Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

SSG Gripper

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10893
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Everyone has at least one pair of these SSG Grippers- and for good reason. They are comfortable and when they wear out you can replace them without any guilt. So go to your tack box, toss out those old ones and treat yourself to some fresh Grippers. Economical cool knit cotton glove with hook and loop fastening wrist tab. Pimple grip palm. Reinforced in key areas. Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Gripper is rated 4.1959 out of 5 by 97.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from some of my favorite gloves! These simple little gloves are some of my favorite gloves I have used. I always find myself coming back to these. I have small hands (size 5 or 6 depending on brand/cut) and its hard to find gloves in my size however these are one of the few i can always count on to fit me. They may not last as long as a pair of leather gloves but at this price point you can stock up on a few pairs. I also love that i can toss these in the washer. i use these for schooling, lessons and even show. love them great little gloves! get yourself a pair or 3 you will not be sorry! :)
    Date published: 2013-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the Price, Great Gloves Every year I buy the unlined gloves for summer and the lined gloves for winter, several pairs of each. I wear them every day at the barn. They eventually wear out, get holes, and rip at the wrist, yet they are still my favorite gloves. They are lightweight, very comfortable, warm in the winter and wash well. They get tossed at the end of the season. I save my more expensive gloves for shows and clinics.
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from SSG Grippers Do Not Last I like these gloves alot as they are lightweight and breathable, but unfortunately I wear the tips out after only a few weeks. I only use them for riding and grooming. I need to find a more durable pair of gloves.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK buy These gloves were cheap so I bought them for the winter. They were awesome while they lasted but a hole ripped in the thumb after about 4 weeks. I still wear them on chilly days though because the grip is really good.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value These gloves are relatively inexpensive and last a few years so are a good value. Also they fit well and are comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good gloves! The only gloves I ever wear is a good heavy leather pair for rough work, as I really hate wearing gloves! However, I recently needed a cheap pair of riding gloves for driving someone's horses (they insisted I wear gloves...) and these proved to be a great choice. They don't really restrict my feel too much, they are very grippy, and they're thin and supple. Glad I chose these!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from eh I personally like these gloves, however I have encountered some issues that may bother people. First off, I had only had these gloves for about four weeks when a HUGE hole ripped in the thumb (at the time I was only riding once a week). It was most likely due to a weak seam, and I was able to resew it myself without an issue. I don't mind because they were not expensive, and they do have good grip. I recommend these, but with caution.
    Date published: 2012-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves! I used these as a kid and now as a returning adult rider I have a pair. The fabric is the right thickness so you can feel the reins but not get blisters. It is also nice how you can Velcro both of the gloves together to prevent losing one. I had them in black as a kid but for hacking and schooling nowadays I have them in green and I love them! I will probably buy more. Good price too.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! These are great for schooling and hold up extremely well. They are lightweight and very comfortable for summer riding. They tend to run a bit small so get the next size up. Overall a great product and I really recommend them.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Used to be my favorite glove I used these for nearly 20 years before finding Roeckl Chesters. They are lightweight, washable, & grippy. For hot weather if you're sweating lots, they do get very soggy because they're cotton. Can't beat the price but holes wear in them relatively quickly.
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer glove I really like this glove - reasonably priced and good quality. I have tried crocheted gloves but they always rip so I tried these and for the price they last an entire summer of consistent riding.
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality for Price these gloves provide a snug fit, which is so critical to maintaining a firm and secure grip on the reins. Plastic ribbing provided increased durability....useful for barn work as well.
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all purpose glove The description is accurate. Everyone loves these gloves for a reason. They're a great value, great gloves. I ride hard & fast (endurance) & never without gloves & these are perfect for me, fit great, dry quickly, light duty, but that's ok because they're more comfortable than heavy duty & they're less expensive, so it's a trade I prefer. I've bought expensive gloves & they tend to get hard & uncomfortable before they wear out & I don't want to replace them even though I no longer like them because I spent so much money on them. With these I just toss them & get an awesome new pair. By the time they wear out, I'm ready for a new color anyways.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought 2 pair Did not know how long these gloves would last so I bought 2 pair. So far so good. Good grip, good quality. Have only had a month and seem to be holding up well. Great for our hot spring/summer! Got a medium and would go up to large for people with thick wrists.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for summer These gloves are very light weight. Nice for summer.
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy So comfortable, cool, and washable too! I may not wear any other summer glove.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just what I wanted. I like wearing a pair of gloves around the barn while I'm cleaning. These are great summer gloves. Lightweight & inexpensive. I don't know how long they will last just because of that - but they are not cheap pieces of junk so that makes me happy.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very happy! These gloves are light weight, comfortable and just enough to protect my hands. For the price, they can't be beat.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good for the price Needed new gloves after the 2-year-old I was training wore all of the grip off of my old ones (also SSG, but they were nicer than these). Just needed something cheap (poor college student!) so I went with these. The fingertips wore out and ripped after a couple of weeks of use, but when they were functional, they had a great fit and great grip. For what I paid, they were worth it, but if you are looking for a quality pair of gloves to last you a while, I'd suggest spending a little more money on something higher quality, but I still recommend SSG due to past experience with them.
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome gloves for schooling I purchased a pare of the light blue ones at my local tack shop about two years ago, I loved them and always wore them to my weekly lesson. They have held up well but do get dirty fast, and they just recently began to get holes in them, so and will purchase a pair of SSG crotchted gloves
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gloves Ever! I love these gloves, and I buy several pair a year. I use them every day for riding and barn chores. They don't last forever, especially as hard on them as I am, but for the price, who cares how often you replace them. Great fitting, comfortable gloves!
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves I have several pairs of the SSG Gripper gloves. Great value for the price - well-made, and they've been holding up well. I am petite (5' tall with small hands) and the x-small is the perfect size for me. The small had a little too much extra room.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Duable. Certainly not the best out there, but decent enough for schooling at home. I know from the past they don't hold up the greatest through the fingers but that's what you get for the price I guess.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best schooling gloves! I have been using these gloves for years, and love them! They hold up very well, and are super inexpensive to replace.
    Date published: 2012-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Product is better than expected for this price range.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for price I ordered these for my husband who is just starting to ride. It was just a starter pair, for like $8 they are fine. Because they are so cheap they run small and prolly won't last super long but for a beginner or one per week rider they would be fine. If you ride more or are looking for any quality, spend a little more on nicer SSG gloves, I only ride in SSG they rock!
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the quality I expected I bought a pair of these gloves a few years ago at a local tack shop, so I decided to get them for a friend. The first pair were heavier, and have worn really well. The pair I just bought are really poor quality - thinner fabric and poorly constructed.
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves for the price Nice gloves. I got the pink ones :) Cheap!! I only wish they were a little stretchier.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Flo Ten These were great gloves for the money and I hope the durability can be extended to a 5 star.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    • 2015-02-28T07:18CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_80
    • loc_en_US, sid_893, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.