Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Mountain Horse Polar Breech

Mountain Horse
- Item #18519
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Mountain Horse Polar Breech is the ultimate winter riding pant! Breathable, windproof, and waterproof makes this breech great for those cold, snowy, blustery days!

Imported.

 

Favorite Features

  • Breathable, windproof and waterproof, with fully sealed seams to lock out moisture
  • Snow gaiters in lower leg keep snow out
  • Reinforced imitation leather full seat and ergonomically shaped seat and knees for maximum comfort in the saddle
  • Full length waterproof zippers at side seams
  • Reflective piping around the knees when riding in low visibility
  • Elasticized waist with belt loops so you can wear as many layers as needed
  • Adjustable, elastic foot strap
  • Two front pockets with hand-warming micro fleece
Key Specifications
  • Breech Material: 100% Polyester
  • Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on): Front zip
  • Rise: High rise

Sizing

What Customers Say:

Specifications

Breech Material 100% Polyester
Patch or Seat Material Faux leather
Type (Front Zip, Side Zip, Pull-on) Front zip
Rise High rise
Ankle Closure Elastic foot straps
Pockets 2 Front
Insulation 100% fiberfill
Special Features Wind, waterproof, full seam-sealed, two way full length zippers on sides, faux leather full seat for grip, front pockets with hand-warming micro fleece
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The Ariat Olympia Marquis Full Seat Breech is ...
    Description:
    "The Ariat Olympia Marquis Full Seat Breech is designed to meet the needs of top riders! Featuring a luxurious Schoeller® prestige 4 way stretch nylon and cotton fabric blend, you'll be able to ride in both comfort and style. Perfect ...
    "The Equine Couture Beatta Coolmax Knee Patch Breech ...
    Description:
    "The Equine Couture Beatta Coolmax Knee Patch Breech is the epitome of style meets function. Flexible Coolmax fabric coupled with a wide waistband style and contoured sock bottom provide all day comfort and style."
    "A new offering from FITS, The Performax ™ ...
    Description:
    "A new offering from FITS, The Performax ™ Kimberly Knee Patch Zip Breech has just what you're looking for. Featuring a back yoke and euroseat styling, this breech displays a traditional sleek appearance suitable for any horse show. Front zip. ...
    "The Equestrian Jean from Goode Rider is a ...
    Description:
    "The Equestrian Jean from Goode Rider is a new, super comfortable, stretchy denim that will having you riding in style! Featuring a modified mid rise fit along with a custom fit waistband, you'll be wanting several of these jeans to ...
    "The Vogue Denim Full Seat Breech from Goode ...
    Description:
    "The Vogue Denim Full Seat Breech from Goode Rider is a new composition of specially twisted yarns for the best in stretch and recovery. Incredibly comfortable and flattering, the subtle details of whips and horse shoe embroidery give a perfect ...
    "The patented design of the Cadence® Full Seat ...
    Description:
    "The patented design of the Cadence® Full Seat Breeches provides maximum support and full range of motion whether you're out on the trail or jumping cross country. Cadence® stretch-cord breeches won't chafe, thanks to their over-locked edge stitched construction. Gripper ...
    "The Issential Riding Tight is a basic tight ...
    Description:
    "The Issential Riding Tight is a basic tight that’s beyond ordinary. It is designed and patterned in the saddle for the perfect fit and ultimate comfort. With 4-way stretch, body-contouring panels, and flattering seam lines you can expect the Irideon ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Polar Breech is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 104.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Still waiting for them to arrive Size small came 12/6/17. They were too small. I ordered a small. I am 5'4" and 124 pounds. Sent the breeches back the next day and I am still waiting for the medium breeches to arrive.
    Date published: 2017-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm! I bought these for riding in the cold PA winters. So far, I'm very happy with how warm they've kept me. I ordered a large, thinking I would wear more layers under them, but really probably could have gotten away with a medium. But they are no so big that it is a problem. They are very long, however. I have to roll them up if I'm just walking in them, otherwise I step on the hems. But in the saddle they are perfect length.
    Date published: 2017-12-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sizing Truly Problematic I read all the reviews about how to get the right size and studied the sizing chart. I measured my waist and hips and ordered the size by what was recommended by the measurement chart. Well the pants were too small. I am 5'4" and weigh 124 pounds. My waist is 35" and my hips are 42" and that measurement was taken loosely over my clothes. According to the charts, that is a small. I normally wear a medium breeches or a size 10. With other breeches underneath, pants would not close. With nothing under the pants, they would close but the pants rise was not high enough and they cut up in the crotch. Ouch. Sent them back and I will try a medium. Hopefully the medium won't be to bulky because I think I will really like them if they fit.
    Date published: 2017-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sooooo warm I wore these only once in 35 degree weather and my legs were sweating. They attest to a true winter riding pant. Very comfortable and love how the waist is adjustable and I can zipper these pants on and off in seconds,
    Date published: 2017-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mountain Horse Polar Breech I bought these this spring 2017 so have yet to wear them on a nice cold winter day to really test them out. I did try them on and are amazed at how well they fit and felt on. Roomy where they need to be. I'm very excited to try them.
    Date published: 2017-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for in cold weather riding pant. I am glad I asked questions before ordering, I got the perfect fit. Thanks
    Date published: 2017-04-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Like the 90's Rockies jeans. I haven't wanted these FOREVER. I read the reviews, had mixed feelings about the fit. For reference, I'm at my "winter weight", 130#'s 5'4, wearing a size 4, or a 27 in Cowgirl Tuff Jeans, or a 3/4-5/6 in Wrangler Q baby's. All that being said, I should have fit in an X Small, but I figured out they are cut like the high waisted Rockies jeans from the early 90's. They never worked for me, they'd come up over my first rib. The thigh worked fine and the length worked fine, but Mountain Horse really needs to update with the current cut and style of clothing. Otherwise, they looked incredibly rugged and tough. Disappointed I could not test them on ranch chores.
    Date published: 2017-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmth without bulk. These are the best. Super warm, yet easy to ride, walk and do barn chores in. Not bulky, so you don't walk around looking like the Stay-Puff Marshmallow Man. The rise is high enough that they don't feel as if they are falling down as you walk around. Definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2017-02-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great construction I bought these breeches after a particularly cold weekend. I haven't had a chance to test them out yet because the weather turned milder. I did try them on, and true to the reviews I read before my purchase, they do run large. Fortunately, there are 3 snaps at each side of the waist for adjusting, as well as belt loops. The also run long. I'm 5'5" with an slim/athletic build, evenly proportioned and they're too long for me. I think they'll be fine in the saddle, but on foot I'll have to cuff them. They have an adjustable strap that goes under the boot to keep them from creeping up. I'll review again when I use them riding!
    Date published: 2017-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great item, warm I originally ordered this item in a Large as I know I will wear at least 2 layers underneath. However, not only was the Large way too big, it is very long. I returned the item and got the Medium instead which is perfect. I have only used these over pantsonce so as far as durability goes I cannot really say but it seems the quality is good and the value is good. Mountain Horse products are usually really well made.
    Date published: 2017-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these! I love these Mountain Horse Polar Riding breeches! They are so warm and fit over your clothes. Great cuffs and boot straps. They do run a little long but they are the best winter breeches I have found!
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs small but great product Well made and warm. They run small so I did have to move up a size. I am usually a medium and even given the measurements provided which seemed big, I had to go up a size.
    Date published: 2017-01-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Loved these pants but.. I absolutely loved these pants. Contrary to other womens experience the fit was vreat for me. Unfortunately Mountain Horse has a quality control issue which i also experienced with the Stella boots which dont stay waterproofed. These pants only lasted one season before the zippers on the legs failed and wont stay zipped. This is so very disppointing but seems to ne a common issue with Mountain Horse. If not for this failure i would have rated these a 5
    Date published: 2016-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm Got these right before our negative temps and really bad wind chills hit. Really glad I did. I can go out to get my horse without being so frozen that I can't ride by the time I get back to the barn. Just zip them off to ride in the indoor. Would probably keep them on to ride outside, but I'm not really into freezing for no good reason.
    Date published: 2016-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm! The pants are very well made and warm. Tried them on and went outside for a bit on a cold day. Sadly, I have to return them because they are just way too long! At least 6" and as a result, pull down from waist while walking.
    Date published: 2016-12-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Liked the materials used but not the fit These might work if you are tall and have big thighs. Had to return. Knee area was way below my knee and the whole pant was unbelievably baggy. They seemed well made and warm and I liked the feel of the fabrics used.
    Date published: 2016-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I almost wish for cold & snow! It hasn't been cold or snowy enough for me to use yet, but I will say that it is extremely well made. I love its features: pockets, cuffs, high waist, reflective stripes, just to name a few. If I don't gain any weight, I know this will last me for as long as I continue to ride. Everything it advertises to be. I should add it is very warm with room for multiple layers.
    Date published: 2016-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent winter warmth with full seat security This is my second pair of Mountain Horse Polar Breeches. I used the first pair for many years of winter riding until the fabric began to wear thin.
    Date published: 2016-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter pants These fit a bit small so had the go up a size. A size 8-10 is a medium. Lol e these, great quality, can't wait for winter!
    Date published: 2016-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great improvement I have a pair of winter Mountin Horse pants and jacket from about 15 years ago. The pants from way back when are comfortable, warm and fit great. The only complaint is they were not long enough for riding purpose when put over boots. The new pair I just got is great, many improvements, love it. I read all reviews and got size small so I can wear pants underneath, otherwise I would fit into size xs. Love the way the look, fit and all the little improvements. Winter can come now !
    Date published: 2016-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Could not survive winter without these! This is my second pair of mountain horse winter pants. My first pair lasted about 6 years and I wear them everyday all winter long. I could not survive these freezing cold winters without them! They are warm and comfy and you can also just hop on and ride without being too baggy. Love Love Love these pants! Very excited that I got them at the end of the season for 50% off! Thank you Smartpak!
    Date published: 2016-03-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sizing Chart specs not same as actual product Bought the XS Mountain Horse Polar Breech. The size chart said it would measure 29" waist/ 39" hip/ 31" inseam. I have to shorten everything so the inseam was not a critical measurement, it was the only one that matched the product! The actual waist measurement was 26" and the hip 38". Disappointed.
    Date published: 2016-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice but too long Really nice ski pant type breech. I would have loved to wear them but alas I'm short and fat and they were too long...way,way too long. The large fit fine- except for the legnth and I didn't want to go through the hassle of getting them professionally shortened. Super well made and would have been perfect for winter riding or other activities where a warm ski pant was needed. Smart Pak's return poilcy is quick, seemless and a joy to deal with.
    Date published: 2016-02-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor customer service I ordered two pair of Mountain Horse Polar Breeches, I received a invoice stating that they were in stock and being shipped the next day, when I didn't receive them I called the company, they said they were sorry but they ran out of stock and wouldn't get them back in stock until August and this is February.
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Buy of the year I needed a warm pair of breeches to get me thru the winter. Saw these on sale and thought I would give them a try, Best Buy I did all year. They are warm, water proof and I go from catching horses in the snowy fields to the saddle without taking my snow pants off, love them
    Date published: 2016-02-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not made for woman Had to return.. Waited forever to finally get these and had to return. Large way too big,medium too small. i am a very active winter rider and need good quality warm stuff.. These didn't cut it
    Date published: 2016-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed! Needed a hard-core winter breech for Wisconsin Winter rides. Love the full-seat breech feature - makes is easier to train without getting cold. It has great insulation, fits well with a variety of boots, and the adjustable fitting features make for a truly comfortable fit. I am 5'2" and the XS is perfect in length! Thank you for being about the only site that carried clothing in XS!!
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I returned these pants today. They were comfortable and warm but the top snap on the belt popped off when I tried them on for the first time. My arthritic fingers had a difficult time with the side zippers on the pant legs. I love Mountain Horse products. These pant are just not for me.
    Date published: 2016-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from high quality, functional pant they were on clearance so an XL was ordered. Way too large so ended up returning them. Will definitely purchase a pair next fall.
    Date published: 2016-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Instantly warm. Very comfortable. Is perfect for the extreme weather that barn areas are subjected to. Easy to clean in muddy conditions. An amazing product.
    Date published: 2016-01-05
    • y_2018, m_1, d_20, h_10
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_101
    • loc_en_US, sid_8519, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 109ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders