Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Rambo Plus Flymask

Horseware Ireland
- Item #20224
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

All the extras you're looking for in a flymask!

The Rambo Plus Flymask protects your horse flies and sun exposure in comfort.

Favorite Features

  • Redesigned eye area that includes eye guards to prevent rubbing and maintain the mask's shape (so your horse won't get poked in the eye by his own mask).
  • Detachable nose cover to help prevent sunburn on light colored noses and protect that sensitive area from bugs.
  • Ears are larger than many other masks and made of soft material. 
Sizing It Up

Circumference at rear adjustable closure: Horse (38"), Cob (36"), Pony (34"), Sm. Pony (32").
Circumference at nose adjustable closure: Horse (28"), Cob (26"), Pony (24"), Sm. Pony (22").

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo Plus Flymask is rated 4.1719 out of 5 by 64.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from A little too weird I did not keep the fly mask. It is well made, and I imagine it works well, but it was an unusual style and shape so I sent it back. Really just a personal choice.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs to be more durable I purchased this mask a year ago. now into the second season the bottom strap has torn away. It is stitched into a softer section of the material. The overall fit runs large. The construction is very good. They have incorporated a middle ribbing that keeps the mask well away from the face. The low score I gave is for the durability of the straps.
    Date published: 2014-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Protects eyes and keeps bugs out! I bought this fly mask for 2 reasons: 1 is that my horse had a trauma to his left eye (prior to me adopting him from a rescue) and he is blind in that eye so I wanted to make sure the fly mask would not cave in on his eyes, and 2 is that I wanted a durable mask with ears and nose extension to protect against debris and bugs the size of small birds (yep, Minnesota)!I am very pleased with this mask. My horse wears it comfortably for tunrout all day (8-10 hours), and it has been very durable. The 2 velcro straps are very strong, and the hard plastic brow band does a nice job of keeping the mask off my horse's eyes. Size runs very big - my average sized Morgan needed a Pony size - I was a tad skeptical, but it fits perfectly. I am confident this mask will last all season for us. An excellent value and product.
    Date published: 2014-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Well Made It will stay on with the fastening system it has. The first time I couldn't figure out how to get it off, LOL! It is strong and well made. It looks like the fly mask from outerspace. The only thing I think is it is a little harder for the horse to see through. It should last many fly seasons.
    Date published: 2014-06-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great idea, quality issues. I bought this fly mask at the end of last season and just took it out of the package a few weeks ago. It looks weird, but does seem to do the trick - keeps the flies off and the mask off of my horses eyes. Unfortunately, one of the straps already tore off. I am generally impressed with the quality of Rambo products - they're worth the extra money - but a little disappointed this already broke. I can still use it because the main strap is fine, but will see if it holds up through the summer.
    Date published: 2014-06-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Roomy This is a nice flymask. Very roomy and does not come in contact with eyes. As pictured, there's definitely room for a halter to be worn underneath. I like the removable nose attachment. Great quality. I gave it 4 stars based on its size. My horse has a regular sized head--so I'm reluctant to go down to the pony size.
    Date published: 2014-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this mask! Best fly mask I've ever used on my horse. They do run large though. I have a small thoroughbred and found even the cob was a bit too big and went with the pony size. He used to end up losing all his other masks but this one stays on very well. My horse does roll a lot and scratch his face and lose the other ones but Rambo Plus stays on very well. I love that the mask keeps it's shape and off his eyes! The mask is going into it's second season and still looks great.
    Date published: 2014-05-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from The horse bee keeper mask Thats what I am calling this fly mask. As it is so big! Was way to big for my 14.2 quarter horse and he was not thrilled with it. My thoroughbred kept flaring his lips. It was clear they did not have the level of comfort with traditional masks. Good concept needs work. Smartpak took them back. I really wanted these to work.
    Date published: 2014-05-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird Way too big.. I don't think even if it fit my horses would keep this on.. Super bulky all the way around .
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Lasting I have one of these that is now entering its third summer of use. Yes, it's worn looking, but nothing is ripped and it's fully functional. As others have mentioned it does run large. I originally ordered the cob for my large pony but it was far too big. My oversized head QH wears it.
    Date published: 2014-04-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great in Theory But just couldn't fit it to my big girl. After reading other reviews, I tried the cob size first on my 16.2 4 yo WB mare who usually wears oversize. It just didn't go far enough down her nose and looked super weird. So I exchanged for a Horse size, which looked to fit her much better. It's slightly like a beekeeper hat. But she has big eye bones, which usually get rubbed by regular fly masks, so I was eager to try this one. Unfortunately, while the Horse size fit her length-wise, it's too wide. I came back to the barn the day after first leaving it on her and there it was on the ground. She has never taken off her other fly masks and I'm not dealing with that for a $30+ pricetag. Too bad. I did like that I could see her face through it. I'll be returning. I tried.
    Date published: 2013-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Plus Flymask When I first opened the package, I thought the flymask was HUGE! And well, it is. It's like a little tent for your horse's head. Though my horse looks like a beekeeper, I bet he is much more comfortable in this mask than any other. Dirt on the mask will not touch him, it won't bother his eyes, and it is well made (like any other Rambo product). The ears are just right; not too big, not too small. There are two Velcro strips to keep the mask in place. It easily fits over the halter if you need to leave it on. Great product overall.
    Date published: 2013-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money This mask has held up remarkably well considering my mare can destroy a fly mask in a matter of hours. I have tried just about every mask that is sold and spend about $100.00 per season on masks for her. Typically, she rips the eyeballs out after a mere few hours. She has been wearing this mask for about a month now, and while there are a few strings hanging, the eyeballs are still intact. The ears are flimsy and ridiculously long, and she did rip one of the ears off. Also, the velcro around the jaw area doesn't stay closed. But hey, she still has it on and that is what is important to me!
    Date published: 2013-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ingenious design I have an Appy mare who has to wear a flymask 24/7 for sun protection. The design of this mask works great at keeping the mesh away from her eyes. It fits securely and has yet to get pulled off. I put it on in April and it's still going strong. The only wear area is the trim that covers the plastic stay, but it doesn't seem to be affecting it's usefulness.Fitwise - It runs big! My mare has a big head. For reference, the horse size Cashel and Farnam masks are too small. The XL sizes in both are a smidge to big. In this mask she wears a Cob. The horse size could be snugged up to fit, but then I found that the plastic stay was right in her line of vision. Also, the ears are ridiculously long. Like mule ear length long.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flymask This is a unique design flymask, that actually seems to be gentler on the horses eye area. I have had three other brands and this one by far is the nicest. It seems to run a little large though - normally my warmblood couldn't wear a standard horse size and it fits her perfect. My other two horses have average size heads and I purchased cob size for them and they fit fine.
    Date published: 2013-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New style flymask Love this newly designed fly mask and so does my fussy mare!
    Date published: 2013-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a mask that works I have a TB with a very narrow muzzle. Most fly masks let flies crawl under and make her insane. This mask, with it's separate muzzle adjustment is just the ticket. She did prefer not to have the nose extension and it was nice to be able to remove it.Do yourself a favor and actually MEASURE your horse before buying this mask.The biggest drawback is it is not as easy to store. You can't just hang it on a hook like most masks. It does come with a storage bag that I have hanging from her hook, but you still have to fold it and place it inside. Minor issue, but with limited space, an important one.
    Date published: 2013-07-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from HUGE and already falling apart This mask is a great idea, but I would probably not buy it again. It was gigantic. My 15.3 Appaloosa gelding has always worn normal or horse size items. But this was HUGE on him, about two sizes too big. I have managed to customize the closures, and it now stays on. If that was the only problem, then I could justify ordering it again, and would compensate for the oversize. BUT, the fleece edging has already come off the nose and the plastic mesh is now unraveling, within a week. I will continue to let him wear it, until it fall apart, but I am disappointed in Rambo. The description needs a very obvious warning about how large this runs, to warn customers before ordering. On the plus, there is no worry of this mask rubbing the eyes. If these issues could be addressed, this product would be a home run. But until then, I will stick with Cashel.
    Date published: 2013-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo plus flymask Looks strange but it gives the horses a lot of eye clearance! They are very comfortable!
    Date published: 2013-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Mask! The mask is great but it does run pretty large. My guy (ottb) will sometimes wear cob size but I found the cob to be huge on him. I ended up with a pony sized mask in the end. It seems to be well made and stays on. I really like this mask and I think my horse does too.
    Date published: 2013-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worry Free, Comfortable Flymask! I worry about flymasks being too close to my horses' eyes, especially since all it takes to push the material inward is the horse rubbing the mask on something. This mask is PERFECT and completely solves this issue. You have to get over the weird bubble look, but it holds the mask a couple inches ( atleast ) from the horses' eyes and the firm(ish) band that holds it out will prevent the mask material from ever folding back anywhere even close to your horses' eyes. SO much more comfortable for the horses. There is no forelock hole, but with the way this fits up and away from the head,the forelock does not get rubbed and fits easily under it and is not rubbed ( or even touching the mask), which I like better anyways since other masks seem to rub the forelocks. The ear holes are more than long enough, which is awesome since my mares have small-average length ears and I find them filling up the entire ear cover in a Cashel mask... can't imagine a horse with an average-large ear would do in those. Ear holes also have slightly bigger mesh holes for the material, which I appreciate since it's so humid here and it keeps the airflow moving. It has two fasteners/ ways of securing the mask under the jaw/head and I've yet to have one of the horses get it off ( which happens a lot with other masks!), which tells me it's probably pretty comfortable and doesn't get itchy/hot. I can't speak for the durability since I've only used it for a month, but so far so good... no fraying or signs of wear and tear that I would even consider normal. Buy a size smaller than you need! They run huge! My mare with an average "horse" sized head is wearing the cob snugged as tight as it will go ( which makes it fit just perfectly)Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs very Large Bought this for 3 of my horses and only one of them fit. My 16.2 Trakehner mare has a very average 16.2 head to match, and the horse size was pretty massive on her. Cob size fit perfectly. Pony mask ran just as large. Good product though the mask can still collapse on the eyes.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bee Keeper Look but great! My horse has not attempted to rub this off his head yet so I know it is comfortable for him. No rubbing on the eyes at all and doesn't pull across his poll. A yearling in the pasture tore the lower elastic closure strap, I have no idea how but I replaced it with one from an old fly mask. Cody's head is huge, he's an Andalusian/QH cross and the horse size fits him. Normally he is WB or Large.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs large, buying more COB size We've been using these flymasks daily for approaching 2 months now. Durability is great. However, I am now buying COB sized flymasks for my 17+ hand warmblood and my 17 hand TB. Both have been able to pull the masks off because they are "fine" through the throatlatch area where one of the two velcro attachnments are placed. There is little play, so as I said before, getting the size right is important.Worth every penny.Suggestion: Would like to see color coded trim to match sizing. After a few weeks, it is impossible to read the label which reads "Horse", "Cob", or "Pony".
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mask for horses with long lashes I have had a tough time finding a fly mask that would fit over my horses' large eyes and long lashes. This mask allows for generous amount of space in front of the horse's eyes so it is not squashed against their face.My horse eagerly wears this one and he looks cute in it too! The ears are very long however, but doesn't seem to be a problem.Cannot comment on quality and durability yet since have only used it for a week so far.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Runs very large Believe all the reviews on sizing. You will be as much as two sizes below the regular fly mask. I got horse size at first and it looked like a small VW. Suggest measure for sizing. Great return policy, thank goodness.It is an excellent mask with extra clearance around the eyes that does not collapse. Masks always bother my horse due to her long eyelashes, but this one she rates A+.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it Looks like a bee keeper but works GREAT!!! Took my horse a day or two to figure out the black seam but it's the best fly mask I've bought!
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ummmm... Can't really comment. I took the mask out of box and put it back in to return to Smartpak. Just to funky.
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It runs way big! I had to get one of these for my 16.2 TB cause I was worried he would rub his eyes with a regular fly mask. First I ordered horse size, then returned for cob.... well he got both of those off in the pasture. So my TB wears a pony size! Luckily it hasn't come off and looks like a proper fit. Love it but do be aware of the sizing!
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bad Flymask Due to insect bites, I purchased a Flybuster sheet from Rambo the other year. I love it! When I saw this flymask, I couldn't wait to get it. The price at $31.95, however, was horrendous. My horse cannot tolerate anything touching her ears (thoroughbred), so when I read that this flymask had large ear holes, I was ecstactic. Unfortunately, neither the description nor the picture showed that it had a mesh that goes around each ear. What a mess. There was no way she would wear it and it was way too big for a "horse" size.
    Date published: 2013-05-27
    • 2015-03-01T08:23CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_62
    • loc_en_US, sid_10224, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.