Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

VeruGreen BugPellent

Item #21465
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

BugPellent is a natural, solid insect repellent that passively emits vapors which are safe for humans and animals. Very effective at repelling flying and other insects.  Contains only natural essential oils and certified organic waxes, eliminating toxic chemical exposure.  Works continuously for up to 2 months.

Hang BugPellents in the barn or shed.  Easy to refill with the refillable tubes that are sold separately. Install BugPellent at least 6' from open doors or windows. Use one tube per 4,000 cubic feet of indoor space. No batteries or electrical connection needed.

Made in USA.
Favorite Features
  • Effective at repelling most flies, mosquitoes, ticks, black flies, and gnats.  Reduces spiders in barns, run-in sheds, and other semi-enclosed spaces.
  • Reduces risk of infection and makes the environment more comfortable for humans and horses.
  • Horses are not bothered by pesky flying insects which congregate around aisles and stalls.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Use one BugPellent for approximately every 4,000 cubic feet of indoor space.
  1. Identify areas that need protection from biting flies and other flying insects or ticks.
  2. Hang the BugPellent from a beam or other structure centrally located in a desgnated area that will enable proper air flow. Can also be located in or near a stall.
  3. Place tubes at least 6' inside barn entryways to ensure flying insects can escape.
  4. Refillable tubes sold separately

For example, a center aisle barn, 48' x 36' x 20', has an open area in the center aisle of approximately 6,900 cubic feet.  Two BugPellent sticks should be used to reduce insect population for most of the barn, subject to air flow and openness of the barn.  Additional units may be applied in or near stalls, as needed.

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Why We Love This The Rockin SP' Fly Bundle ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Rockin SP' Fly Bundle includes the Rockin SP Quarter Horse Cut Fly Sheet, SmartPak Classic Fly Mask, SmartPak Deluxe Fly Boots Imported. Favorite Features The Rockin' SP Quarter Horse Cut Fly Sheet is made from a soft polyester fabric that ...
    "Bite-Lite brings pest control indoors with the introduction ...
    Description:
    "Bite-Lite brings pest control indoors with the introduction of the Armadilha Insect Indoor Light Trap. What's in a name? The word ""armadilha"" means ""trap"" in Portuguese. If you need to control indoor house flies, moths, wasps, and other flying pests ...
    "The new Bite-Lite Insect Indoor Light Trap will ...
    Description:
    "The new Bite-Lite Insect Indoor Light Trap will silently and discreetly catch indoor house flies, moths, wasps, and other nuisance flying pests. Called the Armadilha, from the Portuguese word ""trap"", this is a beautifully designed and attractive unit for your ...
    Why We Love This Provide your horse with ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Provide your horse with the ultimate protection from flies this season and save 10%! The SmartPak Deluxe Fly Bundle includes the SmartPak Deluxe Fly Sheet, SmartPak Classic Fly Mask and the SmartPak Deluxe Fly Boots! Imported.  Favorite Features The SmartPak Deluxe ...
    "The Pyranha 1-10HP 55 Gallon Concentrate are insecticide ...
    Description:
    "The Pyranha 1-10HP 55 Gallon Concentrate are insecticide refills for the Pyranha Spray Master System . Developed over 30 years ago using the highest quality pyrethroids, HP is a premium formulation that has set the bar for effective automatic flying ...
    Why We Love This Protect your horse from head ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Protect your horse from head to tail during fly season and save 10%! The SmartPak Classic Fly Bundle includes the SmartPak Classic Fly Sheet, SmartPak Classic Fly Mask, and the SmartPak Deluxe Fly Boot Imported.     Favorite Features  The ...
    "The UltraShield Red Fly Spray provides broad spectrum ...
    Description:
    "The UltraShield Red Fly Spray provides broad spectrum protection from a wide range of flies and mosquitoes. A breakthrough combination of five active ingredients helps ward off even the most resistant insects, while giving the horse's coat a healthy, oil-free ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    VeruGreen BugPellent is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for a little extra help on the bug control I use one of these in my grain room where I don't want to be using anything toxic. I have a second on in my hen house. These seem to help with my other methods to keep annoying flies to a minimum.
    Date published: 2016-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really keeps the bugs away! I've used this product in the past so I know it works. I hang them inside the barn over the stalls. It provides a bug free, chemical free zone for the horses. I was pleased to find it on the SmartPak website.
    Date published: 2016-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to help! I purchased two to hang in my small three stall barn. They have a strong but nice smell. It seems that there are less flies in the stalls than other areas of the pasture. Is this the perfect solution to all fly control issues? No but it is a great tool for the toolbox.
    Date published: 2016-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great scent Bugs are down in my mare's stall. A plus is the nice scent :)
    Date published: 2016-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what the ad says. I've been using these in my stalls for quite a while. Between the BugPellent & the Fly Predators, my open air Mare Motel is not fly free, but cetainly shows a decrease in the annoying pests. I hung one recently in my tack room. Within one day I noticed an appreciable different in the fly situation. There were barely any of the disgusting bugs buzzing in my face. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the smell! I have looked for a natural fly product for my barn and I will certainly be purchasing this product. It does a very nice job keeping the pests out and I love the smell of the essential oils!
    Date published: 2015-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! I bought these over two months ago and they work! No, the barn isn't fly free, but they have certainly helped. Even my farrier noticed the difference compared to other barns he works in. I hung two in the aisle of a 40 ft barn. I felt they worked well enough that I bought the refills. Nice pleasant smell, not overpowering.
    Date published: 2015-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product - great protection
    Date published: 2015-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells great I've had this hanging in between 2 stalls for about 2 weeks now. Have noticed a significant decrease of flies. Will definitely be reordering.
    Date published: 2015-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps flies out of barn! I hung one of these in my 3 stall barn and one in with my laying hens. I was skeptical that they would work, but I am amazed at the difference they make. I have not had to use any premise spray so far this year, which is great because I really don't like to use pesticides around my hens. I just ordered refills-I don't want to be without these-my animals are so comfortable in their stalls.
    Date published: 2015-06-25
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does it attract flies? Does not seem to work. I put two of these in my 1k' warehouse space. One hanging 15' inside the door and another 3/4 of the way back. The flies circle less than 5' from the repellent. With the roll up door wide open, they are free to come and go. The seem to want to stay. :(
    Date published: 2015-06-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bug repellent I bought this to hang by my back door. It seems that flying bugs like to buzz around my door even though there is no light on. The BugPellent seems to deter them and now I have less bugs in my house. I only bought one to try but I will purchase another one.
    Date published: 2015-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good Hard to tell whether the lack of flies is due to the product, thus four stars instead of five. My horse is the only one in his barn at the moment and his stall is near the big open barn doors giving him very good airflow so not sure that the BugPellant is the only factor keeping the flies to just the one or two that I see. Will buy the refill tubes and keep the device hung above his stall this summer and see whether it makes a difference. Product smells nice, was inexpensive to purchase, and really like that it is made with natural plant-based insect repellant oils and extracts.
    Date published: 2015-06-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works pretty well These worked well enough in my barn (about 80% reduction in flies) that I've ordered more for my patios and garage.
    Date published: 2015-06-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from sent wrong stuff Wont be ordering from them ever again! Offered to pay for product but they would not ship it for free..
    Date published: 2015-05-16
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't Work Here I was really excited to try this because it got great reviews, but it doesn't work in my barn :( I think it's probably only effective against certain kinds of bugs or in certain areas of the country - I'm in Snohomish, Washington. I was hoping that this would keep the mosquitoes and knats away from the cross tie area in my barn, because my horse and I are getting bit non-stop! Unfortunately it didn't work at all. We still got bit by the mosquitoes, and there were just as many knats swarming around the light near this bug repellent as all the other ones. It says it is also effective against spiders, but I've noticed no difference in the amount of cobwebs I'm knocking down. It does smell nice though...
    Date published: 2015-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for us I bought these for the first time last summer. They do an OK job in a large barn, a fairly good job in a run in shed and an outstanding job when placed just outside our deck's sliding door (I have actually seen flies start to fly into the house then turn around when the get near this product). One note - they cannot be hung in the house due to strong odor.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from worth a try I bought this a month ago and the flies are not that bad yet. I thought it was worth a try but a little too early to be sure
    Date published: 2015-04-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from smells good Use in conjuction with Country mist box spray can that is replaced monthly.
    Date published: 2015-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this I bought the 1st one about 6 weeks ago and my horse started standing under it in his stall most of the time. He seems so much more comfortable. I recently bought the refill packs.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from title fits the product Works great in the stall area. I am pleased with the lack of pesky insects.
    Date published: 2014-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it works I bought this about 6 weeks ago for my black horse who is really bothers with flies. I hung it in his stall and noticed within a day or two that he was spending more time standing under it, even when he is turned out he will go back into the stall after a while for relief. I will be ordering more.
    Date published: 2014-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Smell, Great Bug Deterrent Finally! A bug repellent that works quite well, easy to hang up anywhere and actually smells good! Have placed my second order to hang in more areas.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I love this stuff! Hang in run-ins, wash stalls, anywhere, flys leave. And it doesn't smell horrible.
    Date published: 2014-08-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't waste you're $$ I bought 6 of them placed them according to directions. 2 days later the flies were all over it. I thought it was supposed to keep the flies away? It smells really nice for a few days but doesn't work at all.
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Doesn't seem to be working I have had this hanging in my horse's stall for a few weeks now and have not noticed much of a difference with the flies. It seems like there are less flies than last summer, but they still fly around the stall, land in his feed bin, and he has bites/hives on a regular basis. It smells nice though.
    Date published: 2014-07-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just doesn't work I read some great reviews on this and expected great things. But it just doesn't work. I've placed it at the correct distance from the door and I have just as many flies as ever. My horse stands right below it and it doesn't make a bit of difference. I wish I could say something positive but...
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well! We've placed this repellent between our two horses' open stall/runs. When the wind is still and the humidity invites mosquitoes and gnats, our geldings seem undisturbed. We do feed garlic flakes as well. One gelding has previously been a mosquito and biting bug magnet, but shows no welts or bites yet this season. We're pleased, and we've already installed our refill and expect to continue throughout bug season.
    Date published: 2014-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive! Really works! Started with 2 Bugpellants in my open air mare motel. Hung them in the center 2 stalls. Unless we have high winds, I can tell the difference when I'm mucking out the area. So can the horses. What I like is they don't harm my Fly Predators like the auto sprays. I've ordered 2 more Bugpellants, 1 for my tackroom.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Really??? I purchased this last month and hung it near my horse's stall door. The fly population did not seem to go down, and I noticed today when his feed tub was turned over in the aisle waiting for feed time, it was covered with flies. So...I did my own experiment since I was questioning the effectiveness of this item and put the BugPellant in his feed tub (empty, of course, before feed time) and walked away. When I came back it was still filled/covered with flies. Aha--my hypothesis was right! I am definitely returning it. I do have to say, though, I think it smells really nice.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_10
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_41
    • loc_en_US, sid_11465, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders