Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 1-800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

SmartBug-Off® Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak — Item #17175
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Helps your horse beat the bugs

  • Garlic, apple cider vinegar & brewer's yeast to deter biting insects & omega 3s for healthy skin
  • Also includes diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure
Does your horse bug out when fly season rolls around? If turnout is more like torture with all the buzzing and biting, SmartBug-Off can make the pasture peaceful again by helping to protect your horse from pesky insects. Say goodbye to stomping and swishing, and say hello to a happier horse.

SmartBug-Off is perfect for all horses who are bothered by flies and other pests. This comprehensive formula contains garlic, brewer’s yeast, and apple cider vinegar to help deter biting insects. It also provides omega 3 fatty acids, antioxidants, and MSM to help support a normal inflammatory response and healthy skin. Lastly, SmartBug-Off includes diatomaceous earth to discourage insect breeding in manure. Horses love these tasty pellets!

View our Insect Control Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 30 g
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (30g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    2,250 mg
  • DL-Methionine
    1,650 mg
  • Garlic
    1,500 mg
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
    450 mg
  • Thiamine (B1)
    450 mg
  • Omega 3 Fatty Acids
    420 mg
  • Omega 6 Fatty Acids
    250 mg
  • Grape Seed Extract
    200 mg
  • Riboflavin (B2)
    180 mg
  • Calcium Pantothenate (B5)
    165 mg
  • Diatomaceous Earth
    150 mg
Inactive Ingredients: : Brewers Dried Yeast, Corn Distillers Dried Grains with Solubles, Dried Yeast, Fenugreek Seed, Grape Pomace (Ground Grape Seed and Skin), Lignin Sulfonate, Stabilized Flax Seed Meal, Vegetable Oil (cold pressed).

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use:  Administer 30 g daily (1 scoop = 30 g)

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Tired of losing shoes? Dry, broken, crumbly, or ...
    Description:
    "Tired of losing shoes? Dry, broken, crumbly, or cracked hooves? Try Grand Hoof. A concentrated 1 oz serving of Grand Hoof contains a blend of 5,000 mg of MSM, biotin, methionine, lysine, zinc, copper, B6, and probiotics. Delicious apple flavoring! ...
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus ...
    Description:
    "SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus bromelain and quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase, vitamin C, and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell ...
    "Is your horse nervous, tense, or inattentive? SmartCalm ...
    Description:
    "Is your horse nervous, tense, or inattentive? SmartCalm Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Pellets offer a multifaceted approach to calming by providing 5,000 mg of magnesium, 550 mg ...
    "Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm ...
    Description:
    "Is your horse anxious, spooky, or unfocused? SmartCalm Ultra Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets offer a comprehensive approach to calming by providing 10,000 mg of magnesium, ...
    "SmartGut Ultra is clinically researched and shown to ...
    Description:
    "SmartGut Ultra is clinically researched and shown to support gastric health. In a university-led research study, SmartGut Ultra helped maintain stomach health in horses under stress. This enhanced formula includes GastrAvert®, a proprietary blend of sea buckthorn, glutamine, aloe vera, ...
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the ...
    Description:
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the damaging effects of free radicals and oxidative stress. SmartAntioxidant Pellets are a potent, cost-effective antioxidant formula containing vitamin C, vitamin E, grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase and citrus bioflavonoids. SmartAntioxidant Pellets ...
    "SmartVite Perform provides the right balance of essential ...
    Description:
    "SmartVite Perform provides the right balance of essential vitamins and minerals to help meet your working horse’s nutrient requirements and power optimal performance. This highly targeted formula is carefully designed to offer ideal nutrition for adult horses in moderate to ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartBug-Off® Pellets is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 1341.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not sure it works I haven't seen a noticeable change in sores on my donkey's legs due to fly bites since starting the product
    Date published: 2017-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be working! I tried the bucket size first for all horses. It worked better on some horses than others. I added to my horses Smartpaks that showed the best responses. It does work!.
    Date published: 2017-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent results My Mustang Slate has been on this for 1 1/2 months and I can really see the difference!!!
    Date published: 2017-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves bug off pellets he is hyper sensitive to bugs and this helps him so much during the summer months
    Date published: 2017-06-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really not working I had hoped this would make a difference in the attraction my horse has for flies. But there hasn't been a difference. I'm stopping this and ordering Smart whatever to help him at least not have such an allergic reaction to the fly bites he gets. I use fly bags, strips, fly predators, and fly spray to keep the population under control, but my black horse is an attractant!
    Date published: 2017-06-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this a few weeks ago and have been giving it to my oh-so-sensitive boy. I honestly wasn't sure it was helping him until tonight. We've had such strange weather so I didn't know it that had anything to do with it. He still needs his flysheet of course, and tomorrow we will try the new one with the neck guard too - but I stood watching him and my other gelding who isn't so sensitive as they ate dinner and guess who was doing all the stomping? Yep - he goes on this as well! It took a day or two to get over the taste but after that it's been readily consumed.
    Date published: 2017-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse loves it! Feeding to one of my two horses. I can definitely see a difference in the amount of flies from one to the other. Have also seen a decrease in mosquito problems.
    Date published: 2017-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This works well for my mare I used Bug-Off last summer and my mare never got bit by a horse fly. I'd see them around her but never landed. Other biting flies and mosquitoes seemed to leave her alone too. Our pastures have some wet spots and bugs can become a real problem. She has also not had a tick on her too. I do use fly spray too but so does every one else. This combo seems to really work for miss mare. She has no problem with the flavor or smell, eats it right along with her supplement and a few carrots
    Date published: 2017-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much happier fly-hating horse Bought this to try on our fly-hating Big Zangersheide despite the "eh" response from our vet. WE DEFINITELY SAW A DIFFERENCE in the barn and outside. We still occasionally use fly spray where they are really bad. We could graze him without him being driven nuts and he was MUCH HAPPIER. Just ordered some for our second horse. Easy to set up order and if auto-shipping, a quick phone call stops shipment.
    Date published: 2017-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Skeptical at first, but I'm very pleased! We live in the Lowcountry of SC, surrounded by water, swamp and marshland. It is a very bug intensive area. Gnats, midges, mosquitos, house flies, horse flies, biting flies and just about every other blood seeking host you can imagine. I have had this horse 2 years and this is his 3rd summer with me. 1st year was ok, kept him sheeted and he did get rub spots on his face and belly but it wasn't too bad. 2nd year was a disaster, even though he was head to toe sheeted and fly sprayed he rubbed his whole belly and jaw raw, was covered in swat all the time and just unhappy. He presented with both swelling in certain areas, welts and very itchy skin when bugs were bad. We had to take 3 months off work to get through it since I couldn't put a girth on him. I started smartbug off in Feb of '17 since thats when we start to notice the bugs, by march/april they were pretty present. I noticed he was rubbing his face and a little on chest(the usual spots) and almost stopped the smartbug off. I'm glad I didn't! By the end of april he hasn't a single rub or blotchy spot anywhere. He's very happy and comfortable still on 1/2 day turn out with sheet and mask, but I'm not shelling out $20 a week in swat. I think I just hadn't started him on it soon enough. Very pleased, happy to spend the extra $$ on showing then keeping farnam in business because of our excessive need for swat!
    Date published: 2017-05-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Many flies This is the first time I have used a feed through flie repelent and I do think it is helping! Nothing keeps all flies off, but the Smartbug-Off helps.
    Date published: 2017-05-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work :( Really wanted this product to work, but we apparently have resistant mosquitoes herein AK! I'd imagine it will work well in other regions tho, as Smart Pak products are excellent.
    Date published: 2017-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wasn't sure how long it would take to start working. My horse has been on the SmartBug-Off Pellets for a month and it is already working!! I LOVE THIS STUFF!
    Date published: 2017-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yeah no flies! We've used this product going on 3 years every summer. Last year we finished riding and my friends horses back was covered in flies- mine had none. It doesn't help my horse with the face flies but does with horse flies and all the others!
    Date published: 2017-05-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't Work for My Horse I have been using this product per the instructions for over a month and it doesn't seem to be working at all. If anything, the flies seem to be swarming my poor horse even more than his pasture mates. I was so hopeful it would work to bring my guy relief from the pesky flies.
    Date published: 2017-05-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Boght this a couple of months ago. I might have a better esimate on its ability a bit later on. Too soon to tell so far.
    Date published: 2017-05-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Uh oh - my minis and mule won't eat it I bought this without trying a sample due to so many reviews having a great result with palatability. I've just started this with mine at a very small dose to start and no one wants to eat it. My mule picked out the pellets and dropped them yesterday and today wouldn't touch the food bowl the SmartBugOff was in. The others are leaving most of their food and noticeably pushed the food around before reluctantly picking at it. I'm having to scrub all the buckets out. Word of advice.....ask for a sample first because four out of four of mine with not touch it and I've just wasted a lot of money.
    Date published: 2017-05-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to help My horses eat it well and seems to help with flies
    Date published: 2017-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not so many bugs! I bought Smart Bug Off for a mare that is sensitive to insects. Although the insects here in Fla. are not as bad as the will become this summer, she was getting itchy in March, when I started her on it. It seems to be helping her already. I wanted it to build up in her system before bugs got bad. I also bought an excellent sheet & neck cover for her to wear later to help (I reviewed it also as excellent). Thank you Smart Pak for attending to our needs!
    Date published: 2017-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really works! Works like a charm! No tick bites! I highly recommend this product! My horse seems to be allergic to tick bites. Every time she has a tick the area around it becomes swollen and leaks fluid. In early March I found her with eight tick bites. I decided that was definitely enough and put her on SmartBug-Off Pellets. She's been on them for about a month and I have only found one tick bite on her! Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2017-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for ticks! Picky eater approved and great for my Arab who is allergic to tick bites!
    Date published: 2017-04-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works! Most importantly, my horse loves the taste. The flies don't seem to bite him nearly as much as they bite the other horses in his 20-acre pasture.
    Date published: 2017-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was very skeptical I have a couple of horses who just get tortured by the bugs. Poor cremello gets bloody streaks down his hide and fly sheets and masks only go so far. Plus, he's a Houdini and can get out of ANY fly mask. I put him on Smart Bug off last year and it really worked, no more bloody streaks and I stopped seeing an entire fly population camping out on his back. He's a much happier horse.
    Date published: 2017-03-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cancelled, my horse will not eat it. May be a good product but my horse will not eat it so I had to cancel it. It can't work if they won't eat it.
    Date published: 2017-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great My gelding has gotten sweet itch in the past. Using SmartBugOff, this was the first year he didn't completely rub out his mane. My gelding, who has refused garlic in the past, eats this right up.
    Date published: 2016-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results! I have been using this product for years and am so happy with the results. I love that the ingredients are all natural and I feel secure knowing my horses are taken care of!
    Date published: 2016-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprising results - helps repel ticks! I put my retired horse on Smart Bug-Off this summer, despite mixed reviews online. He is lucky to spend most of his day out in a beautiful five acre field (he is stabled at night). I didn't notice a change in flies landing on him, but I did notice an even better result. He has had far fewer ticks on him (which in my opinion, is a wonderful result for both he and I!). I am keeping my old buddy on this supplement year-round as deer move through and bed down in his field through the fall and winter. To me, this supplement is worth the money. Thank you Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2016-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug-Off is the Best I have used Bug-Off for several years now and this year, with the amount of rain we have had, I expected trouble with flies and mosquitos, but had a very few days when we had any around. Actually the horses were fine, I was the one getting annoyed! I plan to continue using Bug-Off as the spring arrives.
    Date published: 2016-11-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from New for us Hoping to see more of a difference next bug season as I started my pony on this late in the season
    Date published: 2016-10-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's pretty good! I think this product is great i noticed right away that the flies were not as bad and she ate it right away (but that is because my mare eats anything that looks good to her)
    Date published: 2016-10-02
    • y_2018, m_1, d_22, h_8
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_105, tr_1236
    • loc_en_US, sid_7175, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders