Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all Smartpak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Review Snapshot

The Original Bit Butter

Item #17742
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING


Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Est. arrival times vary, with some
as soon as
Shipping to
Order within and
have it by
Shipping to
Add these items to your cart to get
your estimated arrival date.
Shipping to

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Original Bit Butter
's special formulation provides soothing care to replenish moisture for dry, callused, unresponsive areas of your horse's mouth. Enriched with a “Mouth Softening Complex,” this palatable blend of natural butters, essential oils and unique flavor encourages acceptance and improves focus on the bit!

Favorite Features

  • Soothes dried areas of your horses mouth
  • Palatable
  • Natural butter and essential oils
Sizing It Up

4 oz.

Made in the USA

Customers Also Shopped For
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Description:
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel ...
Herm Sprenger Diamond Paste cleans, maintains and lendsProtection ...
Description:
Herm Sprenger Diamond Paste cleans, maintains and lendsProtection in one single application. Cleans and glosses items made of stainless steel, chrome, copper, brass, Argentan (German Silver) and Aurigan (German Gold). Diamond Paste is odorless, non-toxic, non-acid and a special creamy ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the ...
Description:
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece lies perfectly in the horse's mouth resulting inSoft and even pressure on the entire tongue area, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a ...
Perfect for the sensitive horse, the cover's T-Foam ...
Description:
Perfect for the sensitive horse, the cover's T-Foam fillingSoftens the curb chain against the horse's chin- offering comfort without compromising the effectiveness.Featuring T-Foam Technology, the Curb Chain conforms to the horse's chin for a custom fit, every time. Self ventilating ...
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece allows a rapid and ...
Description:
The ergonomically formed mouthpiece allows a rapid and balanced effect on the tounge, encouraging the horse to chew. In addition, this bit supports the contact to the corners of the mouth in a very effective way, keeping the horse on ...
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high ...
Description:
Happy Mouth bits are uniquely constructed with high tech plastics, making themSoft, flexible, gentle and comfortable for your horse. The unique apple scent increases your horse's acceptance. Happy Mouth bits are non-toxic, flexible and long lasting with a stainless steel ...
WH ULTRA Developed by SPRENGER in cooperation with ...
Description:
WH ULTRA Developed by SPRENGER in cooperation with Lisa Wilcox and Ernst Hoyos. The KK ULTRA mouthpiece with the middle link turned forward by 45 degrees provides gentle but effective communication with the horse. The additional feature of the WH ...
out of 5
Tell us what you think!

SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

  • Review 0
  • Votes 0
  • Discipline:
  • Expertise:
  • Product
    Experience:
  • Competitor:
Quality
Value
Palatability

Helpful?

The Original Bit Butter is rated 4.25 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creamy and smells great! I have never used a bit butter before but even though his bit is the proper size it was rubbing on one side. I tried the Bit Butter as directed and within a few days I noticed that the rub was disappearing. It is easy to use, smells great, and my horse seems to like the taste as well. What a great product!
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A cure for teeth grinding I used bit butter years ago with my OTTB gelding and it helped with him finding the contact. So my new horse a Hanoverian gelding who has a problem with teeth grinding (it's a bad habit) and he has a bit of a dry mouth, and doesn't really chew on the bit or produce any foam. So I thought why not give bit butter a try. The results have been amazing, Fagan's mouth is so soft and he foams and drools like crazy. The best part is he has stopped grinding his teeth. It's has been an essential part of getting him ready for his ride, Fagan loves when I rub bit butter on his lips and corners of his mouth, and it has made it easier to put his double bridle on he takes the bits easily. Highly recommend it.
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worked! After a week of using bit butter, the "calouse/hard spots" at the corner of the mouth healed. Continuing to use to prevent coming back. I had tried other remedies, nothing had worked.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! I have been using this product for about two weeks now and I absolutely love it! It smells great and my horses actually like it! Some other buyers have said how small the container is, which yes it is small, but alittle goes a long way with this product. You really only need a small amount to do the job. I have used this product daily for about a week and now a few days a week. It did exactly what I was hoping and smells great too! I highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Allergic Reaction Unfortunately I didn't read the ingredients list before purchasing this product. It has mango butter in it. While my horse loves the taste and now willingly takes his bit, I am HIGHLY allergic to mango and broke out in contact dermatitis all over my right hand. On steroids to clear it up. Live and learn. I can't recommend it for that reason and because the very small jar, think sample size, is outrageously priced. Bit wipes are a better value.
Date published: 2015-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It!! I started riding a green broke horse and was wanting every riding experience to be a positive one. Putting the bit in his mouth at the beginning was not easy. Once I started to put bit butter on the bit there after he would open his mouth before I was even came near him to put the bit in. He loves taking the bit and I notice him listening more and playing less with what is in his mouth. Wish I had this years ago. Love it!!!
Date published: 2015-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff. I have a horse with a pink nose and super sensitive skin. This stuff smells great and seems less messy than vaseline.
Date published: 2014-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE Bit Butter! Always use it with the Double Bridle... prevents any rubs.
Date published: 2013-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well My horse was getting sores on the inside and outside corners of her lip. This product seems to have helped the sores heal and now that I put this on before I bridle her it seems to have prevented the sores from coming back. Some reviewers have complained it is very thick, I think it has the consistency of Chapstick. It is a little pricey but it seems like a little goes a long way so I think that one container will last for quite awhile.
Date published: 2013-08-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great idea, but disappointing This did not increase my horse's tendency to mouth the bit and when applied on the corners of his mouth, did not offer much protection. It has the consistancy of day old frosting--very clumpy and waxy. Way to expensive too. A clunker of a product.
Date published: 2013-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff I have only used this products a few times, but it SMELLS REALLY GOOD!! And my mare tends to get a bit of a chapped lip going on around the bit so it seems to be helping.
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not loving it. Overpriced. The consistency is very waxy and not easy to spead and the first day I used it my horse got a rub--I had been using Vasaline petroleum jelly. I could buy a year's worth of petroleum jelly for what this costs--and the Vasaline works better as a preventative. Would not buy again. Way too much money for an average product. Not bad, not great but my horse did like the taste.
Date published: 2013-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love this product and my horse doesn't seem terribly intolerable of this either. She does try to run away when I try to put bit butter on in the corners of her mouth (She kept getting cuts) but she tolerates it. My friend's horse on the other hand LOVES it.My horse also used to get bad cuts in her mouth always (so much so that I had to ride in a hackamore for like a month) but now, she doesn't at all! If she does, I am confident that the Bit Butter will help me ride without hurting her.
Date published: 2013-01-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for cracked lips My horse has super sensitive skin, including his lips. His lip split open once, and it has been a continuing battle for over a year. I have used vaseline in the past when riding. Bit butter feels good, smells good, and WORKS! I put it on his lips before each ride. I have only used it for 2 weeks, and his lips are already looking much better!
Date published: 2012-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps with teeth grinding. . . While my horse will still grind her teeth, when this is on her bit, it is not as loud and she does it much less. It definitely helps. However, it seems to wear off in about an hour.
Date published: 2012-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Useful product I feel better about putting the double bits in my horse's mouth using Bit Butter. The corners of her mouth are no longer cracked and now she cooperates when I apply it. She knows the taste is pleasant and that she will be more comfortable!
Date published: 2012-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really happy with this product I needed something for my horse that has a very sensitive mouth but have not been able to find something that works or that she will let me put regularly on her. Though the consistency was not what I was expecting, it is pretty much like chap stick for horses and she really seems to not mind me rubbing it on her mouth. Very happy I was able to find something to help!
Date published: 2011-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from better than Vaseline This has been very healing for my mare's mouth where she had a tear. I will continue to use as a preventative.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure it makes a difference I read some of the other reviews that said that horses loved the taste of this stuff, im not sure how that is true because I tasted the stuff myself and it didnt really taste like anything at all, it has a light smell but that is it. Also it does not have a buttery consistency as the name would imply, its quite hard and thus a little difficult to get enough on the bit. My horse didnt realy care either way.
Date published: 2011-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product I've use the bit butter on and off again. I will say my horse loves the taste. It helps keep his mouth soft and he foams and drools more with this.
Date published: 2011-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't quite work for me I tried this because I had a problem with the bit rubbing at various places on my horse. I had this problem with many different sizes and shapes of bits (she has very sensitive skin).I tried this Bit Butter with high hopes but it didn't seem to help my problem and although it smells nice, my horse didn't seem to care for it. I thought I was imagining it when she salivated much less until I saw someone else make the same comment.I'd still recommend it to someone to try it if they had a chafing situation but it didn't work for me.
Date published: 2010-06-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from My horses hated it My mare usually has a mouth that looks as though it was sprayed with whipped cream, but with the bit butter, she didn't get foamy at all. Also, I ordered this via the print catalog so I did not realize it contained soybean oil. I have a soy allergy, so I had to use latex gloves to apply the product. This product was not a pleasant experience.
Date published: 2009-11-17
  • 2016-09-27T12:33CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.4.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_7742, PRD, sort_mostRecent
  • clientName_SmartPak
Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders