Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Flavored Bit Wipes

Item #14135
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for SmartPerks FREE SHIPPING. (Find out why)
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75. Have a question? Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime! Applies to eligible items as long as you have active SmartPaks over $40 for at least one horse.

 

Days
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Peppermint flavored pop-up wipes make bit cleaning fun! Treat your horse and yourself to a clean, tasty bit every time.

Regular use of Peppermint Bit Wipes promotes acceptance of the bit, and keeps bits sparkling clean. All natural, human grade ingredients leave no oily after feel like traditional wipes.

Perfect for many uses- clean nostrils, hooves, dock, faces, and hands. Canister of 40 7" x 8" wipes. Made in USA

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    The Original Bit Butter 's special formulation provides ...
    Description:
    The Original Bit Butter 's special formulation provides soothing care to replenish moisture for dry, callused, unresponsive areas of your horse's mouth. Enriched with a "Mouth Softening Complex," this palatable blend of natural butters, essential oils and unique flavor encourages ...
    Bit Keepers attach from top of full-cheek bit ...
    Description:
    Bit Keepers attach from top of full-cheek bit to bridle strap to keep cheek pieces upright. Bit Keepers are sold in a set of two. Brown leather.
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Flavored Bit Wipes is rated 4.7463 out of 5 by 134.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit Cleaner I have used these wipes for a long time and always get compliments on how clean and shiny my horses bit is. He also loves that he gets a clean, great tasting bit every time. He has never been a fussy horse with putting the bit in and this will help to continue that great behvaior. Love these bit wipes.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bit Cleaning Made Easy! I always have a jar of these in my tack trunk and wipe down my horses' bits with these. Easy to use, if there's a little extra grime on one of the bits I just apply extra pressure with my fingernail through the wipe and it comes off. And my horses love the flavor!
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A clean bit everytime These are eary to dispense once you find the key center one. the really clean the yuck off the bit. I gor these for Dot who is trying to avoid bridleing to help her learn a better behavoir. She likes the peppermint but doesn't devour it, but once bitted the drool starts, long ropes of it. She's getting better nad we will keep using these.
    Date published: 2013-06-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for cleaning! These wipes do a great job of cleaning gunk off of my bits and smell great! Sadly my horse doesn't seem to notice the taste at all.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum Yum says Ellie! These wipes keep my bit sparkling clean, smelling fresh and Ellie says YUM! I love them!
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love it! My horse loves the flavor these wipes leave on his bit; plus I love the fact that it leaves his bit clean and shiny without chemicals!
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! Cleans bits, curb chains, stirrups and spurs very well. A handy product!
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these wipes! Super convenient and work well. They've become a staple in our tack box.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps promote bit acceptance! I used to use the peppermint flavor of these, but recently switched to golden apple for my 3 year old who is starting his under saddle training. The wipes have really helped with his acceptance of the bit, both when being tacked up and when being ridden. He does not fight the bit when the bridle goes on, and he chews the bit a lot when being ridden. One wipe goes a long way, and it does not dry out or lose its effectiveness for those hard-to-reach bit places. I am very meticulous about cleaning my bits, and I have never had to switch to a new wipe to get the bit as clean as I like it. My only complaint is that the container is poorly designed. I have tried to fish the wipes through the hole in the top multiple times, but for some reason, once I pull a wipe out, the other does not follow as it should. Aside from the package design, this is a great product, and I highly recommend! My retired pony also loves to lick and smell my hands after I've used these!
    Date published: 2013-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clever Product! These wipes really work wonders on crusty bits, removing any kind of green slime or dried mystery gunk your horse's mouth has to offer. And the metal looks absolutely sparkling fresh afterwards. A much more dramatic clean than rinsing with water.The wipes are durable (you cannot rub a hole in them even if you try) and a generous size. They are pretty heavily moistened and don't lose their potency as you work. You can easily do a few tasks with a single sheet.Unfortunately my mare, who is not a huge fan of accepting the bit, was not transformed by being presented with a peppermint coated one. I let her sniff the wipe and everything first, trying to get her interested, but she wasn't much different than usual. However, right after using one of these, I went to go hold a friend's horse while she ran to get something, and her horse was so enthralled by the smell of my hands that she would have licked me into next week if I let her. So I think the level of enthusiastic bit acceptance you get from these will vary from horse to horse.
    Date published: 2013-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, and fast convenient, and work quickly to clean off the bit.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastier than expected I wasn't sure if my horse would actually go for these or not, since I doubted they would actually taste as "pepperminty" as advertised. He ended up practically begging for the bit when I went to put his bridle on. It's a bonus that these are reasonably priced, as well.
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! I didn't know what to expect from this product but I figured anything was better than washing Cappy's bit with yucky water and saddle soap residue.I love this product. I cleans your horse's bit so well, it's just amazing. Everyone at the barn knew about these but never tried them and they are sold on them now. Even caked on guck comes right off. Did I mention I love them!
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from incredible convenience and go a long way Someone at my barn let me use one of hers and I was hooked. These wipes get off the worst caked bit gunk very easily and leave a nice minty flavor. One wipe goes a long way, too, so I can wipe my spurs off too and sometimes I even wipe off a second bit if someone has left a bridle hanging to be cleaned in the tack room. My friend at the barn says they are also great for wiping the beads on beaded browbands.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to clean bits! These wipes make bit cleaning a breeze. The stuck on gook just melts off, and will leave your bit sparkling clean and smelling great!
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy way to clean bits these are so great at cleaning the bits, even in the crevices. They leave the bit cool and fresh. You can tell the horses enjoy & benefit from it. I love them
    Date published: 2012-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bit wipes! These clean the bit so well after our training sessions and my horse loves the peppermint flavor! I like that my gelding is getting a clean polished and flavored bit every time he has to work. It's a great reward/treat and yet a functional cleaning product all in one!
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yankee likes 'em! Purchased these to help my young Rocky accept the bit - he's sometimes reluctant to. They work well for cleaning the bit, of course, and they smell strongly of mint, so my horse is reaching for the bit as soon as he smells it :)
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Horses Love These! I cannot say enough about these wipes. I borrowed one from a firend once and have not let myself run out of them since. My bits stay cleaner and so do my horses lips. No more green slime stains. The horses love the taste of their bits and routinely try to eat the wipes out of my hand when I wipe their mouths. The wipes stay moist for awhile, so I can usually use one wipe for two or three bits. My mare actually grabs the bit from my hand on occasion. I never leave home without them. There are also quite a few wipes in the container. I ride multiple horses 5-7 days a week and only re-order wipes every other month or so.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will never go without again!!! When I first got these it was just for fun to see if they really worked like people said, and they do! I am still so impressed with these bit wipes. They make clean up so easy and simple and leave the bit so much cleaner than a wet rag does. It seems to give the bit a polished look and easily gets in the nooks and crannies of my broken snaffle, making the bit look brand new again. My only complaint is that the the apple smells very strange and very strong. My horse didn't like the smell of the wipe itself (niether did I), but once it was on the bit he liked it and actually excepted the bit a little better. I think I'll go with the peppermint next time. I love these bit wipes and although they are a bit pricey, they are well worth the money and i would recomend them to anyone. Plus they last forever!!!
    Date published: 2012-09-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Clean bits The flavored bits wipes do a good job cleaning the bit. They have a very pleasant scent but do not appear to leave any sort of flavor behind for your pony.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Wipes! These wipes are a staple for any rider! In addition to cleaning bits easily and quickly, these wipes are great to have around to use as hand-wipes and to clean your horse's face, dock, nose, or hooves. I don't recommend the apple scent, though; it smelled like medicine. I also found it difficult to get the wipes out of the canister by pulling them through the hole, so I just take off the lid completely and pull one off like you would a paper towel. I recommend these for keeping your bit sparkling clean (literally!) and promoting bit acceptance.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick, Easy, & Clean way to clean bits! This works great to really clean my dirty bits or just do a touch up at a show. Smells good too. My horse took the bit right in when he first tasted the peppermint.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very, very handy I thought these were a little "over the top" at first- I'd always wiped my bits with a damp rag, or dunked my Zilco (biothane) bridle in a bucket of water after a ride. These wipes are awesome for removing gunk from bits. As an endurance rider, I have to let my horse grab a bit of grass here and there on the trail, and these wipes make clean up very simple. My horse seems to like the mint flavor, too.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good These are pretty good. My horse is sort of head shy so he doesn't like when I put the bit in his mouth, but he takes it every time now! I got the apple flavor, and it doesn't smell good, but I'm sure it tastes good because my horse seemed to like it. My only problem is that they were a little hard to get out of the container, so I have to take the whole top off and pull them out.
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! I love these bit wipes. It's so much better than using the same towel or washcloth over and over, or dunking your bit in your water bucket and trying to keep your bridle leather from getting wet in the process. These make bit cleaning super simple, and my boys seem to love the flavor it leaves behind.
    Date published: 2011-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm a Believer!! I love these! I have used both the peppermint and the apple flavored bit wipes, and they are wonderful. They definitely keep the bit clean, and my sometimes-fussy pony ALWAYS takes his bit after I wipe it with one of these wipes. I also like to keep a few of the peppermint wipes in a ziplok bag in my cooler-the wipe feels great on the back of my neck when I'm at a hot and dusty horse show. These wipes also make awesome gifts. Thanks, Smartpak, for carrying them!!
    Date published: 2011-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! these are great and really last a long time! I used them on my bit after every ride and even after a couple days between rides I could still smell the awesome sent! not too sure if my horse enjoyed the taste but she never refused it!
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great smell I can't tell if my horse enjoys the flavor, but they help keep my bit nice and clean. Plus I love the smell.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have been using these bit wipes for several years. They are great! They keep my bits clean and smelling great day after day. After I clean the bit I sometimes clean my stirrups and stirrup pads, it works! I have only tried the peppermint wipes, after I finish my container I will try the apple flavor :)
    Date published: 2011-07-17
    • 2016-05-02T15:37CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.2.0
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_127
    • loc_en_US, sid_4135, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders