Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
SmartBug-Off® Pellets
SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17175
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Helps your horse beat the bugs

  • Garlic, apple cider vinegar & brewer's yeast to deter biting insects & omega 3s for healthy skin
  • Also includes diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure
Does your horse bug out when fly season rolls around? If turnout is more like torture with all the buzzing and biting, SmartBug-Off can make the pasture peaceful again by helping to protect your horse from pesky insects. Say goodbye to stomping and swishing, and say hello to a happier horse.

SmartBug-Off is perfect for all horses who are bothered by flies and other pests. This comprehensive formula contains garlic, brewer’s yeast, and apple cider vinegar to help deter biting insects. It also provides omega 3 fatty acids, antioxidants, and MSM to help support a normal inflammatory response and healthy skin. Lastly, SmartBug-Off includes diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure. Horses love these tasty pellets!

View our Insect Control Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 30 g
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (30g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    2,250 mg
  • DL-Methionine
    1,650 mg
  • Garlic
    1,500 mg
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
    450 mg
  • Thiamine (B1)
    450 mg
  • Omega 3 Fatty Acids
    420 mg
  • Omega 6 Fatty Acids
    250 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract
    200 mg
  • Riboflavin (B2)
    180 mg
  • Calcium Pantothenate (B5)
    165 mg
  • Diatomaceous Earth
    150 mg
Inactive Ingredients: : Brewers Dried Yeast, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Dried Yeast, Fenugreek Seed, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Flax Seed Meal, Vegetable Oil (cold pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use:  Administer 30 g daily (1 scoop = 30 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and ...
    Description:
    "Solitude IGR is an effective, safe, simple, and economical feed-through fly prevention that prevents house and stable fly development. Cyromazine, the active ingredient of Solitude IGR, safely passes through the horse's system and is excreted in the manure, regulating house ...
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, ...
    Description:
    "If you’re struggling with an irritable, cranky mare, SmartMare Harmony is the ideal formula to help take her from moody to mellow! These tasty pellets provide carefully selected herbs including chamomile and passion flower to help maintain a calm disposition, ...
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Thrive provides the right selection of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your horse’s nutrient requirements for optimal health. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in light or no work. ...
    "The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most ...
    Description:
    "The Bite-Lite H-Trap is the newest and most effective horse fly trap on the market today for catching tabanids (also known as greenheads, deer flies, yellow flies, and B-52 bombers). By placing this unique, study trap in a hot, sunny ...
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of ...
    Description:
    "SmartCombo Senior Pellets provide the active ingredients of SmartFlex Senior, SmartHoof, and SmartOmega 3 at a savings of nearly 25% compared to buying those products individually. This multi-purpose formula contains glucosamine, hyaluronic acid, MSM, devil's claw, biotin, omega 3 fatty ...
    "SmartVite Perform provides the right balance of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Perform provides the right balance of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your working horse’s nutrient requirements and power optimal performance. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in moderate to ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBug-Off® Pellets is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1274.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped with the biters Works great for Horse and Deer flies, even the large house flies but still have to spray for the little house flies
    Date published: 2015-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lives up to its name I have been using this product for almost 2 months now. It has made a great difference! My horse is much less itchy and has no visible bites on his legs and neck like before . Great product.
    Date published: 2015-10-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to feed, horses like it I believe it has made a difference. We just moved to South Carolina, plenty of knats, but we have had no biting flys.
    Date published: 2015-10-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked well! I put my mare on this throughout the summer this year and noticed a HUGE difference. Great product that really works! My mare thanks you Smart Bug-Off, she was much happier this summer!
    Date published: 2015-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love!!! My 2 OTTBs are very sensitive. They are much more comfortable since using this product and I don't have too put as much fly spray on them!
    Date published: 2015-10-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helped only a little bit! Helped only a bit with the flies. Horses like to eat it but I am not sure if it is worth the purchase.
    Date published: 2015-09-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It seems to work, smells yummy and the kids are eating it!
    Date published: 2015-09-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bug off I order this monthly as I think it helps in redding the flies on my herd.
    Date published: 2015-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great Very happy with the bug off ...keeps flies away..our Rescue mare was swarmed during day and in 2 weeks we saw a huge difference ..only a few flies here and there.. the swarm was gone.
    Date published: 2015-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug Off - It works! I have waited almost a full fly season to write this review. I started late with Bug Off in April, next year I will start in March. I can honestly say my horse was the most comfortable in the barn. I have used less than 2 quarts of bug spray all year and normally I use at least a gallon or more and he has not had a fly mask on all year because the bugs are not bothering him. I cannot say enough good things about this product as part of a overall fly control, happy horse supplement. I would highly recommend it. It is not an eradicator of the flies landing on him so please don’t think it is a miracle product but darn close. We also use fly predators and have good stable management at our barn. With all those factors together this is a must for anyone that wants to keep them more comfortable and use less pesticides on your horse.
    Date published: 2015-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! We just moved to South Carolina, from mountains of NC, and bought this product to help keep the insects off my horses. I believe it works very well, as I have seen very few flies, but lots of sand gnats. I will continue with this product.
    Date published: 2015-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horses love it I bought this product about two months ago it works very well for horses with cuts, when my horses get Florida sores it help keep the flys out of his stall.
    Date published: 2015-09-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works! I have added this product to my arsenal. Fly predators, fly traps, masks, spray and bug off. My dark horse suffers more than the lighter one and this seems to help. My horse is a picky eater and she likes it. However the non picky eater won't touch it.
    Date published: 2015-08-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jury's still out I can't tell if this product is working or not. My horse still has bites and flies still bug her but I think it's better. I haven't seen any dramatic improvement. I am giving it one more month
    Date published: 2015-08-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't notice a difference I was really disappointed after all the great reviews that this didn't work on my mare, and my sister's mare wouldn't even eat it, course she doesn't like apples.
    Date published: 2015-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My mare is super sensitive to bugs and every summer I have to give her a steroid injection because she has rubbed herslf raw from the bugs. This year I tried this product and she hasn't rubbed herself at all. What a difference! I'm sold on this!!
    Date published: 2015-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works I bought a bucket of this to try on my horses to help with the flies. I didn't really notice that much of a difference with the flies but this stuff works on the bloodsucking gnats. I ran out a few days ago and now my horses are covered in welts and hives from those biting gnats. I ordered more bug off right away!
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't notice a difference I used this for a couple of months and did not notice a difference in flies bothering my horse.
    Date published: 2015-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great I have used for three years and I have. Cows on three sides of my land that attract tons of flies and my horse always has less flies than my donkey. Donkey is not treated.
    Date published: 2015-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great products! I have a very thin skinned OTTB and he gets eaten alive by bugs in the summer. I decided to try the smart pack bug-off pellets and I have been so pleased with the results. He's still had bites but about 75%less and as a result I have a much less anxious horse!I will be buying these for future bug seasons!
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I have seen such a difference in my geldings skin. No more fly bites or itchy spots!
    Date published: 2015-08-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from No difference I see no difference with this product. I tried on each horse and never could really tell.Smells bad but horses all eat the pellets
    Date published: 2015-08-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not working right now for those HUGE horse flies I started my horse on this a month before summer hit so it'll be in his system....within just this past month we have had seriously HUGE horse flies, I don't recall seeing them last year, but this supplement isn't doing any good for those...my poor horse is getting ate up and he's biting at the flies and causing alot of sores around his withers and other areas...I am switching to the garlic flakes to see if this will help better.
    Date published: 2015-08-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wasted my money. It doesn't work and I am really mad!
    Date published: 2015-08-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Better options After 45 days on two yearlings, I really can't tell much difference. Horses don't seem to mind eating it, so if it works, that's a plus.
    Date published: 2015-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I started feeding this in the spring and the bugs are not biting!
    Date published: 2015-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be working After only a month, it appears to be working. My pony mare used to get horrible sweet itch on her belly and would get welts from fly bites (she's a delicate flower, you know). A month later, the sweet itch is almost gone, and I have seen a significant decrease in the welts she has.It smells strongly of garlic and It took a few days of splitting the dose in half to feed it at 2 feedings for her to get used to the taste, but she's fine with it now.
    Date published: 2015-08-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It is an improvement I have 2 Morgans in Vermont. The Baby has the hide of an alligator...the black flies, deer flies and mosquitoes are annoying, but he is OK with fly coat, fly mask, and fly wipe. His Mother, Duchess, has delicate skin, and gets terrible welts, rubs her mane and tail hair off, loses her fur, and really suffers from the bugs, even with her hat, neckwear, coat and fly wipe. The Smart Bugoff pellets, or Horse Pizza, seems to help keep some of the swelling down and makes her a little more comfortable. Given that nothing works very well, this works better than anything else I've tried.
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disgusting smell
    Date published: 2015-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug-Off Works I started my horse on this a month ago and I have definitely noticed a reduction in bothersome biting flies here in buggy eastern NC. I'm hoping with continued use the huge what I call "bombers" will disappear as well. I also use Spalding Fly Predators and have tried several fly sheets but it gets so hot here he sweats under them.
    Date published: 2015-07-29
    • y_2017, m_1, d_23, h_17
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_97, tr_1177
    • loc_en_US, sid_7175, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=AGE, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders