Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Bye Bye Fly (formerly Garlic Flakes)

Hilton Herbs — Item #18285
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

100% pure garlic

  • Garlic is one of the most widely used medicinal herbs in the world
Bye Bye Fly garlic granules are one of Hilton Herb's very best garlic supplements for horses. Garlic is one of the most widely used medicinal herbs in the world. It is believed to have numerous health benefits for horses, from supporting the immune system to helping deter biting insects. Hilton Herb's human-grade garlic flakes are rich in bioavailable sulfur, oil, and B vitamins.

Learn more about Hilton Herbs

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis per 11 gram scoop
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (6 grams) daily)
  • Crude Protein (Min)
    15.2%
  • Crude Fiber (Max)
    2.7%
  • Crude Fat (Min)
    0.5%
  • Ash (Max)
    3.7%
Pure Garlic (cold pressed, dehydrated)

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoop
500 - 1000 lbs. 0.5 - 1 scoop
1000 - 1500 lbs. 1 - 1.5 scoops
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 - 2 scoops
15ml (11 grams) scoop included in each bucket.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Farrier's Magic FLEX-n-ACTION Pelleted Joint Product supplies researched ...
    Description:
    "Farrier's Magic FLEX-n-ACTION Pelleted Joint Product supplies researched ingredients including glucosamine HCl, hyaluronic acid, chondroitin sulfate, and generous levels of ultra pure MSM. All of these connective tissue components are blended in a very palatable base of premium quality timothy-based ...
    "Freeway Gold is formulated to help horses maintain ...
    Description:
    "Freeway Gold is formulated to help horses maintain healthy, efficient airways all year round. Freeway Gold is an excellent choice for stabled horses or those with limited turnout. This formula contains tinctures of elecampane, liquorice, eyebright, cleaver, marshmallow, plantain, and ...
    "Mined from the vast and ancient Himalyan mountains, ...
    Description:
    "Mined from the vast and ancient Himalyan mountains, these licks are a 550 million year old source of minerals and trace elements for your horse or pony. The distinctive rose pink color comes from the salt’s high mineral content, including ...
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a ...
    Description:
    "The best of sea and soil! Providing a balanced blend of vital nutrients to support healthy hoof growth, deep coat color, quality skin and coat condition, and all-year-round optimum health. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our Hoof Supplement Comparison ...
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement ...
    Description:
    "LifeLine Equine Elite is a serum-based performance supplement designed for horses experiencing the stress of training, travel, and competition. AgeWell is a pelleted formula specifically formulated for older horses with an age-appropriate serving of the potent active ingredient BioThrive®. This ...
    "Select the Best's MSM is an ultra-pure 99.9% ...
    Description:
    "Select the Best's MSM is an ultra-pure 99.9% source of bio-available sulfur. MSM, or methylsulfonylmethane, is thought to support a healthy inflammatory response. No fillers, artificial colors, or flavors. View Our Comfort Supplements Comparison Chart View our Joint Supplement Comparison ...
    "MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known ...
    Description:
    "MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known for its ability to help horses with stiffness and discomfort associated with exercise and normal daily activity. In addition, this economical supplement may help with itchy skin due to environmental or seasonal ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Bye Bye Fly (formerly Garlic Flakes) is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 111.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought this product a few weeks ago for my Tb gelding who is very itchy and prone to bugs when the seasons change! With this product, I've noticed a huge difference in the bugs staying off of him! He'll definitely be on this for life! and for a picky eater he gobbles it right up!
    Date published: 2017-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my Sensitive Mare I've been using this for 3yrs. I started using it on both my chestnut gelding and grey mare. I didn't notice too big of a difference in either of them with just one scoop a day. However, when I increased the amount to 2 scoops a day I did notice a difference, especially with my grey mare. I've tried the Smartpak stuff and didn't have the same results as this. I also like that it's cheaper.
    Date published: 2017-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not just for bugs! My TB had had a reoccurring issue with cellulitis every three month, that was driving us both crazy! I did some research and learned that garlic has antibiotic properties... so why not?! So in addition to a weekly betadine/ ivory soap "scrub" he gets 2 scoops of garlic supplement morning and night feeding... he loves it and knock on wood... it seems to be helping!
    Date published: 2016-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves these My horse hates bugs but loves these garlic flakes!
    Date published: 2016-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Results-Made Horse Slobber These seem to work as well as, if not better than, the much pricier Smart Bug-Off Ultra supplements I was using. I wanted something cheaper, so I switched to these. He is mostly stall boarded, and goes out to graze, etc. My horse is not picky, and ate the garlic flakes like everything else. The only issue is they make him slobber like crazy! His stall boards are wet and he just salivates a lot. I am discontinuing them because of the mess from the excess saliva. If he didn't have this issue, I would still use it because it works. So, if you have a fly issue, can't hurt to give this a try.
    Date published: 2016-09-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works when the bugs aren't too bad My horse has been on this since April, and the bugs get bad around late June. I haven't seen many flies on his body, but ended up having to buy fly boots since he was still stomping a ton. I do think the flakes work for keeping the large horseflies off the body, and I haven't found any ticks at all. Will probably double the dose next summer and see what happens!
    Date published: 2016-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse likes it! My mare with sweet itch eats this right up. Another weapon in my fly wars arsenal.
    Date published: 2016-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty I bought garlic when it was recommended for my rescued pony. She loves the taste. I now feed it to my other 5 rescued horses. I started last month and have seen fewer flies on 1 of the horses. I have not sprayed her with any insecticide for several weeks.
    Date published: 2016-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BUGS OFF!!! I have a very bug sensitive mare and until now I have never been able to put her on night turnout due to bugs. Since I started her on Garlic flakes she is finally able to be out at night without being eaten alive by the bugs. Thank you Garlic
    Date published: 2016-08-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like Corn Flakes, but Garlic Flavoured!! This package lasted me a month with three horses. I can't really tell if it has helped significantly with flies because I also employ fly predators, but given the low risk of its use, what's the harm? Although, I am tempted to just purchase bulk minced dried garlic for the economy
    Date published: 2016-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results My horse has been on this product for 2 months. I have not found a tick on him in weeks! The flies don't take an interest in him anymore either! To make it easier to feed I put the flakes in a spice grinder and turned it into a powder. It will last much longer that way!
    Date published: 2016-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beware the Type of Garlic!!!!! Previously, I had used minced garlic,which I liked better as it was smaller granules. These are like corn flakes designed to keep away vampires. My horses like them just fine, eat them up. I was tanning a hide in the barn and the flies of course will go crazy, but there weren't QUITE as many as I would've thought pestering the horses--just me. Guess I need to go have garlic cearal, too....
    Date published: 2016-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this a few months ago. Really seems to keep the flies away
    Date published: 2016-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I've been hearing about Garlic for Horses for quite some time and as Fly sprays just don't work and I hate the chemicals I thought I'd give it a try.
    Date published: 2016-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from To the point title. Has a mild garlicky aroma. I bought it to help with fly control.
    Date published: 2016-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! Purchased this to reduce chemical spray. After using , the number of flies went down fast. One month later, almost no flies, ticks, or blow flies. Horse flies are reduced but not gone. Areal money saver. Using on four horses and three donkeys. They all love it. The 2.2 lb. bag lasing 2 months.
    Date published: 2016-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another weapon against flies My mare suffers from sweet itch so anything I can do to help her is great. She eats these flakes right up. The only drawback seems to be every time I feed her I crave garlic bread!
    Date published: 2016-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from must taste great! I used this last year and was very happy with it. I bought 3 bags for my two Connemaras. It helps on smaller insects but not on the big nasty horse flies
    Date published: 2016-06-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didnt notice a difference didn't notice any difference after being on it few months
    Date published: 2016-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ticks HATE garlic! I started my two horses on this October of 2014, and it has been fantastic! The ticks can not live on my horses for more than a day! It took only a few days before my horses started to eat it without hesitation.
    Date published: 2016-05-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buyer Beware I bought this on a whim hoping for some relief for flys and ticks and thought it was safe since it's only 1tbs or 15ml of a natural food. Nope! 1. It's high in SELENIUM ( an overdose of selenium is fatal) 2. It's high in Suphur 3. It causes equine anemia 4.it Causes oxidation damage in cells. Of course I added this to my premade meals for the next 11 days and will have to throw everything away. http://www.equi-therapy.net/equi-therapy/herbal/garlic-horses.shtml
    Date published: 2016-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Skeptical -- But now seeing results To be honest- I was very skeptical about these garlic flakes. I was going to try them for keeping flies off. But I started them on my gelding in March before fly season so I don't even know if the garlic will help for that. My gelding will get inflammation in his fatty glands on-and-off. When he does, he is grumpy and does not want to be brushed etc. Since feeding the garlic flakes, he has not had any of this swelling and he is fine with me using a shedding blade and other metal brushes on him. I could barely brush him with a soft brush or rubber curry when he had this inflammation. The other thing that I have noticed is that the garlic has helped his breathing. He has always gotten winded easily and his nostrils will flare after just a little bit of exercise in any type of indoor arena. After being on them for a month, he doesn't get winded so easily and have that nostril flare right away. I am really surprised how much the garlic flakes have helped these 2 things for him. I will keep feeding them for these benefits alone. It will be interesting to see if he has less bugs bothering him once the summer comes. ---Also a note: He is a really picky eater, so I didn't think he would eat these, but he has no problem with eating them at all. And believe me, he is one of the WORST horses for picking any medicine out of his feed, or refusing to eat if I change anything with his grain.
    Date published: 2016-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horses love it I haven't started feeding this regularly yet (we're not quite into fly season) but I did open up one of the wells to see if the horses would it eat, and they almost took my fingers off trying to get to it! Highly palatable, fingers crossed for effectiveness!
    Date published: 2016-03-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps keep ticks away Where we live in the northeast, we are inundated with ticks and specifically, Lyme's disease. I have to keep fly spray on my horses from March through December. I hate the toxins but can't find an effective homemade/natural fly spray that works. My one horse had colic issues as a foal, so I was nervous about feeding dried garlic and read it can make them anemic. I have used my first bag up on two horses and must say it does seem to help. I can offset some of my fly spray sessions and still keep them safe guarded. Both horses readily like the taste. They do build up a smell of garlic after a bit, but that is more of an insurance policy knowing its working. I don't mind the smell. I have not had their blood checked for anemia, but they seem to be maintaining in their normal acting range.
    Date published: 2015-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love garlic! My horse loves when I add this to his grain. Has helped with the flies also! Win, win!
    Date published: 2015-10-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Second time trying garlic Sadly I did not notice the flys leaving my horses any less than the others... They did eat it mixed with the senior feed just fine.
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fewer flies around the face. I've noticed that both of my horses seem to have fewer flies buzzing around their face area. Great addition to simply fly in my opinion.
    Date published: 2015-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Started a month ago and really helps with the bugs.
    Date published: 2015-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from horses love it We decided to try this when the order of granulated garlic we received smelled funny and the horses wouldn't eat it. Our older mare thinks this is candy! They all just gobble it up.
    Date published: 2015-07-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works pretty well, great price, definite smell! I do recommend this product. I started using this for my new mare about a month ago. When I got her, she was being torn up by the flies! She had hives and bleeding bites that were obviously painful. After just a week, I noticed a significant decrease in the flies around her! They still bite, but not nearly as much and they don't linger. Her hives have completely gone away and she is much happier! I still use fly spray, but over all I'm happy. She definitely smells like garlic when she sweats, but doesn't bother me. She loves the stuff! Gets so excited to eat it. Only giving 4 stars because I have to worry about her possibly becoming anemic on it... Much cheaper and works much better than the alternatives!
    Date published: 2015-07-18
    • y_2017, m_12, d_12, h_20
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_102
    • loc_en_US, sid_8285, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders