Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Elite Hunter Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #19856

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak is proud to introduce the Plymouth Elite. The Plymouth Elite takes all of the wonderful features of the Plymouth line and adds additional enhancements such as a true padded monocrown and raised fancy stitched reins. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range.  Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Traditional styling with delicate fancy stitching on 3/4” brow and 5/8"noseband. Hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with 1/2” cheeks.  Complete with 5/8” raised laced reins.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Plymouth Elite Hunter Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.4375 out of 5 by 32.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle The bridle is great for the price. The fancy stitching on the reins and monocrown are a nice addition. Leather is very supple as well. I bought this for a "stock type" horse and found that the noseband and browband were wide enough but the bridle is almost too long for the head. All in all looks very nice on the horse.
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value Bought cob size for Connemara pony. Bridle is pretty but leather requires significant conditioning to soften. That said, it's a good value for the price. Noseband runs small. She is 14.1 with a pretty head, but noseband was too small to buckle. Just took it to saddler and had it extended. Easy fix and really doesn't show. Dark leather looks really nice with her gray color.
    Date published: 2013-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for the money The bridle was very soft when I received it. The color is a lot darker than I expected, but it's o.k. For this price, I am very impressed with this bridle. I purchased it for my Belgian/QH cross, and it fits him well. I purchased an O/S.
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy For the price this bridle is amazing! It's ready to go right out of the box and fits my horse perfectly. It has a really nice look to it also. I love it!
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for great price! I bought this bridle to give it a shot, but wasnt getting my hopes up about it because it was so inexpensive price wise. It got here and I have fallen in love with it!! It is so nice and soft right out of the box! Great quality for the price and i am looking in to buying another one for my other horse!!
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from title Minimum requirement reviews are a pain -- all is well; that is all.FYI: Your required "expertise" question lacks sufficient responses. I do NOT ride. I write large checks for a large animal that seems to have two hoofs in the grave at all times... your stuff is great, or so I hear, but I never touch the stuff.
    Date published: 2014-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall, I'm very happy with this bridle! I purchased this bridle because I needed a cob size for my new horse. I LOVE the padding this bridle offers, something I would expect from a $200+ bridle. The stiching is nicely done, and the leather is great quality for the price, it is sofening up very nice with regular care. I did find the fit to be a little off, the nose band was really small, but I am all the way at the top for the bit pieces, so I could not get a bigger size. But overall I am very happy I purchased it and recommend this bridle to anyone!
    Date published: 2014-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle reasonable price We got this as a show bridle for my daughter's hunter and love the classic looks of it. We've only had it a month so we'll see whether it's durable, but it's beautiful, fits well and seems comfortable. Nice leather and great crown piece.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the color and stitching Great bridle! I love the look of it. Perfect for the hunter ring. Lovely stitching and the color is beautiful! Good price too. Reins are a little stiff but overall I would say BUY IT! :)
    Date published: 2012-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle I bought this bridle as a work bridle, but I will also use it as a back up show bridle it is that pretty. I was really surprised on how really really nice this bridle is. It was soft right out of the box, when I showed my trainer she ask how much I oiled it and I had to tell her that I didn't have a chance to oil it yet! It really soften just like my edgewood after oiling.
    Date published: 2012-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bridle I bought this to use for schooling shows and WOW! I was impressed when I pulled it out of the box! I did roll the leather, but it wasn't that stiff that I needed to do it over and over again. The monocrown padding is just soft and I believe our mare really likes it. Reins are proportionate to size of bridle (Cob has shorter reins then any other cob size bridle I have bought in the past that included the reins.) Recieve lots of compliments on it too. Great value, beautiful too. Our mare looks "smart" with it on!!
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful purchase Read the reviews before my purchase, was so very happy with this bridle. I bought this bridle for a work bridle but I certainly can use it for a show bridle! Leather was soft out of the box, i did oil it for protection of the leather but it was already soft. I love the one piece, and the padding is great. The only thing I would change is lenght of rein. I need the longer rein but still ordered this as I have several longer reins, but still it would have been nice to have the rein match the bridle. My show bridle is an edgewood, this bridle is right up there.
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted I have had CHEAP bridles in the past so went I bought this one, I was a little concerned that it wouldn't be what I was looking for. My trainer showed it to me and i was worried that the price would mean it wasn't good quality. Boy, am I happy I listened to her. This bridle is so nice and it looks great on my horse, Chai. LOVE IT!!!!
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking bridle I've only just oiled and fitted this bridle but I'm impressed with the quality of the workmanship. I love the padded, integrated headpiece and noseband and the leather seems to be softening up nicely with dressing and a few rolls. It will hopefully stand up to the punishment of warm, moist conditions, the consequences of a sweaty horse, and a horse owner with minimal time for cleaning tack!
    Date published: 2012-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great value! I'm delighted! I needed a new show bridle on a budget and I wanted to try a moncrown on my sensitive gelding.You are not going to find a much better bridle for the price! The leather exceeded my expectations- my local tack store stocks bridles that are not as nice for almost twice the money. Reins are a little stiff right out of the package, but not in that "cheap plastic leather" sort of way (and nothing that will murder your hands by a long shot. They're just gonna take a couple rides to supple up is all). With a little use, I ahve no doubt they will lose the little bit of bend they ended up with in the storage/shipping.The crown is both softly padded and contoured.If I had the extra money floating around right now, i would buy a second one to have it to school in.
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was a little worried... Not gonna lie...when I pulled this bridle out of the packaging I was a little worried. It was stiff and had that "feeliing" of cheap leather and I wasnt sure how much I liked it. But, after a little rolling and one conditioning it feels like a much more expensive bridle. The leather softened up beautifully with very little work on my part. Very nice, nice enough to show in!
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stiff But Nice! I bought this bridle to be a semi temporary show bridle for this season. My plan is to retire the very old and worn schooling bridle at the end of this show season with this one, and then get a much higher quality bridle for next season. Love this bridle!!! It looks very good on my 16.2 TB, and have received many compliments on it! I will admit, it is fairly stiff coming out of the package, and after oiling and rolling it was still stiff, but after a second time of oiling and some sun soaking, it has softened up! Love Smartpak and love this product!!! Who knows, maybe I'll buy another one for shows next year! ; )
    Date published: 2012-06-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a keeper Five Stars to Smartpak, for accepting my return on this Two Star bridle! What can I say? I tried to love it, but I just couldn't. Smartpak, however, was terrific!I thought this $99 bridle was an example of getting what you pay for. Made in India, the bridle's leather was incredibly stiff and didn't improve much with oiling/rolling. Additionally, when oiling, the purplish dye from the leather discolored the white stitching. As for fit, something was off: My horse is easy to fit (full size), yet the buckles on the cavesson and cheek pieces didn't come close to lining up, and the hook on the cheek piece sat almost on the noseband. Last, although I didn't measure them, the very stiff reins seemed a bit on the short side.The bridle wasn't a "keeper," not even as the spare I intended it to be. However, Smartpak remains my favorite source for internet purchases of tack, supplements, and riding clothing.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle!! Worth the $100. Good fit, padding and stitching are nice. It was a little bit Stiff out of the packaging but with oil it was soft in minutes. I bought this bridle for my new lease horse to show in and this bridle is just as good looking as the $200 bridles. I love this bridle I will buy this bridle again next time I need a new show bridle or schooling one.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle! The Elite Plymouth Hunter Bridle is a beautiful piece! The quality, color and stitching of the leather bridle is great! All this and a great value from Smart Pak.
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely worth the price Worth the $100. Good fit, padding and stitching are nice. Stiff out of the packaging but with oil and few minutes of rolling, it was fine. My trainer isn't a fan of the the fixed second keeper on the caveson but I could care less. If I really want another keeper I'll just take it to my local shoemaker to have another keeper sewn on. The padding is not as good quality as the rest of the bridle but it is still soft. Definitely think that the people that make this bridle also make Bobby's English Tack. I have a bridle/martingale from Bobby's that is 6 years old and unfortunately like many things today the leather quality of this bridle is less than the one I already have but still durable and will last.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great all around bridle I bought this bridle for a large pony hunter jumper. It is great quality for the price, looks really sharp and the padding and stitching looks solid. The fit is fine. The only consideration is that it is a very dark color when it comes, and I'm a bit worried it will turn too dark with usual wear and care.
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from A big disappointment When I saw this new bridle, I was excited to purchase it as I am used to very good quality tack from Smartpak. I was very disappointed when I received this bridle. First off, it is made in India, which I did not expect at the $100 price point. The leather was so stiff that I couldn't even get the bridle apart to attach the browband and bit. Needless to say, it is going back. I can't comment on the fit, as I never got to try it on my horse. The padded monocrown is nice, but that's about the only good thing I can say about this particular piece of tack. I would definitely recommend spending the extra $30 and getting the Harwich bridle. It is much better quality.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.