. Bought my first pair a year ago and decided to get a second one. They work great in most kinds of weather. Are nice and stretchy so the half size smaller worked on my large hands. Worth every penny.
    Date published: 2013-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Gloves I love the Roeckl regular Chester gloves. These summer gloves are just great. Fit great. Wear great. Just the right amount of grip. And now lighter weight and cooler for the summer. I would like to see plain colors instead of the argyle for the navy and brown, so I can show in them. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2013-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool and Comfortable! Love these gloves for showing and schooling in summer! Expensive, but a go to for me. Look great all the time and machine wash perfectly!I've noticed the fingers run really long, so I sized down half a size.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect summer gloves!! I love these gloves, bought my first pair last year and wore them all summer long. I ride 2-4 horses a day 4-6 days a week so they get a lot of use. Just bought a second pair to have when others are in the wash. Worth every penny!
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I want my own pair My daughter's coach recommended Roeckl for grip and I love my winter Chesters. I tried them on for size and immediately wanted my own pair. I put them on my wishlist and my husband added them to the cart, thinking I wouldn't notice :)Sizing probably depends on what fit you like. I ordered my usual size - they're not skin tight but fit fine. My winter Chesters have been my favorite gloves and these are a great summer alternative. Time will tell how they hold up to her eventing season but they are well-made and I expect they will do well.
    Date published: 2013-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Favorite XC Gloves Cute, light, and grippy - I forgot I was wearing them, now that's a compliment! During an otherwise-sweaty event, my hands were cool & dry. I already rode dressage in the traditinal Roeckls, and was tired of wearing through cross-country gloves like they were disposable, so sprung for these and am delighted. Now we'll see if they hold up as expected! I ordered a half-size down from my usual, based on the comments, and that worked perfectly for me.
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Summer Gloves I usually hate riding in gloves because they make my hands even more sweaty in the summer. Not these gloves! My hands stay nice and cool and maintain a grip on the reins without being overly sticky or tacky.The color does not leave my hands black, even after multiple rides. After two months they still look as nice as they day I got them!On top of that, you just can't beat the cute patterns.
    Date published: 2013-05-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too expensive The gloves are nice and look good but seem VERY expensive for what they are. I was expecting to be dazzled for $50 gloves and I just wasn't.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the summer I live in Florida and these are really comfortable cool gloves. They are new but it appears they are much more durable than the other light weight Roeckl gloves. I have washed them a few times and they launder nicely. They run about a 1/2 size large.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! This is my second purchase of these gloves. The last pair had held up for at least 2 years, but I unfortunately misplaced one of them.They are soft and durable and I absolutely love the mesh top....keeps your hands so cool in the heat of the summer! Love the fun argyle colors, as well.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was glad to see that Roeckl has put out a Summer glove which appears to be slightly more durable than the Solar glove. While I LOVE my Roeckl Solar gloves, they do wear out QUICKLY. The only questions here are: Will this glove be as comfortable/cool to wear while riding in the summer? Will they hold up better than the Solars? Will they prevent the dreaded "glove tan" as well as the Solars? I guess time will tell. I do find that I have high hopes for these gloves as they are considered to be in the Chester family of Roeckl's gloves. The Chesters are my go-to riding gloves! LOVE THOSE!
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light but durable! I tend to be a little heavy-handed and wear through gloves quickly. I loved the fun argyle pattern and subtle fun colors, so I decided to splurge on these Roeckl Summer Chester gloves. I instantly loved the lightweight material, with a breathable upper and a lightly grippy palm with great rein feel. But, because of all those qualities, I figured they'd be destroyed by the end of the summer. Boy was I wrong! These gloves have held up so well that I'll be storing them away for next summer!
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Warm Weather Glove I live in Florida where it's very hot and humid during the summer months. These gloves are the awesome. You can actually feel air moving through them while you ride. I have not had them very long, so I cannot speak to their durability. I imagine they will last as long as the regular Chester gloves.
    Date published: 2012-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gloves I've ever tried! These gloves are wonderful - good grip while still being cool. They're very lightweight and look very nice for use in the show ring.
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Gloves! These gloves are amazing! I have small hands so sometimes gloves do not fit me properly, but these fit perfect. I bought the black ones to show in and they were great. It was 100 degrees this past weekend and I didn't even feel like I was wearing them, they were that comfortable. I was very impressed with the grip because sometimes I feel like when I wear gloves the reins slip, but they did not slip at all. I was kind of skeptical on purchasing these because of the price, but I would definitely buy another pair. I might consider buying the winter version for when it gets cold, especially if these ones hold up.
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stylish Summer Glove I have only had these gloves (brown argyle) for several weeks so I cannot attest to their durability, but they are lightweight, very comfortable and provide good grip for cross country riding. I love the feel of them and wear them regularly.
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely light weight & comfortable I never used gloves when I rode as a kid so, when I wear them as an adult dressage rider I always feel sort of uncoordinated and I feel like they muffle the "sounds" on the reins from my pony's mouth. Well, the Roeckl Summer Chester gloves are so light and fit so well that I forget I have them on! I love them! And, I especially like the argyl design. I look forward to putting these gloves on - they feel good on my hands.
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool, Comfortable and Classy! These gloves are awesome for riding in hot sticky weather! They are not bulky and surprisingly tough for the lightweight materials they are made from. The fabric used for the palm has a slightly grippy texture but still gives you movement on the reins. The mesh backs keep your hands cool. They are a little on the pricey side but if they hold up through an entire summer or two they will have been worth the splurge. I needed new schooling gloves and the navy blue argyle color matches everything else in my show colors. Even my super picky trainer thought these were nice looking gloves!
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice summer gloves! I'm very happy with my purchase. They're lightweight and attractive... just what I needed!
    Date published: 2012-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My hands are cool I love these gloves! They keep my hands nice and cool while riding in the hot weather. They are worth it.
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from wonderful! Need to come in white. Loved riding in them. Hate to switch to my other Roeckl's that feel so hot to compete in. Please make white! I still think these are over-priced, but I keep buying them, so I guess they win ....
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Light and Grippy!!! I decided to try these gloves when my old crochet schooling gloves blew out a finger. I needed something just as light and breathed just as well. I put these on right away, and was very pleased. They fit great, no "finger nubs", grip well, and breathe amazingly! I haven't ridden in them yet, but just wearing them around the house (I'm wearing them now as i type), they are definitely worth the money!
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    • 2015-08-29T12:51CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_32
    • loc_en_US, sid_10322, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.