Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

VeruGreen BugPellent

Item #21465

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

 BugPellent is a natural, solid insect repellent that passively emits vapors which are safe for humans and animals. Very effective at repelling flying and other insects.  Contains only natural essential oils and certified organic waxes, eliminating toxic chemical exposure.  Works continuously for up to 2 months. 

  • Effective at repelling most flies, mosquitoes, ticks, black flies, and gnats.  Reduces spiders in barns, run-in sheds, and other semi-enclosed spaces.
  • Reduces risk of infection and makes the environment more comfortable for humans and horses.
  • Horses are not bothered by pesky flying insects which congregate around aisles and stalls.

Hang BugPellents in the barn or shed.  Easy to refill with the refillable tubes that are sold seperately.

Install BugPellent at least 6' from open doors or windows. Use one tube per 4,000 cubic feet of indoor space. No batteries or electrical connection needed. Made in USA

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    VeruGreen BugPellent is rated 3.8235 out of 5 by 34.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does it attract flies? Does not seem to work. I put two of these in my 1k' warehouse space. One hanging 15' inside the door and another 3/4 of the way back. The flies circle less than 5' from the repellent. With the roll up door wide open, they are free to come and go. The seem to want to stay. :(
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bug repellent I bought this to hang by my back door. It seems that flying bugs like to buzz around my door even though there is no light on. The BugPellent seems to deter them and now I have less bugs in my house. I only bought one to try but I will purchase another one.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good Hard to tell whether the lack of flies is due to the product, thus four stars instead of five. My horse is the only one in his barn at the moment and his stall is near the big open barn doors giving him very good airflow so not sure that the BugPellant is the only factor keeping the flies to just the one or two that I see. Will buy the refill tubes and keep the device hung above his stall this summer and see whether it makes a difference. Product smells nice, was inexpensive to purchase, and really like that it is made with natural plant-based insect repellant oils and extracts.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works pretty well These worked well enough in my barn (about 80% reduction in flies) that I've ordered more for my patios and garage.
    Date published: 2015-06-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from sent wrong stuff Wont be ordering from them ever again! Offered to pay for product but they would not ship it for free..
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't Work Here I was really excited to try this because it got great reviews, but it doesn't work in my barn :( I think it's probably only effective against certain kinds of bugs or in certain areas of the country - I'm in Snohomish, Washington. I was hoping that this would keep the mosquitoes and knats away from the cross tie area in my barn, because my horse and I are getting bit non-stop! Unfortunately it didn't work at all. We still got bit by the mosquitoes, and there were just as many knats swarming around the light near this bug repellent as all the other ones. It says it is also effective against spiders, but I've noticed no difference in the amount of cobwebs I'm knocking down. It does smell nice though...
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for us I bought these for the first time last summer. They do an OK job in a large barn, a fairly good job in a run in shed and an outstanding job when placed just outside our deck's sliding door (I have actually seen flies start to fly into the house then turn around when the get near this product). One note - they cannot be hung in the house due to strong odor.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from worth a try I bought this a month ago and the flies are not that bad yet. I thought it was worth a try but a little too early to be sure
    Date published: 2015-04-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from smells good Use in conjuction with Country mist box spray can that is replaced monthly.
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this I bought the 1st one about 6 weeks ago and my horse started standing under it in his stall most of the time. He seems so much more comfortable. I recently bought the refill packs.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from title fits the product Works great in the stall area. I am pleased with the lack of pesky insects.
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it works I bought this about 6 weeks ago for my black horse who is really bothers with flies. I hung it in his stall and noticed within a day or two that he was spending more time standing under it, even when he is turned out he will go back into the stall after a while for relief. I will be ordering more.
    Date published: 2014-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Smell, Great Bug Deterrent Finally! A bug repellent that works quite well, easy to hang up anywhere and actually smells good! Have placed my second order to hang in more areas.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I love this stuff! Hang in run-ins, wash stalls, anywhere, flys leave. And it doesn't smell horrible.
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste you're $$ I bought 6 of them placed them according to directions. 2 days later the flies were all over it. I thought it was supposed to keep the flies away? It smells really nice for a few days but doesn't work at all.
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't seem to be working I have had this hanging in my horse's stall for a few weeks now and have not noticed much of a difference with the flies. It seems like there are less flies than last summer, but they still fly around the stall, land in his feed bin, and he has bites/hives on a regular basis. It smells nice though.
    Date published: 2014-07-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just doesn't work I read some great reviews on this and expected great things. But it just doesn't work. I've placed it at the correct distance from the door and I have just as many flies as ever. My horse stands right below it and it doesn't make a bit of difference. I wish I could say something positive but...
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well! We've placed this repellent between our two horses' open stall/runs. When the wind is still and the humidity invites mosquitoes and gnats, our geldings seem undisturbed. We do feed garlic flakes as well. One gelding has previously been a mosquito and biting bug magnet, but shows no welts or bites yet this season. We're pleased, and we've already installed our refill and expect to continue throughout bug season.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive! Really works! Started with 2 Bugpellants in my open air mare motel. Hung them in the center 2 stalls. Unless we have high winds, I can tell the difference when I'm mucking out the area. So can the horses. What I like is they don't harm my Fly Predators like the auto sprays. I've ordered 2 more Bugpellants, 1 for my tackroom.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really??? I purchased this last month and hung it near my horse's stall door. The fly population did not seem to go down, and I noticed today when his feed tub was turned over in the aisle waiting for feed time, it was covered with flies. So...I did my own experiment since I was questioning the effectiveness of this item and put the BugPellant in his feed tub (empty, of course, before feed time) and walked away. When I came back it was still filled/covered with flies. Aha--my hypothesis was right! I am definitely returning it. I do have to say, though, I think it smells really nice.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps flies down without poison or electricity One hanger does a good job in my 32x54 barn. Will hang in a second location in the barn as soon as my order arrives. Liked it enough to try in the 16x32 open sheds in the pastures. I'm also going to hang one in my garage, which faces west and seems to be a bug magnet in the summer.
    Date published: 2014-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The flies are on to me! I used this repellent all last year and it worked great. This year, something is different. I visited the barn yesterday to find flies buzzing all over my mare...and all around the repellent! What!? It's hanging in the same spot as last year, but it's just not working now. Not sure what to think...hopefully the flies will give up before my mare goes crazy. It is yet to be determined what mosquitoes think.
    Date published: 2014-06-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well! For less than a month, I have been using this repellent hanging between two stalls in partly-covered runs. With the addition of SmartPak's garlic flakes, I find both of our horses seem more comfortable and less pestered than other horses in nearby runs. I gave only 4 stars at this point, as we are not yet in our worst pest season. So far, so good!
    Date published: 2014-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new favorite item! I just moved my horses to a new facility that is surrounded by drainage ponds and has TONS of mosquitoes and gnats. I hung one of these in the stalls and it has worked spectacularly. There are no bugs annoying my horses when they're in their stalls! I've tried it a couple other places, and it seems to work best when there is airflow, but not in completely open or closed areas (as recommended on the packaging). Several other boarders have commented on how bug free my horses' stalls are and are purchasing their own BugPellents. The only thing not stated on the packaging, that I'm now waiting to find out is how long each insert lasts before it needs to be replaced.
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to work! This is the first fly repellent device I've tried, and it seems to work! I went through several different traps and they didn't do anything. My sticky traps ended up getting knocked down and collecting shavings instead of flies....wonder how that happened?! I wasn't sure this repellent would work but I went ahead and tried it. My mare is in a small barn of about 10 ponies that is mostly open. Her stall is at the end of the aisle with a big door at the end and a big window along the back. Even though this really isn't meant to be placed in a horses's individual stall, the location of my mare's stall met the requirements for the entire barn. At first I wasn't sure if it was working or if it was just the fly sprays, leg bands, and spot-on fly treatments I was using....until it ran out. I could immediately tell when the tube was ready to be replaced, so I did, and I could see an immediate difference with the fresh one. My mare is the only one not swatting her tail or rubbing in her stall...it's eerily quiet and peaceful (for once!). She stands and sleeps while the ponies stalled by the big door at the other end of the barn are restless. I wasn't so sure the natural ingredients would be effective, but they are, and they smell great too! The only thing I would say is that maybe this isn't effective for the entire barn (about 40 x 60), but it's great for my mare's stall and the immediate vicinity so I'm sticking with it!
    Date published: 2013-10-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great concept, but no reduction of flies... Used in a small patio area where flies tend to seek refuge. Smell was certainly potent enough, but the flies were not deterred at all.
    Date published: 2013-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Repels Flies & Smells Great Not only did this product reduce the number of flies in my barn it smells great! There are still flies in my barn but there is a noticeable decrease in numbers. This product makes the barn smell so much better than any other fly repellant I have purchased. It's worth a try!
    Date published: 2013-08-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from a natural that works When I first hung this repellant I was a bit disappointed. For the first day it actually seemed to attract flies. They were all over the string that I used to hang the Verugreen. After that it began to work and there is a noticeable difference in the flies. in her stall
    Date published: 2013-08-07
    • 2016-02-07T14:59CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_33
    • loc_en_US, sid_11465, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.