Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Heated Flatback Bucket

Item #12005
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

With a capacity of 5 gallons (20 quarts), the Heated Flatback Bucket is great for horses and large dogs!

Favorite Features

  • Built-in thermostat and will keep water ice-free during below zero conditions
  • Heater is completely hidden within the walls of the plastic bucket
  • "Flat back" allows it to be conveniently hung in a stall
  • Unique storage area for the 60" cord at the bottom of the bucket which enables the safe use of the bucket all year round. 

Sizing It Up

5 gallons (20 quarts)

Imported.

Customers Also Shopped For
Used as a slow feeder and/or treat dispenser, ...
Description:
Used as a slow feeder and/or treat dispenser, the Nose-It! A Toy with Purpose works with your horse's natural grazing instincts, controlling the amount of food intake at any given time. No more waste or inhaling of food-stuffs. Your horse ...
ThisHeavy wall large capacity corner container is what ...
Description:
ThisHeavy wall large capacity corner container is what by all standards can be called a real smart choice. Its one-piece construction makes an excellent stall feeder or waterer and also makes it easy to clean. Favorite Features Special offset front ...
Add some color to your barn! These colorful ...
Description:
Add some color to your barn! These colorful Duraflex Flatback Buckets are durable and impact resistant. Favorite Features Protects against warpage and helps prevent stress cracks Features aHeavy-duty wire bail with notch for hanging Stacking ribs so the pails come ...
Our Slow Feeder Saver is designed to give ...
Description:
Our Slow Feeder Saver is designed to give Equines the healthiest and most natural eating experience possible regardless of them being stalled or stabled. Favorite Features Small grate holes prevent horses from wasting feed by consuming it to quickly or ...
This is the latest HAYGAIN hay steamer system ...
Description:
This is the latest HAYGAIN hay steamer system designed to accommodate a fully strung bale or the equivalent in loose hay or hay nets. Double walled and thermally insulated to reach and maintain the critically high temperatures required to effectively ...
Exceptionally durable, the Fortiflex Round Feeder Tub is ...
Description:
Exceptionally durable, the Fortiflex Round Feeder Tub is easy to hang in your horse's stall Favorite Features Includes attached S hooks orHeavy-duty snaps for installation Galvanized reinforcements Capacity markings in gallons and liters Perimeter rim helps bottom of bucket resist ...
Stainless Steel, heated, automatic for up to 40 ...
Description:
Stainless Steel, heated, automatic for up to 40 head. The UltraFount is designed to give year-round service, providing clean, fresh, temperate water regardless of climate. Great if you're tired of breaking ice on the coldest days!Favorite Features Premier, energy efficient ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Heated Flatback Bucket is rated 4.527272727272727 out of 5 by 55.
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does not last I had it for last 2 winters in Georgia then stored it indoors over the summer. Went to use it this winter and it no longer works. It's a little pricey to have to replace every year or two!
Date published: 2015-12-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Careful with this bucket Unfortunately the bale wire isn't hidden from the horse. Mine got her tail caught in it, pulled away ripping out lots of hair and straightening the bale completely. Valley Vet has better designed buckets. I'll go back to those next time.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bucket Great heated bucket, easy to use and sold in a convenient 4 pack!
Date published: 2015-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A winter must! Love love love! No more breaking ice and getting cold, wet hands!
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great, no frozen water even w low temps I bought a bucket for each of my three horses back in December. They drink from the buckets with no issues. The temp has dropped below zero and still no frozen water. The one thing to watch for is the way the handle is attached to the bucket. Two horses, no problem, third horse is very mouthy. In February, he managed to chew off the black plastic protectors where the handle is attached (both sides I might add), and cut his lip. (Bored, I guess!) I recommend pinching back the handle with pliers.
Date published: 2015-02-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice large bucket I needed another set of heated buckets, these are working well.
Date published: 2015-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just What I Needed After last winter I knew I needed something to provide my ans my boarders horses with unfrozen water on those extremely cold nights when they are in stalls (24/7 turn out other wise). I ordered the 4 pack and I was amazed with how fast they shipped! The buckets are sturdy and I don't have to worry about the horses breaking them or the buckets cracking in the cold. The cord is nice and long and I know will last a long time with the protective coil around it. It keeps the water warm and encourages drinking. The only "bad" thing about it is that once filled with water the bucket becomes very heavy, not a problem for me, but my boarder is older and sometimes has a hard time carrying a full bucket.
Date published: 2015-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Timing The weather has gotten so cold; this is the only bucket my horse has for water lately.
Date published: 2015-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saves money and sleep! I bought 2 of these buckets 5 years ago after a case of impaction colic. Just added another stall,so bought this one for the third horse. so nice to know the horses have warm water on cold nights, and no more midnight trips to the barn carrying jugs of hot water! These are great! SmartPak had the lowest price I could find on these buckets.
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more breaking ice in my bucket! I received a $10 coupon from SmartPak and decided to use it on a bucket that will make winter less painful for me this year! So far the temps in the barn haven't gone much below 30, but when they do, I am ready. The cord was a decent length and it wraps up in the bottom of the bucket so you can use it in the warmer months too.
Date published: 2014-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Heated bucket This is my second bucket. The first one didn't work. We haven't had any severe weather since the replacement has arrived. I have a blue one that is my favorite. I cannot find these anymore. My opinion is that the bucket does not have a large enough coil to keep the water from being too cold.
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect bucket for winter I bought theses buckets last year and loved them. Not only do I know my horses have access to water all night, but I don't have to chisel ice blocks!
Date published: 2014-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job well, needs a longer cord. This is a durable, well designed bucket that seems safe and works well. But the cord is too short. My horse definitely shows a preference for drinking water out of this bucket when the temps drop. Putting my own hand in this heated bucket, the water is a comfortable cool temperature, while the water feels like ice when I put my hand in the regular non-heated bucket next to it in her stall. Great purchase. Glad I spent the money on it this year.
Date published: 2014-11-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Large and sturdy Not yet cold enough to use heated buckets but purchased two because last winter caught me unprepared and they were sold out. Bigger than expected. One arrived with a small clip on the bottom broken off which holds the cord cover in place. Nothing a piece of duct tape won't fix but may exchange it. Otherwise happy with product.
Date published: 2014-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, bad packaging All 4 buckets arrive in 1 box. Which would have been fine if there was material to separate them! It took 2 grown men about an hour to pry them all apart. Amazingly, all still worked when we tested them. But they are a little beat up now.
Date published: 2014-10-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heated Water Bucket After unpacking the bucket, I discovered a hole in the bottom. Send photos to SmartPak and they kindly replaced it, without asking me to return the damaged item. Great customer service!
Date published: 2014-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more frozen water buckets Wish I had come across this a couple years ago. So grateful for not having to deal with frozen water buckets in addition to all other issues the colder weather brings.
Date published: 2014-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A must for the winter! Bought this bucket right before the really cold weather hit and so glad I did. My mare doesn't drink as much when it is so cold and I'm always concerned about colic. This bucket is a bit larger than I expected but it seems to have a thermostatthat seems to maintain a constant temperature. The only problem was I was told it had a six foot long cord and it's really only about four feet. I had to use and extention cold which I don't like in a barn.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Product Warm food in the winter for the horses. I make up the beet pulp, put it in the heated bucket to sit and serve the horses two warm meals during the winter months. Love not having to carry the buckets up from the house.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Frozen Water Buckets I live in the mountains at close to 7,000 feet in elevation and the temperature drops overnight into the teens on a regular basis. My mini's stall is on the north side of the barn and her water bucket kept freezing during the winter. I purchased the heated flatback bucket to try and it arrived the day before we had three nights in a row with the temperature below zero. The bucket did its job and I never have to worry about her not drinking enough water due to it being too cold.
Date published: 2013-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ready for winter! Have not used yet, but will be ready when weather changes. Horses will drink more water. Well made.
Date published: 2012-10-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter bucket! Got this heated bucket this winter and it is perfect. I love it, the barn workers love it, and most importantly, Oliver loves having nice fresh temperate water!
Date published: 2012-02-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from OK product The bucket is a nice size. My only concern is that it is the only heated bucket in the barn that does not have a ground. I probably would not have bought the bucket if I had known the cord was not grounded.
Date published: 2012-01-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from multiple tack room uses luke warm water in tack room for cleaning tack and warming bit without overheating in cold weather.
Date published: 2011-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bucket! It worked great when I tried it out and many of my friends have the same one and used it last winter and said it was awesome
Date published: 2011-12-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from EXPENSIVE This bucket is wonderful but so are the others on the internet for $29.95. Same bucket, just blue instead of green. BIG price difference. I would recommend Jeffers Equine for the better price.
Date published: 2011-10-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bucket for the cold I have been buying all the heated buckets I can get to try good ones for the winter. I really like this one. The cord is in a holder under the bucket. Nice and neat and so big and heavy duty.
Date published: 2011-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back Saver I got this bucket when we had a week of freezing temperatures in Texas. It is large and keep the water from freezing. I recommend this to anyone.
Date published: 2011-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from no more frozen water keeps water from freezing during the winter- our horses drink readily from them
Date published: 2011-02-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed Actually using this as a doggie water bucket in their fenced yard. This is kind of expensive, especially since I'd love to have two or three, but it sure does the trick. Was 15 degrees this past week, and water stayed watery!The bottom of the bucket is a beeotch to get off the first time reveal the cord, but since I don't see doing that very often, I won't complain too much.
Date published: 2011-01-11
  • 2016-09-27T12:41CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_2005, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders