Product Image

SmartDigest® Ultra

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #16312
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

SmartDigest Ultra is specially designed to help your horse manage digestive stress caused by hay fluctuations, training, travel and more. This innovative formula provides high levels of specialized ingredients to help keep your horse’s digestive tract healthy and balanced. The clinically studied ingredients in SmartDigest Ultra include: prebiotics proven to reduce disruption in the cecum and colon and inhibit the absorption of harmful bacteria in the hindgut; yeast shown to improve fiber digestion and assist the beneficial bacteria of the cecum in adjusting to feed changes; enzymes demonstrated to increase the proper digestion of starch in the foregut. SmartDigest Ultra provides unparalleled GI protection for every horse, from the high level performance horse to the retiree and everything in between. Best of all, horses fed SmartDigest Ultra in SmartPaks may be eligible for up to $7,500 of colic surgery reimbursement through our ColiCare program!

Order SmartDigest Ultra in SmartPaks today, then be sure to submit your horse's ColiCare application!

View Product Label

View our Digestion Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartDigest® Ultra is rated 4.6927 out of 5 by 524.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! You don't necessarily see the difference from the outside, but it's the inside that matters. With ColiCare coverage, how can you go wrong?The only downside is it doesn't stick to her pelleted feed very well, so I have to add a handful of beet pulp to it or wet it with water and shake it up.
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart digest ultra-excellent product I started my donkey on this 2 months ago because of digestive upsets, bouts of mounding stool, and being a pickey eater-this has cured all 3 problems
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought this based off other reviews for my horse who had intermittent cow pies and liquid that ran down his legs when he passed gas. Yuck! It worked for him thankfully. Was dreading going to horse show and having to constantly clean him as he has a white leg.
    Date published: 2014-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this has been working really well since i bought it months ago..
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life Saver! My senior horse, Buck, had three episodes of colic this winter. A friend suggested SmartDigest Ultra so we tried it. I am thrilled to report Buck is doing well and has had further colic since January! Buck will remain on this supplement for the rest of his life as I am convinced this helped stop impactions. Thank you SmartPak.
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from She eats it ! I bought this for my filly who is recovering from ulcers. I initially tried Succeed but she absolutely refused to eat it. She's remained clear of ulcer/digestive symptoms while she has been on this product- even with our extreme cold weather this winter.
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AN ABSOLUTELY AMAZING PRODUCT--- Worth every cent! My hard keeper, high stressed, ulcer prone, show horse will forever have this product in his feed bucket. This product works in the hindgut aiding in the majority of digestion. My guy is a hard keeper, but I instantly notice results when he began this product including: a bigger appetite for his grain and hay, less gas, normal stools and visibly more calm/comfortable in his stall. It appears to be very easy on his stomach and although a pellet form would be a tad more convenient since he leaves half the powder in his bucket, it is gone by the morning. He is a picky eater so I would definitely say it is picky eater approved over a 24 hour time period and I have never had to add water/applesauce or the like in order to get him to eat it. Love love love this product! Thank you Smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Picky Eater Approved My horse would not eat this product. No matter what I did to it he still would not eat it.
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love that it is backed by a guarantee! I really appreciate this product getting backed with a guarantee by smartpak. Not many companies can do that. I've had my gelding on this product and I really have to say I'm much more at ease knowing he's getting the digestive support he needs. I do feed a grass/forage based diet, sweep the stall mats daily, deworm, etc....but you just never know. It's great having piece of mind....My boy eats this up with his smarttendon pellets and feed, no problem. He doesn't get runny stools, always a normal looking mass. can't ask for more than that!
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Calming results! Our trainer at our barn has two horses on this supplement and we have seen positive results. Horses are much calmer and seem happier.
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I purchased this product about 3 months ago I really think it helped both my mares this long winter. They had a lot of stall time with the cold in Wisconsin and I have not had a problem with colic.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely Helps My horse's previous owner started him on SmartDigest when he had a problem with a hay transition. I think it does help to stabilize his sensitive digestion but it's hard to know what would happen if he wasn't on it--but I definitely don't want to risk the experiment of taking him off of it! He seems to gobble it up no problem.
    Date published: 2014-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from From cow pies to clumps in just three days! My older mare has been having soft stools to cow pies for the past 9 months since having to switch to a complete pelleted feed due to her teeth. In just three days after starting Smart Digest Ultra, she had clumps. In just over a month, her poop has apple shapes. This stuff really does help!
    Date published: 2014-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I originally bought this for an injured horse to support his immune system on therecommendation of my vet and ended up putting both my horses on it.
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Doing wounders for my senior mare! My 26 year old Indian Pony Patches, had been having watery stool ever since I had to start wetting her feed because of her teeth. Also I was noticing that in her stool she has lots of undigested bits of hay. I decided to try the Smartpaks on her and they have worked wounderfully! Her stool is now has minimum to absolutely no water in it and she has hardly any bits of hay as well. I have her on the SmartDigest Ultra as well as the SmartGut, and she loves it when they are poured into her feed; she LOVES the smell and knows when she gets them.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from can't tell that it made any difference I got this at the end of December. My horse wouldn't eat it when I gave him a full dose. I ended up only being able to get a half dose down him each day. More than that and he picked through everything and tossed it out of the feed bin. Not good because he also takes required meds every day. Couldn't see that it made any difference at all--but of course, maybe that's because he wasn't eating enough of it.
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from IMPRESSIVE! I just started my horse on this. I'm looking forward to all the benefits of such a great product - improved health, GI protection, improved attitude, and the Coli-Care program.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Picky Pony Approved:-( The product was exactly what my vet wanted for my horse. She was very excited with all the product offered. Unfortunately my picky Haflinger would not eat it, even when it was hidden in apple sauce and hay pellets. I had to go to Smart Combo pellets to get the probiotics, which my picky eater did eat.
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I was just about to give up.... For the last 3 months my gelding has been dealing with loose stool, gas, ulcer symptoms and not wanting to move around very much. His eyes were always dull and he wasn't his 3 year old self. I was always cleaning his hind legs and tail from the extra liquid that would leak out with his bowel movements. I tried probiotics, powerpac, bio sponge, pepto, neigh-lox, ulcergard for a full month, switching feeds, eliminating grain..and the list goes on..Nothing would make this boy comfortable. He would make a "wonking" noise when I would lunge him out from being uncomfortable.He's now on Beet pulp, grassy hay, SmartVite and Smart Digest Ultra. He's only been on it for a week and his poop has already firmed up, gas is now very minimal, and his stomach no longer makes crazy sounds that scare the other horses. I'm super skeptical of supplements in general, but only after 1 week I've noticed a huge difference. Running around, bucking on the lungeline, birght eyed, no streaks down his legs. My horse and I are grateful that Smart Digest came to his rescue. I hope he continues to improve and maintain.
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from smartdigest ultra I have recently begun using the product and have heard good reviews
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pony hates it Got a months worth to help pony with diarrhea and digestion. He wouldn't eat it... Not in a mash or with treats. Bummer
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent product I have been very happy with the results this past mouth while using this. Our 26 yo QH usually has "loose" manure which has become more normal and our 16yo mare has stopped nipping her sides! I plan to continue use but will wait until I have our vet review all their supplements to ensure we don't overdo anything. And they LOVE the taste!Btw- our vet thinks your smart oaks are the best thing going!!
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of mind / Very pleased Great product. Successful with my 24 yr old mare!!
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought this product because my horse had diarrhea for several weeks- problem cleared up very quickly after using. Horse is fine, now, no longer using product- tapered off. Very satisfied w/product and service.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product My chubby TB has turned into a pick eater, anything powder he woud rather not eat! The first day he had SmartDigest ultra supplement he turned away from his grain with his other supplements! It took about a week for him to get used to SmartDigest. It's a great supplement and the colicare pease of mind is wonderful, I just wish it was cheaper!!
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The product works Has solved a long term digestive problem with my horse
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from My horse eats it; hasn't coliced I find it difficult to review this supplement because 1) my horse has only be on this for about 5 weeks and 2) this supplement is in part, meant to prevent something and insofar as that is the goal, my horse has not coliced. However, I don't expect him to colic nor does he have a history of colic but I think there was some SmartPak promotion to use this product and I thought "why not?" My trainer basically disagrees with supplements you feed because she thinks they "urinate most of it out" and that's only if they actually ingest it all, as opposed to letting it drop on the ground as the eat or leaving it in their buckets. My horse will eat nearly anything so he's not a fussy eater and happily eats anything I put in his bucket, including all the supplements I give him.
    Date published: 2014-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes all the difference! I added this to my supper sensitive and ulcer prone Quarter horse's smartpak along with SmartGut. The turn around was incredible! He gained weight on SmartGut, but was still grouchy anytime there was any type of change in his daily routine. So, I thought I would see if this helped. After a week, changes in his routine that he would have normally been grouchy after no longer affected him! I kept him on it for a month and then decided to try to save some pennies by switching him to a double dose of SmartDigest. He was okay for about 2 weeks and then became very grumpy again. I switched him back to the Ultra and my sweet gelding was back in a week! This along with SmartGut will always be in his smartpak!:)
    Date published: 2014-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! I introduced this product slowly to minimize their reluctance of new stuff, I also wet their grain (SafeChoice) to allow this powder to stick to it so they can't leave the powder in the bottom of the bucket. So far, so good. My one horse who I really bought this for no longer has brown liquid manure streaks running down his legs! My other horse, never really had this problem, but I've noticed less gas in both of them, and a more deflated look to their barrels. They also eat it up when mixed into their bran mash. I love that this product takes care of their sensitive digestion system!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works! after trying the kitchen sink on Rx and supplements with my mare that gets gassy (without a common trigger and after many, many diagnostics) I tried this and I am happy to report that she is doing amazing!
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.