Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Padded Flash Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #19023
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A perfect schooling bridle crafted to stand up to the rigors of daily use! Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. With traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range, Plymouth bridles are sure to be a favorite. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Favorite Features

  • Incredibly soft and supple the minute you put it together
  • Beautifully designed with a raised and soft padded flash
  • Hook stud closures on 5/8” cheeks
  • Removable flash noseband
  • Brass buckles
  • Complete with 5/8" rubberized web reins for extra grip, even in wet weather

Sizing It Up

7/8" noseband and browband
5/8” cheeks
5/8" rubberized web reins

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Padded Flash Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.4571 out of 5 by 70.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart, Beautiful, Affordable!! I won't ever buy any other brand of bridle ever again. Only Smartpak!! Not only are they affordable, but unbelievably high quality! Soft and supple straight out of the box with a great fit on all of my horses! Not only good looking, but durable too! I have one Plymouth that's a few years old that's still looks new and gets compliments every where I go.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent schooling bridle I school a lot of horses and handle a lot of tack and this bridle is simply the most supple and versatile I've ever seen in this price range. My 17.1 TB has an enormous head and a narrow nose so I was worried about the fit, but it was perfect for him. He's been using this bridle for a year now, and with regular cleaning and oiling it's just as lovely as when I first got it. I'll certainly be using it for schooling shows when he's ready for them! The rein stops are also a nice addition for my running martingale.
    Date published: 2012-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow amazing bridle for great price Great bridle!!!! Leather is soft and easy to break in. Cleans well. Very happy!!
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent bridle I was a little dissapointed at how much dye I found rubbing off when i oiled this bridle. The dye coming off was almost purple, and i was using a white rag so there was no discoloration, however when I took the bridle out in the sun it was a much different color, thank goodness, take note this bridle arrived a much darker chocolate brown then the one in the picture above. It is more the color of the wellfleet flash eventing bridle. The padding is wonderfully soft and the leather is soft enough to bend and flex (after oiling and a little rolling) that it seems like it will hold up fine, it is pliable enough to allow flexing on the horses face. The keepers were fitting a bit loose. Alltogether I would say this is a great schooling bridle and nice enough for schooling shows but I wouldnt seriously compete in it. As it failed to keep the horses mouth shut ,a bit more adjustability in the canveson would be nice.
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasently Suprised I was not expecting the quality that came out of te box for the price I paid. Boy was I wrong. This is a beautiful bridle at a economical price. The fit however i find is weird. For one a horse size was rather large. My 16h quarter horse I have almost everything on the last hole & my throughbred only one notch down. It's also difficult to size because last hole is to tight and one down is to loose. Overall however this bridle is a prize! No one can believe what I paid for it. Thanks smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed :( After all the rave reviews of this bridle, I was very excited about it. I was fairly disappointed with this purchase. After oiling the bridle really well it was still extremely stiff and unyielding and one of the cheek pieces wouldn't fit into the keepers even with a lot of stretching! Overall I was disappointed in this product.
    Date published: 2012-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Supple Bridle Great bridle for the price. Very soft supple leather. I was surprised how soft the leather was. Fits my Warmblood very well. Only complaint would be that the leather straps holders take a while to break in to secure the leather pieces. Other than that a great buy.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Supple Bridle This bridle was surprisingly very nice! The leather was very soft from the start! The sizing was true to size my 17'2 hand Warmblood went in the O/S size and it fits well! I love the quality of the leather. It is perfect for daily use and flashy enough for shows. A great steal for the price. I am going to order another for sure!
    Date published: 2011-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow In the past I just bought 35 dollar bridles from a local tack store, they held up for a few years and id throw them away and get a new one. I decided to buy this one for the flash and was pretty reluctant to buy a bridle for more then 40 dollars (going to college doesn't provide much money for horse tack). I read the reviews so I knew the hardware wouldn't be brass, but thats fine it still looks great. I got the full size and it fit my 17h TB with an average size face perfectly. I took it out of the box and the leather was very nice, I decided to oil it anyways, and WOW after oiling it it was 100x nicer then it already was and I was already impressed. For 65 dollars (and even probably 100) it is definitely worth it. The leather is soft and very nice, doesn't seem to scruff like my cheaper bridles, I don't know how I feel about the reins but I think with gloves they will be perfect. Fit my horse very well and there was a lot of extra room to adjust, so I feel like the fit will be good for everyone, not just me. The color is perfect, very dark and rich and looks excellent on my bay horse. The only problem I have now is that I am going to become a bridle hoarder because I love this bridle so much... I did see the logo on the top of the bridle and the reins, but its not that obnoxious and I plan on changing the reins if I show anyways, and for hacking around its not like they are bright and obnoxious so its fine. Id be upset if it was on the front of the noseband, but its at the top where you can hardly see it and its pretty faint. I highly recommend this product... but don't buy it because I want to buy out the stock since I love it so much!
    Date published: 2011-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely bridle At a great price, very soft and very supple, only thing I would change is the reins, they are very stiff and have really torn up my hands. I prefer rubber on a jumper/event bridle instead of the web rubber mix since the web part slides too much.Overall though, it fits well and is really a lovely bridle, I have had many compliments on it.
    Date published: 2011-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for the Price I think this is a very nice bridle for the price. It is nice looking and the leather was soft and flexible right from the start. There is a little bit of freying on the back of the noseband buckle strap, but only I will ever notice it. I think we will be happy with this for a long time to come. I might have done a bit better to have ordered the next smaller size, as we are on some of the shortest settings. My horse is about 14.3 h and I have the full size.
    Date published: 2011-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle, Awesome Price! I am really impressed with the quality of this bridle for the price. First thing I noticed when I opened the box is that it smells like quality leather. It feels nice, is soft and pliable without being flimsy, and is just in general a very nice bridle. The color is definitely darker than the photo, it's more of a rich chocolate brown, but still pretty!Quarter horse riders, take note; this bridle fits the wide-but-short head, large jowled QHs wonderfully. I usually need an oversize browband on a full size bridle to work with my mare's face, but this bridle fits perfect as-is!Another awesome item from Smartpak, I'll never doubt their quality!
    Date published: 2011-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Bridle I bought this bridle for my 17h Thoroughbred. There are plenty of holes to adjust the bridle which I love since George was just a little too big for a horse size bridle. I agree with a lot of the other customers on here about how supple the leather was! I didn't rank the durability because I've only used it for a couple of weeks. My only complaint is that the browband was a little big on him and sticks out too far. Other than that, I think that this bridle is great! Very satisfied!
    Date published: 2011-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bridle My western tack with an additional noseband was not working for my mouthy colt. I decided to cross over to the english world and give this bridle a try.I was surprised how soft and supple the leather is and the craftmanship that went into this bridle. The full size fits my mustang/arab well and the option to have his name engraved is a nice touch. My little guy embraced his new gear with a closed mouth and a great first ride, and we haven't looked back.One point that needs to be clarified; the description states the bridle has stainless steel hardware and brass buckles and the photo shows brass hardware. My bridle came with stainless steel hardware.
    Date published: 2011-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Bridle I haven't bought a bridle for years. But this one really lives up to it's reputation. It's soft right out or the box. No need to break it in. I wasn't sure about the fit, since the TB I'm riding right now has a big head, but the full size fits him just right. I was hesitant about the rubber reins, but after using them I really like them. They are a bit hard to clean with a sponge, since they tear it up, so I use a small cloth. I have had this about a month, so I don't know about the durability. Seems like it should be fine, because it is a very quality bridle for the price you pay.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this bridle from the time I opened the box My trainer and I were both very impressed with the quality of this bride for the price. It looks lovely on my 1/2 Arab and the fit was perfect (he wears a full). The leather was soft and supple and the bridle adjusted easily. The reins were interresting (very grippy), but I knew when I purchased this bridle I would be changing out the reins to laced ones. The brand name and size were stamped on the poll piece, which I did not like and the color rubbed off in patches on the noseband after one use (my boy likes to rub his face on his leg). The bridle does NOT have brass buckles as advertised, which was disappointing since it looks so good in the picture with the brass buckles. Overall it is very good for the price.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Quality! I was pleasantly surprised by how soft & supple the leather was right out of the box. It was easy to put together, & it appears to be very nice quality, especially for the price. The full size fit my Paint gelding nicely. I love the reins as well, they're very grippy, & I very much prefer them to plain braided leather reins.
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally Worth it!! I've been having a hard time deciding on a bridle for my Percheron/QH mare who has the size of a head between a FULL and an OVERSIZED, either one is a tick too small or a tick too big...I bought this bridle as an O/S and while it is a tick too big, I love it. I've only used it a few times, but I am absolutely in love with this bridle. It's so supple and it looks phenomenal on my horse.Probably one of the best investments I've put in a bridle ever in my entire life.
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle for price! Both my horse and I are very happy with this bridle. The leather is quite supple from the start and it looks very handsome on my horse. He also seems to really like the flash noseband. He tends to fidget with his bit and this seems to actually calm him a bit. I highly recommend this nice bridle.
    Date published: 2011-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Bridle They accidentally sent me the bridle in black, but promptly took care of sending a return label. It is exactly the same as the brown aside from color--they're both excellent quality for the price and the cob size fits my 16.2hh OTTB (dainty-faced) mare perfectly. Definitely recommended!
    Date published: 2011-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hands down best bridle at this price range I didn't rate durability because I've only been using this bridle for 2 weeks however I have to say that immediately upon opening the package I also noticed how supple the leather was. I have a 17h thoroughbred with a fine nose, broad forehead and long cheek and the full size fits perfectly! The reins are fine but, for me, a little cheap looking, I'll school in them but imagine they may not last too long, however, I definitely appreciate the rein stops already in place. What I love most is that the buckles are so easy to adjust right off the bat! I used to dread adjusting my old schooling bridle, it would kill my fingers, especially in winter, but the leather of this bridle is soft enough and the pieces well fitted enough it's a breeze to buckle and unbuckle at will. I feel like I got a great purchase for the price!
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I was shocked when I opened up this bridle in the mail. The leather is so soft anf supple for being a brand new bridle. It fits my QH nicely and dosen't rub his face any where.
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous Bridle! I recieved this for Christmas as my show bridle for my jumper, it is absolutely GORGEOUS. It fits his petite head perfectly, and was soft right out of the box. The rubber reins aren't thick and have amazing grip. I was actually thrown by him the first day riding in it to break it in and the reins didnt slip from my hands. I'm thinking about buying it as my schooling bridle too. I will buy this bridle for my other horses. (:
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! I bought this bridle because I was impressed by the reviews. It did come out of the box and was quite soft already. It only needed a light coat of oil and I wore it that day. It fit my average TB mare very well except in the browband. There were a few things I wasn't over the moon about. Plymouth is imprinted on it everywhere. It's very large on the crownpiece and on the reins. I wasn't crazy about the reins and they were pretty torn up after ride #1. And the buckles were silver (brass fixtures are pictured). Overall, a much, much nicer bridle than the Kincade flash. For the price it cannot be beat.
    Date published: 2010-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great and even better price seriously..........this bridle is way way way nicer than most in this price range.I will buy this brand again, and the reins are very nice for stock reins, at last, not just laced reins.Thanks SmartPak:)
    Date published: 2010-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would buy it again For the price this is a great bridle. The leather is real soft. My trainer even commented on what a nice bridle it is. It does run a little big.
    Date published: 2010-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! Just bought this bridle for my TB gelding with an in-between size head (cob size is too small, but full size I'm usually on the last hole everywhere). It fits beautifully and looks great on him! Love the padding on the noseband and browband. Couldn't have asked for a better quality schooling bridle, leather is soft and will hopefully last awhile. Can't beat the price either! The only thing I'm not crazy about is the reins, but overall can't complain!
    Date published: 2010-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Quality Came out of the box supple and soft. Fits my TB perfectly. Nicely padded and one of the only bridles that I have kept the reins on. Love this bridle and at this price its unbeatable.
    Date published: 2010-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SO SUPPLE I bought this bridle as a training/show bridle for my new TB. I was shocked when I opened the box and felt the leather. I cannot believe how supple the leather is for only sixty bucks!! It's beautifully crafted and I would refer all my friends to buy this. The only bummer is that it is a touch darker in real life. But I love it so much I don't care. I'll just dye my saddle to match! haha
    Date published: 2010-09-06
    • 2015-05-22T07:45CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_67
    • loc_en_US, sid_9023, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.