Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Tredstep Pro G2 Half Chap

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #20376

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Tredstep Pro G2 Half Chap is "The Choice of Professionals.”  Tredstep’s Pro G-2 offers sleek styling with classic elegance. The combination of supple calf skin and their exclusive stretch leather ensures a soft contoured fit while maintaining full flexibility and comfort. A truly smart look with great performance in or out of the ring.

Tredstep’s exclusive stretch leather rear panels each side of a full length back zip with zip keeper. YKK zippers and snaps. Premium full grain leather lining, swagger tab and flex gusset over instep.

Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Tredstep Pro G2 Half Chap is rated 3.8387 out of 5 by 31.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Investment I bought these half chaps because I was concerned about trashing my good field boots. However, I need something that mimics my good boots when I take lessons, so that the feel is consistent. These are excellent quality, and feel just like a full boot. They appear to be durable, and I look forward to many years with this product. I would recommend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Nice Semi Custom Half Chaps Got these for my 11 year old. Treadstep offered the only option in her measurements (tall with very thin calf). It is a quality product. They look really sharp with her black paddock boots. There was a small break in period where she was wearing them without zipping up to the top. Beware, the leather scratches easily. I still like the leather of my Ariat Covington's better. Overall, we are very happy with our purchase. Picture soon to come.
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from took a chance and I'm glad i did I wrote a review on these the other week where i was unsure of them (been an ariat girl for YEARS). but after riding in them a few times i deiced i liked them. the only real issue i have with them is the elastic that goes under the boot is a bit big witch makes the ankle a little "loose" however i found that my spur strap helps to keep it from being too bad and i do plan on taking them to a cobbler to have the elastic shortened. I do really like the look of them and I also like that they have a similar feel to tall boots while in the saddle. they are by far the best fitting chaps i have been able to find with out going custom. I'm a 13" calf 16" hight and i find these are pretty true to size. I just might have been converted from ariat ;)
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these chaps I found these chaps fit perfectly (I measured 13 1/2" on my calf and I rounded up to 14" and a 16 1/2" on the height and I, again, rounded up to a 17") and they look really great. I haven't had them long so I can't attest to their durability but the leather is high quality and I anticipate them wearing well in the future. I had no issues breaking them in. They look great on the leg and are not bulky around the ankle like many chaps. I would recommend these to anyone looking for an attractive half chap that fits well.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I REALLLLY wanted to like these i did...but... I Just got these as a Birthday gift and I was so excited about them. They look great and I love all the sizes they come in (makes it much easier to find a pair to fit me). But the ankle area is almost what id call baggy/wide and the elastic that goes under the foot is too long witch makes the chap "balloon" out around my boot when i walk or push my heel down (in riding position). Also they are very stiff. I really was hoping these would work because as the temperature gets warmer this spring I'm getting tired of wearing my winter riding boots every day (my old chaps are broken)...back to the drawing board i guess... :(
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Half Chap These half chaps are great so far. I have only had them for about 3 weeks but they have a nice look to them and didn't take much to break in. The only negative about them in my opinion is the small zipper and zipper pull, although larger zipper would detract from the sleek look of the chap.
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely half chaps! Tried these vs. the TS Deluxe ones (which I had for the past 5 or so years). Both are very nice. These were a bit more aerodynamic (as hubby put it) and really offer a more tidy look. Also, I am able to put my spurs on over them without having to adjust the straps too much. Can't speak to durability yet as I've just had them a week or so.I will say, if you get these half chaps -- use some sticky spray the first few times you ride in them! I did not and fell right off when my 4 yo mare spooked and dropped her shoulder. I usually stay glued on when she does that, but these just weren't quite as grippy right out of the box as the Deluxe ones are (or as my 5 yo Deluxe ones are).
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst treadstep product I have ever seen Noticed immediately that the leather was cheap and not the normal Treadstep quality that I have become used to over the last 15 years. I have exclusively worn Treadstep half chaps and found them to be a good value product so ordering another pair was a no brainer. Wrong. The sizing ran large around the ankle and they were stiff as boards. I then compared the old Treadsteps (same product) to the new ones side by side and found them wanting in many respects including inferior stiching, but most glaringly the poor quality of leather that was used for the new pair. I highly doubt they are produced in Ireland anymore despite the labeling and am dissapointed to be let down after depending on Treadstep to deliver a quality product after all these years.
    Date published: 2013-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice I was a bit weary when I bought these, because I had a pair of (cheap) Tredstep half chaps that fell apart within months and made me nervous about the brand, and previous reviews said they ran small. First off, I measured my leg, and when I got these, they fit perfectly. I ride every day, and these have held up fantastically. A side note: the ribbed leather on the back has been worn smooth, so it looks like the back on the Tredstep Donatello Field boots, but this has not affected their use in any way. These help me keep me leg on, and they look great doing it.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very dissapointed I was really hoping for a top quality half chap that I could show in now and then. This was not it. It looked really sloppy and the leather felt cheap.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loyal tredstep customer I am a loyal tredstep customer and finally had to buy a new pair of half chaps after mine were shredded from use. The tredstep chaps that zip up the back seemed to have mixed reviews but these chaps are so easy to zip after you get used to it and require no break in/stretch out time. They fit slightly big if you expect to have super tight half chaps that stretch over time. These fit perfectly right out of the box. They are so gorgeous with my tredstep paddock boots that I almost feel guilty wearing them every day. Everybody at my barn says they look like nice quality tall boots when I ride. Could not be happier with the price, quality and they seem to be made just as well as the tredstep deluxe that I always buy. Very happy with these!!!
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best half chaps I've purchased Worth every penny! Fits great, super comfortable, nice supple leather and they look fabulous.
    Date published: 2012-11-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Quality In just 3 rides, these chaps fell apart: 1) the top emblem along the spanish topline came off 2) the stitching on the inner calf started coming undone 3) the color wore off in the inner leg...also they don't conform to the leg, very boxy feeling and the leather is stiff and poor quality even after multiple oilings. I'm usually not one to give bad reviews but wow, these chaps are awful. I heard very good things about tredstep boots but these chaps are not their best product.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good with a Couple of Exceptions It's a good product. The size runs small, so after you measure your calf, add an inch. The other thing is that the hardware, snaps, are really hard to do and undo. Also, I hate the ribbed leather, which does nothing but collect and hold dirt. It's a good quality of leather and lasts a long time, and Treadstep is the only chap maker I've found that offers a real variety of sizes. I just purchased a new pair of Tredsteps with no ribbed leather and a good snap, and I'm sure I'll like these much better.
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Perfect!! I cannot say how much I LOVE these half chaps! I am extreamly tall (I have a 36" inseam) and so it's almost impossible for me to find boots or half chaps that aren't custom that will even come close to fitting me. When I read that these are too tall for a lot of people, I knew they were for me. They fit PERFECTLY!! And I can't tell you how often I have been complimented on them. I'm also a trainer and do nothing but work and ride and so far they have held up without any trouble. They've broken in to fit like a glove around my calf (my amazing fiance stretched them a little when I first got them with coke bottles!) and they don't restrict me in the least when I ride.
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had these for 2 weeks- am obsessed! I ordered these half chaps about 2 weeks ago to replace the pair of tall boots I usually ride in to school. I prefer tall boots but didn't want to pay the tall boot price (college student) but these are as close as you can get. They look so classy on and fit well. The back provides a good bit of stretch and it broke in really quickly. They seem very hardy, though its probably too soon to say for sure. Highly recommend so far, though!
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent purchase! I bought these half chaps to replace my custom chaps when they broke. Love the sizing options for my hard to fit legs, plus the chaps are very well made and look fantastic on. If you're in between sizes, size down-they do stretch. Took me a few days to get them on without a struggle but now they fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Purchase I ordered a 1/2" size smaller than i measured although I believe it says order up. I would order a little tighter than you want because in a week of riding a few a day they have stretched out to fit my calf nicely.I have paired them with the Ariat boots which have too high of a heal for the elastic. Im sure with Treadstep boots they would fit better. They just look a little short.All and all great chaps for the price!
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome half chaps Purchased these to replace my old suede half chaps and as a stop-gap until I get a pair of tall boots. The fit is wonderful (surprisingly hard to find half chaps that fit guys well) and the look is streamlined and sharp. I expect to use these for a long time.
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Half-Chaps After the Deluxe half chap button tore, I was advised by a representative to try these. So far I have been very happy. They are very stiff and slippery on my saddle as they have not fully broken in yet (~3 weeks of use), but they are of very high quality and once they have broken in I think those two issues will resolve. The fits is really good too, true to size.
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tall Boot Look in a Half Chap This is my second pair and I love them! It feels like they have improved the fit and leather even more than my first pair and the break in is non-existent. Out of the box and rode in them the same day. I love that they give a tall boot look, but with the comfort of a half chap. Get tons of compliments on them too. I have found they run true to size and the stretch panel in the back does have great give so keep that in mind.
    Date published: 2012-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicest half chap on the market This is my second pair of Treadstep half chaps. They fit great and are tall enough for my long leg. Love that they are tapered at the ankle and have a high topline. If your calf measurement is between sizes I would recommend going with the smaller size....the stretch panels give a bit after riding and break in.
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous look for 1/2 chap! These look amazing partnered up with my Giotto paddock boots by Tredstep! Size was very true to my measurement in calf, my first order was too tall in height (I was in between and should have ordered down not up), but you know that's not a prob w/ Smartpak. Hope they wear as well as they look and as well as the paddock boots have!!
    Date published: 2012-04-12
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.