Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SSG Silk Lined Soft Touch

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #17558
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SSG Silk Lined Soft Touch glove is the most comfortable lined glove you will try.  No bulk, extra comfort. Silk - natures best natural insulator! Hook and loop wrist closure for a secure fit.  Machine washable.

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Silk Lined Soft Touch is rated 4.3043 out of 5 by 23.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disapointing Love the SSG Digital Gloves and bought these because they seem similar. While I like the outer shell, the lining is weird. Good for about one ride. If your hands get even the slightest bit sweaty, they will feel cold the rest of the day. Lining also tends to get pulled out when taking gloves off, so it's a struggle to put them back on.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely Durable and Good Looking I've been using these gloves for a while now, and these are some of the best gloves I've ever used. They've held up so well through all the riding that I've done and they look so stylish-- I use them even when I'm showing in the summer. The silk feels very luxurious. I haven't experienced and problems with these gloves.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for cold but not frigid weather These are really comfortable and not at all bulky, and do provide extra warmth when compared to regular summer weight gloves, without loosing feel or dexterity. They will be fine for riding in the 40's to upper 30's. But I rode in them in the 20's last weekend and my fingers were cold when I was tacking up and doing barn chores. Didn't feel so cold while riding, since both my horse and I were quite active. So bottom line is: I doubt these will be warm enough for use in super cold climates. Cannot comment on durability yet, only in use for 1 week. Did not experience the problem others mentioned about lining bulking up; it stayed in place, didn't even notice it was there.
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable The silk lining makes these gloves extremely comfortable!!! The lining helps prevent sweating, while also providing some extra warmth. I ordered the size suggested by my hand measurement and at first they seemed a bit on the small side. However, after wearing once or twice, they fit perfectly!
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I ordered a pair of these for myself for Winter riding; however, within days my daughter claimed them as her Winter riding gloves. Never mind that she had her own gloves but a different brand, which she said did not keep her hands as warm as these gloves. I gave in and let her keep the first pair I ordered and ordered another pair for me. Now we both have warm hands with a pair of gloves that are thin enough to tack up in.
    Date published: 2013-02-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from hard gloves to get on It is almost impossible to get the gloves on because of the lining. I have stopped wearing them because they are such a pain to get on and off!!!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! I bought my first pair of these gloves over 5 years ago. They are without a doubt the best winter gloves I've ever owned. They are very warm, yet my hands do not sweat in them. They are very durable. Even though I have worn these gloves for roughly 5 months for each of five years, they have not worn through any seams or have any tears in them. I bought a second pair recently thinking my first pair might wear out this year but that has not been the case. I'm still wearing the old pair daily and have tucked my new pair away for maybe.... next year? I hightly recommend these gloves.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm! These gloves are warm and flexible! What more could you want in the winter??
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed Lining sticks to hand when damp from sweat then extremely hard to get back without bunching up. I ended up returning because of this. May be OK to wear on only really cold days where your hands do not have a chance to get warm enough to sweat.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No bulk! I got these gloves for Christmas and so far I like them. I am super picky about gloves, and can't stand winter gloves that are so bulky you can't feel the reins or do tasks that require dexterity (like adjusting bridle parts or wrapping legs). These gloves are not bulky at all, and while they may not be as warm as a result, they are a really good compromise since they provide excellent feel on the reins. The material for the body of the glove is a little plasticy for my taste, but for the price I can't complain. The silk lining does bunch and shift around sometimes, but not so bad that it's terribly annoying. As for the other reviewer that complained how they are short on the wrists, I personally only wear this kind of glove, so they are perfect for my preferences. I can't speak to the durability since I've only had them for a short time, but I have had SSG gloves in the past, and they last well for the price point, so I expect these to perform the same. I would recommend these gloves for someone that wants warmth without sacrificing feel, and doesn't want to spend $50 on a pair of gloves.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from almost like not having clothes on I really like these gloves although I found them a little short at the wrist. They are almost like not having clothes on, I could work so well with them, even dialing the little number pads on my cell. Although my hands didn't get "cold" in the mid 30 degree temperature we had in the morning recently, I could still feel the "coolness" of the air so I don't think they would keep hands warm for a long period, but I haven't had the chance to test that theory.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like Roeckl's but better I have these and winter Roeckls and I like these better. The fingers are longer and they are much cheaper!
    Date published: 2010-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm, yet flexible I work with horses, but ride only seldom. I wanted a glove that would keep my hands warm in winter, yet still allow complete movement (i.e. write medications on a clipboard). I am actually willing to sacrifice a little bit of warmth in order to not have to take my gloves on and off every five minutes.After some guidance from a smart and friendly SmartPak rep, I chose the Silk Lined SofTouch gloves. They provide a skin-tight fit that I can indeed work a pencil in, yet provide a good grip for pitchforks and the like. The silk provides a nice layer of warmth, although they probably are not as warm as some of the bulkier gloves out there (read my earlier statement, though). The fact that they are also machine washable is a huge bonus.I have not owned these gloves long enough to make an objective comment on durability yet, and I do wish they didn't cost so much, but they met my main two objectives nicely and I would recommend them to a friend.
    Date published: 2009-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super soft! These are really comfortable gloves - they are so thin that you can really feel the reins, but the lining does help to keep you warmer. Not for the bitter cold days, but for the cooler fall and spring mornings they are perfect. Plus they just feel so soft! I've been using mine for driving as well - I may wear them out, but the aren't so expensive that I can't replace them!
    Date published: 2009-10-15
    • 2015-03-06T07:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_22
    • loc_en_US, sid_7558, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.