Product Image
Additional Views

Pure Lysine

Vita-Flex Nutrition
- Item #11711
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Lysine is the protein component most often lacking in horse’s diets. Pure Lysine in its most pure and economical form.

Learn More about Pure Lysine

View our Muscle Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Pure Lysine is rated 4.5488 out of 5 by 82.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not on for too long I mainly bought this because I was trying to put weight and muscle on my 3 year old appaloosa who has such a hard time with muscle and weight. I only used this for a month so I cant accurately judge the product. Dusty, my horse, ate it right up every time so I had no problems there. Maybe if I were on it longer I would have seen results, but because I switched products I cant say.
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy Lysine, was the rest of the treatment suggested after my young horse was diagnosed with herpes.He was very touchy and hated to be groomed and so far has been great.It has been a month and so far he has stayed very even.
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good! Wanted to add muscle to my geldings topline but didnt have time to do daily strenghtening workouts- hes been off for 4 years so used this to boost him back into shape!So far so good & I even put myOther gelding on it now!!!
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lysine helpful in horses with viral/herpes infections; also give small amount to cats with sniffles
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Winderful product but I've been a good customer for years, and I see several people on a regular basis to whom I have recommended Lysine 4-pound buckets which were $24.95 for a long time. We all meet on fridays often. But I will be recommending the exact same lysine in 4-pound buckets from either of two sources--shipped cheaply--I now pay $21.85. If your price comes down, I will recommend you again, otherwise, I will share my good news of 4-pound buckets for $21.85 with its inexpensive shipping. rohansel, Pennsburg, Pa
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great for the top line I wanted to add topline on my 12 yr oldgelding. I did some research and decided totry it and the results were great! Very costEffective!!!
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lysine great supplement for aging muscles I have a 30 year old Pinto gelding. When I bought him a couple of years ago, he had no muscle behind his shoulders and a pointed butt, no muscles there either. I read that the coastal bermuda in our area is very low in lysine which is needed to help maintain muscle mass in horses. So I started him on the lysine and a smartpak joint supplement. He is a beautiful 30 years young. I still ride him, and he loves to be first when going on trail rides. He still has the spunk of a 3 year old. Sometimes when I let him out to run in the arena on his own, he will actually buck and run! I love to see him this heathy and happy. We also had a Strangles breakout at the place were I board. Lysine helps with viruses, I think. Rio did not get the Strangles. He stayed perfectly healthy through the whole process. Thank you so much!
    Date published: 2012-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not impressed Was recomended to me by a trainer. Very dissapointed. See no benefits at all
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't Work I used this product for 2 months and didn't see a difference, so I upped the dose for 3 more months and still didn't see a difference.
    Date published: 2012-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tried the pricier stuff...this works better! I have a halter bred gelding that just wasn't filling out like I wanted him to. I wasn't looking for that "halter stallion" look, but I wanted him to look like the stocky Quarter horse that he was. I have been using it for about 5 months and I can see a difference. ( I could see a difference after 2 months) He is more filled out on his top line, his hip, neck and shoulder! He looks natural and healthy! He is nicely muscled! I tried the more expensive stuff, but this just works BETTER! He places well in gelding halter classes locally!
    Date published: 2012-06-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work My gelding does seem to be gaining lean muscle very well (but not the bulk I was hoping for-and that he is bred for) He eats it just fine. Its definitely a good value!
    Date published: 2012-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Natural Way To Fill Out!! I noticed results around the second week. My 7 year old show gelding was really filling out over his withers extending into his back, I was getting shape over the top line and even getting more grooves down his rear quarter. I love this supplement. He doesn't act hot or wound up, just is putting on shape in the right places, from food he's already eating. love this supplement, he will never be without it, from this point on.
    Date published: 2012-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% pure lysine Living in a lysine deficient area I find this to be very inexpensive and very palatable for my horses. Also seems to be a calming supplement,
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ahh if only I really wanted my mare to eat this -- she was going into heavy work for the first time and I wanted to have all the amino acids covered, but she refused to eat it. She'd pick her pan up and dump all the grain out :( and when I mixed applesauce in with all of it she outright refused it.Alas, on to the next challenge!
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Improves Hoof Health My Appy/Draft cross (@13 yrs.) has been barefoot w/ a natural trim since I've owned him (2 yrs.+) and has done well. We participate in a variety of activities. However, he suffers a laminitic type reaction to vaccinations w/ accompanying tenderness and loss of concavity. The 2nd time this happened, my trimmer suggested supplementing with l-lysine (along w/ milk thistle for detox) and he recovered much faster. His overall hoof (incl. frog) quality is better also. I check his feet daily & rasp him weekly between trims, so I am very aware of any changes to his feet. He also seems to be feeling and moving better in general. I have also seen similar improvement in 2 other horses on the farm who were much worse off. All 3 are easy keepers and so far this has proved to be a simple and economical way to supply them with a vital nutrient w/o compromising their health in other ways.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money! I have a 3 1/2 year old 16.1hh Hackney Horse filly, who while I was recovering from an injury left unridden and lost her muscle mass. She has been doing drastic growth spurts and so without being ridden became rather straggly. I wanted to find something that would encourage the muscle w/o it being unnatural. I already knew she was healthy, however I also knew that her body was expending most of its energy on her bones and tendons. I tried this product because it was relatively inexpensive and would appear to be something that could help a youngster. Within a week of her going on it there was a large difference. Hollow haunches filled out, her topline came back and she was very happy. For this price she can stay on it. I then put my mare on it and the same thing happened within a week. This product is worth the money!
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic product - great price! We bought an APHA gelding (QH stock type crossed with Jockey Club mare) and he was about 300 pounds under weight. After struggling with getting him to add weight withoutmaking him hot, some research brought me to this product. Pure Lysine has made all the difference. He's gained and held weight and muscle tone that I never thought possible. My Dad and Uncle commented this Fall that he's filled out more than they thought possible given his frame and thoroughbred blood. Even the farrier commented a couple of weeks ago about his condition. (This is all after about six months on Pure Lysine.) So, due to success with Dutch, we put my 30 year old gelding on it this winter since an illness caused him to lose weight just before Thanksgiving, which is not good for an aged horse that has Cushings and facing a WI winter. Well, he's actually gaining his weight back and is happy too - he ran and bucked along the paddock fence with a youngster while riding by a couple of weeks ago. Great bang for the buck! =)
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Licks the bowl clean I started this product along with weigh gain and my mare loves it, this doesn't even have to be mixed in grain. She will eat it straight out of her dish.
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product !! I have to say im very pleased with product, had an orphan APHA (thoroughbred/paint) colt who got so underweight after his dam passed away from colic when he was 1 1/2 old, no matter what he was fed he just would not put weight on or even grow (he probably ate more then any horse in the entire barn). Got so bad that a random passerbyer had actually called animal control on him. Had everything from the vet so it came to be nothing, but thats when i started to look for something that would be a good for him other then his grow colt supplement and calf manna that would be safe for a growing foal.Started this product when he was about 3 1/2 months old and after about 3 weeks started seeing a change he started filling out and not only putting on the weight but keeping it as well as growing. He's now 7 months old and over 13hh and is still maintaining his weight and doesn't have a rib to show, might actually reach the full potiental he was born to grow with both his sire and dam being 17hh. He now is only on Pure Lysine and Grow Colt and is holding out great. Would Definately Recommend this product, it worked wonders for me.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Product I am very pleased with the Lysine that I purchased through Smart Pack. I researched other Lysine Supplements and SmartPack beat the others in quality and price. I have been feeding the Lysine to a 23 year old QH gelding and 34 Welsh Mare and in less that 3 weeks there was a noticable improvement of their muscling over their topline!
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Muscle! I can't believe how much muscle my Friesian has put on since starting on this product! He seems so much taller to me with the improvement in his topline. Very happy! Great result for little $'s.
    Date published: 2011-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Product That Works Wonders! I have a 17'2 Oldenburg Warmblood jumper athlete. When I first got him he was neglected and needed to put on weight and get back into shape. I had him on a special program with lots of supplements to help him gain weight and an exercise routine for the muscle development. When he only had about 200 more pounds to look like a 4 foot jumper, I really wanted him to have some flashy Warmblood muscle definition. Now, my horse was being worked almost every day during this weight gaining process. But Pure Lysine REALLY made a difference! In about 2 weeks I noticed muscle definition in places I never thought would get there for a while with time and exercise. He was feeling great and wanted to exercise for over an hour! It also helped with muscle soreness after a long ride or jumping lesson. I am thrilled with this product and will use it for a lifetime! I started out with 3 scoops of the product, when my horse looks healthy I will probably cut it back to 1 scoop. I definitively recommend this product for athletic horses that want a flashy muscle definition and horses that need to put on weight without consuming to much grain and supplements. A great way to get results without having a "hot horse."
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lysine not great I expected by the description given that the Lysine would promote muscle and healthy hooves. I haven't really seen any changes in the horses. They don't really like the taste either.
    Date published: 2011-10-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Once you get past the smell... This product smells completely rank, but once you get past the smell, I think the results in improving your horses' coat and build are worth it.
    Date published: 2011-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Choice I purchased Pure Lysine on the reccomendation of a fellow barrel racer, whos horse also had a deteriorating top line. I was told about how pure lysine had brought back the muscle and evened hid back out. I decided to try it on my mare. She was only on it for 2 months (I don't ride in the winter, so she isn't grained), and I noticed a definite change in her topline. She will definitely be on this again in April!
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product I put my horse on this as a recommendation for treating head shaking syndrome (HSS) since lysine counteracts the herpes virus. My horse is on 20g/day and eats it all (but he is not a picky eater). He has been out of work for about 1.5 months and still is in good condition, and I think this product is helping him keep his muscle tone while on "vacation". It's relatively cheap to feed which is a plus as well.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seeing Results Already Don't know how fast it really works, but it looks like my horse is already benefiting from the Lysine. I can visably see where his muscles are starting to show definition.
    Date published: 2011-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lysine is good for muscles My horse is about 30 years old. When I bought him, he was malnourished. Since then, I have added some supplements to his diet. Lysine is one of the supplements that I added due to the poor quality of the grass hay here in Amarillo, TX, and also, due to the fact that he is in a run instead of out on pasture. I feel that the lysine has contributed to the development of muscle in his hind end and back. His sagging spine seems to have lifted somewhat. I did not expect him to recover from this kind of deterioration. However, he is running through the arena now, and actually bucking, something I have never seen him do before. It's like he is saying, "I feel GOOD!"
    Date published: 2011-06-27
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.