Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

ThinLine No Slip Reins

ThinLine
- Item #17035

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Think Rubber Reins, but even better! "What Rubber Reins have always TRIED to do!"


ThinLine Reins are web lined and wrapped with the black ThinLine material with top quality European leather ends. Stainless steel hardware, 5/8" leather, almost 3/4" at the ThinLine part, hook and stud closure. 

These reins are very soft, and increase the feel between horse and rider. Developed with the help of American World Championship team member Betsy Steiner. "The ThinLine reins are fantastic. These reins are very comfortable to hold, and more importantly, they don’t slip. They actually help the rider develop a soft, effective contact with the horse." -Betsy Steiner

Also tested cross country by upper level event rider Christan Trainor, these reins do not lose their grip when soaked going through water!

54"

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    ThinLine No Slip Reins is rated 4.6087 out of 5 by 46.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! These are comfortable to hold and they don't slip. Hands can relax and have a steady contact.
    Date published: 2013-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST PURCHASE EVER!!!!!! I can't even start with how much I love these reins! They are soft, flexible, non-slip, and beautiful!! They don't even get slippery AT ALL when my hands get sweaty! I can't really judge the durability as I have only had them for a few weeks, but I LOVE THESE REINS!!! They are a little pricey, but the rubber reins I was planning on getting instead were even more expensive, and they would've gotten slippery when my hands were sweaty. I think these reins are worth EVERY PENNY!!!!
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best reins ever These are hands down the best reins I've ever purchased. They are super grippy, and help make a "live" and elastic communication between my hands and my horses mouth. They are very useful for for riders who have issues with slipping reins, or hands that ache after riding.I have read several reviewers who have had issues with durability and the Thinline material degrading. I have always used baby wipes or water to clean the reins with, never any glycerin based product, and my reins are still going strong nearly three years after purchasing.
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from A matter of preference At first I liked these but have been riding with a thinner pair w leather stops and switched back to find these feeling bulky and thick. These are really a matter of personal preference if you like the slightly spongy, grippy feel.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love! got these for my dressage horse and so far so good! ive had these reins about a month now and i LOVE them. I am 5'5 and have small hands and I dont feel like these are too big, they are very comfy and grippy...especially when riding in leather gloves. still look brand new and i ride my horse daily....they wipe clean so easily...would definitely buy again, well worth the money =]
    Date published: 2012-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy them!! Best reins I've ever ridden in. Period.I've been using them for about 6 months now and I still love them. A few weeks ago I couldn't find my gloves and rode bare handed - made me love these reins even more.They give you a great feel for your horse's mouth, they never dig into your hands, they're easy to clean. Brilliant.(They have an occasional tendency to 'curl up' but they don't do it when you're riding/working.)
    Date published: 2012-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase I use to have problems gripping rubber reins when my horse started to sweat. With these reins I have great grip even in the pouring down rain
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from provides perfect grip for my speedy TB! Love these reins! They really are great! Normally I hate rubber reins because of the extra bulk and are sometimes not comfortable, but not these! They are about the normal thickness of normal leather reins and are super soft and comfortable (without gloves) even when my TB is being a spaz and dragging me around a course. I haven't been able to experiment with the "not slippery when wet" claim but im sure they will be wonderful when my horse is sweating up a storm. My trainer also mentioned she thought my hands looked softer, which I was surprised because when I read that part in other reviews I thought that was a little strange and far fetched. I would highly recommend these to people. The brown is a nice color and perfectly matched my bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too thick! I was disappointed when the reins arrived as they were quite thick. I had planned to use them on a double bridle and felt that they would be uncomfortable to hold due their thickness so I sent them back untried. Too bad, as it was a great idea and I normally like the thinline products.
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Soft! These reins are great! I hate wearing gloves in the summer and these reins don't hurt my hands or fingers like lace reins or rubber reins. They help keep a good connection and don't slip. They are a little on the expensive side but I'm very happy with them and it was worth it.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Sore Hands I already love all my thinline products but these are my new favorites! They are so soft I feel like I'm hanging onto pillows. They don't slip out of your hands with a strong horse and you don't get those sore shoulders/hands. They really don't feel that much thicker than normal reins and certainly not thicker than normal rubber reins. Even tested in heavy Florida rain and didn't slip!
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best reins ever Bought these reins for my daughter and they are so soft, squishy, comfortable and easy for small hands to hold. I ordered another pair for myself!
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great compromise I don't like wearing gloves in summer but rubber reins give me blisters, I hate braided leather reins and web reins. These are super comfy, they are soft yet the grip is great. I really, really like these reins - thinking about a second pair for my other bridle!
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins I read the reviews on these reins and figured I would give them a try. I agree with the reviews. These are wonderful reins. Non slip and easy on your hands. Would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2012-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, LOVE!! "Just purchased these reins and absolutely love them!! I bought them originally for my young horse's jump bridle because the material seemed very soft and durable, yet easy to hang on to. Not only were they soft with a great grip, but they also give me a great feel of my horse's mouth. I'm going to order another pair for my other horse's dressage bridle! If you want rubber reins, get these instead, they are way better!"
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from slippery non-slip reins I held the reins in one hand and pulled on it with the other and they easily slipped through my hands. I can imagine with wear they would become slippier. This would not be good should a horse decide to bolt. They are very well made with quality leather, but the Thin Line material is not ideal for reins.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thinline No Slip reins These reins are awesome. I have used them with my snaffle and double bridle. I feel like I have a much better connection with my horses mouth!
    Date published: 2012-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Reins Ever! These reins are amazing! I have a hard time keeping hold of my reins, and the Thinline material on the reins totally helps. My trainer has been able to see a positive difference in my ride because my reins are no longer slipping through my fingers. The reins are nice and grippy and flexible, and they do not look different from other rubber reins so they are totaly fine to show in. The leather could be a little higher quality, but its not bad by any means and isn't a sticking point for me.
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Reins Ever If you want squishy, soft, grippy, comfortable reins, get these, you won't be sorry! Well worth the money. My only suggestion is, if you have a bigger horse, you might want the 60" length.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice reins! I was a little skeptical when I bought these, but they have turned out to be excellent! They are grippy, just the right size, and very soft. I bought these to help with my rheumatoid arthritis, and after going on a 3 hr trail ride, my hands felt way better than normal.
    Date published: 2011-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase Wow I'm so glad I decided to purchase these reins. After using numerous reins (leather, rubber, and web) over the past year and a half only to have them break, crack, or give me blisters, I wanted to spend my money on reins of better quality. I'm so glad I chose these! They have the grip similar to rubber but they aren't nearly as bulky and the Thinline won't rub off on your hands with use, they are sleek in design so people don't even notice I'm not using leather and the Thinline is SOOO comfortable I never get cramps or blisters. The leather is a little stiff initially, but very well made and soften nicely with some conditioning. They really are high quality reins and are worth their price.
    Date published: 2011-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best reins ever! I love these reins. I had bought them in black to replace the crunchy rubber reins that came with my dressage bridle and they were so spectacular that I found myself moving them back and forth to my jumping bridle. I now have them in brown as well! They are squishy and soft but still incredibly grippy.
    Date published: 2011-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luv these reins I had bought a Thinline pad which I love. I had a significant birthday and treated myself to the reins. Now I wonder how I lived wo them! They are easy to grip, soft in the hand. In fact, my hands feel more secure than when I used rubber reins. And my hands are not fatigued after a long ride. I am extremely happy with these reins.
    Date published: 2011-09-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't use with Show Sheen For the person who had issues with durability, don't use anything Thinline with Show Sheen. It says this on their website. I have two Thinline girths and the Show Sheen just dried out the material on one. It is still usable, but it has lost flexibility.
    Date published: 2011-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great reins! I finally found reins that really improve my riding. I had other "non slip" reins but they got really slick and they were too long and slipping through my fingers. These reins are definately worth the money. I am going to buy another pair for my daughter. She uses the NunFiner reins and they have ripped just after one season of showing!
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thinline Reins Crack After one year of use and regular care, my Thinline Reins have cracked and bits of rubber are tearing off. Love the reins, but disappointed in the durability.
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these reins Great reins. They allow my hands to be softer because you can actually massage them and it keeps a nice connection with your horse's mouth.
    Date published: 2011-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice rubber reins! I needed new reins for my jumping bridle and have had trouble with slippage resulting in my reins being too long, losing contact, etc- I've tried rubber reins with stops, plain rubber, etc. These worked great without any break-in time and felt secure without being too sticky. They didn't slip with sweat or with schooling in the water. And they weren't too thin. Too soon to tell on the durability issue, but my saddle pad still looks great after 3 yrs of regular use, so hopefully the reins will be as tough!
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST reins! ok...I admit that I am a ThinLine junkie! These reins are one of my favorite ThinLine products! I have three pairs. They are soft, flexible, and super grippy either wet or dry! They are a tad thick, but the "Cush Factor" is worth it!
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.