Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Shapley's Original M-T-G

Shapley's
- Item #16238

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Original M-T-G has been providing quick and effective relief from numerous skin ailments since 1938! Originally formulated for humans, this safe and easy to use product is the only one needed for relief from a variety of bacterial and fungal skin problems, such as: 

• Rain Rot
• Scratches
• Girth Itch
• Sweet Itch
• Dry Skin
• Tail/Mane

Original M-T-G provides results after just one application! Formulated to eliminate the causative agent creating the skin problem, it conditions the skin and hair around the damaged area, promoting both healthy skin and maximum hair growth. In fact, Original M-T-G has proven to work exceptionally well promoting hair growth. Users report up to 3 inches of new growth on manes and tails in a single month.

Original M-T-G creates a healthy environment for the hair follicle, resulting in maximum growth while keeping the length of the hair shaft soft and pliable for minimum breakage. Original M-T-G is a time-tested, user-supported solution to both skin healing and hair growth in a single bottle. An oil-based product that does not require washing or water for application, it is not only easy to use, but great for cold weather.

Original M-T-G is also safe and effective on dogs and other animals’ skin problems, such as hot spots, itching and dry skin. 32 oz.  

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Shapley's Original M-T-G is rated 4.6296 out of 5 by 108.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for skin conditions! Works great at healing crusty scabs on my haflinger's heels and doesn't need to be applied daily. Also works wonders on the mane and tail when washing is not an option in the winter or year round. Cleans up the funk and detangles thick manes and tails!
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shampoo Very good product, cleans well and leaves horse, mane and tail shining.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for rain rot! My horse had rain rot on her back and M-T-G cleared it right up! It doesn't smell good but it does its job. Just purchase some rubber gloves and wear them when you use the product.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from OVERALL GOOD PRODUCT Nothing really bad to say about this product. the smell is not the best. my mare had a decent tail, but i wanted it to be a WOW tail. The product does work. You just have to watch how much product you add because my mare did have a minor reaction to a large amount of this product. it really dried out her skin around her tail dock area and make her really itchy. Helped her tail get super thick and grow!
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for Hair Re-Growth! Used Shapley's Original MTG behind horse's ears every other day or so where halter was rubbing the hair off and irritating the skin. The bridle had also started rubbing the same place. Starting seeing results within a week and after several weeks almost all the hair has grown back! Strong smell, but a Great product! Make sure and shake well!
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works good, smells AWFUL Well this product works really good as a way to reduce rainrot, fungal infections etc. But it smells awful and is really oily! I also didn't think it helped much with growth on my horses tail. But thats ok. I Other than the fact it smells horrible (like bacon) its a really good product!
    Date published: 2012-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing compares for moisture and growth This truly is a miracle product. It had been recommended to me for awhile as a moisturizer for the mane/tail and i never bothered with it. I hated the way it smelled.That was fine, until my horse started to get a humidity based fungus. I tried a couple different treatments until someone recommended MTG having used it on their horses.After applying it to this pesky fungus it cleared up in a couple days! Since i had a bottle of it left i decided to try it in my horses braids at the roots. I couldn't believe it. This stuff keeps the area moisturized for days. I got three inches of strong hair growth on my thin haired mare in two months.I have tried just about every other brand of detangler/conditioner/moisturizer/anti rub/growth promoting product there is.Nothing works like MTG.
    Date published: 2012-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ignore the smell...its works! I do hate the way it smells but, it will get rid of fungus and all other "crud" that my TB gets during hot & muggy weather.
    Date published: 2012-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For 6 months I have been trying to get rid of a fungus that was on my Thoroughbred's cannons, pasterns, and ears. I tried everything I could think of without any improvement. Last Monday I put MTG on the areas expecting nothing to change and the next time I saw him the fungus was almost completely gone! This is a serious must have for everyone. Can't believe it worked so fast.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love MTG, I always have a bottle in my tack room. I am so glad that Smartpak carries it!
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works but smells This work great on horses that get itchy and rub out their mane/tail. It does have a strong odor & I do use gloves when I apply it. Make sure not to let the horse out in the direct sun after application (I put it on at dinner) because it is oil based & can cause the sun to burn the skin. Work great on sweet itch belly irritation also.
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For horses AND dogs! I only ever used this on my horse for little scratches and such, but the biggest use I found for it was on my dog. In the summer time my dig gets terrible hot sport from her allergies, usually I have to end up clipping the spots to let them dry. I put this on the hot spots and I didn't even have to clip hem anymore. If I catch them early they re gone in a day or two. A wonderful answer to anyone with an animal who gets hot spots.
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yet another product I will never be without No matter what problem you have for skin conditions or healing injuries, this is the go to product for hair regrowth and to get rid of that nasty fungus
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fine, IF your horses isn't sensitive I've used this on my mom's Standardbred gelding with no problems. My TB had a few spots that my vet said might be ringworm, and said to use the MTG on them. OH MY! Within a day of using it my poor boys hair was falling out all around it and it looked like he had chemical burns. I've stopped using this and opted for Blu-Kote- not that I love looking at blue of my chestnut gelding, but it sure beats all of his hair falling off. I really like the Eqyss- MicroTek is a lto safer, and smells better, in my opinion. DON'T use this if you have a horse with sensitive skin, and do your horse (and yourself) a favor and try in a SMALL spot first to make sure they aren't going to have a reaction. I won't use this stuff ever again since I only own TB's, but seems fine for some horses- I just don't like taking my chances!
    Date published: 2011-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Miracles!! This is one of the most miraculous-working products I have ever used! My mare's tail used to be thin as she would sometimes rip it out when doing rollbacks or stoping. MGT has not only made her tail thicker but it is also making it longer as well! It also works wonders on getting rid of any sort of bacteria or fungus. In my opintion, the only downside to this product is the smell, not so pleasant! But hey if it works miracles it is golden in my book! MTG is a must-have for my mare and me. I would recommend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2011-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helpful for dew poisoning I really like using this product to soften up the black scabs my gelding gets on his white legs every spring and summer. I apply heavily and then wait a day, and it's a lot easier to scrub them off with Betadine than it is to just soften them with water alone. The smell is bad and lingers forever, but I bought rubber gloves and that helps :).
    Date published: 2011-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle worker This stuff is awesome. I first heard about it a few years ago when my mare got bad rain rot under her blanket in the winter when it was far too cold to bath her with medicated shampoos. I used this and within days we saw an improvement in her coat. Since then I use it for rain rot and for her dry skin problems on her tail. I have owned my mare for 7 years and she has always had issues with an itchy tail and often scratched it all off in the summer. We tried everything to cure it without having to call a vet, but we were applying stuff every day and it still wasn't working very well. I tried this on her tail one summer and low and behold the itching stopped and her tail began growing back faster and healthier! One of the best things about it is that since it's oily I only have to apply it every 4-5 days! It does smell a bit weird, but I think it smells like a campfire so I don't mind it at all, especially considering how much it helps my horse! Awesome stuff and I highly recommend it to everyone!
    Date published: 2011-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for skin problems If you find irritations on your horses skin this is the product to use!!
    Date published: 2011-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from only this got the hair to grow back I have had this product for the last five years or so. I originally bought it to get my horse's tail to grow back after he rubbed a bald spot. I thought it was adequate but not great and stopped using it.Then, my horse started losing hair on an area of his face that had ulcerated. I tried about three or four products on his face to no avail.....I simply could not get the hair to grow back and thought I'd be stuck with an unsightly large bald area on my horse's handsome face. I was telling someone about the problem I was having and they suggested MTG, a product I still had, but had quit using as I wasn't convinced it had helped with the tail.Well, immediately the hair grew back, it was simply amazing. I now use it for any hair growth dilemma, except the tail! As I write this, I'm wondering it I should give the tail another go, because, as it turned out, my horse had needed his sheath cleaned, and had four beans!The smell is not great, and you have to wash it off, but when nothing else works but this, the smell ceases to be a concern.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! This is the ONLY product that I have ever tried that gets rid of fungus quickly - often overnight! I also use it on my horse's tail when he rubs it. It keeps his tail strong and full. I highly reccommend this product.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from MTG I have used this product for years on my TBs scraggly tails and other hair issues. It does do a great job on nicks and scratches but I'm still waiting for a lush, full tail on either of my horses! It is perhaps their genetics but their tails still leave a lot to be desired.
    Date published: 2011-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent enough... But too early to tell.I am using it to encourage my horse's mane and tails to grow a bit. So far it is too early to tell if it's really working.I can say that the product smells pretty strongly (like bacon) and it's very greasy.
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a Miracle!!! My Percheron rescue is plagued with mud scratches. No matter the weather, wet or dry, hot or cold, she has them. I have tried everything, with little or no result. Until now. The next day after the first application of MTG, I saw scabs separating from her skin. Many came off with a careful brushing. After applying the second day, all of the scabs were loose, and could be brushed away. The irritated areas were looking normal. After a week of daily application, she was clear of scabs and irritation. Now I apply just once a week to keep them at bay. I am so happy to find a product that works. Yes, it is stinky, and it isn't cheap, but this stuff is worth every penny!
    Date published: 2011-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does What It Says! I show Arabians at the National level, and we do not allow any sort of fake hair on our Arabians at shows (tails or mane), but judges like to see an Arabian with a tail flagged and with a good 6 inches - a foot of extra length dragging behind it. Without Shapley's MTG, this would not be possible for many of our horses. With proper use of Guardtex tail tape and MTG, we are able to get our horse's to have luxuriously long and THICK tails. The MTG also seems to help keep the hair slick, so much less is lost in the braiding process done on hunters and showhack horses. I HIGHLY recommend this product, I could not live without it!P.S Everyone complains about the smell, but honestly it isn't that bad at all. It smells like smoked bacon, and while not a traditional smell in the barn - it's really not that bad! Plus it goes away after a few days unless you get really close to the horse's tail.P.S Again. If you want to really increase growth, use MTG and also braid the tail up with Guardtex tail tape. While tail bags work well, Guardtex is much more affective and more comfortable for the horse.
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works My dog had a spot much like a hotspot up on his back. I would just get him to be leaving it alone and BAM he had chewed on it again. I saw that Shapley's MTG could be used on pets so decided to try it. It seems to be working great! He hasn't bothered it now for almost a week. I think I might see some hair growth now too. It does have a smokey/sulphur smell but I kind of like it. Small price to pay for a product that works. I will be trying it on one of my mares as soon as it quits raining/snowing out.
    Date published: 2011-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly it works I bought this stuff for my gelding because his mane was thin & chewed off when he arrived ):I had boarded him for 3.5 months until our barn was finished & his mane grew 3.5 inches during that time! I read that average is .5 inches a month for horses. I applied MTG 1x/week because I read horror stories and my gelding has a beautiful, thick tail I didn't want to ruin, so I did that and after the dead-looking hair grew out I banged his tail and cut off about 1.5 inches of mane and it looks so healthy & I still apply it 1x/week & it's getting thicker!!! The downside is it's greasy for horses who roll every morning/day (I don't mind in winter), &, although it's not really a con, it smells like BBQ LOL! To me that smells pleasant but, I can understand how some people won't like that.
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.