Product Image

U-Gard Pellets

Corta-Flx, Inc.
- Item #15477
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells

The Results Are In! Field Trials Prove U-GARD™ Highly Effective On Gastric Ulcers! Results of a 73-day field trial conducted with thoroughbreds at a race training facility in Southern Illinois showed impressive improvements in horses with a variety of grades of ulceration through treatment with U-GARD™. One horse made a complete recovery, with no evidence of gastric ulcers or lesions, and all made significant improvements. Get U-GARD™ for your horse and make gastric ulcers a thing of the past.View our Ulcer & Gastric Health Supplements Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    U-Gard Pellets is rated 4.7713 out of 5 by 188.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working very well. I`m on my second order of U-Gard pellets. After vet prescribed medication was done, I started my gelding on the U-Gard pellets. He is doing great, has put on weight and grew a good haircoat for winter in north/central Illinois. I am glad I tracked down the ulcer problem, he had lost way too much weight. Plan on keeping him on the U-Gard. My trainer recommended it, and said U-Gard worked better than more expensive pellets. I like the results I have seen.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from U-Gard Works very well on our gelding he is more relaxed and does not bite when you girth him up
    Date published: 2013-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for my horse! My retired thoroughbred was skipping his meals and my vet recommended some type of ulcer guard supplement. He hasn't skipped a single meal since he's been on Smart Pak U-Guard!
    Date published: 2013-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from made a difference It has made him a happier horse. Took him off it for a couple of days and noticed he wasn't as happy. It must make him feel better.
    Date published: 2013-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! My horse has been on it for almost two months now and he has stopped showing many signs of ulcers!
    Date published: 2013-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for prevention My horse turned into a chronic colicker during show season, so upon the advice of a vet we looked into cheaper ulcer medicines. Since that day he has not been off of this supplement. He is not a picky eater but our grain is pelleted so he can't tell the supplement apart anyway. It appears to have helped in keeping his colic at bay as now he only colics once or twice a year instead of once or more every week.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from U-Guard Pellets I recently got an off track thoroughbred. Not straight off the track but from a friend. I was giving him some grain and every night he would colic. My vet didn't know why he was colicing so I found his previous, previous owner she said he has had a past of stomach ulcers which the guy that I bought the horse from didn't tell me. After I treated his ulcers with the paste gastro guard (my veterinary prescribed). I put him on the U-Guard pellets to keep the ulcers away. He LOVES these pellets. He now is gaining weight and feeling a lot better!
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Preventative When we moved into a new facility my horse had dropped a tremendous amount of weight. it made no sense...he was calmer, had more of much better quaity hay and his work load had not changed. I started him on this product on the recommendation of a friend and his weight seemed to stabilize within a week. We are continuing to feed it as he is on Previcox on a daily basis for a chronic back injury. But it is just a preventative now. He is a really picky eater and we had no problems with him eating these pellets.
    Date published: 2013-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from At first my horse (who is a picky eater) would only pick at her food with this supplement in it, but after about 3 or 4 feedings, she got used to it and would eat all of her food with it in it. If your horse doesn't seem to like it at first, don't give up right away. I'm glad a gave her a few chances to eat it because she is more energetic and happier now that her ulcers are healing up
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from U-Gard Pellets I feed these pellets to my show horse because we have seen a difference in his attitude when he isn't getting these. He is a much happier horse and more content when he gets his daily dose of U-Gard
    Date published: 2013-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good short term help I use this product on my Oldenburg gelding that is ulcer prone. I find it to be of great use during show season or stressful times for preventative measures and is MUCH cheaper then a preventative dose of Gastrogard. I have been urged not to use it long term as treatment or prevention as it uses an Aluminum compound which acts as an acid buffer (good) but is not absorbed well and can cause toxicity and calcium loss when used long term.I use Tractgard as an everyday preventative and electrolyte and reach for the U gard only when I feel it's necessary. In my opinion, as with most ulcer products, that it is a bit overpriced but it is easy to administer and palatable for even my picky eater.
    Date published: 2014-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from u Guard This product did not work for my horse, but I've seen it work for others!
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality product but horse refuses it! I have tried every trick imaginable to get my typically non-picky eater to eat this supplement but she hates it and won't eat a single pellet.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I have used U Gard for my barrel racing horses for many years! In my opinion this supplement should be added to all horses feed. The changes in attitude is amazing! My horses look great and perform at their best. I use the pellets as my horses are picky eaters and don't care for the powder.
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from didn't work for me I tried this product but it didn't work for my horse. I think she needs something stronger.
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BUY IT! Have a friend that's been having trouble getting weight on her saddlebred. Tried anything & everything people told her. He just wouldn't put any weight on & wasn't showing much interest in his food. It would take him all day to eat his grain. I was ordering other things & decided to try U-guard at a friends suggestion. She'd had to use something like it for her mare. Gunner loves it. After being on it for 2 weeks. He's not only gained about 50 lbs but he's looking forward to his food. He's nickering for it. He will also finish it before the other horses get done with theirs. Could not believe the difference in just 2 weeks. We can't wait to see what he looks like at the month mark. We would recommend this to anyone that thinks their horse has problems with ulcers. Wonder life saving product. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Post-ulcer supplementation My mare was diagnosed with grade 1 ulcers last fall after having her scoped and decided that after we did a round of GastroGard, we would start her on some sort of gastric supplementation to help keep the ulcers away. UGard was recommended to me by my trainer and also a few other people at my barn whose horses are already on it. She's been on it for a while now and have not noticed any classic signs or symptoms of ulcers since. She has been in heavy trainng for the past few months now and she is 100% fine. Sometimes though I am finding some of these pellets left uneaten at the bottom of her corner feeder.. hmm
    Date published: 2013-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommend! Tried U-Gard for the first time on the recommendation of my instructor, as my 10yr old OTTB gelding was beginning a new training regimen & we wanted him to have a little extra gastric support. Noticed after about three weeks his coat is the shiniest I have seen it in 5 years, and he is mellow and working great! Had no issues with him eating the pellets they were gone the first day. Will be keeping him on this from now on!
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from managing ulcers I was recommended by a vet to try Uguard to see if it would be a good way to manage my mare's ulcers. It seems to make a difference, I have had her on it for 2 months
    Date published: 2013-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works for most horses, but mine refused to eat it I loved the price but unfortunatlly my horse refused to eat this. He's also is the pickest eater that I've ever met. I have a friend who's mare has horrible ulcer symptoms and when she eats this product, she feels better. Oh well I'll keep searching.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Mare I've had a picky TB mare since day one. She was girthy, loosing weight, Cribbing from time to time, and a picky eater. Treated her with Rantidine for a month with some improvement. Started her on U-gard, mixing it with her rice bran and in 3 weeks, she was almost a new horse. She now looks amazing! No more teeth grinding when girthing, haven't seen her crib, and eats all of her food now! Definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product. I have my ottb and 3 year old Hanovarian on this product. My tb shows symptoms of ulcers and has loud gut sounds so I started him on ugard along with dietary changes. He has showed improvement as well as some weight gain. I decided to start my 3 year old on ugard too as he had always been difficult to keep weight on. He looks great this Spring...will definitely keep using this product.
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works!! I really liked the ingredients in this supplement. It doesn't only control the acid and excess gas, but it really helped in the healing process. I kept two of my horses on it for two months, feeding it both a.m. and p.m., and also gave them G.U.T (Uckele) along with it. Today I keep them on the G.U.T alone (safer and more complete for long-term use). It really helps minimize the effects of stress, particularly in my young mare. I highly recommend it if you're experiencing increasing behavioral issues and obvious stomach upset during workouts.
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product My horse scooter is a 9 year old gelding who participates in all around events. Scooter is a cribber, who also has a bad attitude at times. I started using UGuard and have seen awesome results. Scooter is a different horse. His attitude is very pleasant and his cribbing has reduced by half. I will keep Scooter on UGuard for the rest of his life.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy! My 27 y/o Thoroughbred was diagnosed with Kidney failure November 2012. He was not eating at all. Along with some other health issues the vet said he probably has stomach ulcers. We started him on Ranitidine ulcer med (Rx) immediately, and within a day or two he was eating like a piggy horse, after barely eating for several weeks! I was so thrilled! At 30 pills (10 pills 3x a day) though this was costly. I weened my horse down to 20 pills a day, still eating well. I tried 10 pills, but within two days he quit eating again. So I put him back on 20 a day and he was fine. I switched him to U-gard wanting to save money. I am SO HAPPY I DID. He no longer gets ANY Ranitidine, just U-Gard to treat his ulcers and we have had no lapses and he eats great! I am so glad I took the risk of switching! BY THE WAY he is a very picker eater and eats these pellets out of my hand. Don't hesitate, buy now! No precription required!!! :D
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great Good product, inexpensive but works. Great maintenance for a training horse or show horse.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have used u-gard for years on my stallion. I have tried a few other products for ulcers, mainly due to the cost factor, but have yet to find one that works as well for the price. I stopped his using it one time when his stress level dropped, and I regretted it. I prefer pellets because I feel he will actually get the product (I am afraid powders stick to the inside of feed dishes, etc.). He always eats every last drop.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Working well for older horse I tried this on a retired horse that had been on steroids for allergies and losing weight. I wanted to protect his stomach from the excessive steroid use. He has been gaining weight since we started using this. Unsure of the exact correlation, but will keep him on it this spring in case he has to go back on the steroids. Many of my friends use this as well with good results.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.