Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Samshield Shadow Mat Helmet

Samshield
- Item #19903

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Samshield is a mix between the rider's needs, the designer's creative energy and the engineer's technical vision.

Following the success of the Premium model, Samshield developed a new model with a wide appeal.

ASTM/SEI approved.

Harness is made of faux leather.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Samshield Shadow Mat Helmet is rated 4.6071 out of 5 by 28.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice but just didn't fit my head I liked the look and quality of this helmet however the shape wasn't right for my head so I returned it. Felt a lot of pressure on my forehead that would certainly give me a headache. I have an oval shaped head and I think this may work better for a rounder shape.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well fitting helmet This helmet feels so great on. It looks nice is light and molds to the shape of your head. Great for schooling or the show ring.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I wore CO helmets before this one. I love the fit, removable liner and the fact it forms to your head! It is also very cool, I was surprised!
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I have to say I love this helmet. It's comfortable and doesn't look like a football helmet on your head.I also appreciate the free shipping from smartpak to and from. I thought I had the correct sizing and realized I needed a smaller size. I was able to easily mail back and get the correct one sent.I love the customer service offered by smartpak.
    Date published: 2013-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from samshield helmet-quality changed ? i bought this helmet in a tack store last year. 100% loved it. decided to order another since horses were living in 2 different barns.i have concerns about the one i received in may. the chin strap is too long. the velcro is in a spot that you cant use. today i took it to a seamstress to move the velcro. she said the harness is not leather. for $395. i should not need to change something and the harness should be leather. i will contact smartpak about this.
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Satisfied Customer I received this helmet off of my wishlist for my birthday. I measured my head, and chose the corresponding size. The helmet felt a little small at first, but after a few minutes, the memory foam insert did its memory foam thing and it fit perfectly. I have an oval shaped head, and it's a perfect fit for me. The GPA was too round when I tried it a couple of years ago, as was the IRH and nearly every other brand. The Samshield not only fits perfectly, but looks great as well. No more mushroom-head for me! My trainer has this helmet also; she has used it for years and it looks like new after a good cleaning. I also love the vent; my head stays cool and I can actually feel the breeze as I'm riding. I feel safe and comfortable in this helmet; what more can I say? I would definitely recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slick helmet, great fit I love my Samshield! It turns heads in the show ring without being too flashy - very classy, refined, beautifully designed helmet. Since I show both hunters and jumpers, I love that this helmet shines in both rings. Super comfortable, love the leather harness, perfect fit. Couldn't ask for anything more in a helmet!
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I haven't had it long, so I can't speak for the durability. I love how it fits and feels, and also how it looks. The harness is also much nicer than the plain nylon ones.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I had purchased sooner My old and beloved GPA Titium needed replacing but the new version did not fit me so I procrastinated for months putting up with headaches from my old helmet. I am so glad I purchased the Samshield, it is the most comfortable helmet I have ever worn, it is very secure and the removeable lining is wonderful. The inside lining was soaked after my GP class at the last show, I removed it and placed it on the top of my helmet case, after 20 miutes it was dry. It may have been dry sooner I just didnt check it. After an afternoon of training horses I simply place the liner on top of the helmet in its case and in the morning it is dry and fresh. Another great point is the front vent, I have never felt the air on my head like that before, my hair stayed fairly dry and as an added bonus my head didnt itch!! As far as size I ordered a size larger than usual following the samshield size chart, it was too big but my usual size fit perfectly. A great helmet, will order the more expensive version for show now that I know my size. Only gave 4 stars on durability because it seems durable and is easy to clean but i have not owned it long enough to know for sure.
    Date published: 2013-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet Most important piece of riding equipment I own. And I love it!
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Helmet! Finally have a helmet that fits! Also love that it is not covered in faux velvet so I can just wipe it clean. Have gotten lots of compliments.Cannot wait until they offer the mat vs. fluffy base as an option for the custom helmets!
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Comfortable, Lightweight Helmet I got this helmet for Christmas and could not be happier with my hubby! It's super comfy and while it may seem a teeny bit snug at first, it keeps the helmet in place WITHOUT the "headache" pressure. Plus, the memory foam inserts eventually mold to your head for a super-comfy ride (the hidden vents kept my head from sweating). The profile is very sleek - no "bubble/mushroom head" or "bug eyes." This helmet will look nice in both the hunter and jumper ring. I do not doubt the durability - everything seems to be very high quality and it comes with a basic drawstring helmet bag to keep the dust off.
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I've tried... This is the most comfortable helmet I've ever put on my head. At first, it was a little snug, but quickly molded to my head without feeling tight. I highly recommend this helmet to anyone who thinks comfort is important.
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from <33 it! Hahaha oh the hardships I went through trying to find a helmet that fits my big head. Every other helmet I tried on were too narrow on the side, so every time I ordered a helmet it wouldn't fit so I had to return it. Finally I found the samshield which is rounder and very cushiony plus has ventilation. Oh goodness, before the samshield I must've returned the others about 7times. Haha thank you smartpakequine for dealing with my huge head and I would Definately recommend this helmet, and it looks good too! :D
    Date published: 2012-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great looking helmet! I saw a few of these helmets being worn at shows last year and thought that they really looked great. The memory foam liner is a nice touch and allowed me to finally get a helmet that fits snug enough to not move around on my head but doesn't feel like a tourniquet! I ordered the size that matched the size chart but it was too small. I ended up exchanging it for a size 7, which is what I also wear in Charles Owen helmets and it fit great.
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet When it was time to replace my existing helmet, I looked for one that was high quality & also looked good. This is a nicely substantial helmet, very comfortable, a lower profile that is more flattering to wear. Seems quite cool to wear even though we haven't had really hot weather yet. Have received several compliments on it!
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Samshield Shadow matte Love this helmet! Great for a schooling helmet and beautiful for a show helmet. Ride all day in the midwestern heat and I can definitely can feel the air going through the helmet. I do not break a sweat. Got this helmet because I love the shell look with the classic design. Seems to be very durable. My GPA at 7 3/8 was a little big so i ordered 7 1/4 for my samshield and it fits perfectly with my hair up or down! Slim profile! Bopped my hewad on the stall door and it didnt scratch either! In Love!
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality helmet - try it The Samshield helmets are very nice -- I tried it in 2 different sizes, 2 different finishes. The quality is good, they look good and are definitely good for training or show ring. I did not purchase this brand because it did not fit me as well as the Charles Owens helmet, but that's just individual sizing. My head is rather oval shaped. I did learn that they are a bit oversized, so try one size smaller than normal.
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet so far! This is the best helmet I have ever owned (and I've owned many). The low profile design looks great and it is extremely comfortable! No forehead headaches and the memory foam does indeed work. When you first try it on in the proper size, it may feel tight but wait just a minute or two and the foam will "settle in". It is also designed to cover the back of your head properly and comfortably. I have short hair and noticed that although I still get "helmet head", it is not nearly as bad as with prior helmets. This one is worth the price!
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.