Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Review Snapshot

The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter

Tailored Sportsman, LLC
- Item #16227

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter is a trendy new addition to the Tailored Sportsman line. Complete your stylish look in the hunter ring with the Trophy Hunter breeches, designed with Tailored Sportsman’s signature modern fit.

Favorite Features

  • Clarino™ knee patches
  • Four-way stretch
  • Comfortable, low-rise
  • 2" wide waist band 
  • Euro styled seat
  • Two brass horse designed snaps
  • Side zip closure 
  • VELCRO® brand ankle closures

Lightweight, woven 73% cotton/20% polyamide/7% Lycra®  
Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up

Knee Patch Breeches Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter is rated 4.7603 out of 5 by 146.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tailored for comfort and style I love the fit, slightly below the waist and the material stretchy and substantial. They are still comfortable at the end of the day and look like when you put them on. It's fun to have a selection of colors.I did find a small bulge below the side zipper where it meets the pocket. Two pairs had this. I hope TS will improve this detail. Still a great breech!
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have I love these breeches. They're super comfortable, the fabric is the perfect weight and the styling is very flattering. They run a bit large, so if you're between sizes, go down 1 size.
    Date published: 2012-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Classic Favorite These breeches are everything I had hoped for and more. They are super comfy and wash and wear very well. The low rise is stylish yet gives enough coverage to tuck in a shirt without coming undone. The euroseat is also a flattering feature.I have the tan and black and am saving my $ for another great color! (There are so many to choose.) Wish I had in every color!
    Date published: 2012-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best breeches yet These are so awesome. The dirt seems to roll right off of the fabric. The fit is flattering and you can see the quality with the materials in the pants. I have the beige color and want to get some darker colors for schooling and daily use. I haven't washed them yet but am exited that they are machine washable and not dry clean only. Only wish that they were a bit longer.
    Date published: 2012-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not convinced I like them better than the TS model I have been wearing the Tailored Sportsman TS breeches for years and love them. I decided to try these Trophy breeches because of the updated styling. And after a few wears, I think I still like the TS better. My review is really a comparison between the two, because those are the only schooling breeches I've worn in the last five years. Pros of the Trohpy cut: I really like the wide waist band. Its very flattering even in a size 32. At first I wasn't sure I liked the material, but I've realized the slightly slick finish repells dirt, and at the end of a long day at the barn, the breeches still look relatively clean. The primary thing I don't like compared to the TS breeches is I don't find the Euro seat as flattering as the traditional TS (seams across the tighs and a smooth bum). But that's not Tailored Sportsman's fault, as Euro seat seems to be the trend these days.Side note: I bought these in Misty Plum and Smokey Pearl and both colors are gorgeous.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Daughter's New Favorite My daughter got tired of how the Pikuer pants puckered at the knees. So far, these are holding up much better and are a great price in comparison.
    Date published: 2012-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great breeches Material was high quality and the fit was great. I purchased these as my show breeches and have ended up using them for every ride. Will be purchasing a second pair!
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Revelation! I've never quite understood the fascination with Tailored Sportsman breeches until I got my first pair, these. I tired them on and they felt like a costum fit! I am short with quite a petite yet athletic build. Breeches tend to be either too long, sag in awkward places or be too low rise. I would buy one of these in every color they fit that well!
    Date published: 2012-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! They are extremely comfortable and look really good, I love the color French blue too!
    Date published: 2012-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My "go to" brand and style of breeches These breeches are like a custom fit on my body and it makes it hard to stop buying more pairs just to have every color. This time I bought green beige and the knee patches were a lovely darker brown unlike the matching knee patches on the other colors I have. Sadly, I got stains on my breeches the first wearing and used a bit of Biz in the wash and hot water which was a very bad idea because now my beautiful knee patches are bleached out light, ugh! So, warning, do not use any color safe bleach at all and only warm water or you risk fading the knee patches. Lesson learned, now I will need another green beige pair, lol!
    Date published: 2012-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing pants Absolutely the best. They are super flattering, well made, and just look beautiful!
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I love these. I have been used to the "old" ones that need to be dry cleaned. These are great because you can wash them and the material is a little more grippy than the old ones. I just wish I could easily get them in a shorter length.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite pair of breeches My absolute favorite brand! No matter your size, you will look great in them. The material is wonderful during the Texas summers for wicking moisture and staying cool. While I myself have not had my pair long, a friend of mine has had her Trophy pair for two years now and she still shows in hers.
    Date published: 2012-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The pace setting everyday breeches Very nice fit-n-finish.Great fabric, great colors, nice options for fit.But I'm holding out for Smartpak's Bradley breeches. At $50 less, when these appear in a rainbow of colors, they'll eclipse the Tailored Sportsmans.If you love how these fit and don't like the Bradley's fit or slightly thinner fabric, these are your breeches.
    Date published: 2012-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all-around breeches! I bought these to replace an old pair of cotton TS schooling breeches. I have a full seat pair so when it was time to upgrade, I figured I would try the knee patch. I LOVE these breeches! They are a snug fit (in a good way) and the wide waist band and euro-styling is very flattering. I do miss the swoop over the knee seam, but that's just a matter of aesthetics. The materials seems to repel dirt, unlike the more cotton-feel breeches that absorb everything. Machine washable is always a plus. Definitely worth the investment.
    Date published: 2012-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My New Favorite When I find a breech I like, I become a loyal customer. Until recently I was a long-time lover of the Grand Prix breeches despite how quickly they faded. Now, this breech has an equally great fit, is comfortable, AND looks great wash after wash. I just purchased my second pair and plan on phasing out all my old GPs.
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Flattering Breech These breeches are amazing. I especially love the wider belt loops. They're so flatting that I don't mind being seen in non-horsey public environments wearing these. The material also seems to be of a higher quality than the TS Low-Rise breech. In my opinion these are by far the best choice for show breeches. They'd be great for schooling as well if only the price was a little more reasonable.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toltally Awesome \m/ It took a few tries to get my usable pair of these, the first had a small hole and then the second pair, silly me, were front zips rather than side zips, but Smartpak's customer service was as always supreme! I can't wait for the hot summer shows to wear these because they are so breathable I doubt I'll even notice that I'm wearing them, and the fabric is stain repellent which is always amazing considering how hard hoof oil can be to get out of clothes. The fit is perfect, I have a hard to fit shape with wide hips, no bum at all to speak of and average/slim legs, these fit beautifully!
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Breeches I just love these breeches. Come in an array of colors and the fit is great. Nice light weight breech for Florida!!!
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Pants are a great comfortable fit, true to size; many riders are wearing these in the show ring now because of their classic look vs the more expensive Tailored Sportsman.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Breeches! I love these breeches! I received these for Christmas and finally used them the other day. The material is excellent and a lot more comfortable than my old Tuff Riders. Riding in these makes me feel great. :]
    Date published: 2012-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved these breeches before, but I especially love them now that Tailored Sportsman changed the fabric, adding microfiber and decreasing the percentage of cotton. My old Trophy Hunters are super comfortable, but after about a year of moderate use they are pilling, plus they stain easily. I think these new ones will hold up a lot better. Plus, the new eggplant color is devine! The only thing I would improve about these breeches is to use snaps instead of the hook closures, but that's just a personal preference of mine. Of course, they are pricy, but the euro seat and wide waistband are super flattering (even on those of us with a booty!). I show in these in tan, and never felt that they weren't dressy enough for 'AA' shows or equitation finals.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great breeches I have had a pair of these for over a year and have used them almost every day, 6-10 horses ridden per day. With all of the use they get they are finally starting to show some signs of wear in the stitching only (around the knee patches and along the outer leg seam). Still wearable and look great. I am tough on these and am very happy with the quality. I love the fabric (way better than the regular TS low rise side zips). The rise is also good, seems less low than the regular TS side zips but not as high as the older tailored's that come up so high they can double as a bra!
    Date published: 2011-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Look Great but Stain Easily The Trophy Hunter is my favorite style of Tailored Sportsman. The euro-seat makes everything look slimmer and sleeker. I particularly like the wide waist band and belt loops that accommodate both thicker belts and waistlines! The one thing I dislike is their inclination to stain! I got the tan and within a week they had stains around the knees from boot polish which never came out. Other breeches have gotten those stains and I have been able to scrub them out, but not these.Overall, I love these breeches, but have been forced to buy several for schooling and reserve about 2 for showing in case the other pair gets dirty.
    Date published: 2011-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the espresso color This is my fourth pair of these pants. I love them, especially since they upgraded the material. They are comfy and flattering, and the espresso color is so pretty. If I had a money tree, I would buy a pair of these in every color they make! I find that I can size down one size in these from the size I wear in the TS low rise.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome buy!! I absolutely adore these pants. I have them in a lot of the colors, with the front and side zip and love every single one of them. They are light enough to wear in the awful Texas heat when showing but are thick enough so that I don't freeze when I wear them to show in the winter. All stains come right out and they look so flattering in every ring. I highly recommend them as a show or schooling pant for anyone!
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great breeches I'm so happy with these breeches! The Euro cut is very flattering and is more comfortable than the regular TS breeches. They are a bit expensive, but they are very durable and if my other pairs of TS breeches are any indication, they will last for a long time. The only downside to these breeches is that they are HOT. It was uncomfortable to ride in them in the 100 degree heat and humidity since they don't wick away sweat. Now that the weather is cooling down they are great though.
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect... LOVE these breeches and the euroseat in particular! Very flattering fit. Durable and interesting fabric - I like it though, it hides flaws and keeps me from feeling too self-conscious, even in the lighter colors. I own in multiple colors now - my absolute favorite breeches! I feel weird whenever I ride in others, whether they be TS or other brands. Good price for a great breech in my opinion.
    Date published: 2011-09-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love them I have a couple and they last forever. I've been wearing TS for about 16 years and I never had a problem with quality or fit. It pays off many times to buy those well made breeches and blouses. I tried others, it doesn't work for me.
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Show Quality Overall these are wonderful breeches I just wish they weren't quite so expensive. They fit well and look very nice but they don't last for quite as long as I'd hope for $150 breeches. If you're debating between these and the TS breeches I would recommend these.
    Date published: 2011-09-09
    • 2016-02-09T14:24CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_127
    • loc_en_US, sid_6227, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Mollie and Eden
    I started riding when I was 9 years old and quickly got swept up into the competitive hunter/jumper world. I showed my first pony, Chloe, in the Small Pony Hunter divisions were we competed at shows like Fairfield Hunt Club, Old Salem, HITS, and West...

    Learn more »

    SmartPak Barn Field Trip, Part 2: Decoding hay and grain for horses
    Download the worksheet to test your knowledge! How much hay and grain does your horse get every day? How much SHOULD your horse be getting each day? Many horses may not be getting what your feed bag recommends, so we’re

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-800-461-8898.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.