Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #15272
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and exceedingly durable. 

Favorite Features

  • Soft pigskin palm for grip 
  • Soft pigskin finger rein reinforcements
  • Cool knit crochet back for comfort and style
Imported.

Sizing It Up

To determine your glove size, measure around your hand at the widest part, excluding thumb. The number of inches should equal your glove size.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove is rated 4.4957 out of 5 by 115.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bought for my husband, these are his second pair, very long lasting
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I bought those gloves to replace my old crochet ones. I was a little concerned about the size but they are just perfect, I took one size up since my measurements were in between 2 sizes. They are very comfortable and do not slip out of your hands although there is no closure. I love then!
    Date published: 2014-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great glove! I bought these after my favorite brand stopped making their crocheted gloves. Several of my friends recommended them and the reviews were positive as well. I am very happy with them so far. They do run a bit small at first because the leather has to stretch out. They seem very well made though.
    Date published: 2014-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these gloves! These are the first pair of gloves that I have ever re-purchased (I am on my fourth pair-not because they've worn or torn, but because I have the bad habit of losing one...). They are good-looking, and wear very well. I buy them in 'natural' and they continue to look classic even when they get worn and dirty--I actually prefer them when they look 'broken in'! I love that they don't have Velcro.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Gloves I love these gloves! They're really comfortable and the leather on the palms is very soft, while providing a cool net for the top of the hand. I haven't had them long but so far so good. I'd buy them again.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these!!! I have three pairs of these gloves...love them! So comfortable, but they breathe so your hands don't get super sweaty!
    Date published: 2014-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! I got these gloves last month and have been extremely happy with them. They are super comfortable and fit great!
    Date published: 2014-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great glove, very supple and cool for summer riding
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice, great price My second pair - very handy, and it took years to wear my first pair out :)
    Date published: 2014-07-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not A Fan! Not only were they way too big, they were stiff and bulky! I hate thick and bulky gloves and I definitely disliked these! They were hot and thick. I sent these back to smartpak and exchanged them for the kerrits gloves.
    Date published: 2014-07-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Light weight for summer They are light weight for summer, but not sure if they will hold up for the entire season. They gloves I wanted were not in stock, so I got these. I do like how they stop at the wrist.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable great grip for control.Love these gloves stretch makes them a good fit
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable! Gloves are cool and offer great protection for my hands. I wear them for grooming, lunging and riding.
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great summer gloves! I've had these gloves before and love them for summer riding. They have a great feel on the reins, the leather is soft and has a great feel on your hands.
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Glove I used this glove for my first horse show this year. It was hot outside and the glove was great!
    Date published: 2014-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THESE GLOVES ! I bought these two years ago and have worn them frequently. Not only at the barn for chores and riding but for yard work as well.The gloves are perfectly broken in now, soft, supple and very comfortable....I decided that I can not live without them so have just ordered two more pairs ! I highly recommend these gloves for any time of the year. I have lived in Pennsylvania and Connecticut during the time I have used these gloves. I am size 6 1/2 , order size 6 and they fit fine.
    Date published: 2014-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable summer gloves Ve been using these gloves for years. The leather is soft, comfortable and long lasting. The crochet top keep my hands cool. Overall, the gloves are light weight. They tend to last about a season. Given their low price, this is reasonable.
    Date published: 2014-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I have them in brown and black. They are light weight, durable, and fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as expected I purchased these gloves based mostly on the good reviews as I was needing a summer glove and did not want a velcro closure.  I had SSG crocheted gloves years ago and remembered that they fit well, but sometimes the velcro closure was a pain. Part of the problem with this glove, for me, is that I have slim hands and long fingers, so even though other SSG gloves fit me well in my size (9), this one because it does not have a wrist band and mostly cotton (not as much lycra as other gloves) is too wide and loose across the back of the hand.  Also, because of the cotton it tended to stretch out, so I wore them twice and now they just sit in my tack box.  I will stick with my regular Roeckl gloves year round.I can't say they run big, because it may be my hands, but for me they ran large and felt bulky.
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Fell apart pretty quickly I purchased these and within a few months of very light riding (1-2 times a week) they were falling apart, and I'm notorious for 20 minute hacks. The fit was okay, not great. I guess for the price I can't complain too much, but these were recommended to me by a friend who had hers for years and loved them. Maybe I just got unlucky? I wouldn't buy these again.
    Date published: 2013-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfortable gloves I do love these gloves and have purchased them countless times over the years, but I already noticed a slight tear in the stitching and only have worn 3 or 4 times.
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fit I hate to wear gloves but since I have to, both at practice and at shows these were real nice and comfortable I don't even know they are on.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not recommend these gloves Having only worn SSG Grippers for the past fifteen years, I thought I'd try something new and cooler for summer. After only five rides in these gloves, the seams in the wrists began to rip. With nearly an inch of stitching ripped on each glove, they no longer fit the same and are uncomfortable.SSG Grippers are nearly a third of the price and last atleast a year. These more expensive gloves have hardly lasted a month.
    Date published: 2013-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Summer Schooling Glove I recently got a new horse who is much harder on my hands than my last one. In order to give my Roeckls a break, I bought these and am in LOVE- the crochet back keeps my hands cool and the leather is nice and sturdy. While they aren't as grippy as the Roeckls, they do what they're supposed to at a much lower price. GREAT SCHOOLING GLOVE.
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ONLY warm weather riding glove These are the perfect warm weather riding glove! Airy, comfortable and well made with a classic look!
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves for foxhunting I orginially ordered the wrong size and the first time I exchanged I was sent the wrong color, but after finally receiving the correct size and color I'm satisfied with my purchase. I haven't used them for foxhunting yet, but they fit snuggly and I don't anticipate any issues when using them.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service Had these gloves previously and lost one, so glad to able replace them. Your product and service was excellent.Working with your representative was excellent. Will be ordering from you again.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice summer gloves Love the ventilation in these gloves for summer. Also love the color. Holding up great so far!
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just O.K. I really wanted to like this glove. I've heard great things about SSG, but I was nervous about switching brands because Mountain Horse has been my "go to" for about 10 yrs. But the Mountain Horse gloves finally wore out and SmartPak doesn't carry the crochet gloves in black, so I decided to risk it. They fit pretty well, if not slightly small, but that's not really my main complaint. When I took them off after riding multiple horses at the barn I work at, my hands were dyed black and I had blisters on both of my "ring" fingers where the reinforcement patch was. I figured it would only happen once, but it's happened 3 times so far. I'll be curious to see if it continues as they get broken in. But, aside from those two things, they really are comfortable and they look nice!
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice glove Comfy, good fit. Wish I had gotten the darker color.
    Date published: 2013-05-19
    • 2015-02-28T07:38CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_101
    • loc_en_US, sid_5272, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.