Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #15272

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove has a pigskin palm with finger rein reinforcements and cool crochet back for comfort and style. Natural. Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove is rated 4.4725 out of 5 by 91.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect Summer Schooling Glove I recently got a new horse who is much harder on my hands than my last one. In order to give my Roeckls a break, I bought these and am in LOVE- the crochet back keeps my hands cool and the leather is nice and sturdy. While they aren't as grippy as the Roeckls, they do what they're supposed to at a much lower price. GREAT SCHOOLING GLOVE.
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ONLY warm weather riding glove These are the perfect warm weather riding glove! Airy, comfortable and well made with a classic look!
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves for foxhunting I orginially ordered the wrong size and the first time I exchanged I was sent the wrong color, but after finally receiving the correct size and color I'm satisfied with my purchase. I haven't used them for foxhunting yet, but they fit snuggly and I don't anticipate any issues when using them.
    Date published: 2013-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent service Had these gloves previously and lost one, so glad to able replace them. Your product and service was excellent.Working with your representative was excellent. Will be ordering from you again.
    Date published: 2013-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice summer gloves Love the ventilation in these gloves for summer. Also love the color. Holding up great so far!
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Just O.K. I really wanted to like this glove. I've heard great things about SSG, but I was nervous about switching brands because Mountain Horse has been my "go to" for about 10 yrs. But the Mountain Horse gloves finally wore out and SmartPak doesn't carry the crochet gloves in black, so I decided to risk it. They fit pretty well, if not slightly small, but that's not really my main complaint. When I took them off after riding multiple horses at the barn I work at, my hands were dyed black and I had blisters on both of my "ring" fingers where the reinforcement patch was. I figured it would only happen once, but it's happened 3 times so far. I'll be curious to see if it continues as they get broken in. But, aside from those two things, they really are comfortable and they look nice!
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice glove Comfy, good fit. Wish I had gotten the darker color.
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Gloves for Training I wear these everyday for training. I would definately buy these again.
    Date published: 2013-02-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value! These gloves are great for the price! Awesome schooling gloves. Well constructed and nice quality despite the cheap price. Easy to slip on and off with the horseshoe design.
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally awesome gloves! These gloves are great. They are true to sizing and I love the air-flow through the crochet. They have a good grip and have a mostly classic look that I love!
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I love these gloves. They're especially good for summertime riding because the looseness at the wrist means that you don't get an ugly tan line. I usually just let them get filthy, but occasionally I throw them in the washing machine, which they handle with no problem at all.
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them They are very comfortable, and wear very well. I ride in them 4 days a week, on 2 horses per day, you get more than your money worth.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great warm weather glove This is my second pair of these gloves. They are a good glove for warm weather schooling - the crochet back allows plenty of ventilation to keep your hands from getting too hot, unlike full leather gloves. They don't hold up much more than one season (I ride 5-6 times a week), but aren't prohibitively expensive. Good summer glove for the price. Very comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only gloves I ever school in. I will buy these gloves forever. They are perfect for everyday. And they last a long time. They have the perfect balance of protection and flexibility. Also, they recover like nothing ever happened if they get wet.
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need to get used to them, but good gloves I agree with everyone who advised that these run small. I am typically a size 6 or 6 1/2 glove, but ordered a 7 after reading the reviews, and they're still somewhat tight though I think they'll loosen up with time. The leather palms are pretty stiff and need some breaking in before getting comfortable, but they definitely look durable. There's reinforcement in typical wear areas like between the ring and pinkie finger. They look good and the open weave back is great for a little air flow during the summer. Overall, I'm happy with them.
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Lycrochet Glove I've worn these gloves for years! They are comfortable and break in easily! Now if they could just come up with a way to keep the fingers from shreading!I recently started my 2 horses on Senior Flex, my 25 year old "retired" paint mare still loves to trail ride in the Arizona mountains. She is barefoot and was getting a little "ouchy". Within 2 weeks of starting the product her hesitation is gone! She is enjoying her outings again.The photo of my 8 year old dressage queen says it all! Any discomfort and she wants to back off, with Senior Flex her attitude is changing daily!SmartPak has always provided fabulous products, service and reasonable prices!
    Date published: 2012-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great schooling glove great glove for a reasonable price. when I am riding I can actually feel the air cooling my (sometimes a little sweaty) hands. the deerskin is a good thickness. I dont ride without them. I show in the TredSteo Pro Jumper and love those too!
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent comfortable glove Nice comfortable grippy glove for riding in warmer weather. Runs SMALL, buy at least a size up - I had to return mine for a larger size even when I measured carefully for fit. I don't think they're extremely durable - in 2-3 wearings some of the leather has pulled away from the stitching already.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Couldn't get the right fit! Ordered two different sizes, but they just wouldn't fit.. either too big or too large. Maybe that's what you get with crochet? Who knows... shame though, cause they seemed like they'd be cool to wear in the summer.
    Date published: 2012-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gloves and SmartPaks The products are good, SmartPaks are great but shipping from SmartPak is a huge debacle as I am a rural customer. The USPS has a way to handle packages for every address in this country. UPS is particularly challenged with rural delivery and has finally offered a service to have USPS make final delivery yet you don't use it.
    Date published: 2012-04-06
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.