Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Flavored Bit Wipes

Item #14135
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Peppermint flavored pop-up wipes make bit cleaning fun! Treat your horse and yourself to a clean, tasty bit every time.

Regular use of Peppermint Bit Wipes promotes acceptance of the bit, and keeps bits sparkling clean. All natural, human grade ingredients leave no oily after feel like traditional wipes.

Perfect for many uses- clean nostrils, hooves, dock, faces, and hands. Canister of 40 7" x 8" wipes. Made in USA

Customers Also Shopped For
SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing ...
Description:
SSG All Weather Gloves are unlined, long wearing and machine washable.Soft aquasuede palm. Colorfast and sweat absorbing. Strong elasticized back for a cool comfortable fit. Hook and loop wrist closure. Wears like iron. All colors have black palm unless noted. ...
The Mylers have designed an entire bitting system ...
Description:
The Mylers have designed an entire bitting system to effectively communicate with any horse at any level of training. Based on bitting a horse appropriately through his training, the system works by releasing points of pressure and using softer bits ...
Vet's Best Flea and Tick Wipes provide easy ...
Description:
Vet's Best Flea and Tick Wipes provide easy targeted application to both pets and surface! The unique blend of peppermint oil and clove extract was carefully formulated to kill fleas, flea eggs, and ticks while repelling mosquitos. Unlike other products ...
The perfect gift!The SmartPak Gift Certificate is a ...
Description:
The perfect gift!The SmartPak Gift Certificate is a great option for any rider and horse owner. Let someone special pick their favorite products from SmartPak. Gift cards are shipped in a custom SmartPak Gift Box. Please note, if the gift ...
The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow ...
Description:
The Bit Stages system helps horse owners narrow their focus from Reinsman’s large selection of bits to the right bit for their situation. Reinsman’s Bit Stages approach focuses on the horse and rider in their specific situation, as different events ...
Mrs Pastures Horse Cookies were chosen as the ...
Description:
Mrs Pastures Horse Cookies were chosen as the "Number 1 Horse Treat" and top in "Product of the Year" both by Michael Plumb's Horse Journal and John Lyons' Perfect Horse. Made of oats, wheat bran, rolled barley, cane molasses, apples, ...
The Piper Full Zip Front Fleece Jacket has ...
Description:
The Piper Full Zip Front Fleece Jacket has all you need in a barn fleece! This full zip fleece features a figure flattering contoured silhouette that looks great both in and out of the saddle. Made with a highly versatile ...
out of 5
91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Flavored Bit Wipes is rated 4.75886524822695 out of 5 by 141.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Fast Clean-up! I have used the peppermint wipes for several years and still have found nothing that works better or is easier to clean with! Love the clean peppermint smell and most importantly REALLY gets the gunk off even if it's dried on. I can actually get several uses out of one wipe which after using the Lexol wipes and barely getting one boot clean was a real plus. With this product cleaning my bits is fast and easy!
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great wipes, weird smell First off, let me say that these wipes work great. They absolutely do their job. But, I bought the golden apple scent, and it smells a little...off? Like bad apples. My horse has been accepting the bit just fine so he doesn't mind. Next time I will try the peppermint!
Date published: 2014-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these wipes I like to clean the bit after riding but found it a pain to go and find running water at the stable. I purchased these at the same time as a Herm Sprenger bit. I love the peppermint smell and the sparkling clean bit when I'm done. I'd like to think my horse appreciates it as well. She certainly takes the bit well.
Date published: 2014-01-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not help with bit acceptance My horse hated the taste of these wipes, and they did not help me with bit acceptance. I ended up just throwing them away. Waste of money.
Date published: 2013-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great! These bit wipes are great at getting gunk off of bits. My horse doesn't seem to notice or care about the peppermint flavor, but at least his bit is clean and shiny!
Date published: 2013-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! This bit cleaner not only smells wonderful, but it s easy to use and dispose of. Lives the bit super shiny! Just wish it was a little cheaper...
Date published: 2013-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit Cleaner I have used these wipes for a long time and always get compliments on how clean and shiny my horses bit is. He also loves that he gets a clean, great tasting bit every time. He has never been a fussy horse with putting the bit in and this will help to continue that great behvaior. Love these bit wipes.
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bit Cleaning Made Easy! I always have a jar of these in my tack trunk and wipe down my horses' bits with these. Easy to use, if there's a little extra grime on one of the bits I just apply extra pressure with my fingernail through the wipe and it comes off. And my horses love the flavor!
Date published: 2013-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A clean bit everytime These are eary to dispense once you find the key center one. the really clean the yuck off the bit. I gor these for Dot who is trying to avoid bridleing to help her learn a better behavoir. She likes the peppermint but doesn't devour it, but once bitted the drool starts, long ropes of it. She's getting better nad we will keep using these.
Date published: 2013-06-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for cleaning! These wipes do a great job of cleaning gunk off of my bits and smell great! Sadly my horse doesn't seem to notice the taste at all.
Date published: 2013-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yum Yum says Ellie! These wipes keep my bit sparkling clean, smelling fresh and Ellie says YUM! I love them!
Date published: 2013-06-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horses love it! My horse loves the flavor these wipes leave on his bit; plus I love the fact that it leaves his bit clean and shiny without chemicals!
Date published: 2013-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! Cleans bits, curb chains, stirrups and spurs very well. A handy product!
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these wipes! Super convenient and work well. They've become a staple in our tack box.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps promote bit acceptance! I used to use the peppermint flavor of these, but recently switched to golden apple for my 3 year old who is starting his under saddle training. The wipes have really helped with his acceptance of the bit, both when being tacked up and when being ridden. He does not fight the bit when the bridle goes on, and he chews the bit a lot when being ridden. One wipe goes a long way, and it does not dry out or lose its effectiveness for those hard-to-reach bit places. I am very meticulous about cleaning my bits, and I have never had to switch to a new wipe to get the bit as clean as I like it. My only complaint is that the container is poorly designed. I have tried to fish the wipes through the hole in the top multiple times, but for some reason, once I pull a wipe out, the other does not follow as it should. Aside from the package design, this is a great product, and I highly recommend! My retired pony also loves to lick and smell my hands after I've used these!
Date published: 2013-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Clever Product! These wipes really work wonders on crusty bits, removing any kind of green slime or dried mystery gunk your horse's mouth has to offer. And the metal looks absolutely sparkling fresh afterwards. A much more dramatic clean than rinsing with water.The wipes are durable (you cannot rub a hole in them even if you try) and a generous size. They are pretty heavily moistened and don't lose their potency as you work. You can easily do a few tasks with a single sheet.Unfortunately my mare, who is not a huge fan of accepting the bit, was not transformed by being presented with a peppermint coated one. I let her sniff the wipe and everything first, trying to get her interested, but she wasn't much different than usual. However, right after using one of these, I went to go hold a friend's horse while she ran to get something, and her horse was so enthralled by the smell of my hands that she would have licked me into next week if I let her. So I think the level of enthusiastic bit acceptance you get from these will vary from horse to horse.
Date published: 2013-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, and fast convenient, and work quickly to clean off the bit.
Date published: 2013-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastier than expected I wasn't sure if my horse would actually go for these or not, since I doubted they would actually taste as "pepperminty" as advertised. He ended up practically begging for the bit when I went to put his bridle on. It's a bonus that these are reasonably priced, as well.
Date published: 2013-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! I didn't know what to expect from this product but I figured anything was better than washing Cappy's bit with yucky water and saddle soap residue.I love this product. I cleans your horse's bit so well, it's just amazing. Everyone at the barn knew about these but never tried them and they are sold on them now. Even caked on guck comes right off. Did I mention I love them!
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from incredible convenience and go a long way Someone at my barn let me use one of hers and I was hooked. These wipes get off the worst caked bit gunk very easily and leave a nice minty flavor. One wipe goes a long way, too, so I can wipe my spurs off too and sometimes I even wipe off a second bit if someone has left a bridle hanging to be cleaned in the tack room. My friend at the barn says they are also great for wiping the beads on beaded browbands.
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy to clean bits! These wipes make bit cleaning a breeze. The stuck on gook just melts off, and will leave your bit sparkling clean and smelling great!
Date published: 2012-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy way to clean bits these are so great at cleaning the bits, even in the crevices. They leave the bit cool and fresh. You can tell the horses enjoy & benefit from it. I love them
Date published: 2012-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bit wipes! These clean the bit so well after our training sessions and my horse loves the peppermint flavor! I like that my gelding is getting a clean polished and flavored bit every time he has to work. It's a great reward/treat and yet a functional cleaning product all in one!
Date published: 2012-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yankee likes 'em! Purchased these to help my young Rocky accept the bit - he's sometimes reluctant to. They work well for cleaning the bit, of course, and they smell strongly of mint, so my horse is reaching for the bit as soon as he smells it :)
Date published: 2012-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Horses Love These! I cannot say enough about these wipes. I borrowed one from a firend once and have not let myself run out of them since. My bits stay cleaner and so do my horses lips. No more green slime stains. The horses love the taste of their bits and routinely try to eat the wipes out of my hand when I wipe their mouths. The wipes stay moist for awhile, so I can usually use one wipe for two or three bits. My mare actually grabs the bit from my hand on occasion. I never leave home without them. There are also quite a few wipes in the container. I ride multiple horses 5-7 days a week and only re-order wipes every other month or so.
Date published: 2012-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will never go without again!!! When I first got these it was just for fun to see if they really worked like people said, and they do! I am still so impressed with these bit wipes. They make clean up so easy and simple and leave the bit so much cleaner than a wet rag does. It seems to give the bit a polished look and easily gets in the nooks and crannies of my broken snaffle, making the bit look brand new again. My only complaint is that the the apple smells very strange and very strong. My horse didn't like the smell of the wipe itself (niether did I), but once it was on the bit he liked it and actually excepted the bit a little better. I think I'll go with the peppermint next time. I love these bit wipes and although they are a bit pricey, they are well worth the money and i would recomend them to anyone. Plus they last forever!!!
Date published: 2012-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Clean bits The flavored bits wipes do a good job cleaning the bit. They have a very pleasant scent but do not appear to leave any sort of flavor behind for your pony.
Date published: 2012-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Wipes! These wipes are a staple for any rider! In addition to cleaning bits easily and quickly, these wipes are great to have around to use as hand-wipes and to clean your horse's face, dock, nose, or hooves. I don't recommend the apple scent, though; it smelled like medicine. I also found it difficult to get the wipes out of the canister by pulling them through the hole, so I just take off the lid completely and pull one off like you would a paper towel. I recommend these for keeping your bit sparkling clean (literally!) and promoting bit acceptance.
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick, Easy, & Clean way to clean bits! This works great to really clean my dirty bits or just do a touch up at a show. Smells good too. My horse took the bit right in when he first tasted the peppermint.
Date published: 2012-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very, very handy I thought these were a little "over the top" at first- I'd always wiped my bits with a damp rag, or dunked my Zilco (biothane) bridle in a bucket of water after a ride. These wipes are awesome for removing gunk from bits. As an endurance rider, I have to let my horse grab a bit of grass here and there on the trail, and these wipes make clean up very simple. My horse seems to like the mint flavor, too.
Date published: 2012-05-02
  • 2016-09-30T12:59CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_133
  • loc_en_US, sid_4135, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders