Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Korsteel Waterford Hunter Dee

Korsteel
- Item #15197
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Korsteel Waterford Hunter Dee is gentle yet rewarding when the horse accepts the bit. 5", 5.5". 17mm thick.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Korsteel Waterford Hunter Dee is rated 4.5909 out of 5 by 22.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Results!! When I ride my horse I have to use a flash because he opens his mouth a lot and loves to pull even if I'm not hanging on his mouth especially when he is crazy and I can't use a flash in hunter/EQ so I would end up taking the flash off and dying, So I would try different bits like the slow twist and corkscrew snaffles and D's but he doesn't like them and even with the flash they didn't help me at all. Then my friend has a waterford 3 ring elevator for schooling and her horse does the same thing, the pulling and she used a flash too but she didn't even have to use the 3 rings so it was just a "snaffle" or use the flash, he loves the "balls", so I thought why not try it! I can't use a elevator of course in hunters/EQ so I got the D ring instead. I didn't use a flash and I couldn't believe the results, I could completely let go of the reins, he wouldn't book it or put his head down he was absolutely perfect!! I can't believe how he behaved. He was like a completely different horse! He looked like he was smiling when I got off I think we both found something we like, Which makes me happy!
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bit to have in the tack box Really good for a horse that is heavy on the forehand but can get behind the vertical in a twist.
    Date published: 2012-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bit to keep on hand This bit is great when your horse tries to really hang on your hands. The d-ring gives it a classic look, but the double jointed mouth is effective without being too harsh. I have used this at shows when my horse tends to get very excited, and this bit helped to keep his focus without causing a fight.
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This bit works very well. My quiet, nine-year-old, warmblood gelding had been pulling or leaning on my hands, especially when he was fresh. I had been using a KK Ultra, which he liked. A slow twist was too much bit. My trainer suggested a Waterford, so I borrowed one to try. He felt amazing! I ordered the bit the same day. He loves the bit and doesn't lean on my hands nearly as much as before. When he does pull, a half halt is enough to get him reaching for the bit instead of leaning on it.
    Date published: 2012-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strong Yet Supple Bit My Warmblood is quite a handful! He is very energetic and wasn't responding to his French linked snaffle. The waterford was perfect! It's strong enough where he listens but gentle enough where he is able to be supple and frame up in a relaxed manner. An amazing bit!
    Date published: 2011-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bit for my Thoroughbred This bit is a lifesaver...A regular D snaffle was fine for flat work but when we would jump, it wasn't strong enough to keep my OTTB from speeding up after fences. The Waterford is strong enough to get my horse to listen but doesn't cause him to put his head in the air to avoid it. I HIGHLY recommend this bit (high quality)...it is a GREAT tool to have in your bit arsenal. As far as size, my horse usually takes a 5 1/4 but I sized up and it fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Purchase! This bit is really well made! The sizing is perfect! I have a Warmblood and it fit him really nicely. He really loves this bit. It is gentle enough where the horse can soften and relax into your hand but firm enough for those horses that are energetic.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from one more bit the horse seems to like it, he remains lite on my daughters hands, it has reduced some of the hanging he seemed to like to do. It has also added some control when he gets fast over fences, that his D bit seemed to lack. so far so good.
    Date published: 2011-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked wonders This bit worked very well for my TB who likes to pull & get heavy. He was very responsive to this bit - it looks harsh, but in the right hands is actually a lot nicer than yanking.Because of the way that this bit drapes over the tongue, I would recommend ordering a size larger than most other bits. (I learned this the hard way).
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality and Value This is a very nice bit, well made, quality construction - very good value for the price.
    Date published: 2010-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for pullers I have a strong willed warmblood mare that likes to get heavy on my hands. She was going in a happy mouth, which worked well last season, but this spring she needed something that would lighten her up and keep me from hanging to get her to slow down. This bit did the trick. She is sensitive, so I can't hang on her mouth for a second with this bit or I get a reaction. If you want to have lighter hands, this bit may work for you.
    Date published: 2010-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as advertised I purchased this bit for my huge canadian gelding that tends to get a bit strong over fences at horse shows. I ride him at home in a KK loose ring with oval link but it's simply not enough at shows. I tried this bit because it is advertised as being good for horses that lean or tend to pull. I didn't find this to be the case. While it provided a bit more control than the KK I wouldn't consider it to be an optimal choice for pullers/leaners. It's quite flexible and functions more on the corners of the mouth than the corners and bars as a regular snaffle would. It's nice and well designed, but didn't work for my purposes.
    Date published: 2009-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Useful Bit It took me a long time to find a bit that worked with my horse’s mouth AND looked attractive in the Equitation ring. My horse has a pretty soft mouth but has a huge stride that can be hard to collect if you don't have enough bit. After quite a bit of trial and error we went with this Korsteel Waterford Hunter Dee on a whim and ended up being quite pleased with it! He stays out in front of my hand, rather than getting balled up behind the bit. If he does get behind my hand, it essentially collapses in his mouth and encourages him to stretch out again. Once he's on the bit, the unique pressure points help keep him attentive to my hand. I don't use this bit all the time, I still school in a loose ring, but I love this bit as an occasional alternative for the show ring. It really helps balance out all my horse's little quirks!
    Date published: 2008-08-11
    • 2015-03-04T07:15CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_21
    • loc_en_US, sid_5197, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.