Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
colors available

Product Video:

Our toughest waterproof blanket yet
Find out why

Training Surcingle

Item #17452
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING

AutoShip and Save Time (Details)

days
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Professional Training Surcingle is made of webbing and leather. Elastic insets allow for equal pressure distribution while girthing and comfort while in work. Multiple Dee rings placed for use with any type of training system. Leather lined girth and padded leather pommel. Stainless steel hardware.

 

Favorite Features

  • Durable
  • Equal Pressure Distribution
  • Multiple Dee Rings
  • Stainless Steel Hardware

 

Sizing

One size.
What Customers Say:
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "The De Gogue addresses tension in the poll, ...
    Description:
    "The De Gogue addresses tension in the poll, mouth and neck. Applies poll pressure when the horse raises his head, encouraging the horse to lift, stretch and engage. Helps the horse develop the correct muscles for a rounded frame and ...
    "Experience the advantages of crystal clear sound with ...
    Description:
    "Experience the advantages of crystal clear sound with the Comtek ALS-216 Personal Trainer. Used by top trainers and riders all over the world, this system allows trainers to communicate with riders over long distances with perfect speech clarity. Simple to ...
    "County of England offers the finest collection of ...
    Description:
    "County of England offers the finest collection of traditionally made crops, that provide ideal balance and durability. Poppers stay secure, and handle and trim detail are made to last! The County Spiral Crop comes in fun colors with coordinating handles ...
    "FLECK bats and crops are individual one-off items. ...
    Description:
    "FLECK bats and crops are individual one-off items. First-class raw materials, perfection in manufacture, and an eye for form and colours to satisfy the demands of any rider!"
    "Hamilton's hand-selected materials are stitched and boxstitched either ...
    Description:
    "Hamilton's hand-selected materials are stitched and boxstitched either single or double thick, ensuring our valued customers products that have a long, dependable life. Hamilton's quality excellence approach to production is enhanced by an array of dazzling colors that makes Hamilton ...
    "The Ultra Fit Stainless Steel Spur was developed ...
    Description:
    "The Ultra Fit Stainless Steel Spur was developed by a close partnership between Herm Spenger and Klaus Balkenhol, trainer of the US Dressage Team. Unique fit and design of the Ultra Fit Stainless Steel Spur eliminates pressure and movement thus ...
    "This Lunge Whip is a 5 foot whip ...
    Description:
    "This Lunge Whip is a 5 foot whip with a 6 foot lash offered in an assortment of colors! Woven PE shaft and a black rubber handle for a secure grip - easy and safe lunging!"

    Reviews

    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Training Surcingle is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 70.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great features but poor quality leather The first time I used this surcingle, one of the rings broke through the leather that attached it, and this was upon asking the horse to walk out onto a circle for the firs time. It was immediate and without much pressure at all. I called SmarkPak to upgrade, but nothing had the additional rings for training purposes. I ended up ordering a second one in case the first one I got was a fluke. I have used the 2nd one once and the leather is already cracked where the buckle rollers have been used on the straps to secure the surcingle onto the horse. I am very disappointed in the quality of the leather on this product. For that reason, I feel this product is over priced.
    Date published: 2017-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value and function I shopped around quite a bit for a new surcingle, looking at high-end, mid-range and value options alike. I have a 1280-lb./16.3h warmblood and I had to really stretch the elastic on this one to get it on the first holes. Without the elastic it would not have worked. I did have a thin baby pad underneath it. After a ground-driving session it stretched enough to fit easily, but and I may just use a fleece dressage girth with it instead. I think the quality and design are excellent for the price point. The wide elastic panels are really smart and I hope they show up on more surcingles! My only petty complaint is that the item pictured is navy and brown, and the one I received is black and brown. I'm a dork who buys everything in navy, so it was the tipping point for buying this particular surcingle. I'm still happy with it though!
    Date published: 2016-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elastic inserts.. This is a very nice product, we needed a step up from the very basic neoprene surcingle and this works quite well. The elastic inserts are nice and I like that I can use the girth that came with it or my regular dressage girth on my sensitive guy.
    Date published: 2016-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mare loves her surcingle. This is the first time I've put a surcingle and side reins on my mare and she is doing really well. The elastic in the surcingle allows it to flex with her and she seems very comfortable, which makes me happy. She is carrying her head nicely.
    Date published: 2016-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made Just started learning to long line and ground drive my horses. This surcingle is very well made and a great value for the price.
    Date published: 2016-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made This surcingle is very well made. It's not stiff, and is made for comfort with plenty of fleece.
    Date published: 2016-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits well, very reasonable priced. I bought this fully knowing one reviewer said it would not work with a pessoa. But with Smartpaks free return shipping I thought I would give it a go. It will work with my pessoa knock off if I do a little disassembling and reassembling as the bottom ring is smaller. All in all, I'm happy.
    Date published: 2016-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality I purchased this after the girth on my canvas surcingle broke. I love it. I was worried about the quality of the leather but it is great. I also love that it has some stretch with the elastic panels for the girth. I have used it a number of times and am very pleased.
    Date published: 2016-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well made and comfy - great value I have used this training surcingle approximately 8 times since I got it. It appears to be well made of substantial materials. It has also proven to be quite comfortable for the very sensitive OTTB mare that I am working with. She has had no problem with it and works happily in it learning to accept and work in side reins and in long reins.
    Date published: 2016-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD QUALITY,VERY NICE LEATHER. Fits my 16 hand thoroughbred perfectly, lots of extra holes to adjust if needed. I really love this, it's well made and will last for years.
    Date published: 2016-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very High Quality Looked high and low for a good quality lunging surcingle. Was a little apprehensive about this one since the price was so reasonable. What a pleasant surprise. It's y high quality leather and very well made. I like the addition of the elastic in it to provide some give to the horse since surcingles don't have any elastic on the girth.
    Date published: 2016-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and it fit!! I have a large warmblood mare that we have had a hard time fitting with a surcingle and was thrilled that this one fit. It is well made and durable- the quality is better than more expensive ones I have bought.
    Date published: 2015-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice surcingle -good quality for the money. I like the easy clean materials.
    Date published: 2015-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice This is my first training surcingle purchase. I have generally used whatever surcingle was available at my barn through trainers, friends etc... I had some ideas of what things I did and did not want in a surcingle, and this one met all my criteria. I like first that it is mostly leather, and nice leather at that. I also like that it comes with a girth, and the girth has center rings. It has fit every horse I have put it on so far, but I am doubtful that the girth is large enough to accommodate our 17.1 hh Oldenburg mare. However, I can merely use a larger dressage girth if needed. It is built nicely, is sturdy, and cleans up easily. It has lots of different rings to use with pretty much any attachments you could think of.
    Date published: 2015-11-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have only had a chance to use this a few times so I can't speak for durability. But this is a really nice surcingle. The quality of the leather appears to be very high, I love the many options the multiple D-rings provide, and it cleaned up really well after lunging. Definitely recommend this product!
    Date published: 2015-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality. I recently bought this for my mustang. The quality was beyond my expectations. Smells like a fine pair of imported leather shoes that I will never be able afford as I spend all my money on horses. It also fits her comfortably.
    Date published: 2015-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I've been using this surcingle several times a week for a little over 6 months now and it's holding up great. I use my own girth instead of the one that came with it because it was a little too big for my boy (14h3 Arabian cross). It's easy to clean, and works well with my side reins. You can't beat the price, especially for one made with leather. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2015-02-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the price So far I'm very happy with purchase. Biggest downside is the girth doesn't fit the largest horses. Fortunately, it buckles on both sides, so I just use another girth. However, this does mean you lose the d ring between the legs. If you use those, you'll either need a girth with it, or (for the penny punchers) a loop of twine works well. For the price though, it has rings in all the right places, has leather billets for safety, and is reasonably cushioned. Since I'm trying to fit ponies to warmbloods, I knew someone wouldn't fit, and the removable girth makes that an easy adjustment.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! I recently bought this for my 15.2 TB gelding. It fits like a glove. I love the elastic for comfort, and was so impressed with the girth I'm in no hurry to use a dressage girth instead. Thank you SmartPak for another great product at a very reasonable price.
    Date published: 2014-10-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for warmbloods This item arrived very quickly and when I first opened it I was very pleased with the quality of this item. Unfortunately this was followed by great disappointment when I went to the barn to put it on my warmblood and it was not big enough for him. This item should have longer billets and girth to fit larger horses as it appears to be a great quality product. Now I have to return it and find another surcingle.
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great surcingle! Very nice quality and is holding up well. Approved by dressage trainer at my barn. And great price!
    Date published: 2014-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Quality Training Surcingle Much better quality than expected considering the price and country of origin. So far it is holding up well to use several times per week. It was one of the better options as it has multiple rings for attachments. I just love that the girth part has elastic: Makes it much more comfortable for my horse in training.
    Date published: 2014-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice quality I am quite happy with the quality of this surcingle. It seems to be well made and with good quality, supple leather. I did have to use a hole punch to enlarge the holes... wouldn't you think the manufacturer would match the hole size to the buckle tongue size?! Anyhow, I'm happy with it and expect it will last for many years.
    Date published: 2014-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok for light use I've use this every day since I got it. While I do enjoy the elastic portion on the surcingle, I don't enjoy the cheapness of the leather. This won't be good for everyday use for very long. It's simply not durable enough. I would recommend it for those who are trying out a surcingle at this price point but not those who are well experienced and need something as durable as their horse
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jerry-rigged to work w Pessoa I previously reviewed this, disappointed that it didn't work w the Pessoa system. Before going thru the return hassle and the upcharge, I picked up 2 carabiner clips (not "keychain") from the hardware store. Works well! Awkward photo while mare wanted to leave the barn instead of have her photo taken.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does NOT NOT NOT work with Pessoa Training System Sircingles are WAY to small to get the Pessoa snaps thru. Very disappointed because the description says works with ANY training system. Of course, SmartPak is always great about returns/exchanges, but it's annoying.
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for the money I like the fact that this surcingle has leather billets which will break if your horse gets caught up on something. Although the leather billets are a little stiff, I oiled mine with Hydrophane leather dressing a few times and they are better. Will need to do this a few more times.
    Date published: 2014-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made surcingle for bargain price After combing my local feed and tack stores for a good quality training surcingle, I decided to order one online instead. I came across this one and couldn't be happier. I paid less than I would have locally and it is a better quality surcingle with more rings than any that I could find locally.
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it!! This surcingle is great! Yes, the leather may be a bit stiff at first, but it softens easily. Wonderful quality! Fits my high withered TB very well. And the elastic sides are phenomenal also. I don't know why not all surcingles have elastic sides!
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected for the price! As others have noted, this is a really nice surcingle for the price. Often, ones I've purchased made overseas would bit an elephant and almost never would fit my young horses. I purchased this to use on a yearling Old/Arab cross (who will probably end up 16.2) and it fits her on the smallest adjustment. The quality and craftsmanship is much better than I've typically found in surcingles I've bought in the past. My last one had metal grommets in the nylon billets and it was almost impossible to adjust. I love the leather billets! They were a little stiff and I soaked them in oil before I used it. I am sure this will last a long time.
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    • y_2017, m_12, d_13, h_24
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_67
    • loc_en_US, sid_7452, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 47ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders