Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

Vetrolin Detangler

Farnam Companies, Inc.
- Item #13497
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Vetrolin Detangler contains silicones to instantly detangle mane and tail. Conditions and shines the hair, while increasing volume & manageability. Fresh herbal fragrance amkes Vetrolin Detangler the only product you'll want to use!

Customers Also Shopped For
Fiberglass grooming block that is the easy, low-cost ...
Description:
Fiberglass grooming block that is the easy, low-cost way to remove loose hair, dust and dirt. Leaves the horse's coat slicker, shinier and well shed-out. Each Slick 'N Easy grooms 10 - 12 horses.Sizing It Up1 x 3.6 x 5 ...
Deep cleaning, color-brightening shampoo. Vetrolin White 'N Brite ...
Description:
Deep cleaning, color-brightening shampoo. Vetrolin White 'N Brite contains coconut oil derivatives and optical brighteners that bring out the brilliance in white and light-colored coats. Works with either hot or cold water to remove the worst stains. White 'N Brite ...
Laser Sheen is a high-tech silicone hair polish ...
Description:
Laser Sheen is a high-tech silicone hair polish gives your horse's coat instant highlights to emphasize and define conformation. Manes and tails becomeSofter, shinier and more manageable. Never oily or sticky. Laser Sheen is gentle enough for sensitive-skinned horses. Laser ...
Vetrolin Shine ready-to-use spray puts a brilliant shine ...
Description:
Vetrolin Shine ready-to-use spray puts a brilliant shine on coats, manes and tails. Includes salon-quality silicone,Vitamin B5, conditioners, and PABA sunscreen. Vetrolin ShineProtects coat from dust and weather. Makes manes and tails more manageable. 32 oz. sprayer or 64 oz. ...
out of 5
90% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

Vetrolin Detangler is rated 4.645161290322581 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! I used always use cowboy magic but I tried this to save some money and I love it! I think attracts less dirt than Cowoy magic as well as making my horse's tail soft and tangle free.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as good as Cowboy Magic I love Vetrolin shampoo and conditioner and was hoping to like this product, too, but it's just not as good as Cowboy Magic. In a detangler, I look for a product that has a pleasant fragrance, softens the tail, and deflects dirt. It's got an odd, gel-like consistency that makes it harder to distribute evenly throughout the tail. I also have to use more of the Vetrolin product than I did of the Cowboy Magic detangler. I like the smell and cost of the Vetrolin better, but I won't buy it again.
Date published: 2014-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Conditions, repels dirt and smells great! Love this product. It has that deliciously minty signature Vetrolin scent and works as well as more expensive detanglers. It repels dirt and keeps the tail of the American Warmblood I ride looking great. You can use it wet or dry and it combs right through his thick tail. Highly recommended!
Date published: 2014-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this detangler I love Vetrolin detangler, I used to use another popular detangler. But my trainer really liked using Vetrolin detangler so I though why not I'll give it a shot. Well I love it works so well it makes my horses mane and tail soft and shiny, and easy to brush.
Date published: 2013-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from marvelous instantly transforms tangles dry mane/tail into soft silky flowing mane/tail. Great stuff!
Date published: 2013-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite product! Vetrolin Detangler (and shine) have long been a favorite haircare product at our farm!
Date published: 2013-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! Makes mail & tail feel smooth & silky. Great product! A little goes a long way.
Date published: 2012-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this!! Ah yes, another great Vetrolin product!! I'm sold on Vetrolin products, I've tried the entire line now and can't say that I've ever experienced any disappointment. I had been using a similar detangler for years but thought I'd try this one since I love their other products so much and now I can't believe I waited this long! The price is better and the bottle will last longer, plus you get that great menthol smell! I like that this is thicker than the other brand, so it doesn't run through my fingers before I get to her tail. It's not oily on dry or wet hair and makes it so easy to comb through knots. That's it, I'm sold, Vetrolin user for life now :)
Date published: 2012-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! I absolutely LOVE the Vetrolin Detangler. I apply this detangler to my horse's mane and tail before I brush it, and it truly does detangle and remove shavings! Makes brushing easy and pain-free and helps me keep my horse's tail lush, plus the price is right.
Date published: 2012-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I've Ever Used A little goes a long way with this detangler so this bottle will last you forever. Quickly removes all of the knots in the tail and smooths the shafts of the hair so the tail is more manageable in the future. It also gives the hair a nice shine!
Date published: 2012-02-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works great This a good product and a good value. Works as well as the more expensive products. The only thing is it smells like the vetrolin liniment. Which is ok if you like that smell. Just a little strong for a detangler. Otherwise it's great.
Date published: 2011-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall Good Product I use this on my horse's tail 2-3 times a month. I like the fact that it is very concentrated and you only need to use a tiny bit. It is great for conditioning the tail, though I think Santa Fe works better at detangling. I wouldn't use this too much however or right before a show because it does make the tail really oily, but it is great to use once in a while to keep you horses tail shiny and manageable.
Date published: 2010-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only Smooth, Silky Manes and Tails at my Barn! I absolutely love Vetrolin detangler. So many people use much more expensive brands, but this works just as well or better. It has a pleasant odor, and a little goes a long way. Everyone who has tried some from my bottle eventually buys some of their own. This detangler is a must for anyone who has horses.
Date published: 2010-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for those Knots The detangler helps to avoid so much hair breakage by helping to ease out the knots. Also prevents the hair from drying out. Love to massage it into the dock where the skin gets dry and flaky.
Date published: 2010-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vetrolin Detangler This works very well. I used it on my mini with a crazy thick mane and tail and I was able to brush right through. Best detangler I've used.
Date published: 2010-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Stuff!!!!! This stuff is the best! I have used it for a long time and I love how it detangles manes, tails, and forelocks in an instant WITHOUT pulling hairs. I would definitely recommend this!!!
Date published: 2010-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome detangler! I love Vetrolin products, and this is one of the best. It is an awesome detangler, and it really works. Love the smell, and love the results! Great for pastured horses who knot up their tails.
Date published: 2010-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Product! I really love Vetrolin Bath and Shine products, so I thought I'd try this one too. And I have to say, I definitely not disappointed! While it does feel a little weird in your hands at first (I think most detangler products do) it really gets those evil snarls out of a tail. It also smells great and doesn't seem to attract a ton of dirt.
Date published: 2010-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vetrolin does it again! Vetrolin Detangler is a great product at a super price. My horse has a beautiful mane and tail with only a little elbow grease. I would highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2010-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE for tail and mane !!! I have been using this for about a year and a half with great results. It keeps my horses tail and mane silky without leaving a ton of residue.LOVE ALL THE VETROLIN PRODUCTS !!!
Date published: 2010-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use this stuff! It really works!!! This was the best purchase I have ever bought. Vetrolin works so well that my 5 morgan horses can have tangle-free manes and tails in seconds without sore fingers, large amounts of broken hair, and broken combs. I would highly recommend this product. I couldn't live without it.
Date published: 2009-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from lustrous Just takes the size of a nickel, work in and gently comb through. I get compliments on my horse's tail because I use this product a couple of times per week. Her tail looks and feels amazing. ( I use it on mane and forelock too)
Date published: 2009-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LONG AND LOVELY!!!! I have used this product on my TWH mare who has a 20 inch mane and ground length tail for over a year now and have no problem with tangles even with constant turnout! Seemes to provide a great amount of UV protection and keeps her black and white hair beautiful and shiny! Won't use anything else.
Date published: 2009-05-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from better silicone type products out there need to apply twice as much as the brand i'm going back tosmells great to humans...horses might find it too smelly
Date published: 2009-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product!!! This product is super. I use on my horse and my hair too. Lasts for days - keeps mane and tail tangle free and soft!!!
Date published: 2009-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff This product works as well or better than the competitors but is more economical. Smells great too!
Date published: 2006-06-11
  • 2016-08-24T11:23CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.3.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_3497, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders