Product Image

D-Carb Balance

Med-Vet Pharmaceuticals (MVP)
- Item #12475
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 3 SmartPak Wells

D-Carb Balance is a multi-vitamin/mineral supplement formulated for horses predisposed to Insulin Resistance and/or an inability to metabolize high carbohydrate levels. D-Carb Balance is in a palatable pellet form with a rice bran base. Chromium and magnesium may help regulate blood sugar; contains 4 mg of chromium and 5,330 mg of magnesium per 4 oz. serving. Does not contain potassium.

View our Multi-Vitamin Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    D-Carb Balance is rated 4.7368 out of 5 by 57.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horse Stopped Eating It My horse ate it for a few weeks and then stopped and refused his grain. He is a bit of a picky eater, and I've had trouble getting him to eat IR supplements. I would also like to see the chromium at a bit higher level.
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Done amazing things for our mustang that seems to smell food & get fat. She will always be a plump girl but her weight seems to have redistributed and her cresty neck has gone down. She eats this right up. We tried changing her to SmartPaks version & she wouldn't touch it. but of course Smartpak took care of that with their excellent customer service :)
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from D-Carb Balance I have not had my horse on it long enough to give an opinion about it one way or another. Maybe in another month or two.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from your changes I was informed that your products makeup had changed. It smells different looks different and my horse refused to eat it. Hopefully it will work as well as your other product. It took some creative planning to cover it up in his feed. So far it has worked. He does eat it. What changed?
    Date published: 2011-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the trick! My IR/PSSM horse had trouble maintaining his weight on ration balancers (he also gets magnesium, chaste tree berry and vitamin E, along with grass hay and pasture), but with D-Carb Balance (and his other supplements) he dropped the fatty pockets around his tail, withers, and the cresty neck within the first month of being on this supplement. He has a lot more energy too!
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my fat horse!! Brought her back from laminitis, and got the weight off with a restricted diet.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It has worked so far! I have a cresty, hungry, chubby Paso Fino mare who, by appearance alone, is metabolically challenged. I have fed her D-Carb for about 3 years. I supplement it in the summer with chromium powder from my vet and I muzzle her in the spring and when she is out on my good pasture all day. She has not foundered, been in good health, unshod, with shiny coat and a good attitude.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely works My mare has problems with her sugar levels and the magnesium supplement I'd been using for several years suddenly stopped working. She got a cresty neck and started throwing shoes. So, after doing more research thought this product sounded very complete. After nearly a month, I can see a huge change. She is much much more relaxed and her hooves are nice and solid. I am very pleased.
    Date published: 2011-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from D-Carb balance My vet recommended we try this product, he hasn't been on it for long, but he seems to be doing well. He was on Uckele products for his IR and cushings, but this product is just one product with the same ingredients as their two and with vitamins added which he didn't get in those.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very helpfull at keeping the weight off The d carb balance seems to have really helped keep the weight down on my rockymountain/welsh cross that was getting real cresty. She also had deposits of fat above her tail. Since using the dcarb balance she has come down in weight slowly but it appears to be keeping her from gaining it back.
    Date published: 2011-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from D-Carb Balance Ever since I started using this product, Pork Chop has not foundered and has been "healthy as a horse". He is 30 years old and loving every minute of it.
    Date published: 2011-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Multi for Easy Keeper My easy keeping Paso Fino has been on this for 4 years with next to no grain, and he looks great!
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps Paso mare well I don't know if this works, I only know my EASY keeper little Paso Fino mare has not had any trouble with her hooves or anything related to metabolic syndrome. She is round, cresty and hungry and I try to keep her off green grass. She gets no grain, only soaked beet pulp with one alfalfa cube twice a day with her scoop of D-Carb and she a healthy horse.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my horse likes it I ordered this after researching other products and decided on this one as it had added electrolytes and was less expensive then my vets recomendation. He agreed that it was a good value. My horse ate it from the first serving.
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for Easy Keepers! My easy keeping Paso Fino used to have fat pockets on his body. With D-carb balance, he is trim and fit, and still gets his vitamins!
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from D-Carb Balance I have a 9 year old mare that is truly a best friend. She can look at food and gain weight. I have tried every product made to help her and D-Carb Balance has made the most difference for her without putting her in "race" mode. She looks better and feels better with this product.Thank you!Judy
    Date published: 2010-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It seems to actually work! My easy keeper nearly foundered on spring grass this year. We started her on D-Carb this past month and she is now back to her old self!
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Melting Away! After years of keeping my lamnitic mare on dry lot with no results, I began D-Carb by recomendation from my veterinarian. Within a month, most of her fatty deposits in her lower abdomen and neck began to disappear. Now, she is almost a completely different horse, more energy and love for her work. My mare is also loving her new grazing privilege with a muzzle. I never thought one supplement would solve her problem!
    Date published: 2010-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great help for foundered ponies! D-Carb has helped a particularly hard chronic-founder case recover quicker. This is great for horses with metabolic problems. The cresty necks, lumpy withers and rumps, despite strict diets; those horses do great on this! It really helps minimize dietary distress. I'm a barefoot trimmer in the midwest and have recommended this to several people with chronic horses.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Glutton pony wouldn't eat it I started our new pony on this product after checking all the reviews for metabolic supplements and reading about the condition. He ate it for about a month somewhat reluctantly, then stopped eating it at all. This pony is a serious glutton and got no grain. This is all he had in his feed tub each day but he would not eat it.While he would eat it we saw good improvement in reducing the fatty deposits all along his neck and tailhead, so it was disappointing that he stopped eating it. I switched him to SmartControl IR pellets, and he likes those!
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I was very surprised the quality and effectiveness of this supplement for the price. My horse has had laminitis for three years now and on this supplement she is not as sore, able to eat small amounts of grass, and the weight I thought she was destined to keep is slowly falling off! I am so happy to have found this supplement as it is not available in my area.
    Date published: 2010-04-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from D-Carb Balance try out I have a mini horse that has Laminitis and this product was recommended by a friend and and ad in Equus. I have had a tough time getting Cricket to eat the pellets, it has very odd smell. I left the bucket open to help remove some of the smell, but it still has a odd smell. I have been mixing with some regular grain and she will eat it, not happily!! I think it is helping her feet, she doesn't seem as sore, but it's too early to really tell. Ask me again in another 6 weeks.!! I will say your customer service is excellant as is your shipping!! Thanks for asking for my input!!
    Date published: 2010-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Lo Carb Product My Welsh pony is so prone to founder that I am forced to feed him only hay and water. He needed a diet supplement and D-Carb Balance is perfect for him. The high ratings given this product by other consumers is the reason I tried it in the first place. So far so good!
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fast results! After only 4 feedings of D-Carb my 12 y/o mare was prancing around the pasture like I haven't seen since I got her. I am very happy with these results. I love seeing my horses at their best and finding a product that is as high quality as D-Carb is a prayer answered. Thank You SmartPak! My order was processed and delivered within a week.
    Date published: 2009-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Only Product That Really Worked! Until I started using D-Carb Balance, I thought my mare was destined for a life of bouts of laminitis, dry lot pastures, and a cresty neck. My experience with most products is that they don't live up to their advertisement. I was so happy to see visible proof that D-Carb Balance is very effective and helped my mare return to excellent health. No more laminitis, no more cresty neck--yes, it's gone! She's able to graze on fall and winter grass without problem, but I will still keep her off rich spring and summer pastures as a preventative. Thanks so much for a great product!
    Date published: 2009-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! My mare shows signs of Metabolic Syndrome, though has tested negative for both IR and Cushings. We've decided to treat her as though she's got MS as a prevention. She can be a little picky, but readily eats her D-Carb Balance. Her fur is much healthier and she has more energy. So far, so good!
    Date published: 2009-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Finally a supplement my picky pony will eat! She has only been on it a short time, but I have seen a definite improvement.
    Date published: 2009-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-08-20
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.