Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Rambo Plus Flymask

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20224

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

All the extras you're looking for in a flymask! The Rambo Plus Flymask protects your horse flies and sun exposure in comfort, with a redesigned eye area that includes eye guards to prevent rubbing and maintain the mask's shape (so your horse won't get poked in the eye by his own mask). Detachable nose cover to help prevent sunburn on light colored noses and protect that sensitive area from bugs. Ears are larger than many other masks and made of soft material.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Rambo Plus Flymask is rated 4.2444 out of 5 by 45.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from HUGE and already falling apart This mask is a great idea, but I would probably not buy it again. It was gigantic. My 15.3 Appaloosa gelding has always worn normal or horse size items. But this was HUGE on him, about two sizes too big. I have managed to customize the closures, and it now stays on. If that was the only problem, then I could justify ordering it again, and would compensate for the oversize. BUT, the fleece edging has already come off the nose and the plastic mesh is now unraveling, within a week. I will continue to let him wear it, until it fall apart, but I am disappointed in Rambo. The description needs a very obvious warning about how large this runs, to warn customers before ordering. On the plus, there is no worry of this mask rubbing the eyes. If these issues could be addressed, this product would be a home run. But until then, I will stick with Cashel.
    Date published: 2013-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo plus flymask Looks strange but it gives the horses a lot of eye clearance! They are very comfortable!
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mask! The mask is great but it does run pretty large. My guy (ottb) will sometimes wear cob size but I found the cob to be huge on him. I ended up with a pony sized mask in the end. It seems to be well made and stays on. I really like this mask and I think my horse does too.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worry Free, Comfortable Flymask! I worry about flymasks being too close to my horses' eyes, especially since all it takes to push the material inward is the horse rubbing the mask on something. This mask is PERFECT and completely solves this issue. You have to get over the weird bubble look, but it holds the mask a couple inches ( atleast ) from the horses' eyes and the firm(ish) band that holds it out will prevent the mask material from ever folding back anywhere even close to your horses' eyes. SO much more comfortable for the horses. There is no forelock hole, but with the way this fits up and away from the head,the forelock does not get rubbed and fits easily under it and is not rubbed ( or even touching the mask), which I like better anyways since other masks seem to rub the forelocks. The ear holes are more than long enough, which is awesome since my mares have small-average length ears and I find them filling up the entire ear cover in a Cashel mask... can't imagine a horse with an average-large ear would do in those. Ear holes also have slightly bigger mesh holes for the material, which I appreciate since it's so humid here and it keeps the airflow moving. It has two fasteners/ ways of securing the mask under the jaw/head and I've yet to have one of the horses get it off ( which happens a lot with other masks!), which tells me it's probably pretty comfortable and doesn't get itchy/hot. I can't speak for the durability since I've only used it for a month, but so far so good... no fraying or signs of wear and tear that I would even consider normal. Buy a size smaller than you need! They run huge! My mare with an average "horse" sized head is wearing the cob snugged as tight as it will go ( which makes it fit just perfectly)Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2013-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs very Large Bought this for 3 of my horses and only one of them fit. My 16.2 Trakehner mare has a very average 16.2 head to match, and the horse size was pretty massive on her. Cob size fit perfectly. Pony mask ran just as large. Good product though the mask can still collapse on the eyes.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bee Keeper Look but great! My horse has not attempted to rub this off his head yet so I know it is comfortable for him. No rubbing on the eyes at all and doesn't pull across his poll. A yearling in the pasture tore the lower elastic closure strap, I have no idea how but I replaced it with one from an old fly mask. Cody's head is huge, he's an Andalusian/QH cross and the horse size fits him. Normally he is WB or Large.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs large, buying more COB size We've been using these flymasks daily for approaching 2 months now. Durability is great. However, I am now buying COB sized flymasks for my 17+ hand warmblood and my 17 hand TB. Both have been able to pull the masks off because they are "fine" through the throatlatch area where one of the two velcro attachnments are placed. There is little play, so as I said before, getting the size right is important.Worth every penny.Suggestion: Would like to see color coded trim to match sizing. After a few weeks, it is impossible to read the label which reads "Horse", "Cob", or "Pony".
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mask for horses with long lashes I have had a tough time finding a fly mask that would fit over my horses' large eyes and long lashes. This mask allows for generous amount of space in front of the horse's eyes so it is not squashed against their face.My horse eagerly wears this one and he looks cute in it too! The ears are very long however, but doesn't seem to be a problem.Cannot comment on quality and durability yet since have only used it for a week so far.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs very large Believe all the reviews on sizing. You will be as much as two sizes below the regular fly mask. I got horse size at first and it looked like a small VW. Suggest measure for sizing. Great return policy, thank goodness.It is an excellent mask with extra clearance around the eyes that does not collapse. Masks always bother my horse due to her long eyelashes, but this one she rates A+.
    Date published: 2013-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it Looks like a bee keeper but works GREAT!!! Took my horse a day or two to figure out the black seam but it's the best fly mask I've bought!
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ummmm... Can't really comment. I took the mask out of box and put it back in to return to Smartpak. Just to funky.
    Date published: 2013-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It runs way big! I had to get one of these for my 16.2 TB cause I was worried he would rub his eyes with a regular fly mask. First I ordered horse size, then returned for cob.... well he got both of those off in the pasture. So my TB wears a pony size! Luckily it hasn't come off and looks like a proper fit. Love it but do be aware of the sizing!
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bad Flymask Due to insect bites, I purchased a Flybuster sheet from Rambo the other year. I love it! When I saw this flymask, I couldn't wait to get it. The price at $31.95, however, was horrendous. My horse cannot tolerate anything touching her ears (thoroughbred), so when I read that this flymask had large ear holes, I was ecstactic. Unfortunately, neither the description nor the picture showed that it had a mesh that goes around each ear. What a mess. There was no way she would wear it and it was way too big for a "horse" size.
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hard to fit horses My yearling has very wide-set eyes and this is the only fly sheet that doesn't rub against her eyes. Has held up well in turnout and her fairly long ears fit with plenty of room to spare.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Mask Yet I'm a big fan of Farnam SuperMask II with ears and have a large stockpile of them ready for use. However, after trying this funky cleverly designed fly mask, I am a convert! WOW!I've now purchased all three sizes... we've got lots of different sized horses.... and have found they seem accurately sized. Our biggest warmbloods with the widest faces are wearing horse size, the smaller warmblood is wearing the cob size, and our little quarter horse wears the pony size just fine. There is only a little play in terms of adjustment, so getting the size right is important.Durable!? Absolutely.Yes, they seem a bit pricey, but I think they are worth it.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great in theory, hard to handle As with all my previous Horseware Ireland purchases, I love the the durability of the materials and the excellent craftsmanship that went into this fly mask. It is certain to hold up well.The design is such that the mask creates a tent around the eyes. I thought it would be great to avoid rubbing -- and it definitely didn't rub -- but the hoop doesn't fold up well and the hold mask is relatively stiff making it difficult to store in the barn. It's very large! It comes with its own bag for storage, but I need something that I can just throw on a small stall door hook that won't get in the way.In all -- a great concept, but not for my setup.
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a mask that stays off their eyes. This is a really well made product. I love the stiffener which shapes the mask around the horse's head so there is no worries that the mask is collapsing on the eye or the eye lashes. The mask has ears and comes with detachable nose guard. I've only had it for a month so it's hard to say how durable it is, however, it appears very well made. It runs large. REALLY large. My mare wears a full horse size in Cashel masks. I got her this one in cob size based upon the reviews. I imagine that as with their turnouts, Rambo gears this product at the WB population hence its size. Ears are massive, too!Overall, I'm very happy with this purchase. No longer worried about the mask retaining the shape to avoid eye contact. This will be my go to mask from now on.
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Flymask My horse suffered a severe eye infection that resulted in some vision loss and I was told he will always be at risk to pick this up again. I needed a good fly mask that he can wear for turn-out year-round to protect the eye. What I really like about this Rambo Flymask is that it has a stiff band that keeps the mask well away from his eyes (makes him look like a bee keeper). The Velcro latch under the chin is great and despite rolling and some clever attempts at getting it off, he has not succeeded. I have not had it for very long but it looks like it will hold up well. I plan on getting a spare and one for my other horse as well.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought this one twice Nice mask...it survives months of halter tag. The only down fall is that my horses forelock gets very tangled during a day in the mask. Otherwise great purchase. I have bought this mask for two summer seasons.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable Rambo fly mask stays off my horses face. He needs UV protection year round and keeps this fly mask on. Only drawback, had to cut the ears off...it stays on better with the ears cut off. Referred it to some other people and now have ordered 4 masks for all my horses..
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Fly Mask I've Purchased I've purchased several different fly masks and this one is absolutely the best.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Mask Horse is content wearing it. Fits and looks very comfortable and keeps the fly out.
    Date published: 2012-09-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not practical The mask is runs extremely large. It spooked my mare at first glance. She hated the size of it and kept trying to remove it. Great concept but needs some adjustments to be more practical.
    Date published: 2012-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly mask ever!! I have gone through 4 crusader fly masks in two summers and tried several other brands on my horse but nothing fit decent enough to keep. My horse ripped the 4 crusader masks to shreds and literally never kept them on for more than 24 hours. He had 3 masks in rotation at all times.This Rambo mask is seriously the best mask to happen to a horse with a hard to fit head out 24/7 with a herd of horses that play rough. It fits wonderfully and fits snug under his jaw and comes up further towards his throat latch than other masks. My horse has a bit of a roman nose and usually horse size masks are too small but warmblood sizes are too big. He wears a cob size in this mask so they definitely run very big. The horse size was giant on him. He hasn't lost this mask in the field yet. Going from losing it daily to not once yet is a big deal!I just am so happy to have found a mask that stays on and hasn't gotten a single tear in it yet!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from A bit strange The photos don't really do it justice. The horse ends up looking a bit like a beekeeper from outer space. Imagine putting the hoop part of a hoop skirt into a fly mask, and you get the idea of what it's like. The wire part is supposed to keep the mesh from being squished around the eyes, but it's rather weird. Plus it's impossible to hang on a hook- falls off due to the wire part.On the plus side: it's every bit as durable as you'd expect from Rambo. I appreciated that there were 2 different closures under the chin. If one is broken, it could still stay in place.However, my horse hated it. He took it off every single day in turnout. Even when it was put on under his halter (although it fits better over the halter due to the wire). He would take it off, no rips or tears, no closures undone. He'd just remove it every day. I think a few times an insect got inside the spacious interior & drove him nuts.It does run a bit bigger than the Cashel fly mask.
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Plus Flymask I have replaced fly masks over and over for 5 years to find one that doesn't press against my horse's eyes. He manages to take off, hide, tear up, kick out of his pasture, etc. any fly mask that I use but also hates flies.This fly mask is perfect, it keeps room around his eyes and he has kept it on. I bought 2, one as a backup, but will order more so we'll always have it. It doesn't interfere with the ability to put his halter on over it, as some other reviews mention. It's the best thing I've found. I love the ability to take the nose piece off to wash it. My horse has a white snip down his nose and onto his lip so it's important I keep it from getting sunburned. This is the best fly mask, I wish I had it years ago. I'll never use anything else. My horse is a quarter horse and used a normal horse size.Thank you Rambo! All my horse's blankets Rambo blankets due to their durability so it's not surprise this fly mask is perfect!
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Problem Solved Very happy with this product. My horse is extremely attractive to those nasty horse flies. She lives outside with her peeps :) so she is vulnerable with the standard fly mask. The Rambo is the best one for her because the nose piece is not extremely long which she objected to on some of the other brands. Thank you SmartPak
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Peace of Mind I have a near-phobia about fly masks because I worry that if the horse rubs her head the mask could collapse against the eye and cause an ulcer. Probably not really a rational fear, I know, but I'm always the last boarder to throw masks on and I check under them obsessively. On the other hand, I believe in full field turnout, and in the mid-Atlantic that means defending my horses against hordes of biting insects. Both my girls have hard-to-fit noggins - cob tends to be too tight in the jowl and horse too big in the muzzle and too long in general. I bought them both cob in this mask and so far so good after about 10 days (24/7 turnout). Each got her mask off once in the beginning - the one because hubby had it WAY too loose. Moreover, in my opinion, though, they are not in a super-playful herd. The masks seem as sturdily constructed as any Rambo product; they seem on track to last at least 2 seasons - likely more unless we get a very playful addition to our herd. The down side is it is very hard to get a halter over this mask. Also, my girls have normal-to-petite ears and they pretty much fill the ears of the mask.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Flymask Purchase Ever The main reason I bought this flymask and separated itself from other products, is that the ears are in lines and not small holes. My horse is allergic to bugs especially with his ears, so when I saw this didn't have small openings for bugs to get in, I wanted it. And so far, no bleeding ears and no tears from bugs. Love it!Also, the unique design of bees keeper's mask intrigued me and allowed for a new frontier in the materials and design of flymasks. I won't ever switch!
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Mine Is On It's Way Back! This mask reminds me of a bee keeper's hat. My filly looked like she was headed for outer space. I could deal with the strange appearance, but my filly hated this mask. She managed to remove it without it becoming unfastened. I do not recommend this mask.
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.