Product Image

D-Carb Balance

Med-Vet Pharmaceuticals (MVP)
- Item #12475
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 3 SmartPak Wells

D-Carb Balance is a multi-vitamin/mineral supplement formulated for horses predisposed to Insulin Resistance and/or an inability to metabolize high carbohydrate levels. D-Carb Balance is in a palatable pellet form with a rice bran base. Chromium and magnesium may help regulate blood sugar; contains 4 mg of chromium and 5,330 mg of magnesium per 4 oz. serving. Does not contain potassium.

View our Multi-Vitamin Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    D-Carb Balance is rated 4.7368 out of 5 by 57.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Our IR mare is doing great on thid product Our IR mare placed 1st in western pleasure in her first show back, one year after she developed laminits. She became lame last year without a typical lamitis trigger and after testing we found out that she was insulin resistant and her xrays showed rotation of her coffin bones. She is on a low NSC diet, shoeing every 4 weeks, isoxsuprine, biotin, MSN and a magnesium and chromium suppliment. She has been de-rotated and our vet is very pleased with her maintanece. D-carb is the most palatble chromium and magnesium supplement we have found, she loves it and eats every last bit.
    Date published: 2009-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life-saving treatment My 25+ year old mini has been struggling w/laminitis pain for years. Within a few days of starting D-Carb he was almost fully recovered and has been cantering around the pasture. He was diagnosed with insulin resistance years ago but with no successful treatment. We just went from treatment to treatment with no success. This has been a life changing experience for Pork Chop and me. He is happy again and so am I. He is his old self again even being a little stubborn again. He just didn't care for so long because he was in so much pain. It was so sad seeing him in so much pain day after day. God Bless D-Carb. What is really neat is that he has no idea he is taking it. He was very suspicious of medicine in his food and he just thinks it is a additonal treat. Smart Pak even packages it in tiny quantities for Pork Chop at no xtra charge.
    Date published: 2009-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great supplement My friend Pat has been using this product as she was afraid her horse was susceptible to Cushings. She also thought her horse was calmer. When I took a look at the contents I thought it would be a good addition to my stall rested horse as we couldn't feed her too much grain.
    Date published: 2009-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from D-Carb This product was not recommended by my vet - but it works great! Both the vet and the farrier are amazed at the results. This and a grazing muzzle have made a huge difference with her insulin resistance
    Date published: 2009-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! My 14 hand, 10 year old Arabian mare is an extremely easy keeper. Although fed only a grass hay/pasture diet, she had gained so much weight in the last two years that people began to ask me when she was going to foal (she was NOT in foal)! Her weight at this time was between 912 and 925 pounds on the horse weight tape. Along with her weight gain, my mare acted as though she were starving - especially between hay feedings. I began to wonder if my mare had the beginnings of Equine Metabolic Syndrome (EMS) or Insulin Resistance (IR).I did some research and found out that the grass hay in my area is low in magnesium and very low in copper and zinc. I began to search for a vitamin/mineral supplement that was formulated for "easy keeper" horses that were fed no grain and that had enough magnesium, copper and zinc to help balance out my mare's diet. After some internet searching, I came across D-Carb (Balance). Happily, I noticed that D-Carb (Balance) contained the levels of magnesium, copper and zinc that I wanted plus beneficial extras like selenium, iodine, chromium and more.My mare is an extremely picky eater when it comes to supplements. However, because D-Carb (Balance) is pelleted, she readily accepted it and eats it well.I have been feeding D-Carb (Balance) since October 2008 - it is now May 2009. I weighed my mare this morning with the horse weigh tape and she is down to 872 pounds - a loss of 40 to 50 pounds! I have kept her exercise the same so I can attribute the weight loss only to the D-Carb (Balance). In addition, my mare no longer acts as though she is starving. She has more energy and her coat is shining! I believe D-Carb (Balance) helped give my mare the nutrients that her body needed to get her metabolism working properly again.I would HIGHLY recommend this product!
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from D-Carb This product is balancing out my Morgan's metabolism so that he is metabolizing sugars more effectively and not gaining too much weight.
    Date published: 2009-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to feed. I am very happy with this product. I top dress a serving, with the small amount of grain I feed, and my horses eat every bit.
    Date published: 2009-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improvements seen within 2 weeks! We have been using D-Carb Balance for about a month now. We have seen improvement in the line of our horses crest. She doesn't seem to have such a hard cresty neckline as she did before trying the product. This is one of several products our veterinarian recommended but I chose D-Carb because it is specifically designed for horses with insulin resistance.
    Date published: 2009-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever Thanks to D-Carb Balance my pony Chips A Hoy is still walking around. She was foundered so bad but lame only in the winter months. My blacksmith told me to have her tested for Insulin Resistance and sure enough she was. I tried everything including Magnesium Quiessence, they helped at first, but she had it so long before we found out. So I got a smart pack catologe in the mail and They recomended D-CARB BALANCE
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped mare after first day! We had a mare that could hardly walk and after her first day on D Carb she was 90% better!!! the product came just in time, the next day with free shipping even.
    Date published: 2009-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I was using a powdered product for my insulin resistant pony but he only got a handful of low starch grain so the powder was too overpowering. D-Carb Balance is pelleted so it's much easier to use!
    Date published: 2009-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best supplement About two years ago my mare that was only seven years old really started packing on weight. I rode her several times a week on trail, through sand and up hills trying to make her lose some of the weight, she just kept getting fatter. My vet told me that if I didn't get the weight off she would founder or become navicular, so I kept trying to exercise her more with the limited time I had between work and raising a teenager, and caring for my dying husband (cancer). As per the vet's advice I started weighing her meals, first five pounds for a month, then four and finally ended up feeding her only two pounds per meal of timothy hay only. This created a monster! All she would all night long was bang and break gates. I electrified everything. Still no weight loss. One day I went to go riding and give her exercise and she was lame, only on one front foot, so I decided I would take her to the hospital to have a good set x-rays to find out what the "injury" was, well it was every horse owner's worst nightmare, she had navicular! I had tried some of the metabolism products before, but with no results. So here I am starving my horse, punishing her all the time for banging the stall and breaking gates, exercising her properly and feeding supplements that were supposed to help her lose weight. Then I tried one more because if I didn't get the weight off she was dead. D-Carb Balance saved my horse's life. I started her on a loading dose and kept ordering in the SmartPaks just D-Carb Balance and Continuex for worms. Within a month I could see a little difference but not much, but she wasn't lame anymore! I continued to feed D-Carb Balance for the next six months and I could now see a visable differnce, she didn't have fat bulging around her tail and withers, and with special shoes she will be sound for a long time. She has been that one special horse for me and the thought of losing her would just be too much at such a young age. She is nine now and my vet was just out again and gave her a clean bill of health and said that the layer of fat she once had is gone. She still has her cresty neck and will never be greyhound as she put it, but she will give me many more rides out on trail for the years to come. Thank You to D-Carb Balance for putting what was out of balance back into balance-a normal horse who uses her calories properly. She still has to eat only diet hay (timothy) for the rest of life, but she now has a future to look forward with me.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from D-Carb Balance Laminitis treatment My pony is 19 years old. She has had laminitis several times over her life and we could never figure what caused it. After her most recent bou,t her tests showed she has low thyroid. So she is being treated now for that. But upon earlier recommendation by the chiropractor, I started her on a magnesium supplement shortly before the doctor examined her initially; D-Carb Balance is what I chose. When the doctor gave her a recheck a month later, he was amazed at her progress. He said he had never seen a horse recover so quickly from laminitis. I attribute it to the D-carb Balance. The vet agreed this had to be it. I keep her on it all time now along with her thyroid medicine. She still goes strong in the show ring.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Marked Improvement in Insulin Level My 27 y/o Appaloosa had a tremendous improvement in his lab values after being supplemented with D-Carb balance. I feed him according to the guidelines for Insulin Resistance and balance his feed after hay analysis. My DVM is very pleased with the Insulin results of 147. Two years ago, the results were off the charts (6000). With stringent diet control, this product helps keep my horse alive, active, and NO FOUNDER.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from helping my 26 YO My 26 YO Welsh cross gelding has been dealing with founder brought on by Cushings. He's foundered before too. He was showing no improvement and I was beginning to think I'd finally have to put him down. I decided to try adding a vitamin supplement, he didn't like eating his magnesium powder anyway. I found this one, asked my vet, and she said to try it. Well, he's been on it for about 3 weeks now, and while at first he got worse, now he's looking better than he's looked in months! I can see a growth ring on his hoofs now and I think that is from the change in nutrition. That probably hurt growing out but now he feels a lot better and when I hand walk him, he is power walking and dragging me around, when a month ago he could barely walk. He going out again and overall seems a different horse and I think this vitamin has made all the difference. I've had my horse 20 years and now I think I'll have him at least a couple more!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's about time! After having my 7 year old Dutch Warmblood gelding finally be diagnosed with Insulin Resistance (a.k.a. Equine Metabolic Syndrome/Type II Diabetes/Peripheral Cushings) after developing laminitis, I frantically searched for answers to altering his diet. After switching to Timothy hay, eliminating ALL sources of sugar, and finding a low carb feed to replace his grain source I still needed something to balance his current smorgasbord of supplements and finally found D-Carb balance. He has been on it for 3 weeks and I already see a difference in his weight which has been impossible to reduce. I would have given it 5 stars, but since the only thing missing that he needs (according to the vet) is Chromium, I still have to supplement with that. Thanks for creating a supplement for my special needs horse!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.