Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Mountain Horse Active Winter Rider Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #18000
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

With its super cozy and warm faux fur lining, the Active Winter Rider Boot is sure to keep you warm on your coldest riding days! 

Favorite Features

  • Warm faux fur lining
  • YKK® Vislon side-fitted zipper is strong and durable to enhance the life of your boots
  • Elastic design along the side of the zipper adds 50% more stretch
  • The faux leather foot is waterproof and has been tested to withstand one million flexes in -10 degree weather!
  • Heel is fitted with shock-absorbing IPS™ system to reduce shock impact
  • Slim and contoured sole design is made especially for riding
Sizing It Up

6-10.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    TheMountain Horse Mountain Rider Pant is aHeavy duty ...
    Description:
    TheMountain Horse Mountain Rider Pant is aHeavy duty windproof, waterproof, and fully seam-sealed pantoffering you the absolute bestProtection from the elements while riding and caring for your horses. Favorite Features Windproof, waterproof, and full seam-sealed forthe ultimate all-weatherProtection Specially ...
    The Tuff Rider Men's Baroque Field Boot is ...
    Description:
    The Tuff Rider Men's Baroque Field Boot is made with superSoft premium leather and offer elegance and traditional styling of a custom boot. Favorite Features Elastic panel offers great comfort and fit Contoured ankle High Spanish cut Round toe boot ...
    The Solstice All Terrain Winter Boot keeps you ...
    Description:
    The Solstice All Terrain Winter Boot keeps you warm and ready for whatever winter sends your way!With it'sstreamlined construction, unbeatable insulation, and durable tread, you'll wonder how you ever lived without this utilitarian winter boot! Favorite Features Teflon fabric treatmentProtects ...
    The Tuff Rider Kids Starter Winter Paddock Bootisa ...
    Description:
    The Tuff Rider Kids Starter Winter Paddock Bootisa greatoption for those seeking warmththis winter! Favorite Features Front Zip Paddock Boot Full foot synthetic fleece lining Textured rubber sole Spur rest Imported Sizing It Up 1,2,3,4,5,8,9,10,11,12
    This elegant equestrian boot is crafted with ultra-soft ...
    Description:
    This elegant equestrian boot is crafted with ultra-soft leather and an elegant square toe design for a traditional look in the show ring.Favorite Features Leather grip panel on inside of calf Full length zipper and elastic gusset Snap closures at ...
    Take your equestrian style to levels with the ...
    Description:
    Take your equestrian style to levels with the elegant Regal Patent Field Boot from TuffRider!Favorite Features Crafted with ultraSoft leather Grippy leather panel on inside of calf Full length zipper and elastic gusset Snap closures at both the ankle and ...
    This versatile equestrian boot is crafted with ultra-soft ...
    Description:
    This versatile equestrian boot is crafted with ultra-soft leather and an elegant square toe design for a traditional look in the show ring. Favorite Features Superior grippy leather on the inside of the boot Provides superior stability and comfort Imported ...
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Active Winter Rider Boot is rated 4.1321 out of 5 by 53.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from kept my feet very warm! I bought these a few weeks ago after having to return another makers boot because the heel seam on teh boot ripped. These are made much better and more durable. Comfortable enough to walk around the barn and out to the paddocks and very comfortable riding.
    Date published: 2015-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfortable and warm I tried this boot as well as MH Ice Rider and Ariat Bromont. Preferred the active rider and was tallest of the 3. Half sizes would be nice. Foot size was just a little big on me.
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps your toes warm! I wore these for the first time the other day when it was in the low 20s. They didn't require any breaking in and kept my toes warm while I rode multiple horses. I usually wear an 8 or 8.5 in ariats, but I ordered a 9 so I could wear thick socks as it gets colder and it was the right decision. So if you are in between sizes I would say definitely order up a size. I originally ordered the regular calf, but exchanged it for the wide which is perfect for layering or using with winter/polar fleece breeches. (For comparison I usually wear a full or wide tall boot)I would recommend this as a winter riding boot. Keeps you warm without too much bulk or tread like some winter boot options.
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bulky boot I bought these boots for winter riding. Unfortunately these boots were wide through the foot and bulky and heavy. I could not bend my foot. They were a little short but I am tall. They would take a long time to break in.
    Date published: 2014-11-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from As clunky as moon boots I had high hopes for these boots even though my prior experiences with Mountain Horse products have not been good. I've found their items to be clunky and oversized. I thought these might be different as they are called "active" winter boots. I couldn't imagine walking around in them all day let alone fitting them into an English stirrup. Thank goodness for SmartPak's free shipping return policy on sized items!
    Date published: 2014-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and High Quality Greater for riders with wide calves! I normally wear an 8 1/2 in shoes and ordered a 9 thinking that would be good for thick socks. They fit perfectly. I also have a wide calf (about 17.5 inches in diameter) and the wide calf fit me very well. I am on the short side (5'4") so they were a bit tall for me, but broken down fairly quickly. The break in process is no different than any other tall boots in my opinion - but maybe I'm just used to it from being short limb-ed with wide calves. They simply require break-in time. Much less bulky than MH's other boots, comfortable to walk, ride, and do chores in. Very happy with my purchase! Have only had them a month, so can't speak to the durability as much - will update in winter!
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Only for LONG legs I bought these boots to replace a VERY old pair of Mountain Horse Winter boots (meaning this brand lasts a LONG time). Loved the boot, however I was concerned it would take too long to break them in, as the shaft is so tall it was literally biting into the back of my knee. I am 5'9" with long legs, but these boots were too tall for me. I ordered them in wide calf....and they are quite wide, wider than what I would need.
    Date published: 2014-03-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from they get the job done These boots are ok. I bought a 9, which fits well - I'm usually a 9.5. They are pretty clunky and stiff, and the calves are definitely on the big side. However, I wanted something waterproof that I could ride in if needed, and these do the trick so far.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mountain Horse Active boots, so far I love them! After much consideration and reading reviews and asking other riders, I purchased the Mountain Horse Active boots. They run bigger. I normally wear a size 7.5 with a wide calf, but wear a 7 with a regular calf. The foot is a little loose in the heel, but there is for thicker socks. They were comfortable from day one and they look really nice. I didn't like the Rimfrost rider. I may change my mind later on, but right now I am very pleased.
    Date published: 2014-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Boot Overall I really love these boots! I wish they were a little more waterproof, but they keep my toes very warm. After reading reviews that they ran on the tall side, I didn't think that would matter since I have very long legs. But even for me, the boots rubbed the back of my knees for the first couple days. Once they were completely broken in they were fantastic! 
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter boot on the market! It is currently 4 degrees (maybe colder by now) and I've been wearing these boots for a few hours - they are amazing!! I've trialed 3 different pairs of winter riding boots prior to these and these are the first boots that have actually kept my feet toasty warm for longer than 30 minutes. I think they fit true to size. I ordered up a size so I could wear heavy socks with them and I think the fit is perfect. I was worried about the material scratching my saddle, but they are actually pretty smooth. I am extremely happy with them.
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great tread, requires break in time These boots feel warm and bulky, like my other Mtn. Horse boots did.  I like the side zipper, as the zipper on the heel gets really worn out and dirty so fast.  I found they fit true to size, but the ankle would need to break in for the calf to form comfortably around my leg.   Unfortunately, I found a better fit for my needs and did not keep them, so cannot attest to their durability.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from cozy and practical boot I've worn the MH Active Winter Rider Boot around 5 times and these boot are comfortable, not bulky and warm. good in the stirrup.
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice winter boots! When I ride in these boots, I forget that I'm riding in lined winter boots and not leather boots! Warm, great feel of my leg on the horse, pretty good for walking, and easy to clean. Will hopefully last a long time since I'd rather ride than shop for boots!
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Boots I needed warm winter riding boots that I could wear riding in the snow.  I didn't want anything bulky, and they needed to be comfortable.  My Ariat Brossard boots that I bought last year, though comfortable, are a little too short and get caught underneath my saddle flap when I'm riding.  These boots seemed to be more comfortable that the Ice Riders I tried on recently.  So far they seem to be keeping me warm in cold, snowy weather.  They are still a bit stiff.  I'm hoping they'll get more comfortable as they break in.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm boots bad Zipper I ride all day long in the winter outside at 6 to 30F in the mountains of Utah. I have bought many Mountain horse and Dublin boots. This is a warm boot. I did wear with wool socks and bout 1/2 size larger to accommodate since I ride 6-9hrs a day when I can.Cons-Zippers were stiff and failed in the 1st season of use. Zipper broke at the bottom of the boot so they were unusable after 4 months of use. Local saddle shop wanted way to much to repair them.
    Date published: 2013-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Riding Boots I love these boots!! My feet were wicked warm, maybe almost to warm! I'm glad I bought them and would recommend them to anyone looking for a warm riding boot. They are easy to clean and appear to be water-proof.
    Date published: 2013-05-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wished they would hold up longer I lived in these for two year. While I enjoyed these boots my first year, the second year they started to get rips around the foot so they were no longer waterproof. The zipper also broke. I also didn't feel very secure when I rode. But for the first year I was very toasty in NY's cold weather!
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Painful! I would call these boots just ok. They do keep my daughters feet warm but she has to put padding on her ankle bones because they rub her ankles so badly even through thick socks. The fit is true to size and they fit her well which is why it surprised me when they rubbed holes in the skin of her ankles. The foot material is so hard and stiff, made worse by the cold, that they crimp inward for a very painful experience.
    Date published: 2013-03-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Painful Ankles! I've been looking for a pair of tall winter riding boots that fit a wide calf and after reading reviews & chatting with customer service, picked these.Unfortunately, the ankles were really painful at the intersection of the foot material and the boot shaft. The zippers had a small fabric flap in the exact area, which is likely to prevent rubs against your outer ankle bone.For me, the boot material bunched in that spot, painfully poking me right next to my ankles. There are other reviews that note the ankle issues and since it was mentioned that they didn't go away with time (like leather boots), I'm sending these back. Hoping MH will address the issue on their next model!
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot, great value I've only had these boots a few weeks but they are breaking in quickly and are nice and warm. Got them on sale and would highly recommend them. My last pair of Mountain Horse winter boots (different style) lasted 7 years+ and I'm still using them to muck stalls!
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Only for real weather These are not appropriate for just riding around in a cold indoor ring and could NEVER be used for a show ring. They are very heavy and durable looking and would probably be great for riding outdoors in the cold, snow, rain etc. Also they do not offer a slim calf size and that's a real problem in a boot this chunky.
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cold Feet Very well fitting boot and would be ok if you ride one horse and then are done. I ride and teach all day and by the 2nd horse my feet are already cold. If I stand and teach my feet are freezing. :( Very sad because I like the fit.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm Boots that Fit! When the Mountain Horse Active Rider boots went on sale I figured I would give them a try. With HUGE 18 1/2 inch calfs I didn't think I would be able to get any winter boots to fit and still look nice. Much to my surprise, these warm boots are a great fit in the foot and while snug, the wide calf size fits my calf. I have not ridden in them yet, but they are comfortable to walk around in and if the weather ever cooperates, I will ride in them. I do find the zippers to be a bit "sticky", but they seem to work easier each time I put the boots on. I have not worn them enough to be able to judge how well they will hold up, but I hope to be able to wear them for years to come.
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cold weather boot I purchased these boots 1 1/2 years ago. They have held up well for two winter seasons. I ride about 6 horses a day and the boots have kept my feet warm in frigid Wisconsin winter months. The only wear is on the top of the foot where there is a small hole (which may have been caused by my spur while kicking the boots off). The faux fur lining is great.. But has lost a bit of it's fluff on the foot bed due to the fact that I have walked and ridden in them for two seasons equivalent to 10 months for 6 hours a day. I have already purchased a second pair for next year.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't keep the boots cuz they were too big. I have always worn a size 8 but these were way too big. I even bought some insoles and wore heavy sox but I'd have gotten a blister had I worn them any longer. Other than the size, they seemed like great boots...I will order them in a smaller size when the weather gets cold again...we're having a short respite from winter right now.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots Purchased a size 8 could have worn a size 7 but can wear an extra pair of thick socks. They look great and the placement of zipper makes them easy on and off. Very durable. Would buy again.
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boot, but 2 tall 4 me I received this boot as a birthday gift. They looked great. I loved the faux fur lining. They run true to size. I wear a 8.5 so I ordered a 9 regular and it fit fine in the foot. Unfortunately the height of the boot prevented me from sitting in a comfortable position. I returned the Active Winter Rider. After reviewing the size charts for Mountain Horse winter boots the only boot I found that runs shorter is the Rimfrost Rider Tall Boot.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Winter Riding Boots! I purchased these boots after giving up on getting a Galway Extra Fit boot to fit my shoe size (one size too tight, the next size too large) and I wanted a boot I could ride in. My calves are boarder line Wide/Extra Wide and I was worried these would not fit, but they do and they are great winter riding boots. My feet were never cold even in bitterly cold weather with three feet of snow on the trails. I like that you can just hose and sponge them off after a muddy, snowy ride too! Though be careful not to direct water directly towards the zippers as they will leak water into the boot, so I guess fording icy streams in them is a no-go. They are not the most comfortable boots for walking due to a stiff heel cup that can irritate your ankle bones if you walk a long time in them. This may go away with time as it does with many boots once they are broken in, but they are riding boots, so one hopes not to have to walk long in them anyways. I love the spanish tops to the boots that elongate the leg. So many winter riding boots are short and dumpy, these have a nice sillouette. As to durability, I cannot really give a review because I have only been riding in them for a couple of weeks. THe zipper appears to be very durable and I hope it does hold up.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great after Christmas bargain! So far so good. Warm & comfy. Loud swishy sound if you happen to brush them against each other, sorta problematic if you walk around much while instructing.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    • 2016-05-27T16:21CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
    • loc_en_US, sid_8000, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders