Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Cosequin® ASU Plus
Nutramax Laboratories — Item #20657
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

The most advanced Cosequin formula

  • All the ingredients of Cosequin ASU plus HA to support healthy joints
  • Includes 30 mg of green tea extract, an antioxidant that helps protect the body from free radicals
Cosequin® ASU Plus is the most advanced Cosequin® formula, providing the next level of joint support. Cosequin® ASU Plus contains NMX1000® avocado/soybean unsaponifiables (ASU), FCHG49® glucosamine hydrochloride, TRH122® low-molecular-weight chondroitin sulfate and high-purity MSM. Cosequin® ASU Plus also provides hyaluronic acid (HA) along with green tea extract. Green tea extract is an antioxidant that protects the body from the effects of free radicals. Provides your horse with all of the major joint ingredients in an apple-flavored powder.

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart 

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 34 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoops (17 g) daily)
  • Glucosamine Hydrochloride
    14,400 mg
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    10,000 mg
  • Chondroitin Sulfate
    2,400 mg
  • Avocado/Soybean Unsaponifiables (ASU) Powder
    2,100 mg
  • Sodium Hyaluronate (HA)
    100 mg
  • Total Catechins (from Green Tea Extract)
    30 mg
Ingredients:: Natural and artificial apple flavor, dextrose, soy protein isolate, gum resin, soy lecithin, mixed tocopherols, and silicon dioxide.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Initial 2-4 weeks:

600-1,200lbs - 2 scoops daily

Under 600lbs - 1 scoop daily

Long-Term Administration:

600-1,200lbs - 1 scoops daily

Under 600lbs - 1/2 scoop daily

Initial administration period is 2-4 weeks at 2 to 4 scoops per day depending on weight, or as recommended by your veterinarian. For horses over 1,200lbs. administration may be increased. Cosequin ASU Plus can be administered either at one feeding, or divided between feedings. Once response is noted, the number of scoops can gradually be reduced to a level that best maintains your horse. Prior to and during an event or strenuous exercise, administration may be increased back to the initial level for extra support.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin ...
    Description:
    "#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin is the only brand proven in published, controlled U.S. studies to be bioavailable in dogs and cats and to improve joint function. Cosequin SS has been specifically designed to meet the joint ...
    "Cosequin ® Equine Powder is the #1 veterinarian-recommended ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® Equine Powder is the #1 veterinarian-recommended oral joint supplement. Cosequin is used by champion horsemen to provide their horses with comprehensive joint support. Cosequin ® Equine Powder contains an exclusive low-molecular-weight chondroitin. 3600 mglucosamine and 1200 mg chondroitin ...
    "Cosequin ® Optimized with MSM provides the same ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® Optimized with MSM provides the same improved formula as Cosequin ® Optimized, but with the addition of 5,000 mg MSM per scoop (16.5 g). Tasty, apple-flavored powder! View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart"
    "When liver function is compromised, the exact cause ...
    Description:
    "When liver function is compromised, the exact cause can often be difficult to determine. Supporting the liver, regardless of the cause, is essential if function is to be improved. Denosyl has been shown to markedly increase liver glutathione levels in ...
    "The popular and respected equine and dog treatment ...
    Description:
    "The popular and respected equine and dog treatment for stiff and sore joints is now available in a feline formulation! Cosequin for Cats is one of the few feline joint products that is not simply a redosage of the canine ...
    "#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin ...
    Description:
    "#1 veterinarian recommended oral joint health supplement. Cosequin is the only brand proven in published, controlled U.S. studies to be bioavailable in dogs and to improve joint function. Cosequin DS has been specifically designed to meet the joint needs of ...
    "Cosequin ® ASU goes above and beyond the ...
    Description:
    "Cosequin ® ASU goes above and beyond the traditional glucosamine/chondroitin sulfate products on the market. Cosequin ® ASU contains NMX1000 ® avocado/soybean unsaponifiables (ASU) formulated with FCHG49 ® glucosamine hydrochloride and TRH122 ® low-molecular-weight chondroitin sulfate. Plus ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Cosequin® ASU Plus is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps a ton! I bought this supplement to help my horse who had pain in her hocks and didn't want to start injecting them. After about a month she is not longer lame and has no problem being ridden! She also licks her feed tub clean. Recommend this 100%
    Date published: 2016-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Really helps my horse! I notice a difference on his stiffness coming out of stall when he is on this. He is a Cosequin Lifer!
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse loves this Everytime I have used this Sienna has always felt better and you can tell it makes a difference in her performance.
    Date published: 2016-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to give! We have seen Jack improve since changing from plain Cosequin, as recommended by out Vet, moving much better, esier.
    Date published: 2016-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use This is an excellent product and I feel that my horses will be protected.
    Date published: 2016-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hugh difference in my horse! I've had my horse, Stoney, for a year now and he's had stifle issues all along. My vet didn't feel it was serious and it could be worked out with consistent workouts. He just turned 6. Within 2 weeks of starting Cosequin ASU Plus (6 weeks ago) Stoney was stepping into the canter without any problems and felt well balanced. Pain in his back was gone too. When I reduced the Cosequin I noticed the pain returned. The direction say you may need to increase dose with increased activity. So, after 2 weeks of increasing the Cosequin to it's original dose Stoney is noticeably without pain once again. The pain is gone twice since I've had him and it's only after he's taken the right amount of Cosequin. Coincidence, I don't think so.
    Date published: 2016-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps my arthritic horse's joints I have had my 15 year old dressage horse on this product for about 5 months now. I highly recommend it. It is definitely an expensive product, but SmartPak has the lowest price I've found and it is definitely worth the buck.
    Date published: 2016-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish it was available in pellets Great product however, I am seeing a lot of days where my horse has left over powder from this supplement in his bucket. Wish he was getting the full quantity. Going to give it another month and if he continues to have significant amounts left over i will switch back to a pelleted join supplement.
    Date published: 2016-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results I bought this product 2 m9nth ago for my 8 year old morgan mare who sometimes starTed her workouts a but stiff. She seems much softer join wide and warms up much quicker, clearly her joints are more comfortable!
    Date published: 2015-11-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just started 9 year old with persistent front joint issues on this product. Hoping to give him some additional support with this supplement. I am seeing powder left in his feed tub on some days. Wish it were available in pellets.
    Date published: 2015-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Technical Avonlea is 22 years old. I do notice an overall improvement in her movement. Great product.
    Date published: 2015-10-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from review unfortunately my horse would not eat, that being said she is a very fussy eater
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product. Cosequin ASU has definitely helped my 21-year-old horse, who has arthritis. After taking it for a week or so, he was moving better and obviously with little or no pain. He is no longer cranky! It helped much more than other products I had tried.
    Date published: 2015-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Product work's My 8 yr old Made had a bad stifle injury when she was 3. She was very uncomfortable in the canter and bucked occasionally to protest. She has been on this for 69 days and I can not believe the difference. She is happy to canter and her gates are more fluid in movement. I am a true believer in this product. As they say the "proof is in the pudding".
    Date published: 2015-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really love this product, my horses always are eager to eat it
    Date published: 2015-03-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I felt a difference I bought this product and felt a difference how my horse went in about 4 weeks.
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For joint health this is the real deal I have used Cosequin for my horses since it came out on the market. I take the human version myself and would rather give up getting my nails or hair done than have to give up my Cosamin ASU! It simply works and this formula is better than ever. I really believe that the purity of the assays used in Nutramax products is key their efficacy, for humans, equines, canines and kitties!
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cosequin ASU Plus I wasn't sure if the addition of HA justified the higher price, but after using this for a couple of months, it is worth every penny. My horse is moving great and eats it with no problem. Cosequin products are the ONLY joint supplements that I have ever used and seen an improvement. I will keep my horse on this supplement as long as it is financially feasible.
    Date published: 2014-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This actually seems to help! My picky eater actually eats the Cosequin ASU. He is a 14 year old hunter that was used pretty hard before I got him and has a lot of "creakiness" in his hind end. He gets regular chiropractic, etc., but this product actually seems to help him out. I noticed a difference in about a week after the loading dose.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticeable difference in horse! Typically dieting warmup the horses right side is weaker and doesn't track under as much. I noticed within a week that he is moving more evenly underneath himself. It is making a big difference.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This has kept my 24year old morgan very sound and looking great!
    Date published: 2014-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy pony!! My horse has been on cosequin asu plus for two months. Can see a difference in her gait. She seems to be moving smoother with hopefully less pain.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time trying this
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great first line approach to joint issues-- I have been skeptical of joint supplements from what I have read. I believe Cosequin ASU is working. Its effects are supple. My 8yo IDSH has very mild fedlock effusions which my vet said could/ could not be contributing to her attitude. She clearly had bigger issues with cystic ovaries which we have addressed. I have changed several things lately (tack-wise) so it could be that combination. Nevertheless, she looks to be moving better in the field.
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse likes the flavor I bought this product with hopes to help a horse we took into our rescue. He had broken his hip and has muscle atrophy. The x-rays show he now has osteoarthritis but, the bone has healed. People had told me about the expensive price of this product and that it had not worked on their horses but, I was not ready to give up on Cody. As soon as the product arrived I was disappointed in the size as it was referred to as a "bucket". This is a small container and as a rescue money is short. But, I began the loading dose the same day it arrived and have now worked my way down to half a scoop as a daily dose. Cody didn't mind the powder and seemed to enjoy the flavor. After 2 weeks Cody began to run. When I saw him galloping towards me, my heart soared to watch him move.There were 2 days that I had to have someone here to feed as I needed to be away and due to a mix up, Cody didn't get the Cosequin. I noticed right away when I returned that his movement was slowed and a little stiff. I can not tell you that this is a miracle drug, I can not tell you that Cody will ever ride again but, I can tell you that I can see some improvement. As a daily routine I will be keeping him on the Cosequin and hold onto faith that he will continue to live a good life and show more improvement and possibly rebuild a little muscle. Time will tell.
    Date published: 2014-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Believe it helps. Used this in the past and I believe it helped extend the time between other maintenance. Have always been unsure of the powder form so I moisten or use a little oil to help it stick to his grain. Never had a problem with his eating it although sometimes some is in the bottom of his bin.
    Date published: 2014-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my horse eats this my 21 year old is a VERY picky eater and I have struggled to find a high quality joint supplement that he will eat. He licks his feed dish clean.
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My vet recommended this to me for a horse with ringbone. Its early days so hard to say if it has helped yet
    Date published: 2014-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the extra I have had my dressage horse on this for almost a year and I believe its been of great help.
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_15
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_40
    • loc_en_US, sid_10657, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders