Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Review Snapshot

The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter Mid-Rise

Tailored Sportsman, LLC
- Item #18604

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter is a trendy new addition to the Tailored Sportsman line. Complete your stylish look in the hunter ring with the Trophy Hunter breeches, designed with Tailored Sportsman’s signature relaxed fit. Same as the wildly popular Trophy Hunter Low Rise but with a more modest rise at 1" higher. Made in the USA. 

Favorite Features

  • Clarino™ knee patches
  • Four-way stretch
  • Comfortable, mid-rise
  • 2" wide waist band 
  • Euro styled seat
  • Two brass horse designed snaps
  • Side zip closure 
  • VELCRO® brand ankle closures
  • Lightweight, woven 73% cotton/20% polyamide/7% Lycra®

Sizing It Up

Knee Patch Breeches Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    Complete your stylish look in the hunter ring ...
    Description:
    Complete your stylish look in the hunter ring with the Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter Mid-Rise Breeches, designed with Tailored Sportsman's modern fit. This breech features the same style as the wildly popular Trophy Hunter - Front Zip but with a ...
    The Trophy Hunter Black Patch Breech by The ...
    Description:
    The Trophy Hunter Black Patch Breech by The Tailored Sportsmans has all the same great features and benefits of your traditional Trophy Hunter with the added detail of a black contrast knee patch! Favorite Features Black colored Clarino&trade knee patches ...
    The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter is a trendy ...
    Description:
    The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter is a trendy new addition to the Tailored Sportsman line. Complete your stylish look in the hunter ring with the Trophy Hunter breeches, designed with Tailored Sportsman's modern fit. Favorite Features Clarino&trade knee patches Four-way ...
    Why We Love This The Tailored Sportsman Professional ...
    Description:
    Why We Love This The Tailored Sportsman Professional Trophy Hunter Breech was designed and developed by Grand Prix riders so you know they are designed by the best! This fabric is extremely durable and stylish, perfect for the any rider that spends countless ...
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter Mid-Rise is rated 4.7246 out of 5 by 69.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them I really like these breeches. I have been searching for the right rise for quite some time and these are it! the Pro's are too high and the Low Rise are to low. They are a light weight and comfortable breech that can be worn all day at a show.
    Date published: 2012-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally right! if you hate low rise AND don't want to look outdated, these have the perfect rise. They are comfortable, the material is a good weight for looking good enough to show, but not too thick under your boots, and the colors are great.They run a little large, so if you are a little between sizes, order the smaller size.These are my favorite breeches.
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from really love them they fit great, perfect rise and are super comfortable!!!
    Date published: 2012-09-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mid Rise too high I can only attest to the fit as I returned them unworn. Being the first time I had tried TS, I was impressed by the overall fit and fabric. Hard to explain, but I felt the fabric was technical AND natural feeling - not stiff or noisy like some of the other breeches I have tried. My only complaint was that the rise was too high. I am 5'9, and a mother of 3, so I do not like feeling as if I am hanging out or having to constantly tug to keep breeches up. However, on me, these were more like a traditional/high rise fit. I have no comparison to the low rise TS. I may try those next. Also, I do not like the velcro ankle closure. I just can't hardly bring myself to spend this much on a pair breeches if I can find something else fairly similar. Although, it is difficult to find affordability, durability, great fabric, fit, and euro seat.
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good I have been looking for the right rise on a breech and I think that I may have found them. I like this mid rise and the thick waist band.Wore them this weekend for the first time at a show and they help up well, weren't too hot, were comfortable and I could have stayed in them longer.Only think I don't like is how long they are.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth a try! I love love love these breeches. I haven't had enough time to really test out their durability, but they have the same smooth feel of my Ariat Pro Circuits, so I'm hoping that they wear as well as those do. I read that the mid rise side zip run a touch large, and I would agree -- which is what I was looking for. If you're between sizes, or if you've put the the freshman 15 (as I did, but at the ripe old age of 30) and need new breeches but don't want to go up an entire size, these seem perfect. I thought they were a little on the long side, but the knee patches are in the right place, so maybe I'm just not used to the bottom of them coming down do far. My only wish is that they had a sock bottom like the Ariats do. Not only is it more comfortable, but I hate the way my clothes stick to the velcro in the washer unless I am super careful about closing the fasteners before tossing them in.So anyway, I love them. I love the fit and I love the fabric (so far). I had a lot of trouble with the old cotton blend fabric but this is much better. Those old TS schoolers wore terrible for me, but these feel much better. I wish they were a little cheaper, and I wish that the mid rise came in as many colors as the low rise, but other than that they're great!!
    Date published: 2012-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from happiness is mid-rise britches i've been a fan of tailored sportsman britches for a long time, but hadn't bought too many pairs when the mid-rise cut was non-existent or hard to find. so glad these came along! fit seems true and the waist doesn't gap on me, charcoal gray color is perfect for hiding dirt, wash fine in the machine and i always dry them on a hanger. so far no problems. if i were to say anything negative it would be that i find them a bit long, but i'm barely 5'5" so probably not a great judge. i would also love to see them in all the colors!
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great breeches Great pair of breeches. The mid-rise is very comfortable (no worrying about anything being exposed) and the cut is flattering. Will definitely buy another pair
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from TS Trophy Hunter Mid-rise absolutly love them!!! so comfortable and fit great, excellent quality, want a pair in every color!!!
    Date published: 2012-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breeches! Love these, I bought them in tan to use for shows, clinics, lessons. The fit is great and I love the thicker waist band. I have gotten a lot of compliments on them. Only wish you carried them in a 32L but I can get away with the regular
    Date published: 2012-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the fit and they make a wonderful show breech.
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable, runs a bit long I love this brand and am usually an old school regular rise rider. The new material is different from the old but I like the way it seems to hold its shape a bit better. I am even enjoying the mid-rise. I usually order a long and these seems to be a few inches longer but it doesn't cause any real problems. I bought the charcoal for use around the barn and they are great for hiding dirt!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love I always wear the TS Trophy Hunter Low Rise front zip, but decided to try these to show in. Bought one pair and they fit great and washed up perfect, so bought a 2nd pair a few days later.I was afraid they may be to high, but they are only higher on the sides and back. I don't have to continually tug on them.Would highly recommend!
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breeches These are fantastic breeches. I rarely post reviews (have so little time), but I highly recommend these for the schooling or show arena. They are less expensive than other show TS breeches, they hold up, fit great, look great, and have a higher waist in the back so you don't feel as though you will lose your pants when you go over the jumps! Love, love, love these.
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from tan is the way to go awesome fit and quality not for every day wear more show only breeches
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the Quality You Expect I love Tailored Sportsman breeches. I wear them all day . . . riding, barn work, etc. These breeches were a disappointment. The new fabric does not hold up to everyday wear. Waist band bagged after a couple of hours. I had to keep pulling them up. Fabric had numerous thread pulls/runs. This was just after one day. Smartpak was wonderful and took them back. Expensive mistake.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best breeches I've ever owned in 15 years of riding. I've had the royal hunter low rise for about 6 years now, to show in, and these new breeches are more stylish, up to date with the wide waist band, and comfortable, I highly recommend this product.I got the charcoal for schooling, and had no intention of replacing my show breeches, but after having a couple lessons in the charcoal I decided to get the tan for shows because they felt so good and looked so good!
    Date published: 2011-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I love these breeches! The only thing I noticed was they are not really midrise on me. I am almost 6ft tall, with looong thighs. But they reached right at my belly button, which i thought would be considered regular rise? Well, either way, they fit great and are comfortable! Love this brand!
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tailored Sportsman! Absolutely love these breeches! The mid rise is perfect and the fabric on these pants in great for riding in the summer months since it dries quickly.
    Date published: 2011-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these breeches Just got to ride in my new TS mid-rise and loved them. I had received the low rise the first time I ordered them and was afraid my rear would be hanging out whenever I jumped so I exchanged them for the mid-rise. Smartpak customer service was great with my exchange. I love the euro seat which just adds a nice touch of style. They where so comfortable to ride in and did not feel heavy which was great with the hot weather. Can't wait to get another pair.
    Date published: 2011-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Purchase! I used to spend my entire time riding fixing and pulling up my low rise breeches - Even with a belt they'd always be falling down to an uncomfortably low level. I got these breeches over the winter after a long anticipated wait, and it was definitely worth it! Absolutely best pair of breeches I've ever bought. They stay where they are supposed to stay from start to finish. The charcoal color is great, but fyi the material is a little different than all the other trophy hunter breeches I own (it's stiffer, but could just be because I've only washed the pants once so far).Would definitely recommend this item for riders looking for some more tummy coverage or those who just don't like the lowness of the regular low rise.
    Date published: 2011-04-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could Be Better I live in breeches and so I like to add a little style and variation from time to time. I like the euro-style seat but the fabric is less than ideal. They stain easily and I've known a couple people (myself included) who have had the dye create weird stains patterns (doesn't matter if you dry clean or handwash at home). They also fade quickly and start to look dull. The mid-rise is a nice compromise between low-rise and regular. If you're looking for an every-day breech that holds up well, I'd try a different brand. But if you're looking for show only, these are very stylish.
    Date published: 2011-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Please oh please! Get these available in more colors!!!!! These are my most favorite breeches in the world - I don't have to keep pulling them up like the low-rise version. But I really want some more colors, like the low-rise version.These are perfect for show, feel great, look great, don't show cleavage, if you know what I mean. Now, if only TS could come out with a version that cost half as much, I'd throw every other pair of my breeches away, and only ride in these!
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these breeches! The smartpak customer service rep steered me to these when I returned a pair of low-rise Trophy Hunters that I was unhappy with. These are great, I'm fussy about fit and these are perfect for those of us who are a little beyond the "low-rise wearing" stage in life!
    Date published: 2010-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful breeches I bought these for my daughter to show in and she loves them. I like that the waist is not low.They also did well when washed.
    Date published: 2010-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Breeches I love the look of the TS Trophy Hunter breeches but not the low rise. The new mid-rise TS trophy are a perfect fit for those women who want a little more coverage. Super comfortable, nice fabric, just the right amount of stretch. These are my new go-to breeches for showing or if you want a more polished look while schooling. Would like a pair in every color!!
    Date published: 2010-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect This is a great compromise for rise: not too high, not too low. Very comfortable breeches, love the extra room in the thigh. Tailored Sportsmans have never let me down. Perfect for the show ring.
    Date published: 2010-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for us middle age riders! I am in my 40's and had twins 5 years ago and the low rise breeches that are so "in" today aren't always so flattering on me. These fit GREAT! I love the mid-rise!!! The original TS are too high and these are PERFECT. So happy with my purchase. I only have 1 pair, wish I could spend the money to buy 5...they are worth it!They also wash well. I just turn them inside out and wash in the machine and hang up to dry. I have washed them about 5 times now and they still look great!For me, I wear size 30 in these, and the same size 30 in every pair of TS that I own (low rise TS Trophys, low and regular rise TS Royal Hunters). I didn't have the problem with the bunching in the hip like the other reviewer.
    Date published: 2010-09-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love these pants I got tired of buying riding "tights" that were unflattering and wore out quickly with every day riding, so I decided to try these. They come in some nice colors, and these are the most flattering riding pants I have ever owned. On the negative side, I had to go up an extra size to get a better fit while riding. My normal size looked great on, but when I got in the saddle it bunched a lot on my hips, which I found annoying. Got the bigger size, which makes a slightly looser look, but no more bunching!
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    • 2016-02-11T15:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_64
    • loc_en_US, sid_8604, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
        Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends,

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.