Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Equi-Spot Fly Control

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13412
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Equi-Spot Fly Control kills and repels houseflies, stable flies, face flies, horn flies, eye gnats and ticks on horses. Also aids in the control of horse flies, deer flies, mosquitoes and black flies on horses. Equi-Spot Fly Control is waterproof and sweatproof! Each package contains 3 x 10 ml tubes. Apply 5 ml along back line, 1 ml to top of forehead and 1 ml to the back of each leg. Do not re-apply for 14 days. Not for use on foals less than 12 weeks old. Contains 45% permethrin. 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Equi-Spot Fly Control is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 105.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No more flies I have been using this for a year and it does a great job for the most part. If it is really hot out it does not seem to last quite as long as it is suppose to. Saves a lot of time because you do not have to treat horses daily or weekly like other products.
    Date published: 2015-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awsome Product!!!! This product is great!!! This works great when you can be out at the barn every day! This product last for 2 weeks, way longer than fly spray. Way worth the money!!!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great when pastured near water I've had my mare at a couple barns with water (river/lake) nearby, and that definitely makes the bugs worse. I've found much fewer ticks on her after using Equi-Spot than without it, and I don't feel as bad if I don't fly spray her as often.Several friends and I split the value pack and it's been great!
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works for Biting Flies This works for those nasty little biting flies we get in Montana. This alone is the reason I spend the money on this. These nasty buggers can eat up your poor horse’s chest, face and neck in no time. It helps against the horse fly but doesn’t keep them away entirely, not sure anything really does. I like this because when my horses are out to pasture and I don’t get a chance to spray them they are still protected.
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps the ticks away! I have been using Equi-Spot all summer long, reapplying it every two weeks on my horses, and it has been very effective in keeping the ticks away this year. It doesn't seem to do much for the flies, and I do use a regular fly spray in addition, but it is very effective against the ticks. Usually, I find ticks in their manes and tails during the summer months and this seems to do the trick to keep them away. As a result, we don't have bald patches where they have rubbed their hair out because of the ticks and I don't have to deal with picking them off of the horses. Great product!
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doesn't last I know this product is suppose to be water proof and sweat proof, but once I washed my horse a few days later, the flies were back on her. Since you can't reapply the product for 14 days, I was back to using fly spray from that point on. The 2nd time I used the product, I think it worked better. It seems to last a little longer, but still once I got into the 2nd week my mare was being bothered by flies, I was back to using fly spray. I don't have a tick problem where I live, so my main focus was the flies and gnats. Probably overall less flies were bothering her, anything is better than nothing. But I was hoping for a bigger difference. I didn't feel it repelled gnats at all which really bother my mare more than flies. I am hoping that the 3rd application will make more of a difference.
    Date published: 2014-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from On our second dose and so far so good. There are a lot of tics this year and this product seems to help.
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Equi Spot My Quarter horse is prone to attracting flies and ticks. So far this seems to have kept the ticks off and flies still present but a bit less annoying.
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to help I bought this a little over a month ago. Seems to help a little. Bugs still bother my sensitive gelding, but I haven't seen a single tick on him (he was coming in with 5+ ticks a day before). Def. worth the money.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps keep ticks off My mare is a tick magnet and was covered with them in early spring. This has virtually eliminated them. Flies are not out in real force yet so I can't really tell how effective it may be on them.
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Good This product works really good to repel fly's from my horse. Although it does not repel all fly's it repels allot.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my horses in pasture Equi-Spot is my fly control choice for horses in the pasture. It stays on them a long time, so I don't have to catch them every day to spray them.
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely works! I've been using this for a year now and it's significantly reduced the amount of ticks I find on my horse. He's turned out during the day in a large (6 acre) pasture with trees and I hardly ever find ticks on him anymore. It doesn't work so well for flies, but I normally wait a few days after the initial application and start using my regular fly spray again. If you have a tick problem, I would recommend this for sure!
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I like this product but you tell after about 10 days or so it's starting to wear off. But it works great!
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big help with biting bugs... We live next to a swamp and river. Because of our extreme location it plays a key part in our bug control program for our horses. We take a multitere approach, because one approach it noy enough where our farm is located. EquiSpot, helps minimize daily fly spraying.
    Date published: 2014-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from REPELS TICKS I have been using this product every two weeks during fly and tick season in Northern MN the past two years. I do not see any effects in repelling flies; however, I haven't found evidence of an attached tick since I have been using equi spot. I have complained to the manufacturer that the packets are poorly designed sometimes with leakage and many times with some of the liquid product landing on the ground when I try to apply to horses' legs. Also, if your horses are very large, you need one and one half doses (containers) to cover the body areas per the directions. This increases the cost of applying this product. Wear gloves to reduce your insecticide exposure!
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must use more often than it says I bought this and started using it after my horse developed Lyme disease. I didn't want another re-infection. Well somehow even though I was using it every 2 weeks, he became re-infected again! I have a chestnut horse, so it is very hard for me to see any ticks. In fact, I've never even seen one on him! Maybe it does need to be re-applied sooner like the other reviewers have said...I usually stop using it once it freezes here, but our winter has been crazy. One week it was 50 degrees! I would suggest using it throughout the whole year if ticks are bad in your area...We do the same with our dog, so I assume it should be the same with horses.
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great this product keeps ticks off my horse. I havent seen one since i started using it 2 yrs ago. I use it from may until november..
    Date published: 2013-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from spot on My horse tested positive for Lyme a few years ago and it resulted in a lot of down time from training. I haven't found any ticks on him with this product on board and I've even been late with a few applications. Only down side is he doesn't like the feeling of it being applied, but he has not had any visible irritation from it.
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Tick control Bought this to try it to see if it would help with the ticks on the farm. I was pulling 10 - 20 ticks a day off them after using this I have not even seen ONE on them will continue to use this it is a great product
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from keep ticks off your horse! This product bypassed my expectations by a mile. My horse was coming in with 15-30 ticks in his mane just from being out overnight, and since putting the equispot on I have maybe pulled off two ticks, both at the end of the two week cycle before reapplying. My only complaint is that I was not expecting it to be so oily, and putting it in his forelock left a oily look for a couple of days. Just make sure to put it on after riding/bathing and at least 48-72 hours before going to any type of competition. Great product
    Date published: 2013-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great addition to my fly-fighting arsenal Wears off 7 days faster than advertised, but definitely works! My mare with Equispot had no ticks, my other mare without it had alot!
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tick control! No harsh chemicals! I don't know about fly control, but it is great at keeping ticks off your horse :)
    Date published: 2013-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best control against ticks I use the equi-spot and do a fair amount of trail riding. I live in NH which does have a lot of ticks. This product has been the best to keep the ticks off.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ticks! Since my horse lives in the edge of a National Forest, ticks are a huge issue for us. He gets huge, oozy welts from the bites and will itch for days even after the tick is gone. This year seems to be exceptionally bad for ticks and in late April I was already pulling off at least 3-4 ticks per day. I applied Equispot and immediately saw no ticks for about 2-3 weeks. This product has been a lifesaver for my guy because nothing else has really worked for him to repel the ticks.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps control ticks I don't like using chemicals but in this case I believe the decreased risk of Lymes disease due to my horses having less ticks is worth it. It does seem to repel ticks and usually the ones I find are already dead.
    Date published: 2013-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Usually does the job I use these religiously during the spring and summer as MD has a terrible tick and fly problem. I buy EquiSpot for the tick repellant as I don't see any real difference with flies until I use good spray. I find EquiSpot prevents ticks the majority of the time, though every once in a while ill catch one of the buggers attached. Overall a big improvement over nothing.
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good alternative to fly spray I wasn't sure this would work, but so far there are fewer flies on both of my horses after using it for a few weeks. The sore that wouldn't heal on my gelding's belly is just about gone now that the flies aren't pestering it.
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Product The new packaging for this stuff is awful. When I opened it and went to apply to my horse's legs, it all ran out onto the barn floor! The hole is too large and there is no way to control how much comes out and how fast. I want my money back!!
    Date published: 2013-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ear wart deterrent I use gloves and a cotton to apply to the front of my 17 H ticklish geldings ears to really reduce the attack of little flies that cause his ear trouble. No worries about drips in the eyes that way. Also a quick dab near the genitals helps that area too. It really improves things for my one old guy.
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    • 2015-05-25T10:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_93
    • loc_en_US, sid_3412, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.