Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Thrush Remedy

Absorbine
- Item #14761
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Hooflex® Thrush Remedy is the effective treatment for hoof thrush that kills bacteria and fungi, and eliminates the foul odor associated with thrush infection. It is highly effective and non-irritating. This clear formula provides three distinct advantages over competitive formulas: it will not sting, stain, or dry the hoof. Hooflex Thrush Remedy is very easily applied with the special squeeze applicator that is specially designed to reach deep into the frog where thrush organisms breed. 12fl oz.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Thrush Remedy is rated 4.4103 out of 5 by 39.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Thrush treatment! I don't usually have a lot of problems with thrush, because I do not turn my horses out when their paddock & pasture is muddy--we have some active youngsters and I just will not have them slipping and sliding around during turnout. When I do have an issue with someone's feet being thrush-y, my immediate go to is the Absorbine thrush remedy. Within a couple of days use, you can tell a huge difference with feet staying more dry & the horrible thrush odor being less. I use the product twice a day, after I pick out the affected feet. This definitely works for me!
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Useless I bought this stuff, thinking I'd save myself a whopping dollar instead of Thrush Buster, and it'd do the same thing. I was very wrong. I used it after thoroughly picking my horse's feet both before and after riding every day for 3 months and her thrush only got worse! I bought Thrush Buster and in two uses, it's A LOT better, and almost completely gone. I was even talking with others at my barn, who agree that this stuff does nothing and that Thrush Buster is the way to go!
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy Customer I'm pretty pleased with this product. I start putting it on during the humid, wet months, before I start noticing much of a problem, so I'm not sure how fast it would work on a really horrid, thrush outbreak. But I like the fact that it's easy to apply and without any of the mess that some of the products have. No stains on the concrete or on my hands! And, some of my fellow riders have this same product and refuse to go back to anything else.
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesnt make a difference When you apply this product to the hoof, it comes out way to much! There is wet marks all over the barn floor when I put this on my horse's hooves. Very messy. Also, it does NOT work!!! My horse has thrush on a few feet and I have been using this everyday and it is not getting better. It is way to mild!! I do not recommend this product, defiantly not.
    Date published: 2012-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never fight thrush again! my gelding gets thrush if the tiniest bit of moisture is on the ground, I apply this twice a week and after it's been raining or muddy out and I haven't seen thrush in over a year!! I always have two of these on hand because I use them so much, I love them!
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Thrush Preventative I prefer to use this thrush product as a preventative. It doesn't do the best at getting rid of thrush in a timely manner. However, it works well at preventing thrush. I use it after I pick out my horses hooves before riding or once a week for non-riding horses. I have one horse that is very thrush prone and like to use this 2-3 times a week on her. Overall a pretty good thrush remedy.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not help I purchased this product for my new gelding since he came with a severe case of thrush. Unfortunately using the product as recommended did not clear it up and the bottle was gone in a week. I liked that the product was clear unlike some other treatments but it dispenses too quickly and would recommend using a different application method such as a spray bottle or dropper should you choose to utilize this product. It may work well as a preventative, but I was not impressed with the results on my boy's thrush.
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great stuff I really like this thrush treatment - it doesn't completely knock out the thrush in one treatment like Thrushbuster and similar products, but I think it's a better value for the amount you get and it does definitely work well. It also seems to be a less caustic than some others so I'm not as worried about getting it on my skin or if it accidentally drips on the heels or coronary band.
    Date published: 2011-05-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked well Purchased because this spring my gelding has had some bacterial/fungal problems. His hooves were foul smelling and had some black discharge. After several days of use his hooves began to clear up. Now I am applying it every 3 days to keep the gunk at bay. I put the product in a spray bottle to help with an even distribution and to prevent waste. The product is nonstaining but is oily.
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!! love love loveit perfect because it 1)clear, 2)easy to apply, 3)kills on contact!!! i use this everytime i groom my horse and he now has amazing feet i recommend this to everyone who asks!!!! love it!
    Date published: 2011-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT! My horse had gotten such bad thrush, that I couldnt even ride. She felt dead lame. I used this stuff and it clearned it up in about 3 weeks. Yes, it sounds very long, but it was so bad that her frog had gotten a hole in it. This cleared it right up! Very pleased! I now use it everytime i go to ride (about 4 days a week) and it acts as a preventive. Even as Spring comes and it is all muddy, her feet have been great! No thrush and no lame horse!
    Date published: 2011-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Thrush Buster My horse sometimes gets a little bit of thrush when ever it get's real wet out. I only have to treat it once or twice with this thrush remedy and it clears it right up! I love the little nozzle on the top, it makes it super easy to get the liquid in the frog and right were you need it applied at.
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best for Hoof Health This is the best product I have found by far to treat and prevent thrush and related hoof problems. It applies easily and leaves virtually no mess. Highly recommend.
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Hoof, No Horse , No Stains! I use this as a thrush preventative if my horse has prolonged exposure to a muddy paddock in winter. Hooflex Thrush Remedy is clear and doesn't stain. If you put it in a spray bottle it is easier to direct the spray and you use less.
    Date published: 2011-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well and is clear! This is a great product. It's effective in eliminating thrush, is clear, and doesn't smell nearly as strong as other harsh thrush solutions. And it won't stain your barn crossties and aisleways.
    Date published: 2010-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great and is clear! This works well for thrush. And it's clear, so it won't stain your clothes, the barn aisleway, etc. like Koppertox will - and it doesn't smell yucky like Koppertox.
    Date published: 2010-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Apply Goes on quickly and can brush into all areas - been using daily and seems to be working. Haven't used long enough to really tell yet.
    Date published: 2010-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and effective With a horse that suffers fairly frequent cases of thrush, I've been around the block with thrush remedies. They sting, they stain, or they just don't work.It can be a little difficult to open-I've always used a pin to open up the nozzle enough to get it to let me squeeze some out without having it pour out (which will happen if you cut the top open).I like Thrush Remedy-it works as a preventative and as a cure. While, to get it to work you do need to use it every day (to cure a case of thrush), it's well worth it for me not to have a horse jerking its foot around because it stings!
    Date published: 2010-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I really like this product. One of my horses has deep central and lateral sulci and I always have to keep up with any thrush. This product does an excellent job and I like it better than "the purple stuff" as it is not as caustic if it gets somewhere it is not supposed to (like on the skin or coronet) and it does not stain the floor either (it is clear). The application is easy and penetrates the problem area well.
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't work! I applied this product to my horses hooves regularly and saw no difference. It didn't seem strong enough to do anything. I like the container it was in and the fact that the liquid is not smelly and green, but I really feel like it was a waste of money.
    Date published: 2010-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use it because it doesnt turn the barn floor green.Its clear .And non staining and it doesnt sting the horses hooves
    Date published: 2010-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Put It in a Spray Bottle I like the fact that this product does not cause stains and does not overly dry the hoof, so I sometimes use it sparingly as a preventative if our horses have been exposed to pasture mud for long periods. If you want it to last longer and be able to get into crevices, put it in a small spray bottle. That way you don't have to worry about losing the little black cap as well!
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never go without it! always does the trick, I always keep some on hand just in case.
    Date published: 2009-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used many years I have used this product for many years with great success, primarily in preventing thrush. I couldn't stand finding the green stain of Koppertox all over my clothes and even my car! Easy, clean & effective.
    Date published: 2009-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Okay Treatment, Not My Favorite Hooflex Thrush Remedy wasn't my all-time favorite treatment. It seems to work well if used on a daily basis, but I'd prefer a longer-lasting formula. I found the bottle hard to use, and I could never squeeze the right amount out onto the right spot.
    Date published: 2009-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Thrush Remedy is one of the best thrush removal products I've ever used. Not only does it go on clear (no purple stains all over your clothes and your horse!) but it doesn't bother my horses' sensitive feet like other products do, which makes it a lot easier to apply.
    Date published: 2008-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Fantabulous! This is the best working thrush stuff I have ever used. I ride an Arab with really deep feet that lives in a really muddy paddock - you can imagine the thrush problems we encounter! I have found Thrush Remedy to be our saving grace. His feet look better than they ever have. Thrush Remedy comes highly recommended!
    Date published: 2007-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Unwanted Stains! I recently purchased Thrush Remedy for my horse who always seems to develop thrush at least once a year. After just a few applications I noticed that the thrush was already clearing up. The absolute best part about this product though is that is goes on clear. As compared to other Thrush products that tend to ruin all of my clothes with stains, I have not had any stain problems with this one. This product will continue to stay in my brush box!
    Date published: 2007-02-28
    • 2015-05-28T10:30CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_36
    • loc_en_US, sid_4761, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Recipe: Homemade Carrot and Oat Treats
    It has been such a cold and snowy winter here in Massachusetts for the past few months. I look for any excuse to fire up my oven. Prior to visiting my horse Bug last weekend I decided to make her

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.