Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

Veterinary Preference Thrush Pads

Item #18701
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for

Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Continuous treatment promotes faster healing!

The Veterinary Preference Thrush Treatment is a fast-acting treatment for Thrush and White Line Disease with a unique delivery system. The active medication is saturated into self adhering cotton rolls that, when pressed into the V (sulci) of the frog, ensure constant delivery of medication to the affected area. The medication leaves no stains on hoof, clothing or floors.

50 pre-moistened pads

Replace pads once daily.

Customers Also Shopped For
Hawthorne's Sole Packs are just the fix for ...
Hawthorne's Sole Packs are just the fix for those tough-to-maintain hooves. Hawthorne's Sole Pack offers pain relief and fast healing of bruises, maintaining proper moisture levels and combating thrush. Hawthorne's Sole Packs are in extremely convenient single-use "paddies" you'll want ...
A real treat for hooves - rich and ...
A real treat for hooves - rich and clear for ultimate shine on all hoof colors. Favorite Features Anti-bacterial and anti-fungal properties Nourishes andProtects Includes brush Sizing It Up 500ml
Magic Cushion Hoof Packing is a natural anti-inflammatory ...
Magic Cushion Hoof Packing is a natural anti-inflammatory and analgesic hoof packing for the equine athlete. Provides relief from the soreness resulting from the everyday rigors of training, laminitis, white line disease, pedal osteitis, abscesses, navicular syndrome, bruising, corns, canker ...
EquiFits newly introduced custom-fit, Hoof Savers provide cushionedProtection ...
EquiFits newly introduced custom-fit, Hoof Savers provide cushionedProtection to your horse's hooves. Constructed using EVA Foam technology similar to that used in the running shoe industry, the pads offer pain relief to laminitic and sore-footed horses andProtection to shoeless hooves. ...
White Lightning is a solution which has the ...
White Lightning is a solution which has the ability, when mixed with equal parts of white vinegar, to produce chlorine dioxide. Chlorine dioxide is very aggressive in neutralizing bacteria, fungus and yeast, and has been proven to be highly effective ...
SuperShine Hoof Polish gives a high-gloss, mirror-like finish ...
SuperShine Hoof Polish gives a high-gloss, mirror-like finish that dries in less than 60 seconds. Perfect for last minute touch-ups at the show ring. SuperShine Hoof Polish seals out excess moisture, hardeningSoft hooves. Does not penetrate beyond hoof wall surface ...
out of 5
86% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
  • Competitor:


Veterinary Preference Thrush Pads is rated 4.571428571428571 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Veterinary Preference Thrush Pads Easy to use in large deep open grooves in frog area.
Date published: 2015-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works quickly These little rolls push right into the deep crevices of the hoof and frogs with a hoofpick and start working immediately! They stay put pretty well, but even when they do fall out in turnout or the arena, you can still tell that they've had enough time to treat the thrush. I turned to these when the Thrushbuster just wasn't cutting it.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works I think this is a product that should be in every well equipped groom's box or tack room. I work with a large number of horses many that have had poor farrier care. I have used this product on horses with every level of thrush, seedy toe, cracks I want to keep dry, white line. I have used it on barefoot horses, shod horses and as hoof packing on horses with pads.I have found on the barefoot horses, even those in turn-out, the mild thrush cases the pads fall out but what I also realized is that the medication had been applied to the affected areas and by the time the pads fell out the thrush was usually all dried up. On horses that I have to use the product for multiple days (moderate to severe) I have found that when the pads aren't staying for 24 hrs or more. The thrush is cleaned up & I either squeeze the medication from the pad or use the spray bottle (yes I have both)Bottom line I love this product and I use it on everything I need to "dry" up on the horses feet. I use it on barefoot horses, shod horses and even underneath the pads of horses that get them.
Date published: 2015-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for deep crevices! I used this product on a few horses at or barn who had severe thrush. It dried their frogs up in literally a day or so. Definitely not designed for a flat footed hoof, but I am able to wedge it into the frog as well as along side it. Awesome for horses in a stall, but stayed in long enough to make a difference on pasture horses as well.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beat thrush product I have found so far!! I have tried many thrush products for my TB that is prone to it. This stuff stays in place and works really fast
Date published: 2014-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very effective First time trying this product after a referral from my farrier. My mare has the deep cracks in the soci extending into the heel. This product works. Stays where you put it and is effective in every way. Definitely will keep in my medical bag for further use if needed. A -1 product.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good product My 12 yr old Walker that I've owned for 2 1/2 years has suffered from chronic thrush for several years. I applied the pads and after the first treatment very surprised with how fast it worked. It wicked the ingredients into his foot and it seems like it was drawing the thrush out and into the pads. My farrier gave him a really good trim to his frogs 1st then we applied the pads.
Date published: 2013-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for specific purpose I have one horse with very deep crevices/grooves in his hoo on either side of his frog. It causes him to be prone to thrush right in the crevices. These are a GODSEND for treating him. I take the pads and use a hoof pick to press them into the crevice until they're stuck. They'll really stay in there-- I've even had them stay in through hours of turnout. They stay in mostly because of the deep crevices. If I tried to use these in my other horse, they'd fall right out. So I wouldn't recommend these for general thrush treatment-- but if you have that "deep crevice" issue-- these are perfect for that area.
Date published: 2013-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stayed in place really well! Bought these because I liked the idea that they would stay in contact with affected areas longer than a quick rinse, but was skeptical about whether they would stay in place on my unshod mare. But they did! You just jam them into place with the point of your hoofpick & they easily stay in overnight until you pick them out.No stains everywhere, no nasty odor, no wasted product.They're best suited to horses with deep grooves alongside or in the middle of the frog OR horses with shoes, but if your horse has wide-open hooves & no shoes he probably doesn't have thrush anyway! :)Moved my mare to a barn with cleaner stalls & frankly that's done more to alleviate the thrush than anything, but I was extremely pleased with the effectiveness of this product. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from these work great! I manage a show barn, but my own mare lives a fairly rustic lifestyle, out in a field with a shed for the winter, with limited grooming. These did a great job clearing up her thrush and keeping the dirt and moisture out. No nasty mess, and doesn't irritate skin- hers or mine!The pads are a good shape to wedge into the cleft and sides of the frog, andensure the treatment stays in place with no wasted product.
Date published: 2012-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was skeptical. At first I was skeptical, but desperate to find a solution to a deep thrush problem that left my horse lame. The thrush was deep in the sulcus of his right front and a bit in the outer cleft. My farrier sold me something called "Today" used with great success on other horses I work with, but my horse did not respond. I had tried hydrogen peroxide, betadine, triple antibiotic ointment, but nothing. The warm, wet winter was pleasant, but not conducive to keeping feet dry.So, it was with hope that this would work, I went ahead and ordered it. Within 4 days there was marked improvement. Although with it being winter and wet, the product didn't "adhere" as well as I would like, but I just used my hoof pick and wedged it into the problem areas.My only complaint is getting the sheets unrolled. It's very hard to find and end, but once you start unrolling, it's simple.My horse is finally sound and I can ride again, much to his dismay!
Date published: 2012-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not yet sure, but progress I got my first horse almost 2 years ago and he has had thrushy feet from the beginning. I used the standard Thrush buster--little change. Organic vinegar helped but not enough. KopperX turned everything green but left its poison on the ground and horses eat things from from the ground. No good way to control that. Then I discovered this product. It was advertised as pretty well eliminating thrush in 3 days time. It hasn't done that. But...it has made a world of difference. This product is easy to use---it goes right into the mushy spots. However, it has never been in there the next day to take out. I'm not sure how long it is staying in ......hence only 4 stars instead of 5. If you've been having problems, this product is is good place to go next. It works, it is not messy, and it is sure easy to use.
Date published: 2011-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product, no mess This product helped my horse it was easy to put in and it works it literally soaks the medicine in the hoof to make sure the hoof is treated excellent product i reccomend it to anyone.
Date published: 2011-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I'm a trainer in the western states and have used this product a few times. I think its a great product it has no smell, it stays in place and we have had great results.
Date published: 2011-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally, thrush treatment that works I used these pads on my horse, who had a bad case of thrush that I could not get rid of. I tried a few other treatments. All they did was stain the foor. They temporarily dried the hoof, but the thrush always came back. Then I tried these. After a few days, the trush was gone. I am so glad I found these!
Date published: 2011-08-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible, pads dont stick The pads donot stay on the foot, tries many differant ways. Waste of money!
Date published: 2011-06-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for stall, not turnout I purchased these for a horse who was suffering from a severe case of thrush. These stay in the hoof when the horse is in his stall, but fall out within 5 minutes during turnout. If you have a horse on stall rest or who spends part of his day in a stall, these are great because they provide a continuous treatment of the thrush treatment. Don't waste your time and money if you plan on using these on a horse during turnout. Overall decent value, you get a lot of the pads especially if you cut them in half. Was disappointed about them not staying in for turnout because that is initially what i intended to use them for.
Date published: 2011-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I just started using this product for a frog infection in the central sulcus. It is easy to adminster and the consistency of the product allows it to adhere nicely in the crevices. I have used it for about a week now and have seen some really nice improvement. It appears to work very well for infections in this part of the foot.
Date published: 2010-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great thrush treatment Love the little sponges, they don't run like the liquid treatments. You can cut them for a custom fit as well. Cleared up the thrush in just a couple treatments.
Date published: 2010-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a Thrush product that works!! The product is soaked into pads that tuck nicely into the crevices of my horses hoof. One treatment was all it took to dry out the gooey mess! You really need to try these! I will always keep some on hand, and will tell all my friends about them. No Mess! And They Work!!!!!!
Date published: 2010-06-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great this product has worked well at treating the deep crevice thrush areas around the frog and heel. i wish they made this in a thin pledgette pad as well ,as the tubes are thick and difficult to get into smaller spaces.
Date published: 2010-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase, not messy Since it's usually wet and rainy around here, thrush seems to flourish on my horses hooves. Can't stand the usual green liquid, it STINKS, is messy and lasts forever on your fingers. This product is odorless and seems to work very well.
Date published: 2010-05-03
  • 2016-10-27T13:19CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_8701, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders