Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Elite Hunter Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #19856
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Following the success of the Plymouth line, SmartPak is proud to introduce the Plymouth Elite. The Plymouth Elite takes all of the wonderful features of the Plymouth line and adds additional enhancements such as a true padded monocrown and raised fancy stitched reins. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range.  Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Traditional styling with delicate fancy stitching on 3/4” brow and 5/8"noseband. Hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with 1/2” cheeks.  Complete with 5/8” raised laced reins.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Elite Hunter Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.449 out of 5 by 49.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worth the price it is... So, I bought this bridle a few years ago, and might I say, I am quite disappointed with it. Like all the other reviews, the leather on this bridle has faded to a light brown, cracked, and is kind of stiff, even after many many many oiling sessions. Dirt gets stuck on the bridle so easily it's unbelievable. The fancy stitching has basically worn away on the reins, browband, and noseband. I wish I could only use this bridle to school around at home and stuff, but I am not paying for a new bridle just for shows. after having this bridle, I would much rather pay up to $400 for a nice bridle. I could say the same thing about the matching Plymouth Elite Standing Martingale too.
    Date published: 2014-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super nice bridle for price I bought this as a schooling bridle and when it arrived realized it was very nice show quality. Will be buying more!
    Date published: 2014-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product Love the way it looks on my grey horse and is very nice quality! Love smartpak have bought stuff here before !!!
    Date published: 2014-12-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice schooling bridle, great value This is a great bridle for the price. Hard to find a padded monocrown in this price range. It would be even better if the padding on the crown contoured with the leather overlay to give the ears more room. And the reins were too short to use on a 17 hand warmblood so it would be nice if long reins were an option to buy with this bridle.
    Date published: 2014-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to break in! I bought this for my new horse, and it works great! The bridles i have used before were really stiff and hard to break in, but this was very easy! The only thing i wasn't a big fan about, was that when it had arrived, it was not put together. But very fast shipping and excellent quality!
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to break in! I bought this for my new horse, and it works great! The bridles i have used before were really stiff and hard to break in, but this was very easy! The only thing i wasn't a big fan about, was that when it had arrived, it was not put together. But very fast shipping and excellent quality!
    Date published: 2014-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks very pretty on my mare I bought the full-size for my QH mare. She is on the smaller side and doesn't have a very big head, so I was a little worried that it would be too big for her. However, it fits lovely. The stitching on the cavesson and browbands are also nice touches. Yes, the reins are stiff, and for some may be on the shorter side, but for my small-ish mare (15hh) they work fine. I'm sure they will soften with more use and I've got plenty of time to get there. The dark leather also looks nice on her. I'm pleased with the purchase and with the service I received from SmartPak to make the purchase.
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not that Impressed When i rode a friends horse she had the bridle and I loved it! But Something changed. I used the reins once and the dye was already coming off and just didn't look show ring worthy so I use them as a back up. This bridle is nothing more than than a schooling bridle. The dye is cracking in the center of both brow band and nose band, after only one use. I clean my bridles and take care of them but no matter what I do this bridle is impossible for me.
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So close... I bought this bridle and was initially very impressed with it-looked great, padding was nice and soft, not incredibly stiff and softened with oiling. However... within less than 2 weeks I noticed that an inside section on the braided part of the reins had worn away and become discoloured, fading to a very light brown. I got in touch with smartpak and was mailed a new pair of reins free but unfortunately the same problem occurred in the same amount of time. No issues with the bridle itself, but unless you have reins that will match the havana/chocolate colour already, not worth it. Although a disappointing product, was very impressed with the customer service I received.
    Date published: 2014-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bridle!!! This is top quality leather with Fancy raised stitching!! Love it so much, and awesome price ( :
    Date published: 2014-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, especially for the price Super happy with this bridle. I wasn't wanting to spend an arm and a leg, and was very happy when I read the reviews on this. It's a little stiff out of the box, but is softening up nicely. I lightly oiled it when I received it, and other than that, have just cleaned it a few times. Love the padded noseband and crown piece, I think it looks great. The raised part of the reins are probably the stiffest part, but as I said, its coming along nicely. I've received several compliments on it, and they are shocked at the price I paid. I've never owned an expensive bridle, so I can't compare it to others out there, but from what I can glean from other bridles at the barn, I'm very happy with it.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle! I love the padded crown and nose band. The bridle looks much more expensive than it is.
    Date published: 2014-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall, very nice This bridle is great for the price. I have used it once on my bay OTTB, and it looks great on him. It was stiff coming out of the box, but doesn't take long to loosen up. 
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I wanted to love it I purchased this bridle to use on my large TB gelding for the rare occasion when I take him to a non dressage show...big mistake. I loved the raised reigns with the matching stitching and the padded monocrown was very soft but that's the end of what was good about it. The leather is incredibly stiff and the color on the padding began peeling off during the first ride turning the padding white against the dark brown bridle. I did love the color as it matched my CWD saddle perfectly and fit my boy nicely but it ended up in the tack room for the lesson horses after one use on my big guy. So disappointed as I usually love smartpak stuff.
    Date published: 2013-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, Especially for the price! I ordered this bridle, along with the Harwich and the Wellfleet, both much more expensive, and this is the bridle I chose to keep. The leather is a lovely dark brown, and the fancy stitching looks GREAT and really stands out. It is really stiff; I've had it since May now, and even daily oilings with neatsfoot hasn't made much of a difference(though the padding was pretty soft off the bat). It also fits just a little small; I got the full size for my very fine-headed TB/WB mare, who typically wears a cob size, and it fits perfectly. All in all, great bridle for a great price!
    Date published: 2013-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty Good! Great bridle. Color is great, padding is good. Only complaint I have is that the leather is a little stiff. I also bought the Figure 8 Wellfleet bridle by SmartPak and the leather quality with that bridle is MUCH more supple.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Show Bridle for the Price! This is a great bridle to show in for a very low price. I love the fancy stitching and the monocrown is to die for. Very hunter-type because of the padded and fancy stiched reins but I have used it in jumpers before. The noseband is a bit small, but it is manageable.
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle The bridle is great for the price. The fancy stitching on the reins and monocrown are a nice addition. Leather is very supple as well. I bought this for a "stock type" horse and found that the noseband and browband were wide enough but the bridle is almost too long for the head. All in all looks very nice on the horse.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value Bought cob size for Connemara pony. Bridle is pretty but leather requires significant conditioning to soften. That said, it's a good value for the price. Noseband runs small. She is 14.1 with a pretty head, but noseband was too small to buckle. Just took it to saddler and had it extended. Easy fix and really doesn't show. Dark leather looks really nice with her gray color.
    Date published: 2013-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for the money The bridle was very soft when I received it. The color is a lot darker than I expected, but it's o.k. For this price, I am very impressed with this bridle. I purchased it for my Belgian/QH cross, and it fits him well. I purchased an O/S.
    Date published: 2013-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy For the price this bridle is amazing! It's ready to go right out of the box and fits my horse perfectly. It has a really nice look to it also. I love it!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for great price! I bought this bridle to give it a shot, but wasnt getting my hopes up about it because it was so inexpensive price wise. It got here and I have fallen in love with it!! It is so nice and soft right out of the box! Great quality for the price and i am looking in to buying another one for my other horse!!
    Date published: 2013-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from title Minimum requirement reviews are a pain -- all is well; that is all.FYI: Your required "expertise" question lacks sufficient responses. I do NOT ride. I write large checks for a large animal that seems to have two hoofs in the grave at all times... your stuff is great, or so I hear, but I never touch the stuff.
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall, I'm very happy with this bridle! I purchased this bridle because I needed a cob size for my new horse. I LOVE the padding this bridle offers, something I would expect from a $200+ bridle. The stiching is nicely done, and the leather is great quality for the price, it is sofening up very nice with regular care. I did find the fit to be a little off, the nose band was really small, but I am all the way at the top for the bit pieces, so I could not get a bigger size. But overall I am very happy I purchased it and recommend this bridle to anyone!
    Date published: 2012-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle reasonable price We got this as a show bridle for my daughter's hunter and love the classic looks of it. We've only had it a month so we'll see whether it's durable, but it's beautiful, fits well and seems comfortable. Nice leather and great crown piece.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the color and stitching Great bridle! I love the look of it. Perfect for the hunter ring. Lovely stitching and the color is beautiful! Good price too. Reins are a little stiff but overall I would say BUY IT! :)
    Date published: 2012-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle I bought this bridle as a work bridle, but I will also use it as a back up show bridle it is that pretty. I was really surprised on how really really nice this bridle is. It was soft right out of the box, when I showed my trainer she ask how much I oiled it and I had to tell her that I didn't have a chance to oil it yet! It really soften just like my edgewood after oiling.
    Date published: 2012-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bridle I bought this to use for schooling shows and WOW! I was impressed when I pulled it out of the box! I did roll the leather, but it wasn't that stiff that I needed to do it over and over again. The monocrown padding is just soft and I believe our mare really likes it. Reins are proportionate to size of bridle (Cob has shorter reins then any other cob size bridle I have bought in the past that included the reins.) Recieve lots of compliments on it too. Great value, beautiful too. Our mare looks "smart" with it on!!
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful purchase Read the reviews before my purchase, was so very happy with this bridle. I bought this bridle for a work bridle but I certainly can use it for a show bridle! Leather was soft out of the box, i did oil it for protection of the leather but it was already soft. I love the one piece, and the padding is great. The only thing I would change is lenght of rein. I need the longer rein but still ordered this as I have several longer reins, but still it would have been nice to have the rein match the bridle. My show bridle is an edgewood, this bridle is right up there.
    Date published: 2012-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I wanted I have had CHEAP bridles in the past so went I bought this one, I was a little concerned that it wouldn't be what I was looking for. My trainer showed it to me and i was worried that the price would mean it wasn't good quality. Boy, am I happy I listened to her. This bridle is so nice and it looks great on my horse, Chai. LOVE IT!!!!
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    • 2015-03-04T06:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_48
    • loc_en_US, sid_9856, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.