Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Troxel Intrepid Helmet

Troxel Helmets
- Item #21207
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Troxel Intrepid Helmet provides an ultralight, low profile design created for the performance-oriented rider.

Helmets Comparison Chart
Favorite Features
  • Woven honeycomb mesh keeps debris out of strategically placed vents while channeling fresh air throughout the helmet interior 
  • Dri-Lex® adding maximizes moisture diffusion and optimizes performance for all-day comfort
  • Self-adjusting SureFit Pro adjusts to the movement of the rider for an unmatched level of comfort and stability during demanding hours in the saddle 
  • Troxel's matte Duratec finish provides an understated look 
  • ASTM/SEI F1163-15 certified

Sizing

S (up to size 6 7/8)
M (size 7-7 1/4)
L (size 7 1/4+)
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Helmet not smelling too ""fresh""? The Helmet Deodorizer ...
    Description:
    "Helmet not smelling too ""fresh""? The Helmet Deodorizer by Charles Owen kills odors and bacteria in the lining and leaves a pleasant citrus fragrance. 150 ml. Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to ...
    "The One K Defender Glitter Top Helmet is ...
    Description:
    "The One K Defender Glitter Top Helmet is a sparkly twist on a classic! The One K Defender Glitter Top Helmet features eye catching glitter for an attention-grabbing look perfect for the show ring or every day schooling. One K ...
    "The One K Defender Bling Helmet combines the ...
    Description:
    "The One K Defender Bling Helmet combines the best of safety, comfort, and style! The One K Helmets boast the perfect synergy between advanced technology and aesthetically pleasing design. With enough features to appeal to those seeeking everything a helmet ...
    Why We Love This Following the success of ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Following the success of the original Antares Helmet, the Antares designers created a new style with a more classic and conservative look. Complete ventilation keeps air flowing through the vents, keeping you cool and comfortable. Gorgeous ...
    Why We Love This Verona Crystal Show Bow ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This Verona Crystal Show Bow is an attractive, polished looking show bow. Perfect for use with your top hat. Imported. STILL HAVE QUESTIONS? SEE Q&A STILL HAVE QUESTIONS? SEE Q&A 100% Happiness Guarantee Hassle-Free Returns
    "The Troxel ES Helmet was developed for the ...
    Description:
    "The Troxel ES Helmet was developed for the performance needs of English riders across multiple disciplines. This is the perfect helmet for both schooling and showing and available at a great value! Troxel's latest fit technologies combined with high quality ...
    Why We Love This The creative designers at ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The creative designers at Antares Saddlery release "The Helmet" where tradition meets sport! Complete ventilation keeps air flowing through the vents, keeping you cool and comfortable. Imported Helmets Comparison Chart Favorite Features Innovative rubber shell finishing ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Troxel Intrepid Helmet is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 62.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great trail riding helmet I haven't worn a helmet since a hunt cap in hunter under saddle classes. When I moved my horse across the country...I figured it was a good idea to exercise some caution on his first few trail rides. Helmet is very comfortable, breathable and I forget I'm wearing it!
    Date published: 2016-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet! Just started taking horse lessons with my daughter.. Bought this first time helmet less then a month ago and extremely happy with it. Helmet is comfy, fits perfect, and love the magnet closer! Would definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2016-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent comfortable and stylish love the intrepid helmet is light weight, comfortable, easy to clean liner and stylish. one note the indigo blue color helmet will fade to light blue over time my faded over the summer but I actually like the faded light blue color.
    Date published: 2016-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gorgeous helmet This helmet is beautiful and very cheap for the quality that it looks and feels.
    Date published: 2016-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable I bought this to replace the exact model of helmet that I have had for several years. Light weight and comfortable. Fits my head shape well. Satisfied with the old and decided to get the same new. Price is good also. The absolutely only complaint I have is my old helmet is the bright blue and it faded quite a bit.
    Date published: 2016-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable and good for long ovals! I am so happy that I found this helmet. I've had it for a few weeks now and I've never had a headache or felt too hot. I have a true long oval head. As in, CO AYR8 is too round for me. IRH ATH SSV in a long oval in 6 7/8 that fits well, but I was looking for something with more ventilation and a removable liner. I honestly expected I would end up with a OneK. Nope! This helmet beat out everything else I tried on. There are no pressure points and it stays in place perfectly. It looks fine for an inexpensive helmet. I could have gone with a Small or Medium; the Medium was a little mushroom-y and moved side to side.
    Date published: 2016-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable I always enjoy checking out the new helmet features when I need to replace a helmet. This one is no different. The magnetic clasp is indeed easy to use with one hand. I've only needed to retrain my habits after years of using more traditional clasps! I also really like that the back is adjustable but isn't a stiff dial. It's very comfortable to ride in.
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Helmet, but too small I bought this Helmet, but had to return it as it was too small. Good looking, well made and I particularly liked the magnetic closure, but I got the large and it was just not big enough. The button inside the helmet that holds the chin strap in place put a lot of pressure right behind my temples. Kudos to Smart Pak, it was returned with no hassles. I've ordered another style...hope it fits!
    Date published: 2016-07-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's very comfortable to wear. I got this a couple weeks ago and fits like a glove. Very easy to buckle and in buckle chin strap.
    Date published: 2016-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfy Helmet! I already had the indigo color in this helmet, so i knew it was comfy and that it fit my head well. I ordered another in black because I love this helmet and wanted a dressier color. The new one came with the new magnetic clip, which is awesome! You can buckle it one handed!
    Date published: 2016-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable, light and good value I have bought a series of these light helmets over the past 5 years, to use during practice rides and in the summer. This one fits me great and is very comfortable.
    Date published: 2016-02-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from buy something else, not really adjustable Helmet was a back ordered gift and eagerly awaited arrival. Sizing charts specifically states Large is 7 1/4-7 1/2. Being a perfect oval shape 7 3/8 thought I was golden. Took helmet out of box and literally had to shove it on my head,with no ponytail,and was greeted with an instant headache. There are no removable pad to make the helmet bigger than how it's shaped on front and side. No dial fit either which was very disappointing all my old Troxels as a kid had a dial fit. The elastic " adjustment" stretched to its max was not even comfortable. Immediately returning it
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice helmet Very nice quality helmet - ran a little smaller than expected.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great helmet for western riders Great helmet for western pleasure/horsemanship or reining riders. The helmet fits snug and is very comfortable. It has a decent amount of strap/sizing adjustments available to personalize the fit. I live in western New York and my only complaint is that there is not much ventilation and I think it will be quite warm to wear in the summertime. I've ridden in it 5-10 times and it still feels comfortable and safe. Overall, it's a great helmet and I'd recommend it.
    Date published: 2015-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Purchased My Second One I just purchased my second Troxel Intrepid. After taking a fall with a hard hit to my head I walked away because my helmet took the blow. This helmet is so comfortable and has proven itself to me that it is worth the money.My second one has a newer snap that slides together from the side as opposed to the standard plastic buckle and I really like that improvement.
    Date published: 2015-10-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent helmet but lots of glitches While this helmet is pretty comfortable and attractive, the brim is very soft and delicate. You cannot pick the helmet up by the brim without it feeling as if it will snap. It is also not to adjust. It must be taken off to adjust. It does not have an easy adjustment dial, which I admit was in the description. It also whistles through the vents as you walk. I do not hear the whistling while riding, but it is quite loud when I'm walking. My Devon-Aire Aegis Caladesi is much more comfortable and more adjustable than the Intrepid. I will stick with it next time and pass on the Intrepid.
    Date published: 2015-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buying Another I bought this particular helmet because I liked the style and a western rider that I trust Tammy Scronce. I can now give my 100% 5 start rating. I have had this helmet for just over a year (helmet awareness day 2014) and I had a fall last night where I hit my head. I was dazed when I got up, but there is not damage to my head. My helmet on the other hand has a nice crack in the back of it. I am ordering the exact same one to replace it. Great fit and comfort. Highly reccomend
    Date published: 2015-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lightweight, comfortable, and attractive! I haven't owned a Troxel helmet in over a decade, but when it came time to purchase a new helmet recently, I decided to give this one a try. The affordable price and styling made me think it was worth a shot. It certainly was! I love the low profile, and this helmet is even more comfortable than the way more expensive helmet that it is replacing. Great buy.
    Date published: 2015-08-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Smart Fold technology on this product, for me, made it uncomfortable also after riding for 40 minutes or so I would get a headache.
    Date published: 2015-06-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfy!!! Was concerned due to other reviews saying it ran small, but it fits beautifully!! It is extremely comfortable and low profile! Looks sleek and professional!
    Date published: 2015-06-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice helmet, but ... I bought this very same one in blue 2 years ago and it fits. For some reason this same size but in black is too small.
    Date published: 2015-06-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice helmet, runs small ordered this helmet for my husband. Nice helmet but runs small. Alas I had to return it (although I thought strongly of keeping it for my self and giving him my old very adjustable helmet...)
    Date published: 2015-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Made Helmet This helmet is very well made. We use it in our Therapeudic Riding ProgramFits well and is comfortable for our riders
    Date published: 2015-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm pretty enthusiastic about this helmet. I like the look that it has combined with the price tag. I would be happy to use this as a show helmet in lower level shows. I believe that I have an oval shaped head. This helmet seems slightly short front to back for my head (I ordered an L/XL), due to the number of helmets that I've tried on, I decided that I would just stick with this helmet and hope that it eventually fits my head better. The flip flap fit system seems like a good system. For other people out there having fit/shape issues with helmets; the Aegis dial fit system is what has fit my head the best in the past, the Tipperary and Ovation Protege were both much too round to fit my head.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great helmet! Very comfortable. Love the wicking liner! No more wet head after a ride.
    Date published: 2015-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok but seems to run small Seems like a decent helmet for the price. Fit me out of the box great but don't really see how it could be adjusted much. My head is 21.5in(size 6 7/8?) and the size M fits me nice and snug. Haven't tried it riding yet.
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet for price I needed a new helmet for riding. I wanted one that was durable, yet looked nice. I also didn't want to spend a fortune as it was just for schooling at home. This helmet fit the bill.
    Date published: 2015-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-02-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It didn't fit I ordered the same size that has fit me with other Troxel models. But this one was too tight. Ouch. I ordered it to replace one I had lost when my winter's hay supply fell on it during the August 24 Napa Earthquake (that one cracked, but that is to be expected under the circumstances)
    Date published: 2015-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    • y_2017, m_2, d_19, h_11
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_0.0
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_59
    • loc_en_US, sid_11207, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders