Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Crochet Ear Nets

Item #17004
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears. 

Cotton blend. Choose with or without tassel. One size.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Crochet Ear Nets is rated 4.5059 out of 5 by 85.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! My husband thought our horse Ricky would benefit from ear nets to keep him from tossing his head in annoyance with the flys when we trail ride. These ear nets are effective, and they're a great value for the money. The grey color looks great on our grey gelding.The ears are a little big, but overall I am very happy with the purchase.
    Date published: 2012-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Economical and effective I purchased the inexpensive ear net to try on my OTTB for trail rides. He usually shakes his head pretty badly when we run into flies, but this does the job for keeping the pesky critters out of his ears. The ears are maybe a touch too long, even for his big head, but he doesn't look ridiculous in it, and it's nice enough to use at schooling shows if necessary. Definitely worth a try if you're looking for an inexpensive fix!
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Justice has large ears and this product fit him wonderfully.
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice for the Price This ear net was fairly well made and fit prett well for the price. My mare has really big ears and still had enough room to wiggle them around and be expressive with her ear position.I like the way it looks on her and would wear it to special events without reservation.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Inexpensive Ear Net I bought this last summer for my sensitive OTTB, who gets really stressed about flies on his ears and face. He loves it! This might sound silly, but when I go to put it on, he drops his head and stands completely still for me to put it on (a definite departure from his usual fidgety self). I swear he knows that it keeps the flies off. And it greatly reduces the head-shaking and distraction during our rides. The ear portion is a bit big, but that really isn't a concern for me as a schooling ear net. It's held up well for being so inexpensive, and I will definitely order another when the one I have wears out.
    Date published: 2012-02-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from good value for price Not as nice as the one without fringe and sized bigger. If you need a larger ear net this one is for you.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! I bought this product to use on my horse when I put ear poms in (for use out in the cross country field). It looks great on him & fits well. The only reason I gave the "fit" category 4 stars is because the base of the ear opening could be a little larger. But other than that, an excellent buy!
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits my Driving Pony looking for awhile it's hard to fit a small pony, 11hh, in anything. Bought this thinking I would use it as a template to make my own. Turns out it fit perfect except for the ears that are about three times longer than we need. Easy fix with a sewing machine. Haven't had it long enough to judge duriability but the construction quality is good.
    Date published: 2011-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ear bonnet for the money For 9 bucks this is by far the best cotton ear bonnet I've seen. Fit my 16.2 OTTB fine, with room to spare for horses with "radar" ears. Well made, couldn't ask for anything more!
    Date published: 2011-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great deer fly protection in nw indiana the summer deer fly make riding a challenge - this ear net is awesome - i put it on under the bridle and never have any problems - the horses really appreciate the ear net saving their ears from the deer flies - i rode without it once and my gelding shook his head the whole ride - not alot of fun for either of us - always have it handy now.
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase This ear net fits my warmblood perfectly. I tried another product previously but the ears just weren't long enough - the net didn't sit on his poll. This one fits great and I like the tassels too!
    Date published: 2011-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good quality i was very surprised at what good quality this was and how nicely made. its a tiny bit large for my cob-sized horse's head, but i just bought it for trail riding to keep flys off and to keep his ear poms from being shaken out.
    Date published: 2011-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the Price This ear's on this net are a big large for my horse but I think I can modify them so it will fit better. Otherwise this is a great quality ear net, and It's a really good price!
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This product is great. The ears fit my TB nicely and has a nice long throat latch for comfort, plus looks great!
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Generously Sized! Ear net was better than my expectations for this price range. Soft crochet cotton, with generously sized nylon ears. My OTTB has a long "horse" size head and this net has room to spare in the ears, yet doesn't look overwhelming on his head. Would recommend!!
    Date published: 2011-07-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from They're great! The fit is just right, in fact, they are almost snug. My horses do not have big ears, so on a large horse they might be a a bit snug. They have kept the bugs out of their ears, and our recent trail rides have been much more relaxing. Quality seems good, have only had them a short time, but for the price they look great.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I've used this ear net for 4 years and it is still holding up!! My horse's ears are a little small for it but it gets the job done. I'm going to retire this one and get him a new one eventually though!
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit for my large mare Couldn't ask for a better fit for my mare. She likes to wear her "hat" when we go out! Other reviews made me worried about sizing. But ear length is perfect for my Lippizan/Friesian cross.
    Date published: 2011-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase!! Definite favorite & what a great price! I love that there is a tassel free option at this price point. Very impressed overall with the quality & durability. It is made with a thick weave which makes it feel comparable to some of the $40 options. It fits my warmbloods' ears perfectly & absolutely stays put throughout my entire ride. I can see it being too large in the ears on horses with smaller ears, but if that's the case, any ear net will be too large unless it's custom made. Very pleased with this product, it's great quality & awesome price.
    Date published: 2011-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Quality Although this is pretty good quality for the price, the fit is not too great. The ears are fairly large, Even on a rather large boned TB the ears are big. On my Quarter horse... Lets just say dumbo.
    Date published: 2011-04-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ok Ear net for the price... I needed a new ear net since my last one was falling apart and since this one was cheap, I thought I'd try it. Luckily my horse has big. long ears so that that part fit, but the lower crocheted part rides up her face during our ride. My friend tried it on her horse with slightly smaller ears and it looked ridiculous! For any future ear net purchases, I'm sticking with Lettia or Pessoa.
    Date published: 2011-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality for the Price Smartpak is the best because they carry ear nets cheap enough that I can have one in every color (and I do)! These crochet nets wear extremely well and are a must have for summer bugs, trail rides, or just lookin' cute around the barn. These hold up well to machine washing, and alothough they *eventually* fade (after weekly washings), I have re-dyed them successfully. However, out of vanity, I would buy a Pessoa or Mattes ear net for shows.These nets fit my very average TB gelding's ears well.
    Date published: 2010-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from can't complain! bought these for my goofy gelding because the price was fair and the other reviews seemed to make the 8.95 worth it. a li'l big in the ears but he seems comfortable with the fit. my big concern was how do i wash/dry this?! threw it in the washer w/ my saddle pads and other horsey paraphanalia and then the dryer. (used woolite to wash) and it came out in tact.
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Magic against flies These cotton and blend ear nets are magic in fly season. Our horses relax when we put them on because they give relief no fly spray easily can and they reduce their sensitivity. One formerly head shy horse even lowers his head just for this net! They get fairly wet in sweaty conditions, so be sure to dry them between rides and have one net per horse.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Ear Net I bought one of these for schooling and I really like it. Well made for the price, and the color options are neat.They are big in the ears. My gelding has ears on the bigger side and I am going to tailor these down to fit a little better. I would definitely prefer them to be big over small- I can fix too big for the most part.I'm not sure I would show in one, but they are absolutely perfect for schooling.
    Date published: 2010-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crochet ear net First time I've ever put one on a horse - it was easy and fit well. Besides looking adorable, it really helped to keep the pesky bugs out of her ears. Made our ride much more pleasant for both of us!
    Date published: 2010-06-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not What Was Ordered I thought I was purchasing a chrochet ear net without tassel. However, the item received was not what I ordered, even thought the item number and description on the packaging matched what I purchased. This item had tassels.Rather than return the item, I just removed the tassels with scissors as we did not keep the packing list with the return details.Overall, the quality of this item matches the purchase price. It's not as closely knit as similar items you find in the tack store, so not sure how long this one will last compared to one of a more strong construction.Main thing is it's keeping those pesky early morning gnats out of my poor horse's ears!
    Date published: 2010-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! I was super pleased with this ear net as I wasn't sure what to expect from the low price.It fit my horse quite well, and the quality seems to be there as well. He seemed comfortable in it and didn't object. I would purchase another for schooling, but wouldn't show in one.My gelding does have bigger ears, so it fit well, but horses with small ears will need this tailored to fit.Definitely worth the price for a basic everyday ear net.
    Date published: 2010-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I was pleasantly surprised when this ear net came in the mail It's just as nice as the other more expensive ear nets. I love the option of choosing with or without tassels too! Very nice product, will definitley buy again!
    Date published: 2010-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Product This product is great! It is nice enough for shows or perfect for schooling. I bought the black with tassels and it goes awesome with all my tack. It is a reasonable price and I highly recommend this ear net.
    Date published: 2010-05-28
    • 2015-03-01T07:06CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_75
    • loc_en_US, sid_7004, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.