Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

The Original Bit Butter

Item #17742
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Original Bit Butter's special formulation provides soothing care to replenish moisture for dry, callused, unresponsive areas of your horse's mouth. Enriched with a “Mouth Softening Complex,” this palatable blend of natural butters, essential oils and unique flavor encourages acceptance and improves focus on the bit! 4 oz. Made in the USA

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    The Original Bit Butter is rated 4.0526 out of 5 by 19.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great idea, but disappointing This did not increase my horse's tendency to mouth the bit and when applied on the corners of his mouth, did not offer much protection. It has the consistancy of day old frosting--very clumpy and waxy. Way to expensive too. A clunker of a product.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff I have only used this products a few times, but it SMELLS REALLY GOOD!! And my mare tends to get a bit of a chapped lip going on around the bit so it seems to be helping.
    Date published: 2013-04-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not loving it. Overpriced. The consistency is very waxy and not easy to spead and the first day I used it my horse got a rub--I had been using Vasaline petroleum jelly. I could buy a year's worth of petroleum jelly for what this costs--and the Vasaline works better as a preventative. Would not buy again. Way too much money for an average product. Not bad, not great but my horse did like the taste.
    Date published: 2013-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love this product and my horse doesn't seem terribly intolerable of this either. She does try to run away when I try to put bit butter on in the corners of her mouth (She kept getting cuts) but she tolerates it. My friend's horse on the other hand LOVES it.My horse also used to get bad cuts in her mouth always (so much so that I had to ride in a hackamore for like a month) but now, she doesn't at all! If she does, I am confident that the Bit Butter will help me ride without hurting her.
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for cracked lips My horse has super sensitive skin, including his lips. His lip split open once, and it has been a continuing battle for over a year. I have used vaseline in the past when riding. Bit butter feels good, smells good, and WORKS! I put it on his lips before each ride. I have only used it for 2 weeks, and his lips are already looking much better!
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps with teeth grinding. . . While my horse will still grind her teeth, when this is on her bit, it is not as loud and she does it much less. It definitely helps. However, it seems to wear off in about an hour.
    Date published: 2012-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Useful product I feel better about putting the double bits in my horse's mouth using Bit Butter. The corners of her mouth are no longer cracked and now she cooperates when I apply it. She knows the taste is pleasant and that she will be more comfortable!
    Date published: 2012-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really happy with this product I needed something for my horse that has a very sensitive mouth but have not been able to find something that works or that she will let me put regularly on her. Though the consistency was not what I was expecting, it is pretty much like chap stick for horses and she really seems to not mind me rubbing it on her mouth. Very happy I was able to find something to help!
    Date published: 2011-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from better than Vaseline This has been very healing for my mare's mouth where she had a tear. I will continue to use as a preventative.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure it makes a difference I read some of the other reviews that said that horses loved the taste of this stuff, im not sure how that is true because I tasted the stuff myself and it didnt really taste like anything at all, it has a light smell but that is it. Also it does not have a buttery consistency as the name would imply, its quite hard and thus a little difficult to get enough on the bit. My horse didnt realy care either way.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product I've use the bit butter on and off again. I will say my horse loves the taste. It helps keep his mouth soft and he foams and drools more with this.
    Date published: 2011-03-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't quite work for me I tried this because I had a problem with the bit rubbing at various places on my horse. I had this problem with many different sizes and shapes of bits (she has very sensitive skin).I tried this Bit Butter with high hopes but it didn't seem to help my problem and although it smells nice, my horse didn't seem to care for it. I thought I was imagining it when she salivated much less until I saw someone else make the same comment.I'd still recommend it to someone to try it if they had a chafing situation but it didn't work for me.
    Date published: 2010-06-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from My horses hated it My mare usually has a mouth that looks as though it was sprayed with whipped cream, but with the bit butter, she didn't get foamy at all. Also, I ordered this via the print catalog so I did not realize it contained soybean oil. I have a soy allergy, so I had to use latex gloves to apply the product. This product was not a pleasant experience.
    Date published: 2009-11-17
    • 2015-08-31T15:38CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.6
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_18
    • loc_en_US, sid_7742, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Dax
    Horse of the Month: Doc’s Mostly Yella aka Dax Breed: Quarter Horses Age: 8 years old PATH Intl. Member Center: Miracles in Motion Location: Keene, NH Dax is an 8 year old palomino quarter horse. He is about 16hh and

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695.

    SmartPak Equine™ is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    © Copyright 2015 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.