Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

ThinLine No Slip Reins

ThinLine
- Item #17035
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Think Rubber Reins, but even better! "What Rubber Reins have always TRIED to do!"


ThinLine Reins are web lined and wrapped with the black ThinLine material with top quality European leather ends. Stainless steel hardware, 5/8" leather, almost 3/4" at the ThinLine part, hook and stud closure. 

These reins are very soft, and increase the feel between horse and rider. Developed with the help of American World Championship team member Betsy Steiner. "The ThinLine reins are fantastic. These reins are very comfortable to hold, and more importantly, they don’t slip. They actually help the rider develop a soft, effective contact with the horse." -Betsy Steiner

Also tested cross country by upper level event rider Christan Trainor, these reins do not lose their grip when soaked going through water!

54"

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    ThinLine No Slip Reins is rated 4.5179 out of 5 by 56.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful for 'grip' issues They look a little 'funny' i.e..thicker than I thought but they don't feel thick in my hands which are small. The 'sponginess' of the material helps me to remember to keep the feel 'alive' and soft.
    Date published: 2014-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like them, don't love them I do like these, and the weird smushy material is very nice in the hand. I like my leather reins just as well though, and I wish these had markers on them to stop my ornery gelding from slyly pulling them away from me. These do seem very easy to clean and they are very comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for no-slip! I'm not a gadget person - I tend to think if there's an issue, I need to fix it with practice for me or training for my horse. But I had consistently been having difficulty not letting my reins slip longer. I had web reins with hand stops, and if I didn't have a death grip on the reins, they would slide longer until I hit the next stop. I randomly came across a COTH thread talking about how these reins really helped people who were having the same issue I was and decided to at least check them out. I was concerned with how much thicker they are than my old reins, but I decided to give them a try. I'm only one ride in, but I had absolutely no trouble with slipping even without a death grip. An added bonus was that I felt my communication through the bridle was still as clear, but softer. Didn't even notice the thicker material when I was riding, perhaps because it's soft and kinda squishes like memory foam. Seems like they will work out very well.
    Date published: 2014-03-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Entirely neutral These are good quality reins and have held up for some time. That said, they just don't do it for me. I don't love how they feel in my hand and with gloves, I don't think they are super grippy. There is nothing wrong with them, but it isn't something I would seek out.
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wasn't a believer, but now I am I had seen lots of people posting on various websites (reviews, COTH forum, eBay) about how great these reins were, among ThinLine's other products.  I was NOT a believer, and not about to fall for the price tag.  Regular old rubber reins have served me just fine for a long time!  However; I had a day where my horse was sweaty, my hands were sweaty, it was incredibly humid, and my jumping was awful.  I don't really blame it on the reins, but I couldn't keep my reins.  I broke down in a moment of despair and bought a pair of these babies and I am so glad that I did.  I hate to admit it, but I have fallen down the rabbit hole and am a BIG fan.  They simply don't slip.  Heat, humidity, rain, sweat -- they have a great grip and they look fine, too.  I still don't know how I feel about their other products, but I have to say these reins are great and I'm much more inclined to try out some of their other products, too.  Well worth the investment.
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Never again I really like thin line products in general and have good luck with them. I absolutely love these reins except that after 3 months they literally started falling apart in my hands. I was really sad because I love everything about these reins but for the price they should last longer than 3 months. I've been riding for 23 years and have never had that happen to me before.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect no-slip reins! I love the feel of these reins, not too thick and not too thin but the perfect balanced feel. I was using Parelli Finesse Reins before, because I like the thickness of them and the "soft" feel, but my hands kept slipping ruining the contact. Same with the leather reins with leather stops. And I've yet to find rubber reins or web reins that "feel" comfortable in my hand, most are either too thick feeling or too thin. With these ThinLine reins my hands can now stay put in a soft resting position creating even better elastic contact. Shorting the reins and lengthening them are no problem either! Super easy to clean as well. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable and Grippy These reins feel so nice in your hands:) They are a little on the thicker side than some other reins so they may not be ideal for someone with tiny hands. I have used them for all three phases of eventing and like them in all. They offer an elastic feel with the mouth with a very grippy texture. I only question their longevity as they do not feel as hardy as more stout rubber reins.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicest reins These are the nicest reins I have ever used. I have smaller hands, and they are a nice width and thickness. They feel very soft in the hand, and do not slip. I think the comfort has translated to a more consistent contact with the horse as well.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love I broke a finger last summer and when I did so I had to ride in gloves with a finger cut out. That led to really bad blisters and now my fingers are sensative where the blisters used to be. But... with these reins it does not hurt and I can even ride without gloves if necessary. They are fantastic and I bought them for both of my bridles. Will never ride in anything else if I can help it.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! These are comfortable to hold and they don't slip. Hands can relax and have a steady contact.
    Date published: 2013-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST PURCHASE EVER!!!!!! I can't even start with how much I love these reins! They are soft, flexible, non-slip, and beautiful!! They don't even get slippery AT ALL when my hands get sweaty! I can't really judge the durability as I have only had them for a few weeks, but I LOVE THESE REINS!!! They are a little pricey, but the rubber reins I was planning on getting instead were even more expensive, and they would've gotten slippery when my hands were sweaty. I think these reins are worth EVERY PENNY!!!!
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best reins ever These are hands down the best reins I've ever purchased. They are super grippy, and help make a "live" and elastic communication between my hands and my horses mouth. They are very useful for for riders who have issues with slipping reins, or hands that ache after riding.I have read several reviewers who have had issues with durability and the Thinline material degrading. I have always used baby wipes or water to clean the reins with, never any glycerin based product, and my reins are still going strong nearly three years after purchasing.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from A matter of preference At first I liked these but have been riding with a thinner pair w leather stops and switched back to find these feeling bulky and thick. These are really a matter of personal preference if you like the slightly spongy, grippy feel.
    Date published: 2013-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love! got these for my dressage horse and so far so good! ive had these reins about a month now and i LOVE them. I am 5'5 and have small hands and I dont feel like these are too big, they are very comfy and grippy...especially when riding in leather gloves. still look brand new and i ride my horse daily....they wipe clean so easily...would definitely buy again, well worth the money =]
    Date published: 2012-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy them!! Best reins I've ever ridden in. Period.I've been using them for about 6 months now and I still love them. A few weeks ago I couldn't find my gloves and rode bare handed - made me love these reins even more.They give you a great feel for your horse's mouth, they never dig into your hands, they're easy to clean. Brilliant.(They have an occasional tendency to 'curl up' but they don't do it when you're riding/working.)
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I use to have problems gripping rubber reins when my horse started to sweat. With these reins I have great grip even in the pouring down rain
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from provides perfect grip for my speedy TB! Love these reins! They really are great! Normally I hate rubber reins because of the extra bulk and are sometimes not comfortable, but not these! They are about the normal thickness of normal leather reins and are super soft and comfortable (without gloves) even when my TB is being a spaz and dragging me around a course. I haven't been able to experiment with the "not slippery when wet" claim but im sure they will be wonderful when my horse is sweating up a storm. My trainer also mentioned she thought my hands looked softer, which I was surprised because when I read that part in other reviews I thought that was a little strange and far fetched. I would highly recommend these to people. The brown is a nice color and perfectly matched my bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too thick! I was disappointed when the reins arrived as they were quite thick. I had planned to use them on a double bridle and felt that they would be uncomfortable to hold due their thickness so I sent them back untried. Too bad, as it was a great idea and I normally like the thinline products.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Soft! These reins are great! I hate wearing gloves in the summer and these reins don't hurt my hands or fingers like lace reins or rubber reins. They help keep a good connection and don't slip. They are a little on the expensive side but I'm very happy with them and it was worth it.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Sore Hands I already love all my thinline products but these are my new favorites! They are so soft I feel like I'm hanging onto pillows. They don't slip out of your hands with a strong horse and you don't get those sore shoulders/hands. They really don't feel that much thicker than normal reins and certainly not thicker than normal rubber reins. Even tested in heavy Florida rain and didn't slip!
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best reins ever Bought these reins for my daughter and they are so soft, squishy, comfortable and easy for small hands to hold. I ordered another pair for myself!
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great compromise I don't like wearing gloves in summer but rubber reins give me blisters, I hate braided leather reins and web reins. These are super comfy, they are soft yet the grip is great. I really, really like these reins - thinking about a second pair for my other bridle!
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins I read the reviews on these reins and figured I would give them a try. I agree with the reviews. These are wonderful reins. Non slip and easy on your hands. Would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, LOVE!! "Just purchased these reins and absolutely love them!! I bought them originally for my young horse's jump bridle because the material seemed very soft and durable, yet easy to hang on to. Not only were they soft with a great grip, but they also give me a great feel of my horse's mouth. I'm going to order another pair for my other horse's dressage bridle! If you want rubber reins, get these instead, they are way better!"
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from slippery non-slip reins I held the reins in one hand and pulled on it with the other and they easily slipped through my hands. I can imagine with wear they would become slippier. This would not be good should a horse decide to bolt. They are very well made with quality leather, but the Thin Line material is not ideal for reins.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thinline No Slip reins These reins are awesome. I have used them with my snaffle and double bridle. I feel like I have a much better connection with my horses mouth!
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Reins Ever! These reins are amazing! I have a hard time keeping hold of my reins, and the Thinline material on the reins totally helps. My trainer has been able to see a positive difference in my ride because my reins are no longer slipping through my fingers. The reins are nice and grippy and flexible, and they do not look different from other rubber reins so they are totaly fine to show in. The leather could be a little higher quality, but its not bad by any means and isn't a sticking point for me.
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Reins Ever If you want squishy, soft, grippy, comfortable reins, get these, you won't be sorry! Well worth the money. My only suggestion is, if you have a bigger horse, you might want the 60" length.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice reins! I was a little skeptical when I bought these, but they have turned out to be excellent! They are grippy, just the right size, and very soft. I bought these to help with my rheumatoid arthritis, and after going on a 3 hr trail ride, my hands felt way better than normal.
    Date published: 2011-11-12
    • 2015-03-03T07:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_7035, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.