Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Heated Flatback Bucket

Item #12005
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

With a capacity of 5 gallons (20 quarts), the Heated Flatback Bucket is great for horses and large dogs!

Favorite Features

  • Built-in thermostat and will keep water ice-free during below zero conditions
  • Heater is completely hidden within the walls of the plastic bucket
  • "Flat back" allows it to be conveniently hung in a stall
  • Unique storage area for the 60" cord at the bottom of the bucket which enables the safe use of the bucket all year round. 

Sizing It Up

5 gallons (20 quarts)

You Might Like
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Heated Flatback Bucket is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 45.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect bucket for winter I bought theses buckets last year and loved them. Not only do I know my horses have access to water all night, but I don't have to chisel ice blocks!
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job well, needs a longer cord. This is a durable, well designed bucket that seems safe and works well. But the cord is too short. My horse definitely shows a preference for drinking water out of this bucket when the temps drop. Putting my own hand in this heated bucket, the water is a comfortable cool temperature, while the water feels like ice when I put my hand in the regular non-heated bucket next to it in her stall. Great purchase. Glad I spent the money on it this year.
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Large and sturdy Not yet cold enough to use heated buckets but purchased two because last winter caught me unprepared and they were sold out. Bigger than expected. One arrived with a small clip on the bottom broken off which holds the cord cover in place. Nothing a piece of duct tape won't fix but may exchange it. Otherwise happy with product.
    Date published: 2014-10-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, bad packaging All 4 buckets arrive in 1 box. Which would have been fine if there was material to separate them! It took 2 grown men about an hour to pry them all apart. Amazingly, all still worked when we tested them. But they are a little beat up now.
    Date published: 2014-10-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Heated Water Bucket After unpacking the bucket, I discovered a hole in the bottom. Send photos to SmartPak and they kindly replaced it, without asking me to return the damaged item. Great customer service!
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more frozen water buckets Wish I had come across this a couple years ago. So grateful for not having to deal with frozen water buckets in addition to all other issues the colder weather brings.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A must for the winter! Bought this bucket right before the really cold weather hit and so glad I did. My mare doesn't drink as much when it is so cold and I'm always concerned about colic. This bucket is a bit larger than I expected but it seems to have a thermostatthat seems to maintain a constant temperature. The only problem was I was told it had a six foot long cord and it's really only about four feet. I had to use and extention cold which I don't like in a barn.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Product Warm food in the winter for the horses. I make up the beet pulp, put it in the heated bucket to sit and serve the horses two warm meals during the winter months. Love not having to carry the buckets up from the house.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Frozen Water Buckets I live in the mountains at close to 7,000 feet in elevation and the temperature drops overnight into the teens on a regular basis. My mini's stall is on the north side of the barn and her water bucket kept freezing during the winter. I purchased the heated flatback bucket to try and it arrived the day before we had three nights in a row with the temperature below zero. The bucket did its job and I never have to worry about her not drinking enough water due to it being too cold.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ready for winter! Have not used yet, but will be ready when weather changes. Horses will drink more water. Well made.
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great winter bucket! Got this heated bucket this winter and it is perfect. I love it, the barn workers love it, and most importantly, Oliver loves having nice fresh temperate water!
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from OK product The bucket is a nice size. My only concern is that it is the only heated bucket in the barn that does not have a ground. I probably would not have bought the bucket if I had known the cord was not grounded.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from multiple tack room uses luke warm water in tack room for cleaning tack and warming bit without overheating in cold weather.
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bucket! It worked great when I tried it out and many of my friends have the same one and used it last winter and said it was awesome
    Date published: 2011-12-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from EXPENSIVE This bucket is wonderful but so are the others on the internet for $29.95. Same bucket, just blue instead of green. BIG price difference. I would recommend Jeffers Equine for the better price.
    Date published: 2011-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good bucket for the cold I have been buying all the heated buckets I can get to try good ones for the winter. I really like this one. The cord is in a holder under the bucket. Nice and neat and so big and heavy duty.
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back Saver I got this bucket when we had a week of freezing temperatures in Texas. It is large and keep the water from freezing. I recommend this to anyone.
    Date published: 2011-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from no more frozen water keeps water from freezing during the winter- our horses drink readily from them
    Date published: 2011-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed Actually using this as a doggie water bucket in their fenced yard. This is kind of expensive, especially since I'd love to have two or three, but it sure does the trick. Was 15 degrees this past week, and water stayed watery!The bottom of the bucket is a beeotch to get off the first time reveal the cord, but since I don't see doing that very often, I won't complain too much.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed! Must have for cold weather. Easy to empty and refill and the water temperature is perfect.
    Date published: 2011-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Bucket This is a great winter bucket. Due to the design with the pouring lip, my horse does not crib on them. What a great feature! If you have this problem, you know how annoying it is. Since not only do they destroy buckets, make obsessive wind-suck noises, but they also spill water which then creates ice in the stalls!!!
    Date published: 2010-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy Great solution for keeping water from freezing in the stall area.
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My best friend in the winter! I love my heated water bucket! My friend recommended it to me, so I bought one: It keeps the water comfortably warm to drink, and it never overheats! I will never be caught in the winter without one of these again. My horse drinks SO much more water in the winter with this bucket, which is very important! The only downside is that the buckets grow algae pretty quckly, so they need to be scrubbed every couple of days, which is a minor nuisance! :)
    Date published: 2010-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more frozen water! I love this! It doesnt overheat, so I am not afraid of my horse being shocked. He auctally drinks the water out of it! And it makes morning chores so much easier now that I dont have to smash ice out of buckets!
    Date published: 2010-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly as advertised Love this bucket. There are lots of heated buckets out there, but this is the only one I found with a place to hide the cord, which is safer and makes the bucket easy to use all year round.I've only had it for a month, but we've been having some unusually cold weather here in North Texas and this bucket has helped keep my 28 yr old horse with easy access to non-frozen water. Critical for an older guy.
    Date published: 2010-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good I've only had this bucket for a few months and so far I am very pleased with this purchase. I like the sturdy quality of the bucket, the cord is long enough, and it works well keeping the water at a temperature that my horse likes.
    Date published: 2010-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Worth the Price! I also resisted heated buckets, but my husband bought one for each of our horses' stalls as a "gift" to me. He often thinks outside the box, so he decided to fill the heated bucket with a couple inches of water and set a regular bucket inside the heated bucket. It's brilliant! Not only does it keep the water inside the regular bucket from freezing, it made it SO easy to remove the regular bucket for dumping, refilling, and cleaning. I won't go through another Michigan winter without these!
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bucket Great buckets works really well in extreamly cold weather Horse drinks water right up.
    Date published: 2009-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more frozen buckets...EVER I resisted using heated buckets for years since I was worried about the possible fire hazard. But when I found myself going to the barn 4-5 times a day this winter to break ice in my horse's buckets, I decided it was time to give these heated buckets a try. I am SO glad I did. They keep the water warm no matter the temperature (it has been sub-zero and the buckets did not freeze), but they do not make the water so hot the horses won't drink it. They also have a safety shut off so they don't overheat. Definitely a great purchase that makes life a LOT easier!
    Date published: 2009-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm We have several boarders in our barn that use heated buckets and this particular bucket is the best of them all. The buckets work as they should, the handles are sturdy (some brands have a different type of attachment that can break off), and the fact that the cord can be stored in the base is genius! We can use them year round without worrying about the cord. We have also found that the storage compartment allows us to customize the length of the cord based on how much distance is between the bucket and the outlet. For buckets close to an outlet (or extension cord) we can tuck the extra length of the buckets cord in the base, no more extra cord for the horse to reach! Great.
    Date published: 2009-02-19
    • 2015-03-03T07:28CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_41
    • loc_en_US, sid_2005, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.